Building a human firewall: how to be cyber-resilient during the COVID-19 pandemic

March 18, 2020

Determined to flatten the curve of the coronavirus spread, Canadians are acting in social solidarity—working from home, leaving only for necessities, medical care, or to attend to more vulnerable members of our communities.

There is a second vulnerability we need to build a human firewall to prevent from further spiking during the COVID-19 pandemic—cyber breaches.

The Canadian Centre for Cybersecurity has noted an increase in reports of malicious actors using the CoronaVirus (COVID-19) in phishing campaigns and malware scams.

“Hackers are taking advantage of collective anxiety about COVID-19,” says Vivek Gupta, national cybersecurity lead for BDO Consulting. “Human behaviour can be the weakest—or the strongest—link protecting us from unwanted outcomes.”

The impact of a cyber incident during a crisis—while most employees work remotely and place more demands on infrastructure and IT—could have far-reaching impacts.

The COVID-19 pandemic is a time to go back to basics, to good digital hygiene—not opening emails without confirming the sender, for instance, even when it claims to offer critical information about how to respond to the crisis. Cybercriminals are exploiting increased interest in learning about novel coronovirus.

Before the first diagnosis of COVID-19, Canada already had among the highest costs associated with cyber breaches. The average cost of a breach for all Canadian businesses, US$4.4 million, is about $500,000 higher than the global average of US$3.92 million, according to a July 2019 Ponemon Institute report.

Your organization may be able to negate the impact of a breach if it is cyber-resilient.

Cyber-resilience strengthens your company’s capacity to resist attacks and enables it to continue to function if, or when, an incident takes place—even during a global crisis.

5 tactics to be cyber-resilient during the COVID-19 pandemic

There are three factors that influence cyber-resilience—people, processes, and technology. Our tactics consider all three, and are relevant to all industries, operating business-as-usual or during this unprecedented global pandemic

1) (Re)establish an organizational culture of cybersecurity—Support all employees in following cybersecurity policies, processes, and procedures through comprehensive cybersecurity awareness, education, and (re)training programs (with a focus on the most prevalent forms of cyber-attack during the COVID-19 pandemic—spear-phishing campaigns, for instance)

2) Implement advanced cyber-diagnostic assessments attuned to the risks malicious actors are presenting during the pandemic, including:

  • Email cyber-attack assessments
  • Spear-phishing campaigns
  • Network and endpoint cyber-attack assessments
  • Vulnerability scanning assessments
  • Penetration testing

3) Create a cyber-breach incident-response plan—Develop and test an enterprise-wide information-system incident-response plan to identify, contain, eradicate, and quickly recover from cyber-attacks.

4) Ensure information-system resilience—Implement and test an enterprise-wide business-continuity plan (BCP) and disaster-recovery plan (DRP).

5) Conduct 24 x 7 x 365 Monitoring, Detection, and Response (MDR) —Continually monitor, detect, and respond to all cyber incidents impacting email systems, networks, software applications, and all information-system endpoints using advanced security information event management (SIEM) software, data-visualization tools, automation, and artificial-intelligence (AI) capabilities.

To develop a threat-based cybersecurity strategy specific to your business, contact us.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Ériger un pare-feu humain : Comment être cyber-résilient pendant la pandémie de COVID-19

20 mars 2020

Déterminés à aplanir la courbe de la propagation du coronavirus, les Canadiens agissent dans la solidarité sociale en travaillant à domicile, en ne sortant que pour les nécessités, les soins médicaux ou pour porter assistance aux membres les plus vulnérables de nos communautés.

Il existe une autre menace pour laquelle il est important de construire un pare-feu humain pour empêcher sa montée en flèche lors de la pandémie COVID-19 : les cyberintrusions.

Le Centre canadien pour la Cybersécurité a constaté que des auteurs malveillants se servent de plus en plus du coronavirus (COVID-19) pour mener des campagnes d'hameçonnage et d'escroquerie liées à des maliciels.

« Les pirates profitent de l'anxiété collective suscitée par COVID-19 », a indiqué Vivek Gupta, Chef national des Services en cybersécurité chez BDO. « Le comportement humain peut être le maillon le plus faible ou le plus fort pour nous protéger des effets indésirables. »

L'impact d'un cyberincident pendant une crise, alors que la plupart des employés travaillent à distance et sollicitent davantage les infrastructures et les outils informatiques, pourrait s'avérer dramatique.

La pandémie de COVID-19 est l'occasion de revenir à l'essentiel, soit à une bonne hygiène numérique; par exemple, en n'ouvrant les courriels qu'après en en avoir confirmé la source, même si ceux-ci peuvent sembler vous offrir des informations essentielles sur la façon de répondre à la crise de COVID-19. Il importe de se rappeler que les cybercriminels exploitent cet intérêt accru des gens à en savoir plus sur le nouveau coronavirus.

Même avant le premier cas de COVID-19, le Canada était déjà parmi les pays ayant les coûts liés aux cyberintrusions les plus élevés. Selon un rapport de juillet 2019 du Ponemon Institute, le coût moyen des cyberintrusions pour les entreprises canadienness'élevait déjà à 4,4 millions de dollars américains. Ce coût moyen est environ 500 000 $ plus élevé que la moyenne mondiale qui s'éleve quant à elle à 3,92 millions de dollars américains.

Votre organisation pourrait être en mesure de contrer l'incidence d'une intrusion si elle est cyberrésiliente.

La cyberrésilience permet aux organisations de mieux résister aux attaques et de continuer à fonctionner lorsqu'un incident se produit, même en situation de crise mondiale.

5 conseils pour être cyberrésilient pendant la pandémie de COVID-19

Trois facteurs influencent la cyberrésilience : les personnes, les processus et la technologie. Nos conseils tiennent compte des trois et s'appliquent à tous les secteurs, en temps normal comme en cette période de pandémie mondiale.

1) (Ré)établir une culture organisationnelle de cybersécurité—Encouragez tous vos employés à respecter les politiques, processus et procédures en matière de cybersécurité au moyen de programmes complets de sensibilisation et de formation (en mettant l'accent sur les formes de cyberattaques les plus répandues pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, par exemple : les campagnes d'hameçonnage).

2) Mettre en œuvre des évaluations avancées de cyberdiagnostic adaptées aux risques que présentent les acteurs malveillants pendant la pandémie, notamment :

  • Les cyberattaques par courrier électronique
  • Les campagnes d'hameçonnage
  • Les cyberattaques sur les réseaux et les terminaux
  • Les analyses de vulnérabilité
  • Les tests d'intrusion

3) Créer un plan d'intervention adressant les cyberintrusions—Élaborez et testez un plan de réponse aux incidents sur les systèmes informatiques à l'échelle de l'entreprise visant à identifier les cyberattaques, à les contenir, à les éradiquer et à s'en remettre aussi rapidement que possible.

4) Assurer la résilience de vos systèmes informatiques—Mettez en œuvre et testez vos plans de continuité des activités et de relève TI après sinistres à l'échelle de l'entreprise.

5) Exécuter des procédures de surveillance, de détection et d'intervention en tout temps—Sur une base continue, surveillez, détectez et intervenez pour chaque cyberincident ayant un effet sur les systèmes de messagerie, les réseaux, les applications logicielles et tous terminaux informatiques au moyen d'un logiciel de gestion avancée des événements et informations de sécurité, d'outils de visualisation des données et de fonctions d'automatisation et d'intelligence artificielle (IA).

Pour élaborer une stratégie de relève spécifique à votre entreprise et axée sur les menaces actuelles en matière de cybersécurité, communiquez avec nous.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.