Tax Tip - Are you ready for the CPP enhancement?

December 04, 2018

NTL_09Nov18_Website_Are-You-Ready-For-The-CPP_LandingPage_679x220.png

Starting in 2019, the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) enhancements announced in 2016 will be gradually phased in over six years. The goal of the upcoming CPP enhancement is to address the risk of retirement income shortage for many Canadians by increasing the maximum annual pension benefit from approximately 25% of pre-retirement eligible income to 33%. In order to fund this benefit increase, there will be a two-step rise in contributions. First, the employee and employer contribution rates on earnings up to the yearly maximum pensionable earnings (YMPE) will each increase by 1% of YMPE by 2023. Second, a new “Upper Limit” on pensionable earnings was introduced, and beginning in 2024, a separate additional contribution of 4% of the difference between the Upper Limit and the YMPE will be required. This Upper Limit will be 7% higher than the 2024 YMPE amount, and 14% higher in 2025 and subsequent years. For example, by 2025, the YMPE is projected to be about $72,500. Therefore, the Upper Limit will be $82,700, or 114% of the YMPE amount. The difference between the YMPE and the Upper Limit (i.e. the incremental increase in maximum earnings) will be subject to a separate contribution rate of 4% each for employees and employers, and 8% for self-employed persons.

For 2019, the CPP contribution rate for employees and employers will increase by 0.15% — from 4.95% to 5.1%. This increase will be 0.3% for self-employed individuals, bringing the CPP contribution rate from 9.9% to 10.2% in 2019. If the YMPE were to remain the same in 2019 as it is now in 2018, this increased contribution would be $2,672.40 (compared to 2018 contribution rate of $2,593.80), or an increase of $78.60, for those employees earning the 2018 maximum YMPE of $55,900.

Employees should note that the additional contributions subject to the new 4% tax will be allowed as a tax deduction, which will minimize the after-tax cost of the increased contributions. For employers, while the additional employer contributions will be tax deductible in the same manner as current CPP contributions, employers will need to determine how to fund the added cost. In addition, if the payroll function is performed in-house, a review of internal systems may be beneficial in order to determine the updates that will be needed to effect the changes.

CPP enhancements are coming and will impact employees, employers, and the self-employed. If you have questions regarding the changes, please contact your BDO advisor.

This tax tip is a publication of BDO Canada LLP on developments in the area of taxation. This material is general in nature and should not be relied upon to replace the requirement for specific professional advice. The information in this tax tip is current as of November 14, 2018.

Truc fiscal - Bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada : êtes-vous prêt?

04 décembre 2018

NTL_09Nov18_Website_Are-You-Ready-For-The-CPP_LandingPage_679x220.png

À compter de 2019, les changements annoncés en 2016 pour bonifier le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) entreront progressivement en vigueur sur une période de six ans. La bonification du RPC vise à aider les Canadiens à éviter de manquer de revenus pendant leur retraite en augmentant la prestation annuelle maximale, qui passera de 25 % à 33 % du revenu admissible d’avant la retraite. Pour financer cette augmentation des prestations, les taux des cotisations seront haussés en deux étapes. D’abord, le taux de cotisation pour les employeurs et celui pour les employés applicables aux gains jusqu’à concurrence du maximum des gains annuels ouvrant droit à pension (MGAP) augmenteront chacun de 1 % d’ici 2023. Ensuite, une nouvelle limite supérieure sur les gains ouvrant droit à pension a été mise en place. Ainsi, à compter de 2024, la différence entre le MGAP et la limite supérieure sera assujettie à un taux de cotisation additionnel distinct de 4 %. Cette limite supérieure sera plus élevée de 7 % que le MGAP de 2024 et de 14 % que le MGAP de 2025 et des années suivantes. Par exemple, en 2025, le MGAP projeté sera d’environ 72 500 $. Par conséquent, la limite supérieure projetée sera de 82 700 $, soit 114 % du MGAP. C’est la différence entre le MGAP et la limite supérieure (c’est-à-dire l’augmentation graduelle des gains maximums) qui sera assujettie à un taux de cotisation distinct de 4 % pour les employeurs et les employés et de 8 % pour les travailleurs indépendants.

En 2019, le taux de cotisation au RPC pour les employés et les employeurs augmentera de 0,15 %, passant de 4,95 % à 5,1 %. En ce qui concerne les travailleurs indépendants, l’augmentation sera de 0,3 %, ce qui fera passer le taux de cotisation au RPC de 9,9 % à 10,2 % pour 2019. Si le MGAP en 2019 demeurait identique à celui pour 2018, la cotisation majorée se chiffrerait à 2 672,40 $ (comparativement à 2 593,80 $ en 2018), soit une augmentation de 78,60 $ pour les employés dont les revenus atteignent le plafond du MGAP de 55 900 $ en 2018.

Les employés doivent savoir que les cotisations supplémentaires assujetties au nouveau taux de 4 % seront admissibles à une déduction fiscale, ce qui viendra atténuer le coût après impôts des cotisations majorées. Du côté des employeurs, s’ils peuvent déduire les cotisations supplémentaires au RPC, comme c’est le cas actuellement, ceux-ci devront toutefois déterminer comment financer les coûts supplémentaires. De plus, si la paie est traitée à l’interne, il pourrait être avantageux d’effectuer un examen des systèmes internes pour déterminer les mises à niveau nécessaires afin d’appliquer les changements.

La bonification du RPC est désormais une certitude et elle touchera à la fois les employeurs, les employés et les travailleurs indépendants. Si vous avez des questions concernant ces changements, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre conseiller de BDO.

Le présent bulletin est une publication de BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP qui traite des nouvelles mesures fiscales. Il s’agit d’information d’ordre général qui ne devrait pas remplacer les conseils d’experts pour les cas particuliers. L’information est à jour en date du 14 novembre 2018.