Accounting for the Future: A BDO Canada Podcast

September 15, 2022

Finance leaders of mid-market firms are invited to listen to experts talk about today's pressing issues and how to succeed now, and into the future.

Podcast icon

Subscribe to BDO's Podcast Series on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts or Spotify.

Get far enough ahead to never fall behind
Businesses are facing new opportunities and challenges that could help or hurt their finances. Learn how to factor them into your strategies from experienced finance leaders.

Actionable advice
From accounting in the age of corporate social responsibility to understanding the financial expectations of a changing business landscape, you'll find answers to all your questions—and the questions you should be asking.

Curated guests
BDO's bench of experts in these areas is deep and diverse. Perspectives are informed by experience in many industries and sectors across the economy.
See the full episode list

A curious host
Armand Capisciolto doesn't scratch surfaces. He digs into the risks and opportunities of an issue, and frames them simply and clearly for you, the financial leaders looking for an edge.
About Armand

Full episode list

+
+

Episode information

Length: 33 mins

Summary

This week, we welcome Anne-Marie Henson, BDO partner from our Montreal Office. Anne-Marie works with public companies, as well as many technology companies in both the start-up and scale-up stages. We discuss the difference between a scale-up and a start-up, why taking time to think over investment decisions matters, and a few success stories of companies who understood the benefits of investing time in accounting and finance upfront.


Guest information

Anne-Marie Henson, BDO Canada, Partner, Assurance & Accounting

Anne-Marie Henson is a partner at BDO's downtown Montreal office with over 15 years of professional experience. She has managed complex domestic and international client engagements and has extensive experience serving public and private companies that report in accordance with ASPE, IFRS and US GAAP. She routinely offers advice and ideas on accounting and reporting issues as well as internal controls and operating efficiencies. She has also advised and assisted companies in financing, expansion and going public transactions in both Canada and the US.

+

Episode information

Length: 23 mins

Summary

Sustainability reporting is gaining momentum - and fast! Businesses that aren't already thinking about their ESG strategy are at risk of falling behind their competitors. To unravel some of the details regarding sustainability reporting around the world, in this two-part conversation we welcome BDO partners Andrew Buchanan, BDO Global's Head of IFRS and Corporate Reporting, and Christopher Tower, BDO USA's ESG Strategy and Services Leader. Together they address how sustainability reporting is impacting businesses in Canada, the USA, and Europe.


Guest information

Andrew Buchanan, BDO Global, Global Head of IFRS and Corporate Reporting

Christopher Tower, BDO USA, ESG Strategy and Services Leader

+

Episode information

Length: 32 mins

Summary

With compliance conversations heating up, sustainability reporting and options for meeting requirements continue to be top priorities for proactive businesses. This is the second part of our conversation with Andrew Buchanan, BDO's Global Head of IFRS and Corporate Reporting, and Christopher Tower, BDO USA's ESG Strategy and Services Leader. Together they explore key sustainability requirements proposed by the Canadian Securities Administrators, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, and the EU Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive.


Guest information

Andrew Buchanan, BDO Global, Global Head of IFRS and Corporate Reporting

Christopher Tower, BDO USA, ESG Strategy and Services Leader

+

Episode information

Length: 34 mins

Summary

This week we welcome Barbara Palmegiani, Partner and CFO Services Leader with BDO Canada, to talk about the significant impact The Great Resignation is having on the already lean finance profession. There is no formula to guarantee employment, but through transformation businesses can keep up with the future of the finance function. Spoiler alert: it's about more than technology.


Guest information

Barbara Palmegiani, BDO Canada, Partner and CFO Services Leader

Barbara is a BDO's CFO Services Leader and Assurance and Accounting Partner based in the GTA. Working closely with many CFOs and controller's from a variety of sectors, company sizes and industries, Barbara has maintained a part-time learning focus, where she teaches CPAs to develop their leadership abilities, human centric skills, and core values that will differentiate the “accountant of the future.”

Barbara has a wide range of business expertise earned over the last 30 years in diverse areas such as management consulting, training and education, retail, CPG, private equity, manufacturing, not-for-profit, real estate, as well as successfully leading finance and operations teams in various public and private companies.

+

Episode information

Length: 28 mins

Summary

Forward-thinking companies are working toward sustainability and increasing their focus on environment, social, and governance practices. Environmental and social issues are now business issues, but what is the impact of these efforts on financial reporting? In this episode, host Armand Capisciolto and his guest discuss the link between sustainability and financial reporting.


Guest information

Kyle Hulme, Chief Operating Officer, Pulis Investments

Kyle is a BDO Alumni, having worked as a Partner leading BDO's Strategy, Operations & Sustainability practice. With over 15 years of experience, Kyle lead a team of strategy, operations, and sustainability professionals who assisted clients with achieving their growth, performance, and sustainability ambitions. Delivering strategic business planning, operational transformations and ESG programs, Kyle worked across a wide variety of industries, focusing on private sector organizations.

+

Episode information

Length: 22 mins

Summary

With inflation rates at their highest since the 1980s and unprecedented interest rate increases, companies are left wondering what steps they can take to mitigate the impact of the current economic environment. In this episode, host Armand Capisciolto, BDO's National Accounting Standards Partner and leader of accounting advisory services, is joined by Kevin Meyler, national leader of BDO's Business Restructuring and Turnaround Services for a discussion about managing the current economic environment.


Guest information

Kevin Meyler, BDO Canada, Partner and Business Restructuring and Turnaround Services Leader

Kevin is a partner in BDO's Calgary office. He has more than 15 years of experience providing restructuring, insolvency, and transaction advisory services to both private and public companies on behalf of banks, financial institutions, alternative lenders, and shareholders of businesses.

Throughout his career, Kevin has provided services to clients in a wide range of industries, including real estate, restaurant and hospitality, oil field services, manufacturing, printing, agriculture, technology, and retail.

+

Episode information

Length: 29 mins

Summary

An impressive number of companies have gone public in recent years, but the benefits of being a public company are not always available to certain companies during a period of economic uncertainty. Does it make more sense to take a public company private? In this episode of Accounting for the Future, host Armand Capisciolto, BDO’s National Accounting Standards Partner and leader of Accounting Advisory Services, is joined by Georges Dubé, Partner at McMillan, Capital Markets & Securities team. Together they discuss the benefits, mechanisms, and considerations of taking a public company private.


Guest information

Georges Dubé, McMillan, Partner, Capital Markets & Securities

Georges Dubé is recognized as a leading corporate finance and securities lawyer with a business law practice focused on capital markets and corporate governance. He has extensive experience in public and private securities offerings, as well as takeover bids and mergers and acquisitions, both in the Canadian and cross-border context.

With extensive transactional experience in industries including mining, technology, cannabis and life sciences, Georges helps startups and established companies achieve their goals while safeguarding their interests in the marketplace.

+

Episode information

Length: 18 mins

Summary

Despite the pandemic, 2020 and 2021 were extremely busy years in the active capital markets with a host of companies going public and successful funds raised. So far, 2022 has presented a slowdown in the public markets, but what does that mean for early-stage companies that are looking to raise money now? In this episode of Accounting for the Future, host Armand Capisciolto, BDO's National Accounting Standards Partner and Accounting Advisory Services Leader, sits down with Jeffrey Stanger, President of ITB Solutions, Inc. Jeffrey shares his insights into what it takes to raise money in today's tough market.


Guest information

Jeffrey Stanger, President, ITB Solutions Incorporated

ITB Solutions Incorporated is a Toronto based management consulting firm that is focused specifically on the capital markets ecosystem. Their focus, for the past 18 years as Going Public Management Consultants, is on creating and managing the going public plan and deal team with C-level management for a successful listing.

The President, Jeffrey Stanger, has worked in the capital markets for 28 years, with 16 of them in listings development positions for two recognized Canadian stock exchanges.

+
Coming soon!

We'd love to hear your feedback

Do you have questions or comments about the podcast? Submit them here.

Subscribe to get more insights

Subscribe to get new episodes, expert advice, and related insights directly to your inbox.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

La comptabilité de l'avenir : un balado de BDO Canada

18 août 2022

Les dirigeants financiers d'entreprises du marché intermédiaire sont invités à écouter des experts discuter des enjeux cruciaux actuels et de la manière dont il est possible de réussir aujourd'hui et à l'avenir.

Version français à venir

Podcast icon

Abonnez-vous à la série de baladodiffusions de BDO sur Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts ou Spotify.

Prendre suffisamment d'avance pour ne pas accuser de retard
De nouveaux défis et occasions se présentent aux entreprises. Certains sont avantageux pour leurs finances et d'autres, néfastes. Apprenez comment en tenir compte dans vos stratégies grâce aux conseils de dirigeants financiers expérimentés.

Conseils pratiques
Qu'il s'agisse de la comptabilité à l'ère de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises ou de la compréhension des attentes financières d'un monde des affaires en évolution, vous obtiendrez les réponses à toutes vos questions ainsi que les réponses aux questions auxquelles vous n'aviez pas pensé.

Invités de choix
Le groupe d'invités est constitué d'experts de BDO possédant une expertise vaste et poussée dans ces domaines. Leurs avis s'appuient sur l'expérience qu'ils ont acquise dans bon nombre d'industries et de secteurs de l'économie.
Consulter la liste des épisodes

Animateur curieux
Armand Capisciolto ne fait pas qu'effleurer les sujets traités. Il cherche à comprendre les risques et les occasions qui en découlent, puis les présente de manière claire et simple afin de permettre à des dirigeants financiers comme vous de prendre une longueur d'avance.
À propos d'Armand

Liste des épisodes

+

Information sur l'épisode

Durée : 33 min

Sommaire

Cette semaine, nous accueillons Anne-Marie Henson, associée au bureau de BDO à Montréal. Anne-Marie travaille avec des sociétés ouvertes et de nombreuses entreprises du secteur de la technologie qui sont en phase de démarrage ou de croissance. Nous discutons ici de la différence entre une entreprise en phase de croissance et une entreprise en phase de démarrage, des raisons pour lesquelles il est important de bien réfléchir aux décisions de placement et du cas d'entreprises qui ont compris l'importance de consacrer dès le début du temps à la comptabilité et aux finances.


Information sur l'invitée

Anne-Marie Henson, associée, BDO Canada, Certification et comptabilité

Anne-Marie Henson est associée au bureau de BDO du centre-ville de Montréal et compte plus de 15 années d'expérience professionnelle. Elle a géré des missions complexes pour des clients à l'échelle nationale et internationale. En outre, elle possède une vaste expérience auprès des sociétés ouvertes et privées qui présentent leur information financière conformément aux NCECF, aux IFRS et aux PCGR des États-Unis. Elle fournit régulièrement des conseils et des idées au sujet de problèmes de comptabilité et de présentation de l'information financière ou de contrôles internes et de gains d'efficacité opérationnelle. Elle a également conseillé et aidé des entreprises dans le cadre d'opérations de financement, d'élargissement des activités et d'appels publics à l'épargne au Canada et aux États-Unis.

+

Information sur l'épisode

Durée : 23 min

Sommaire

La présentation de l'information financière en matière de durabilité devient de plus en plus populaire! Les entreprises qui ne pensent pas déjà à leur stratégie en matière de facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance risquent d'accuser du retard par rapport à leurs concurrents. Pour faire la lumière sur les détails entourant la présentation de l'information financière à travers le monde, dans le cadre de cette conversation en deux volets, nous accueillons les associés de BDO Andrew Buchanan, qui est à la tête des services liés aux IFRS et aux rapports d'entreprise de BDO Global, ainsi que Christopher Tower, qui dirige quant à lui la stratégie et les services relatifs aux facteurs ESG de BDO USA. Ensemble, ils discutent des répercussions de la présentation de l'information en matière de durabilité sur les entreprises au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe.


Information sur les invités

Andrew Buchanan, BDO Global, Global Head IFRS and Corporate Reporting

Christopher Tower, BDO USA, ESG Strategy and Services Leader

+

Information sur l'épisode

Durée : 32 min

Sommaire

Les conversations sur la conformité s'intensifiant, les entreprises proactives continuent de faire de la présentation de l'information financière en matière de durabilité et du respect des exigences leurs priorités. Il s'agit du deuxième volet de la discussion avec Andrew Buchanan, qui est à la tête des services liés aux IFRS et aux rapports d'entreprise de BDO Global, et Christopher Tower, qui dirige quant à lui la stratégie et les services relatifs aux facteurs ESG. Ensemble, ils analysent les principales exigences en matière de durabilité proposées par les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières, la U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission et la Commission européenne à la directive relative à la publication d'informations en matière de durabilité par les entreprises.


Information sur les invités

Andrew Buchanan, BDO Global, Global Head of IFRS and Corporate Reporting

Christopher Tower, BDO USA, ESG Strategy and Services Leader

+

Information sur l'épisode

Durée : 34 min

Sommaire

Cette semaine, nous accueillons Barbara Palmegiani, associée et chef des Services de gestion financière chez BDO Canada, avec qui nous discuterons des répercussions considérables de la grande vague de démissions sur une fonction financière déjà fragile. Bien qu'il n'existe aucune solution garantissant l'emploi, grâce à la transformation, les entreprises peuvent rester au diapason des tendances financières futures. Indice : il n'est pas uniquement question de la technologie, ici.


Information sur l'invitée

Barbara Palmegiani, BDO Canada, associée et chef des Services de gestion financière

Mme Palmegiani est la chef des Services de gestion financière de BDO ainsi qu'une associée en certification et comptabilité du cabinet dans la RTG. Forte de sa vaste expérience auprès de nombreux directeurs financiers et contrôleurs issus de divers secteurs d'activité, types d'entreprises et industries, Mme Palmegiani a également aidé les CPA à perfectionner leur esprit d'initiative, leur approche centrée sur l'humain et leurs valeurs fondamentales pour faire d'eux des « comptables de l'avenir ».

Ses trente années d'expérience, au cours desquelles elle a entre autres dirigé des équipes des finances et des opérations auprès de diverses sociétés publiques et privées, lui ont permis d'acquérir une expertise dans différents secteurs, tels que ceux de la consultation en gestion, de la formation et de l'enseignement, de la vente au détail, des produits de consommation emballés, du capital-investissement, de la fabrication, des organismes sans but lucratif et de l'immobilier.

+

Information sur l'épisode

Durée : 28 min

Sommaire

Les entreprises avant-gardistes poursuivent des objectifs de développement durable en s'intéressant de plus près aux facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (« ESG »). Les enjeux environnementaux et sociaux sont maintenant des enjeux commerciaux, mais quelles en sont les répercussions sur la présentation de l'information financière? Dans cet épisode, Armand Capisciolto et son invité discutent du lien entre le développement durable et la présentation de l'information financière.


Information sur l'invité

Kyle Hulme, chef de l'exploitation, Pulis Investments

M. Hulme est un ancien associé de BDO à la tête des services en matière de stratégie, d'exploitation et de développement durable. Fort de ses 15 années d'expérience, M. Hulme a dirigé une équipe de professionnels spécialisés en stratégie, en exploitation et en développement durable qui avaient pour mandat d'aider les clients du point de vue de la croissance, du rendement et de la durabilité. Il a offert des services en planification stratégique d'entreprise et en transformation opérationnelle et mis sur pied des programmes liés aux facteurs ESG auprès d'entreprises de divers secteurs, principalement des organisations du secteur privé.

+

Information sur l'épisode

Durée : 22 min

Sommaire

Dans le contexte actuel où les taux d'inflation atteignent des sommets jamais vus depuis les années 1980 et les taux d'intérêt connaissent des augmentations sans précédent, les entreprises se questionnent sur les mesures à prendre pour atténuer les répercussions qui en découlent. Dans cet épisode, Kevin Meyler, chef des Services en restructuration et redressement d'entreprises de BDO, se joint à l'animateur Armand Capisciolto, associé du Service national des normes comptables de BDO Canada et chef des Services-conseils en comptabilité, pour discuter de stratégies en vue de faire face au contexte économique actuel.


Information sur l'invité

Kevin Meyler, associé et chef des Services en restructuration et redressement d'entreprises de BDO Canada

M. Meyler est associé au bureau de BDO à Calgary et est le chef national des Services de redressement financier pour les entreprises chez BDO. Il compte plus de 15 années d'expérience en prestation de services-conseils en restructuration, en insolvabilité et en transactions auprès de sociétés ouvertes et fermées au nom de banques, d'institutions financières, de prêteurs non traditionnels et d'actionnaires d'entreprises de l'Ouest canadien.

Au cours de sa carrière, M. Meyler a fourni des services à des clients issus d'une grande variété de secteurs, notamment l'immobilier, la restauration et l'hôtellerie, les services pour champs pétrolifères, la fabrication, l'imprimerie, l'agriculture, la technologie et le commerce de détail.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.