How Corporate-Owned Life Insurance Can Boost Your Liquidity

June 08, 2018

NTL_04Jun18_Tax-Factor_Corporate-Owned-Life-Insurance_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Life insurance can help an owner-managed business manage its costs throughout the business lifecycle.  If an owner-manager dies, life insurance can help to protect the interests of their family or business partners. There can also be tax benefits.

Life insurance owned in a private company can be used in two general ways – to provide liquidity and to build wealth. This article will focus on liquidity; a subsequent article will discuss corporate-owned life insurance as a tool to build wealth

Liquidity benefits – three situations

There are three main situations where corporate-owned insurance can boost liquidity:
  • General key-person life insurance
  • Life insurance used to fund capital gains taxes on death
  • Estate equalization

In each situation, the type and amount of life insurance will differ depending on the needs of the situation. Also, as taxpayers’ insurance needs are constantly evolving, it is important to review the coverage on a regular basis.

Key-person life insurance

By its very nature, an owner-managed business is defined by the owner-manager. Key-person life insurance held by the company on the life of the owner-manager, or on certain other key employees, can give the company quick access to funds if the owner-manager or another key employee dies suddenly. In that way, the life insurance policy can act as business interruption insurance to allow the remaining owners time to deploy a succession strategy. In addition, many lenders or arm’s length investors require the company to carry key-person life insurance.

If the life insurance is required as a condition of financing, a portion of the premiums is deductible. However, the financing must satisfy a test.

Once that test has been satisfied, the actual amount of the premiums that can be deducted is determined using three factors: the “net cost of pure insurance,” the average loan balance during the year, and the total amount of life insurance purchased. You can deduct the portion of the premiums that relates to the net cost of pure insurance on the amount of the life insurance that would be needed to cover the loan balance in the event of the death of the insured person. Except for this portion, the premiums paid for life insurance in the corporation on the life of the owner-manager are not a tax-deductible expense.

Life insurance used to fund capital gains taxes on death

An owner-manager often faces their largest tax bill when they divest of their company. If the owner-manager owns the shares at death, this tax will come due either at death or on the death of their spouse, if the owner-manager’s shares passed to the spouse on the death of the owner. Life insurance can provide liquidity to fund those taxes.

Single shareholder

Let’s consider the example of Mary White. Mary at age 62 is the founder of Maryco, and is widowed with three adult children. Mary owns all of the shares of Maryco, and they are all common shares. These common shares are worth $5,000,000, and have a cost basis of $1,000.

If Mary holds these shares at death, there will be a deemed disposition of these shares. Assuming the lifetime capital gains exemption is not applicable, and assuming no change in the value of the shares or tax rates, the deemed disposition at death could create an estimated income tax liability of 25% of the gain (25% of $4,999,000, or $1,249,750). The 25% tax rate is an assumed hypothetical rate, which would apply when the top personal tax rate is 50%.

Mary could purchase life insurance to provide the funds to pay the taxes when she dies. However, in order to fund the life insurance premiums, funds would need to be withdrawn from Maryco in the form of salary or taxable dividends. Maryco will need to pay sufficient salary or dividends to allow enough after-tax proceeds to pay the life insurance premiums.

As an alternative, Maryco could purchase the life insurance policy and be the beneficiary of the life insurance policy. The premium payments will not be deductible for income tax purposes, but Maryco can fund the insurance premiums.

On Mary’s death, the life insurance proceeds will be received by the company tax-free. Any such proceeds over the cost basis of the life insurance policy can be paid as a tax-free capital dividend to the shareholder of the company, which for purposes of this article we will assume to be Mary’s estate. Mary’s estate can then use those funds to pay the tax bill that arose due to Mary owning the shares at death.

Multiple shareholders

Life insurance can also help in a scenario featuring multiple shareholders. Canadian controlled private corporations (CCPCs) often have a small group of shareholders who are related, or a number of unrelated shareholders who work together as business partners. The death of a shareholder can create a strain on the remaining shareholders.

It is common for a closely held company with multiple shareholders to enter into a shareholders’ agreement. The agreement goes beyond corporate law, to set rules on how the corporation is governed and how the shareholders deal with each other. Among its other purposes, the agreement should anticipate likely future events such as the death of a shareholder. It may be specified in the agreement that shareholders hold insurance on the other shareholders’ lives, in order to be able to purchase the shares owned by the deceased.

Alternatively, the agreement may specify that the corporation will hold life insurance on the lives of all of the shareholders in order to use the proceeds of insurance to redeem or purchase for cancellation the shares held by the deceased shareholder.

Estate equalization

In the situation of Mary White above, she died a widow with three adult children. If one or more of her children were active in the business, Mary may have transferred shares in the company to the children who are active in the business. This may have been carried out with succession planning before death.

For the children who are not active in the business, it may make more sense to leave them cash in the event of her death, rather than be shareholders in Maryco. The company can purchase life insurance on Mary’s life, which could be used to provide funds for the children who are not active in the business.

Advantages summarized

In the above three situations, we have shown where corporate-owned life insurance can help to provide liquidity. We can summarize three main benefits shown in the above situations:
  • The insurance can be purchased with corporate after-tax dollars, which is less expensive than paying taxable funds to the shareholder to purchase the insurance with personal after-tax dollars.
  • Premiums might be tax deductible if necessary to secure financing.
  • Life insurance proceeds can be paid out to shareholders without tax through a capital dividend.

Risks of corporate-owned insurance

Any tax planning using corporate-owned life insurance must also consider the risks. Some of the main risks are:
  • Risk of capital losses eroding the amount of life insurance proceeds that can be paid out tax-free to shareholders
  • Exposure of life insurance proceeds to creditors of the company
  • Coordination with other post-mortem planning

Risk of capital losses and exposure to creditors

The key tax attribute of corporate-owned insurance is the tax-free receipt of insurance proceeds, and the ability to pay them tax-free to shareholders by way of a capital dividend.

The overall ability of a corporation to pay a capital dividend depends on the balance in the capital dividend account. In simple terms, this is a tax account of the company that keeps a cumulative tally over the life of the CCPC of the non-taxed portion of capital gains, and the non-deductible portion of capital losses, less the amount of any capital dividends previously paid. The amount that can be paid as a tax-free capital dividend at any point in time depends on the corporate history of capital gains and losses, as well as the timing of the payment of previous capital dividends and other items that can affect the capital dividend account. For this reason, a significant capital loss in the company could reduce the amount that would otherwise be paid as a capital dividend as a result of the receipt of life insurance proceeds.  

Where a corporation owns life insurance policies, there is a risk that the proceeds of insurance may become subject to the claims of creditors. For example, where the policy has been pledged to a financial institution as security for corporate debt, the institution may choose to retain the proceeds of insurance to pay down corporate debt rather than release the funds to allow for the funding of a capital dividend. General creditors may also have a claim, depending on the financial state of the company.

Both of these issues can be mitigated by using a holding company to own the life insurance policy. However, if the holding company is the beneficiary of the policy, it should also be the entity that is making the premium payments.

Post-mortem planning

Many factors go into estate planning. Life insurance and in particular corporate owned- insurance should not be used in isolation, but should be considered as part of the overall plan. There are situations where the payment of a capital dividend from life insurance proceeds will reduce the effectiveness of other post-mortem planning.

Conclusion

Life insurance can be an effective tool to help manage the business and tax costs that will arise on the death of the owner-manager. Contact your BDO advisor to learn more about preparing for an unexpected death, helping to protect both your family and your business.


The information in this publication is current as of May 17, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it. 

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Augmentez vos liquidités grâce à l’assurance-vie détenue par une société

08 juin 2018

NTL_04Jun18_Tax-Factor_Corporate-Owned-Life-Insurance_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

L’assurance-vie peut aider le propriétaire-exploitant d’une entreprise à gérer ses coûts tout au long du cycle de vie de l’entreprise. En cas de décès d’un propriétaire-exploitant, l’assurance-vie aide à protéger les intérêts de sa famille et de ses associés. Elle peut également offrir des avantages fiscaux.

L’assurance-vie détenue par une société privée peut être utilisée à deux fins : fournir des liquidités et créer un patrimoine. Dans cet article, nous mettrons l’accent sur les liquidités. Nous traiterons de l’assurance-vie souscrite par une société comme outil permettant de constituer un patrimoine dans un article ultérieur. 

Avantages relatifs aux liquidités – trois situations

Il existe trois principales situations où une assurance-vie détenue par une société peut accroître les liquidités :

  • Assurance-vie générale pour personne clé
  • Assurance-vie utilisée pour payer les impôts sur le gain en capital au décès
  • Répartition du patrimoine

Dans chaque situation, le type et le montant de l’assurance-vie varieront selon les besoins en fonction de la situation. Par ailleurs, les besoins en matière d’assurance des contribuables évoluent constamment; il est donc important d’évaluer régulièrement la couverture.

Assurance-vie pour personne clé

En raison de sa nature, une entreprise à propriétaire-exploitant se définit comme une entreprise détenue par un propriétaire-exploitant. Une assurance-vie pour personne clé détenue par une société sur la vie du propriétaire-exploitant, ou de certains autres employés clés, peut permettre à la société d’avoir un accès rapide à des fonds en cas de décès soudain du propriétaire-exploitant ou d’un autre employé clé. De cette façon, la police d’assurance-vie peut servir d’assurance contre les interruptions d’activités pour donner aux autres propriétaires le temps d’élaborer une stratégie de relève. De plus, de nombreux prêteurs ou investisseurs sans lien de dépendance exigent que la société souscrive une telle assurance-vie.

Si l’assurance-vie est une condition de financement obligatoire, une partie des primes sera déductible. Toutefois, le financement doit satisfaire à un critère.

Lorsque ce critère a été satisfait, le montant réel des primes qui peut être déduit est déterminé à l’aide de trois facteurs : le « coût net de l’assurance pure », le solde moyen du prêt au cours de l’exercice et le montant total de l’assurance-vie souscrite. Vous pouvez déduire la partie des primes liée au coût net de l’assurance pure du montant d’assurance-vie qui serait nécessaire pour couvrir le solde du prêt en cas de décès de la personne assurée. À l’exception de cette partie, les primes payées pour l’assurance-vie au sein de la société sur la vie du propriétaire-exploitant ne représentent pas une dépense déductible aux fins de l’impôt.

Assurance-vie utilisée pour payer les impôts sur le gain en capital au décès

Un propriétaire-exploitant doit souvent payer sa facture d’impôt la plus élevée lorsqu’il se départit de sa société. Si le propriétaire-exploitant détient les actions au décès, cet impôt sera exigible à son décès ou à celui de son conjoint s’il lui a transféré ses actions à son décès. L’assurance-vie peut fournir des liquidités pour financer le paiement de ces impôts.

Actionnaire unique

Prenons l’exemple de Marie Leblanc. Âgée de 62 ans, Marie est fondatrice de Maryco, est veuve et a trois enfants majeurs. Elle détient l’ensemble des actions de Maryco, qui sont toutes des actions ordinaires. Ces actions ordinaires ont une valeur de 5 000 000 $ et un coût de 1 000 $.

Si Marie est propriétaire de ces actions à son décès, celles-ci seront réputées faire l’objet d’une disposition. Si on suppose que l’exonération cumulative des gains en capital ne s’applique pas et qu’il n’y a eu aucun changement à la valeur des actions ou au taux d’imposition, la disposition réputée au décès pourrait créer un passif d’impôts estimatif de 25 % du gain (25 % de 4 999 000 $ ou 1 249 750 $). Le taux d’imposition de 25 % est un taux hypothétique qui s’appliquerait lorsque le taux d’imposition maximal des particuliers est de 50 %.

Marie pourrait souscrire une assurance-vie pour obtenir des fonds pour payer l’impôt à son décès. Toutefois, pour payer les primes d’assurance-vie, les fonds devraient être retirés de Maryco sous forme de salaire ou de dividendes imposables. Maryco devra verser un salaire ou des dividendes suffisants pour procurer un montant après impôt assez élevé pour payer les primes d’assurance-vie.

Autrement, Maryco pourrait souscrire une police d’assurance-vie et en être bénéficiaire. Les paiements de primes ne seront pas déductibles aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu, mais pourront être payés par Maryco.

Au décès de Marie, la société recevra le produit de l’assurance-vie en franchise d’impôt. Tout produit reçu dépassant le coût de base de la police d’assurance-vie pourra être versé à titre de dividende en capital non imposable à l’actionnaire de la société qui, aux fins de cet article, sera la succession de Marie. La succession de Marie pourra ensuite utiliser ces fonds pour payer l’impôt découlant du fait que Marie détenait des actions à son décès.

Multiples actionnaires

L’assurance-vie peut également être utile lorsqu’une société est détenue par plusieurs actionnaires. Les sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) comptent souvent un petit groupe d’actionnaires liés ou un nombre d’actionnaires non liés qui travaillent ensemble en tant qu’associés. Le décès d’un actionnaire peut faire pression sur les autres.

Il est fréquent pour une société fermée comptant plusieurs actionnaires de conclure une convention d’actionnaires. La convention transcende le droit des sociétés et établit les règles sur la façon dont la société est régie et dont les actionnaires traitent entre eux. Entre autres fins, la convention devrait prévoir les événements futurs probables comme le décès d’un actionnaire. Elle peut préciser que les actionnaires détiennent une assurance sur la vie des autres actionnaires pour être en mesure d’acheter leurs actions à leur décès.

Autrement, la convention peut préciser que la société détiendra une assurance-vie sur la vie de tous les actionnaires pour utiliser le produit de l’assurance pour racheter ou acheter à des fins d’annulation les actions détenues par l’actionnaire décédé.

Répartition du patrimoine

Dans la situation ci-dessus, Marie Leblanc était veuve et avait trois enfants lorsqu’elle est décédée. Si un ou plusieurs de ses enfants étaient actifs au sein de l’entreprise, Marie pourrait avoir transféré ses actions dans la société aux enfants qui participaient activement aux activités dans l’entreprise. La planification de la relève permet de mettre ce processus en place avant le décès.

Il peut être plus logique de laisser aux enfants qui n’étaient pas actifs au sein de l’entreprise un héritage en argent plutôt que des actions de Maryco. La société peut souscrire une assurance-vie sur la vie de Marie qui pourrait être utilisée pour fournir des fonds pour les enfants qui n’ont pas de participation active dans l’entreprise.

Sommaire des avantages

Dans les trois situations ci-dessus, nous avons démontré comment l’assurance-vie détenue par une société peut offrir des liquidités. Nous pouvons résumer trois principaux avantages mentionnés dans les situations ci-dessus :
  • L’assurance peut être souscrite avec des dollars après impôt de la société, ce qui est moins coûteux que de verser des fonds imposables à l’actionnaire pour qu’il souscrive l’assurance avec des dollars après impôt personnel.
  • Les primes peuvent être déductibles aux fins de l’impôt si elles sont nécessaires à l’obtention de financement.
  • Le produit d’assurance-vie peut être versé aux actionnaires en franchise d’impôt au moyen d’un dividende en capital.

Risques de l’assurance-vie détenue par une société

Toute planification fiscale au moyen de l’assurance-vie détenue par une société doit tenir compte des risques. Voici certains des principaux risques :
  • risque que des pertes en capital érodent le montant du produit d’assurance-vie qui peut être versé en franchise d’impôt aux actionnaires;
  • exposition du produit d’assurance-vie aux créanciers de la société;
  • coordination avec les autres éléments de la planification après décès.

Risque de pertes en capital et exposition aux créanciers

Le principal attribut fiscal de l’assurance détenue par une société est la réception en franchise d’impôt du produit d’assurance et la capacité à le verser libre d’impôt aux actionnaires au moyen d’un dividende en capital.

La capacité globale de la société à verser un dividende en capital dépend du solde du compte de dividendes en capital. En termes simples, il s’agit d’un compte d’impôt de la société qui reflète le montant cumulatif, tout au long de la vie de la SPCC, de la partie non imposée des gains en capital et de la partie non déductible des pertes en capital, moins le montant de tout dividende en capital payé. Le montant qui peut être versé à titre de dividende en capital non imposable à un moment ou l’autre dépend de l’historique de la société à l’égard des gains et pertes en capital, ainsi que du moment où des dividendes en capital ont été versés auparavant ainsi que d’autres éléments pouvant avoir une incidence sur le compte de dividendes en capital. Par conséquent, dans certaines circonstances, une perte en capital importante de la société pourrait réduire le montant qui serait autrement payable à titre de dividende en capital et restreindre le montant libre d’impôt pouvant être reçu à l’égard du produit de l’assurance-vie reçu.

Lorsqu’une société détient des polices d’assurance-vie, il existe un risque que le produit de l’assurance soit assujetti aux réclamations de créanciers. Par exemple, lorsque la police a été donnée en garantie à une institution financière pour une dette d’entreprise, l’institution peut choisir de conserver le produit de l’assurance pour rembourser une partie de la dette d’entreprise au lieu de libérer les fonds pour permettre le financement d’un dividende en capital. Les créanciers non garantis peuvent également avoir une créance, selon l’état des finances de la société.

L’utilisation d’une société de portefeuille pour détenir la police d’assurance-vie permet d’atténuer ces deux questions. Toutefois, si la société de portefeuille est le bénéficiaire de la police, elle doit également être l’entité qui effectue le paiement de la prime.

Planification après décès

Il faut tenir compte de nombreux facteurs lors de la planification successorale. L’assurance-vie, en particulier celle détenue par une société, ne devrait pas être utilisée isolément, mais plutôt faire partie d’un plan global. Il existe des situations où le paiement d’un dividende en capital du produit de l’assurance-vie réduira l’efficacité de la planification après décès.

Conclusion

L’assurance-vie peut être un outil efficace pour aider à gérer l’entreprise et les coûts fiscaux générés au décès du propriétaire-exploitant. Communiquez avec votre conseiller BDO pour savoir comment vous préparer en cas de décès inattendu et aider à protéger votre famille et votre entreprise.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 17 mai 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.