Succession planning for the family cottage

June 21, 2021

Our clients, Ron and Sheryl, met with their BDO tax advisor to discuss succession planning for their family cottage. Their intent is for the property to remain in the family after they're gone and they want to have a plan in place to eventually transfer the ownership to their children. They want to know their options, including what would be the most tax-efficient way to pass the cottage on to their kids.

The couple has owned their Muskoka, Ont. cottage for nearly 19 years. They have two grown children, Leah and Stuart. Ron and Sheryl also own a home in Toronto. Ron, 68, recently retired from his business and Sheryl, 66, continues to work part time. They have some investments, which, along with their other sources of income, provide sufficient cash flow to maintain their lifestyle.

Do you own a cottage property in Canada that you want your children or family members to inherit? Perhaps you have the same questions as Ron and Sheryl. Let's look at what they learned from talking to their BDO advisor.

Tax-efficient options for cottage succession planning

Ron and Sheryl's situation isn't unusual. Cottage owners frequently wish to keep the property within the family after they die. Unfortunately, without careful consideration, the transfer or gift of a cottage to children or family members can create an unexpected income tax burden.

Before deciding to transfer or gift the property to their children, the couple should talk to both children to ensure they feel comfortable inheriting the property. Ron and Sheryl should also consider whether sharing the cottage and its upkeep may create future conflicts between Leah and Stuart.

If there is a concern that transferring ownership of the cottage to Leah and Stuart may ultimately fracture the siblings' relationship, it may be better for Ron and Sheryl to consider selling the cottage to an unrelated buyer instead. In this case, any residual wealth generated from the sale after Ron and Sheryl are gone can be split between their children as part of their estate.

Some of the tax considerations of owning a cottage property, including selling it, are discussed in our Q&A: Tax planning strategies for cottage owners article.

If Ron and Sheryl decide to transfer the cottage to their children, there are several ways to accomplish this. Let's consider the options.

Use a personal trust

A trust separates the control and management of an asset from its ownership. Transferring their cottage to an inter-vivos trust, which is a trust created while Ron and Sheryl are still living, can allow them to gift ownership of their cottage to their children as beneficiaries of the trust. As well, an inter-vivos trust will allow Ron and Sheryl to enjoy the continued use of the cottage. Aside from tax planning, a significant benefit of holding a cottage in an inter-vivos trust is that probate fees can be avoided on death, in provinces and territories where they apply. This is because property held within a trust is not considered to be part of the deceased's estate.

If Ron and Sheryl transfer the cottage to an inter-vivos family trust, there will be a deemed disposition at fair market value at that time. If their cottage increased in value from the time they purchased it, there likely will be a taxable capital gain realized on this transfer. However, Ron and Sheryl may be able to shelter a portion of this gain from income tax by using their principal residence exemption.

Since the couple also owns a home in the city, they will need to decide whether they might benefit from using their principal residence exemption on the deemed disposition of their cottage. This is because only one property can be designated as their principal residence for each year that they own both. As a result, they'll need to consider many factors when deciding which years (if any) to designate the cottage as their principal residence, such as which property they expect will ultimately have the higher average annual capital gain over the period it is owned, and when they expect the capital gain on each property to be triggered for tax purposes.

Ron and Sheryl must also keep in mind that every 21 years, there will be a deemed disposition of the trust property at its fair market value. This means taxes will have to be paid on the accrued gain at that time if the trust still owns the property.

A way to circumvent both deemed disposition rules is to transfer the cottage to a joint spousal trust (discussed below).

Consider the 2016 changes to the principal residence exemption

Legislative changes made in 2016, which were designed to close loopholes surrounding the use of the principal residence exemption, could impact Ron and Sheryl's decision on whether to transfer the cottage to a trust. As a result of these changes, if the cottage is subsequently sold by the trust, rather than distributed to Leah and Stuart, there will be a disposition for income tax purposes and taxes will become payable. In this case, the trust won't be eligible to claim the principal residence exemption on any of the gains that have accrued since the cottage was transferred to the trust. This is because, effective for taxation years that begin after 2016, only certain personal trusts are eligible to claim the principal residence exemption.

Eligible trusts include:

  • An alter ego trust, spousal trust (either inter-vivos or testamentary), joint spousal trust, or certain other trusts for the exclusive benefit of the settlor during the settlor's lifetime.
  • A qualified disability trust, provided certain conditions are met.
  • An orphan trust (the specified beneficiary is a minor whose parents are both deceased).

For a personal trust that no longer qualifies as an eligible trust after 2016, but that existed prior to 2016, certain grandfathering provisions will allow the principal residence exemption to be applied under specific conditions, and only to the gains accrued on the property up to Dec. 31, 2016. Where a property is disposed of in 2017 or later, any remaining accrued gain will not be eligible for the principal residence exemption.

Should Ron and Sheryl consider a joint spousal trust?

Since both Ron and Sheryl are over the age of 65, they're able to transfer the ownership of their cottage to a joint spousal trust without triggering the application of the deemed disposition rules discussed above.

The terms of the trust will have to provide that they have a right to the use and enjoyment of the cottage, and Leah and Stuart will be named as capital beneficiaries of the trust. When the last of either Ron or Sheryl dies, their children will be transferred ownership of the cottage and there will be a deemed disposition of the cottage at that time. The trust will then pay tax on any increase in value over the cottage's adjusted cost base (ACB).

Since a joint spousal trust is an eligible trust for the purposes of claiming the principal residence exemption, and assuming the trust meets certain other criteria, it can use the principal residence exemption (if available) to reduce the tax on the accrued gains realized on the death of the last surviving spouse.

What about a testamentary trust?

To pass ownership of the cottage to their children after they die, Ron and Sheryl may also consider the use of a testamentary trust, which is a trust that is generally created on death.

When the first spouse dies, the cottage can be transferred directly to the surviving spouse (or to a testamentary spousal trust) on a tax-free basis. When the surviving spouse dies, the cottage will be deemed to be disposed of at fair market value and their estate (or the spousal trust) will pay tax on the accrued gain. Should there be a taxable gain, the principal residence exemption may be used to shelter all or a portion of that gain, if available. After death, the cottage will be an asset of the testamentary trust, with the couple's children as beneficiaries.

However, a testamentary trust may not be as tax-effective as transferring the cottage to their children on death. This is because it doesn't qualify as an eligible trust for the purposes of the principal residence exemption. As a result, any gains that accrue on the property between the time it's transferred to the trust and its eventual sale will be fully taxable within the trust. In this case, it may be more beneficial to transfer the property to Leah and Stuart following the death of their last surviving parent rather than to a testamentary trust, unless the couple has other non-tax reasons for wanting to prevent their children from owning the cottage directly. These reasons may include protecting the property in the event of a marriage breakdown or from creditors.

If Ron and Sheryl do decide to bequeath the cottage to Leah and Stuart after they die, they may wish to consider purchasing a life insurance policy to pay for the taxes that will become payable by the trust on the deemed disposition at death.

Joint tenancy with the right of survivorship

Another option for Ron and Sheryl to consider is transferring ownership of the cottage directly to their children during their lifetime. They can accomplish this by transferring title into joint ownership with the right of survivorship. When one owner dies, the cottage simply transfers into the hands of the other joint owner(s), thereby potentially bypassing the estate and thus avoiding probate. In Quebec, the concept of undivided co-ownership, usufruct, or right of use can be used. Note that usufruct and right of use are treated like trusts for tax purposes.

The transfer of a cottage into joint tenancy—or in Quebec, in co-ownership—will constitute a partial disposition for tax purposes and will generally trigger the realization of a capital gain if the property has increased in value. An exception to this is if you transfer joint tenancy to your spouse.

There may be future implications to claiming the principal residence exemption when this option is used. In addition, there will be legal and other implications when entering into a joint tenancy agreement with their children since Ron and Sheryl will no longer be the sole owners of the property.

Sell the cottage to the children

Ron and Sheryl can also consider selling the cottage to their children while they're still alive. If they do, there will be a disposition for income tax purposes at the time of sale. The capital gain will be calculated based on the fair market value of the property regardless of the selling price since the sale is considered to take place between non-arm's length parties. If Ron and Sheryl sell the cottage to their children for less than fair market value, they will still pay tax as though they received fair market value and their children will have an ACB equal to the amount they paid, possibly resulting in double taxation.

Another option for Ron and Sheryl to consider is to spread out the gain on the sale over five years, which may allow them to use the capital gains reserve. This will spread out the taxation of the capital gain over time rather than having to pay tax on it all in one year.

BDO can help you understand your options

There are many options for keeping a cottage in the family for future generations to enjoy. While not always easy, considering both the emotional and financial aspects of transferring or gifting a cottage to your children or family members will go a long way to ensuring a smooth transition.

Speak to your BDO advisor if you're thinking about transitioning your cottage or vacation property to your children or family members.

Peter Routly, Partner, Private Client Services Practice Leader


The information in this publication is current as of June 21, 2021.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Le chalet familial : conseils pour la planification successorale

21 juin 2021

Nos clients, Ronald et Suzanne, ont rencontré leur conseiller en fiscalité de BDO pour discuter de planification successorale pour le chalet familial. Ils souhaitent que le chalet reste au sein de la famille après leur décès et aimeraient avoir un plan pour transférer le titre de propriété à leurs enfants. Ils veulent savoir quelles options s’offrent à eux, notamment le moyen le plus efficace sur le plan fiscal pour léguer leur chalet à leurs enfants.

Ils sont propriétaires d’un chalet à Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts depuis près de 19 ans. Ils ont deux enfants d’âge adulte, Léa et Stéphane. Ronald et Suzanne possèdent également une maison à Montréal. Ronald, âgé de 68 ans, a récemment pris sa retraite et Suzanne, âgée de 66 ans, continue de travailler à temps partiel. Ils détiennent des placements qui, en plus de leurs autres sources de revenus, leur fournissent un revenu suffisant pour maintenir leur style de vie.

Possédez-vous un chalet au Canada que vous désirez léguer à vos enfants ou à d’autres membres de votre famille? Vous vous posez peut-être les mêmes questions que Ronald et Suzanne. Voici ce qu’ils ont appris à la suite de leur discussion avec leur conseiller de BDO.

Options avantageuses sur le plan fiscal en matière de planification successorale relative à un chalet

La situation de Ronald et Suzanne n’est pas hors du commun. Il arrive souvent que les propriétaires de chalet veuillent garder le bien au sein de la famille après leur décès. Malheureusement, en l’absence d’une planification rigoureuse, le transfert ou le don d’un chalet aux enfants ou à d’autres membres de la famille peut engendrer un fardeau fiscal imprévu.

Avant de décider de transférer ou donner le bien à leurs enfants, Ronald et Suzanne doivent en discuter avec eux pour savoir s’ils désirent en hériter. Ronald et Suzanne doivent également déterminer si le partage du chalet et son entretien pourraient être source de conflits entre Léa et Stéphane.

Si le transfert du chalet risque de menacer la relation entre Léa et Stéphane, il serait peut-être préférable pour Ronald et Suzanne d’envisager de vendre le bien à un acheteur non lié. Dans ce cas, le patrimoine restant généré à la suite de la vente après le décès de Ronald et Suzanne peut être divisé entre leurs deux enfants dans le cadre de la succession.

Notre article FAQ liée à la fiscalité : stratégies de planification fiscale pour les propriétaires de chalet traite de certains points à prendre en compte sur le plan fiscal pour les propriétaires de chalet, notamment la vente du bien.

Si Ronald et Suzanne décident de transférer le chalet à leurs deux enfants, ils peuvent s’y prendre de plusieurs façons. Examinons les options possibles.

Utilisation d’une fiducie personnelle

Une fiducie sépare le contrôle et la gestion d’un actif de son droit de propriété. Le transfert du chalet dans une fiducie entre vifs, soit une fiducie créée du vivant de Ronald et Suzanne, peut leur permettre de transmettre le chalet à leurs enfants en tant que bénéficiaires de la fiducie. Par ailleurs, une fiducie entre vifs permettra à Ronald et Suzanne de continuer à profiter du chalet. En plus de l’avantage associé à la planification fiscale, le fait de détenir un chalet dans une fiducie entre vifs permet d’éviter les frais d’homologation au décès dans les provinces et territoires où de tels frais s’appliquent. Ces frais ne sont pas exigés parce qu’un bien détenu au sein d’une fiducie n’est pas considéré comme faisant partie de la succession d’un défunt.

Si Ronald et Suzanne transfèrent le chalet dans une fiducie entre vifs, cela entraînera une disposition réputée à la juste valeur marchande à ce moment. Si la valeur de leur chalet a augmenté depuis qu’ils en ont fait l’acquisition, un gain en capital imposable sera probablement réalisé lors du transfert. Cependant, Ronald et Suzanne pourraient mettre une partie de ce gain en franchise d’impôt sur le revenu en utilisant l’exemption pour résidence principale.

Comme ils sont également propriétaires d’une résidence en ville, ils devront décider s’il est judicieux d’utiliser leur exemption pour résidence principale lors de la disposition réputée de leur chalet. En effet, un seul de leurs biens peut être désigné comme résidence principale pour toutes les années où ils étaient propriétaires des deux biens. Par conséquent, pour déterminer les années pendant lesquelles, le cas échéant, ils désignent le chalet à titre de résidence principale, ils devront tenir compte de nombreux facteurs, à savoir quel bien aura au bout du compte le gain en capital annuel moyen le plus élevé au cours de la période pendant laquelle ils en étaient propriétaires et le moment auquel ils prévoient que le gain en capital sur chaque bien sera déclenché aux fins de l’impôt.

Ronald et Suzanne doivent également garder à l’esprit que tous les 21 ans, une disposition réputée du bien de la fiducie à sa juste valeur marchande aura lieu. Des impôts seront exigibles sur le gain accumulé à ce moment si la fiducie est toujours propriétaire du bien.

Pour éviter ces deux règles relatives à la disposition réputée, il est possible de transférer le chalet à une fiducie mixte au profit du conjoint (voir ci-dessous).

Changements de 2016 relatifs à l’exemption pour résidence principale à prendre en compte

Les changements législatifs apportés en 2016 afin d’éliminer les échappatoires liées à l’utilisation de l’exemption pour résidence principale pourraient peser sur la décision de Ronald et Suzanne de transférer le chalet dans une fiducie. En raison de ces changements, si le chalet est ensuite vendu par la fiducie au lieu d’être transféré à Léa et Stéphane, il y aura une disposition aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu et des impôts deviendront exigibles. Dans ce cas, la fiducie ne pourra pas réclamer l’exemption pour résidence principale sur les gains accumulés depuis le transfert du bien à la fiducie. Pour les années d’imposition commençant après 2016, seules certaines fiducies personnelles sont admissibles à une exemption pour résidence principale.

Les fiducies admissibles comprennent :

  • les fiducies en faveur de soi-même, les fiducies au profit du conjoint (entre vifs ou testamentaires), les fiducies mixtes au profit du conjoint ou certaines autres fiducies au profit exclusif du constituant au cours de la vie de celui-ci;
  • les fiducies admissibles pour personne handicapée, sous réserve de certaines conditions;
  • les fiducies pour orphelin (le bénéficiaire déterminé est un enfant mineur dont les deux parents sont décédés).

Dans le cas de fiducies personnelles qui ne sont plus considérées comme des fiducies admissibles après 2016, mais qui ont été créées avant 2016, des dispositions relatives aux droits acquis permettront d’appliquer l’exemption pour résidence principale sous certaines conditions, et ce, seulement à l’égard des gains accumulés sur les biens jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016. Lorsqu’un bien est disposé à compter de 2017, les gains accumulés restants ne sont pas admissibles à une exemption pour résidence principale.

Fiducie mixte au profit du conjoint

Puisque Ronald et Suzanne sont tous deux âgés de plus de 65 ans, ils seront en mesure de transférer leur titre de propriété à une fiducie mixte au profit du conjoint sans que les règles relatives à la disposition réputée s’appliquent.

Les modalités de la fiducie devront stipuler qu’ils ont droit à l’usage et à la jouissance du chalet. Léa et Stéphane seront également nommés bénéficiaires du capital de la fiducie. Lorsque Ronald et Suzanne décéderont, leurs enfants deviendront propriétaires du chalet et une disposition réputée du chalet sera dès lors réalisée. La fiducie paiera ensuite l’impôt sur toute augmentation de valeur au-delà du prix de base rajusté (PBR) du chalet.

Puisqu’une fiducie mixte au profit du conjoint est admissible aux fins de l’exemption pour résidence principale, sous réserve du respect d’autres critères, la fiducie peut se prévaloir de l’exemption pour résidence principale, le cas échéant, pour réduire l’impôt sur les gains accumulés réalisés au décès du dernier époux.

Fiducie testamentaire

Pour transférer la propriété du chalet à leurs enfants après leur décès, Ronald et Suzanne pourraient faire appel à une fiducie testamentaire, soit une fiducie créée au moment du décès.

Au décès du premier époux, le chalet peut être transféré directement à l’époux survivant (ou à la fiducie testamentaire au profit de l’époux) en franchise d’impôt. Lorsque le second époux s’éteint, le chalet est réputé avoir été disposé à sa juste valeur marchande et la succession (ou la fiducie au profit de l’époux) verse l’impôt sur le gain en capital accumulé. Dans le cas où il y a un gain imposable, l’exemption pour résidence principale pourrait être utilisée pour mettre en franchise d’impôt la totalité ou une partie de ce gain, le cas échéant. Après le décès, le chalet est un actif de la fiducie testamentaire dont les enfants du couple sont bénéficiaires.

Toutefois, le recours à une fiducie testamentaire pourrait être moins avantageux sur le plan fiscal que le transfert du titre de propriété aux enfants à la suite du décès. En effet, cette fiducie n’est pas admissible au titre de l’exemption pour résidence principale. Par conséquent, tout gain accumulé sur le bien entre le moment où il est transféré à la fiducie et sa vente éventuelle est entièrement imposable au sein de la fiducie. Dans ce cas, il peut être plus avantageux de transférer le bien à Léa et Stéphane après le décès du dernier parent plutôt qu’à une fiducie testamentaire, à moins que le couple n’ait des motifs autres que fiscaux pour empêcher ses enfants de posséder directement le chalet, notamment la protection du bien contre les créanciers ou en cas de rupture du mariage.

Si Ronald et Suzanne décident de léguer le chalet à Léa et Stéphane après leur décès en utilisant une fiducie testamentaire, ils pourraient envisager de souscrire une police d’assurance vie pour payer les impôts qui deviendront exigibles pour la fiducie au moment de la disposition réputée au décès.

Propriété conjointe avec droit de survie

Ronald et Suzanne auraient aussi l’option de transférer le chalet directement à leurs enfants de leur vivant. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent transférer le titre de propriété en propriété conjointe avec droit de survie. Lorsque l’un des propriétaires décède, le chalet est tout simplement transféré à l’autre ou aux autres copropriétaires, contournant ainsi potentiellement le transfert à la succession et évitant de ce fait les frais d’homologation. Au Québec, le concept de copropriété indivise, d’usufruit ou de droit d’usage peut être utilisé. Il est à noter que l’usufruit et le droit d’usage ont un traitement analogue à celui des fiducies aux fins de l’impôt.

Le transfert d’un chalet en une propriété conjointe (ou, en droit civil québécois, en copropriété indivise) constituera une disposition partielle aux fins de l’impôt et déclenchera généralement la réalisation d’un gain en capital si la valeur de la propriété a augmenté. Le transfert de propriété à votre conjoint fait toutefois exception à cette règle.

L’exemption pour résidence principale peut entraîner des répercussions futures lorsque l’on se prévaut de cette option. De plus, conclure une entente de propriété conjointe avec leurs enfants entraînera des implications juridiques et d’autres natures pour Ronald et Suzanne, puisqu’ils ne seront plus les seuls propriétaires du bien.

Vente du chalet aux enfants

Ronald et Suzanne peuvent aussi envisager de vendre le chalet à leurs enfants de leur vivant. Dans ce cas, la vente entraînera une disposition aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu. Le gain en capital est calculé en fonction de la juste valeur marchande du bien, peu importe le prix de vente réel, puisque la vente est considérée comme ayant eu lieu entre parties ayant un lien de dépendance. Si Ronald et Suzanne vendent le chalet à leurs enfants à un prix inférieur à la juste valeur marchande, ils paieront quand même l’impôt comme s’ils avaient reçu la juste valeur marchande en contrepartie, et le prix de base rajusté de leurs enfants sera tout de même égal au montant qu’ils ont versé, ce qui pourrait entraîner une double imposition.

Ronald et Suzanne pourraient également envisager de répartir en parts égales le gain réalisé avec la vente sur cinq ans, ce qui pourrait leur permettre d’utiliser la provision pour gains en capital. De cette façon, ils pourraient étaler l’imposition du gain en capital sur plusieurs années plutôt que d’avoir à payer l’impôt sur l’ensemble du gain dans une année.

BDO peut vous aider à comprendre les différentes possibilités

Il existe de nombreuses possibilités pour qu’un chalet reste dans la famille et que les générations futures puissent en profiter. Bien que ce ne soit pas toujours facile, le transfert ou le don d’un chalet à vos enfants ou aux membres de votre famille, tant sur le plan émotionnel que financier, contribuera largement à assurer une transition en douceur.

Discutez avec votre conseiller de BDO si vous songez à transférer votre chalet ou votre propriété de vacances à vos enfants ou à des membres de votre famille.

Peter Routly, associé et chef des Services aux clients du secteur privé


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 21 juin 2021.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.