What the Environmental Emergency Regulations mean for your manufacturing business

July 15, 2020

In effect since August 2019, the Environmental Emergency Regulations (EER) outline reduction measures for the accidental release of hazardous substances into the environment. Developed under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA), the regulations aid businesses in a number of industries in properly handling environmental emergencies that their facilities might encounter. Staying compliant with these regulations is the responsibility of the individual(s) in charge of managing and controlling the substances in question at their given facility.

As stated on the Government of Canada website:

  • These regulations require that any person who owns, has the charge, management or control of a regulated substance at or above certain quantities notify Environment and Climate Change Canada. For higher-risk facilities, an environmental emergency plan must also be prepared, brought into effect and exercised.

    Schedule 1 of the Regulations includes 249 substances that pose an acute hazard to the environment or to human health should an accidental release occur.

As most manufacturing and distribution businesses operate facilities that use these types of potentially hazardous substances, it’s important that they comply to the regulations. Staying compliant can help manufacturers avoid unexpected costs in the event of an environmental emergency that could put both the environment and human health at risk.

Further, developing an environmental emergency plan can help you avoid a number of risks—ones that could cause both financial and reputational harm to the business as a whole.

How BDO can help you expect the unexpected

Our team of emergency and crisis management professionals are here to help guide you in adhering to these regulations while equipping your business to better respond to environmental emergencies, should they arise.

Some of our services include the following:

  • Reviewing current plans and arrangements, developing an action plan to address identified gaps.
  • Targeted risk analysis to establish plausible environmental release scenarios and offsite consequence modelling.
  • Design and development of plans that help comply with the EER and any other similar regulations.
  • Developing training and exercise programs.
  • Developing and facilitating exercises and simulations for strategic, tactical, and operational responders.

If you’re unsure of where your business stands in its current EER compliance, our team would be happy to discuss.

David Linton, Manufacturing & Distribution Lead

Josiane Simon, Crisis Management Lead

Rob Rovina, Business Development Manager

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Incidence du règlement sur les urgences environnementales pour votre entreprise du secteur de la fabrication

15 juillet 2020

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, entré en vigueur en août 2019, définit les mesures de réduction des rejets accidentels de substances dangereuses dans l'environnement. Élaboré en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE) de 1999, le Règlement vise à aider les entreprises de divers secteurs à gérer adéquatement les urgences environnementales qui pourraient survenir dans leurs installations. Il incombe aux responsables de la gestion et du contrôle des substances régies par le Règlement de s'assurer que l'installation s'y conforme.

Comme il est indiqué sur le site Web du gouvernement du Canada :

  • Ce Règlement [exige] que toute personne qui est propriétaire d'une substance qui se trouve à une installation ou qui a autorité sur elle et qui atteint ou dépasse les concentrations mentionnées [...] [en avise Environnement et Changement climatique Canada]. [Un plan d'urgence environnementale doit également être élaboré, mis en œuvre et utilisé dans les installations à risque élevé.]

L'annexe 1 du Règlement inclut 249 substances qui posent un danger aigu pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine dans le cas où un rejet accidentel survient.

Comme la plupart des entreprises de fabrication et de distribution exploitent des installations qui utilisent ce type de substances potentiellement dangereuses, il est important qu'elles se conforment au Règlement. En assurant leur conformité, les fabricants peuvent éviter des coûts inattendus liés aux urgences environnementales qui pourraient mettre en danger l'environnement et la santé humaine.

En outre, l'élaboration d'un plan d'urgence peut aider les entreprises à éviter certains risques susceptibles de nuire à la fois à leurs finances et à leur réputation.

Comment BDO peut vous aider à prévoir l'imprévisible

Notre équipe de professionnels spécialisés en urgences et en gestion de crise est là pour vous aider à respecter le Règlement et à outiller votre entreprise afin qu'elle puisse mieux répondre aux urgences environnementales, le cas échéant.

  • Voici quelques-uns des services que nous offrons :
  • Examen des plans et des dispositions actuels et élaboration d'un plan d'action pour combler les lacunes cernées;
  • Analyse des risques ciblée afin d'établir des scénarios plausibles de rejets dans l'environnement et modélisation des conséquences hors site.
  • Conception et élaboration de plans de conformité au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales et à tout autre règlement similaire.
  • Élaboration de programmes de formation et d'exercices.
  • Conception et animation d'exercices et de simulations pour les intervenants stratégiques, tactiques et opérationnels.

Si vous ne savez pas exactement où se situe votre entreprise en matière de conformité au Règlement, notre équipe se fera un plaisir d'en discuter avec vous.

David Linton, chef de gamme, Services aux secteurs de la fabrication et de la distribution

Josiane Simon, chef Gestion de crise

Rob Rovina, directeur, Développement des affaires

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.