Tax-efficient ways to withdraw money from your business

November 11, 2019

You've worked hard to build your business and create a profitable company. During the start-up years, you may have forgone paying yourself in favour of reinvesting in your business and growing your enterprise. Perhaps you are now at a point where your business has become more established and you are ready to start withdrawing some of the profits out of your corporation. Maybe you want to bolster your personal cash flow for lifestyle reasons or to fulfill your family's financial obligations. Or instead, perhaps you are concerned about maintaining your corporation's status as a small business corporation for the purpose of one day claiming the capital gains exemption. Whatever the reason, simply withdrawing cash from your business' bank account will likely result in a significant tax bill. So the question then becomes: how do you take money out of your business in a tax efficient manner?

Unfortunately, the answer to this question isn't as straightforward as you might think. The way in which it makes the most sense for you to take money out of your company may not be the same for another business owner. Consideration must be given to many factors, including the personal federal and provincial/territorial tax rates where you live, the corporate federal and provincial/territorial tax rates where your business is located, your cash requirements both in the short- and long-term, and whether your company possesses certain favourable income tax attributes that can be utilized to minimize tax.

This article discusses some of the more general approaches that business owners can take to withdraw money out of a business in a tax-efficient manner. Some of these strategies may even allow you to access corporate profits on a tax-free basis. But, keep in mind that recently introduced tax rules add more complexity to the decision-making process, resulting in additional benefits and costs to weigh when determining the most tax-efficient approach. Let's consider the more general approaches.

Remunerate yourself and family members

Typically, business owners will pay themselves a salary from the business in a way that is similar to an employee being remunerated. If family members work in the business, a reasonable salary (or wages) can be paid to them as well. This is especially beneficial if family members have little or no other sources of income. Generally speaking, a "reasonable" salary in this instance would be one that approximates what would be paid to an unrelated third party for the same work activities.

From a tax perspective, business owners and family members will be taxed on salary (or wages) at regular personal marginal tax rates that apply based on the jurisdiction in which they live. The corporation will be allowed a deduction for salary (or wages) paid when determining taxable income, but only to the extent the amounts are reasonable. Note that there is an exception for salary (or bonuses) paid to owner-managers. Under this exception, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) will generally not question the amount of salary (or bonuses) paid by a Canadian-controlled private corporation (CCPC) to a Canadian resident owner-manager who is actively involved in the day-to-day operations of the CCPC. The CRA's position allows more flexibility in making remuneration decisions for owner-managers.

Pay a taxable dividend

Dividends can be used to distribute money from the corporation to both you and your family members. This would require that you, your spouse, and your children hold shares of your corporation either directly or indirectly (i.e., through a trust or a holding company). To ensure this is a tax-efficient method of withdrawing money from the corporation, it will be critical to consider both the tax on split income (TOSI) rules and the corporate attribution rules before any distribution is made.

TOSI rules — Taxable dividends from a private corporation will be subject to the highest rate of personal tax, with restrictions on personal tax credits that offset this tax, unless an exclusion from the TOSI rules is available. For more information on the TOSI rules, read our article titled "Income splitting – How the new rules will impact you and your family."

Corporate attribution rules — Transfers or loans to a corporation in order to effectively shift income to another family member may result in additional tax for the individual making the transfer or loan, unless certain conditions are met. Planning will help to avoid any punitive tax result under the corporate attribution rules.

With complex rules in place to restrict income splitting, consult with your BDO advisor before paying any dividends to adult family members (including spouses), as well as minor children.

Optimize your salary versus dividend mix

Remember, active business income of a CCPC is eligible for specially reduced rates of both federal and provincial/territorial corporate tax due to the small business deduction. In order to maximize the potential for this tax savings, it is common for owner-managers of CCPCs to pay themselves a combination of both salary and dividends. Some time ago, in situations where the active business income of a company exceeded the federal small business limit, it was common practice for a corporation to automatically "bonus down" to that limit. The reason was that the total corporate and personal tax associated with retaining the excess income and paying it out as a dividend often exceeded the personal tax cost when paying the excess income as a bonus. This concept is referred to as the "tax integration cost."

However, with changes to the rules governing the taxation of dividends in 2006 and the gradual reductions to the federal and (some) provincial general corporate tax rates, the cost of retaining income within a corporation has declined. As a result, paying a bonus may not always yield the most tax-efficient result. Furthermore, where profits are left in the business (to be distributed at a future date as a dividend), the additional personal tax on the dividend will be deferred.

As a cautionary note, if you decide to retain income in your corporation to take advantage of the tax deferral, and invest in passive assets, this may increase the passive investment income earned by the corporation. If that is the case, it will be necessary to consider the impact of the new passive investment income rules. These rules generally apply to taxation years that begin after 2018, and will restrict the small business deduction that can be claimed by a CCPC where passive investment income of an associated group exceeds $50,000 in the previous year.

Our Incorporating Your Business Tax Bulletin provides further discussion on retaining income within a corporation, along with a chart that illustrates the tax integration costs and potential amounts of deferrals for each province and territory in 2019. This Tax Bulletin also provides a more detailed explanation of the passive investment income rules.

Take note that other factors can influence your decision to take a salary versus being paid dividends. Your cash flow needs must be taken into account, since retaining income in your business won't work in cases where you need money for other purposes. Also, bear in mind that drawing dividends alone will not provide you with earned income for purposes of your RRSP contribution. Moreover, on the corporate side, you will want to consider the impact of any relevant payroll taxes, as well as any remittance requirements and filing obligations that may arise. Lastly, your corporation's ability to claim scientific research and experimental development (SR&ED) credits may be impacted by remuneration decisions, although this has become much less of a concern due to a beneficial federal tax change made in 2019. For more details on this change, read our article titled "Federal budget SR&ED change could impact your tax planning."

As you can see, establishing the best possible remuneration strategy can be a complex undertaking. Your BDO advisor can help you determine your optimal mix of salary and dividends.

Convert "hard ACB" into cash

If you purchased your business from someone else, it is possible that the shares you acquired have "hard" adjusted cost base (ACB), which can become relevant when planning to withdraw cash from your business. Essentially, "hard ACB" is a tax term that represents the amount that you paid for the shares when you purchased them, and it can potentially be converted into cash (or debt that can be repaid later) using a holding company, thereby allowing you to access the capital you invested on a tax free basis.

In simple terms, a holding company would be set up for the purposes of acquiring the shares of your operating company in return for consideration equal to the ACB of your operating company's shares. In this way, you could potentially receive proceeds, as cash or debt, in an amount up to the cost base of your shares without attracting any tax. There are additional advantages of incorporating a holding company, as well as a number of issues to consider. Your BDO advisor can help determine if setting up a holding company makes sense for your business situation.

You should note that attention must be paid where you acquired the shares of your business from a non-arm's-length person, such as a relative, who would have either claimed V-day protection (for capital properties owned on December 31, 1971) or the capital gains exemption (CGE) on the disposition of those shares to you. This is because hard ACB on acquired shares does not include the amount of the gain realized by a non-arm's-length person that was reduced either by the application of the V-day rules or the CGE. If ACB related to a non-arm's-length person's V-day protection or CGE is cashed in, then a deemed dividend could arise. Since these rules can be very complex, make sure you involve your BDO advisor if you're interested in converting the hard ACB of your shares into cash.

Repay outstanding shareholder loans

To help finance the start-up or growth of your business, you may have loaned funds to your company in the form of a shareholder loan. Now that your corporation is profitable, it may be a good time to consider having the company repay all or a portion of this loan. Any amount that you receive in settlement of your shareholder loan will be a tax-free distribution, similar to a return of capital.

Alternatively, you could consider having your company start paying you interest on your shareholder loan. However, keep in mind that while any interest paid would be deductible to the corporation, it will be taxable to you as investment income. It is also important to note that in certain circumstances the TOSI rules will apply to tax interest income earned by individuals from private corporations at the highest tax rate. Therefore, before any interest is paid, consideration should be given to whether the TOSI rules are a concern in order to avoid any negative tax consequences.

Pay a capital dividend

Another potential tax-free distribution to consider is to pay yourself a dividend out of your corporation's capital dividend account (CDA). In simple terms, the CDA is a notional balance that most commonly represents the non-taxable (currently 50%) portion of any capital gains (or similar receipts) that a private corporation has realized on the disposition of capital assets (tangible and intangible). A positive balance in a corporation's CDA can be distributed to Canadian resident shareholders as a tax-free dividend, ensuring that the non taxable portion of the company's capital gains (and similar receipts) do not subsequently become taxable in the hands of the shareholder.

You should note that CDA is calculated on a net cumulative basis, so the balance will be eroded by any capital losses realized by the corporation. However, capital losses realized subsequent to a distribution of the CDA will not have a retroactive effect on having previously received this distribution tax-free even if the loss is carried back. Accordingly, it is advisable to pay out the balance of the CDA as it becomes available.

That said, calculating the CDA can be complex. There are rules that govern what can and cannot be included in the CDA, as well as timing considerations with respect to the recognition of additions (and depletions) to its balance. Unfortunately, there can be negative income tax consequences when a capital dividend is paid in excess of the corporation's available CDA. Moreover, specific filing requirements must be met when paying a capital dividend. For these reasons, it will be imperative that you speak to your BDO advisor in advance of paying a dividend from your corporation's CDA.

As a planning note: if your corporation currently has no (or very little) CDA, consideration can be given to undertaking an internal sale of company assets that have unrealized capital gains. Triggering the realization of these available capital gains will create CDA that can then be distributed as a tax-free capital dividend. Although tax will be payable on the gain inside the corporation, distributing a combination of taxable and capital dividends may be beneficial when compared with just paying a taxable dividend. An additional complication has been introduced with the new passive investment income rules discussed earlier. If the capital gains are realized by the corporation on the internal sale of passive assets, these capital gains may impact the corporation's ability to claim the small business deduction. Once again, consult with your BDO advisor before effecting this type of strategy.

Whether you find yourself in a situation where taking out some cash from your business is a question of necessity, or whether this is an issue that has arisen as a matter of course, taking the time to properly plan how you're going to withdraw money from your business will ensure that you'll pay the minimum amount of tax necessary. However, as we've seen, there is no cookie-cutter approach to taking money out of your company in a tax-efficient way. Instead, there are numerous potential avenues to explore, and many factors to consider, when selecting the most tax-beneficial plan for your unique situation. Your BDO advisor can help to create a strategy that works best for you.


The information in this publication is current as of October 9, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Des solutions avantageuses sur le plan fiscal pour retirer des fonds de votre entreprise

11 novembre 2019

Vous avez travaillé fort pour monter votre entreprise et en faire une société rentable. Durant ses années de démarrage, vous avez peut-être renoncé à vous verser un salaire pour le réinvestir dans votre entreprise afin d'en favoriser la croissance. Aujourd'hui, il est possible qu'elle soit bien établie et que vous soyez prêt à en retirer une part des profits. Vous souhaitez peut-être augmenter vos liquidités personnelles pour améliorer votre niveau de vie ou respecter vos obligations financières familiales. Peut-être vous souciez-vous plutôt de conserver le statut de « société exploitant une petite entreprise» de votre entreprise en vue d'obtenir un jour l'exonération des gains en capital. Quelle que soit la raison, si vous faites simplement un retrait en espèces du compte bancaire de votre entreprise, vous devrez vraisemblablement payer un montant d'impôt important. La question qui se pose alors est la suivante : comment pouvez-vous retirer de l'argent de votre entreprise de façon avantageuse sur le plan fiscal?

Malheureusement, la réponse est moins simple qu'il n'y paraît. La meilleure façon de retirer des fonds d'une entreprise n'est pas la même d'un propriétaire à l'autre. Il faut notamment prendre en compte de nombreux facteurs, y compris les taux d'imposition des particuliers des paliers fédéral et provincial ou territorial de votre lieu de résidence ainsi que les taux d'imposition applicables aux sociétés de l'endroit où est située votre entreprise. Vous devez également tenir compte de vos besoins en liquidités à court et à long terme ainsi que des caractéristiques fiscales de votre entreprise qui pourraient être utilisées pour réduire l'impôt à payer.

Le présent article traite de certaines stratégies que les propriétaires d'entreprise peuvent adopter pour retirer des fonds de leur entreprise de façon avantageuse sur le plan fiscal. Certaines de ces stratégies pourraient même vous permettre d'accéder aux profits de l'entreprise en franchise d'impôt. Il convient toutefois de garder à l'esprit que les règles fiscales nouvellement introduites complexifient le processus de prise de décision. Pour déterminer l'approche la plus efficace sur le plan fiscal, il faut maintenant tenir compte d'un plus grand nombre d'avantages et de coûts. Examinons les stratégies les plus courantes.

Rémunération des membres de votre famille et de vous-même

Les propriétaires exploitant une entreprise se versent généralement un salaire, de la même façon qu'un employé est rémunéré. Si des membres de leur famille travaillent pour l'entreprise, ils peuvent aussi recevoir un salaire (ou traitement) raisonnable, c'est-à-dire à peu près égal à celui qui serait versé à un tiers non lié pour les mêmes activités. Cela peut s'avérer particulièrement avantageux si les membres de la famille n'ont aucune, ou pratiquement aucune, autre source de revenus.

D'un point de vue fiscal, les propriétaires d'entreprises et les membres de leur famille seront imposés sur le salaire (ou traitement) au taux d'imposition marginal des particuliers habituel qui s'applique en fonction de leur lieu de résidence. La société aura droit à une déduction pour le salaire (ou traitement) versé pour déterminer son revenu imposable, mais seulement si les montants sont raisonnables. Il convient de prendre note qu'il existe une exception pour le salaire (ou les primes) versé à des propriétaires exploitants. En vertu de cette exception, l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) ne remettra généralement pas en question le montant du salaire (ou des primes) que verse une société privée sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) à un propriétaire exploitant résident du Canada qui participe activement aux activités courantes de la SPCC. La position de l'ARC offre plus de souplesse à l'égard des décisions prises en matière de rémunération des propriétaires exploitants.

Versement d'un dividende imposable

Les dividendes peuvent servir à distribuer des fonds de votre société aux membres de votre famille et à vous-même. Votre conjoint, vos enfants et vous devez cependant détenir des actions dans la société de manière directe ou indirecte, par l'intermédiaire d'une fiducie ou d'une société de portefeuille. Pour vous assurer de l'efficacité de cette stratégie de retrait des fonds de la société sur le plan fiscal, avant de procéder à une distribution, il serait essentiel de tenir compte des règles relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné et des règles d'attribution du revenu aux sociétés.

Règles relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné – Les dividendes imposables versés par une société privée seront imposés au taux le plus élevé et seront assortis de restrictions sur les crédits d'impôt personnels qui compensent cet impôt, sauf s'il existe une exclusion particulière des règles relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les règles relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné, veuillez lire notre article intitulé Fractionnement du revenu – Quelles seront les conséquences des nouvelles règles pour votre famille et vous?

Règles d'attribution du revenu aux sociétés — Les transferts ou les prêts effectués pour que le revenu soit imposable entre les mains d'un autre membre de la famille peuvent se traduire par une facture d'impôt plus élevée pour le particulier qui réalise le transfert ou le prêt, sauf si certaines conditions sont respectées. La planification aidera à éviter l'application d'impôt punitif en vertu des règles d'attribution du revenu aux sociétés.

En raison de la présence de règles complexes qui limitent le fractionnement du revenu, nous vous invitons à consulter votre conseiller BDO avant de verser des dividendes à un membre adulte de votre famille (y compris votre conjoint), de même qu'aux enfants mineurs.

Optimisation de votre rapport salaire-dividendes

Il ne faut pas oublier que le revenu d'entreprise exploitée activement d'une SPCC est admissible à des taux d'imposition réduits tant au niveau fédéral que provincial ou territorial en raison de la « déduction accordée aux petites entreprises ». Pour tirer avantage des économies d'impôt potentielles, les propriétaires exploitants d'une SPCC se versent souvent un salaire et des dividendes. Auparavant, lorsque le revenu d'entreprise exploitée activement dépassait le plafond des affaires établi par le gouvernement fédéral, une société pouvait verser des « primes » en vue de ne pas dépasser cette limite. En effet, le total de l'impôt des sociétés et de l'impôt des particuliers pour conserver ce revenu excédentaire et le verser à titre de dividendes dépassait souvent le coût fiscal d'une « prime ». C'est ce qu'on appelait le « coût d'intégration fiscale ».

Toutefois, à la suite des modifications apportées aux règles sur l'imposition des dividendes en 2006, et en raison de la réduction progressive du taux général d'imposition des sociétés au fédéral et dans certaines provinces, le coût lié à la conservation des revenus dans l'entreprise a diminué. Ainsi, le versement d'une prime n'est plus nécessairement la solution la plus avantageuse sur le plan fiscal. De plus, si les profits sont conservés dans l'entreprise pour être distribués plus tard sous forme de dividendes, l'impôt du particulier applicable sur les dividendes sera reporté.

À titre de mise en garde, si vous décidez de conserver le revenu dans votre société pour tirer parti du report d'impôt et investir ce montant dans des actifs passifs, cela peut accroître le revenu de placement passif de la société. Si tel est le cas, vous devrez tenir compte de l'incidence des nouvelles règles à l'égard du revenu de placement passif. Ces règles s'appliquent généralement aux années d'imposition qui commencent après 2018. De plus, elles limiteront la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises que peut demander une SPCC lorsque le revenu d'un groupe associé pour l'année précédente dépasse 50 000 $.

Notre bulletin fiscal Constitution d'une entreprise analyse de façon plus approfondie la conservation des revenus au sein d'une société et présente un tableau qui illustre les coûts d'intégration fiscale de même que les montants de report potentiels pour chaque province et territoire en 2019. Ce bulletin fiscal explique également de façon plus détaillée les règles à l'égard du revenu de placement passif.

D'autres facteurs peuvent aussi vous aider à choisir entre le versement d'un salaire et la distribution de dividendes. Par exemple, vous devez prendre en compte vos flux de trésorerie, car conserver des revenus dans votre entreprise ne fonctionnera pas si vous avez besoin de liquidités à d'autres fins. De plus, les dividendes distribués ne constituent pas un revenu gagné aux fins des cotisations à votre REER. Du point de vue de l'entreprise, il serait avantageux de considérer l'incidence des retenues à la source sur les salaires, ainsi que les exigences en matière de remise et les obligations de déclaration éventuelles. Finalement, vos décisions en matière de rémunération peuvent avoir une incidence sur la capacité de votre société à demander des crédits d'impôt en recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS&DE), bien que cette question soit moins préoccupante en raison d'un changement avantageux apporté à l'impôt fédéral en 2019. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ce changement, veuillez consulter l'article intitulé Incidence possible dans votre planification fiscale du changement en RS&DE apporté dans le budget fédéral.

Comme vous pouvez le constater, il est complexe de définir la meilleure stratégie en matière de rémunération. Votre conseiller BDO peut vous aider à déterminer la combinaison optimale de salaire et de dividendes qui convient le mieux à votre situation.

Conversion en espèces du « plein » prix de base rajusté (PBR)

Si vous avez acheté votre entreprise d'une autre personne, il est possible que les actions acquises aient un « plein » PBR (communément appelé « hard ACB » en anglais). Cette information peut s'avérer pertinente si vous prévoyez retirer des fonds de votre entreprise. Essentiellement, le « plein » PBR désigne le montant que vous avez payé lors de l'achat des actions. Il peut être converti en espèces (ou en une dette à rembourser) par l'entremise d'une société de portefeuille, ce qui vous permet d'accéder au capital que vous avez investi sans payer d'impôt.

En d'autres termes, une société de portefeuille peut être mise sur pied pour acquérir des actions de votre société opérante moyennant le paiement d'une contrepartie égale au PBR de ces actions. Ainsi, vous pourriez recevoir un produit, en espèces ou à titre de dette, à hauteur du prix de base de vos actions, et ce, sans payer d'impôt. La constitution d'une société de portefeuille pourrait présenter d'autres avantages de même que soulever d'autres questions à prendre en compte. Votre conseiller BDO peut vous aider à déterminer s'il est judicieux de constituer une société de portefeuille dans votre situation.

Sachez toutefois que vous devez faire preuve de vigilance si vous avez acquis les actions de votre entreprise auprès d'une personne avec laquelle vous avez un lien de dépendance (par exemple un proche) si elle a fait le choix visant la valeur au jour de l'évaluation (pour les biens détenus le 31 décembre 1971) ou demandé l'exonération des gains en capital au moment de la disposition de ses actions en votre faveur. En effet, le plein PBR n'inclut pas le montant du gain réalisé par la personne avec qui vous avez un lien de dépendance, qui a été réduit par le choix visant la valeur au jour de l'évaluation ou l'exonération demandée. Si le PBR lié à ce choix ou à cette exonération demandée par une personne avec qui vous avez un lien de dépendance est encaissé, il pourrait s'ensuivre un dividende réputé. Comme ces règles peuvent être très complexes, assurez-vous de faire appel à votre conseiller BDO si vous envisagez de convertir en espèces le plein PBR qui est associé à vos actions.

Remboursement des prêts des actionnaires

Pour financer le démarrage ou la croissance de votre entreprise, vous lui avez peut-être consenti un prêt à titre d'actionnaire. Maintenant que votre entreprise est rentable, vous pourriez vous faire rembourser une partie ou la totalité de ce prêt. À l'instar d'un remboursement de capital, tout montant que vous recevez en remboursement de votre prêt est non imposable.

Votre entreprise pourrait par ailleurs commencer à vous verser de l'intérêt sur votre prêt consenti à titre d'actionnaire. Sachez toutefois que, si elle peut déduire tout intérêt payé, cet intérêt sera imposable pour vous au titre de revenu de placement. Il est également important de mentionner que dans certains cas, les règles relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné s'appliqueront au revenu d'intérêt provenant des sociétés privées gagné par les particuliers au taux d'imposition le plus élevé. Par conséquent, avant de verser de l'intérêt, il serait judicieux de déterminer si les nouvelles règles relatives au revenu fractionné s'appliquent à votre situation pour éviter des conséquences fiscales indésirables.

Versement d'un remboursement de capital

Il existe un autre mode de distribution potentiellement libre d'impôt grâce auquel vous pourriez vous verser un dividende à partir du compte de dividendes en capital de votre société. Ce compte est un solde théorique qui représente généralement la partie non imposable (actuellement de 50 %) de tout gain en capital (ou des encaissements similaires) qu'une société privée a réalisé à la disposition d'une immobilisation (corporelle ou incorporelle). S'il y a un solde positif au compte de dividendes en capital d'une entreprise, il peut être distribué aux actionnaires résidents au Canada à titre de dividendes non imposables. Ainsi, la part non imposable des gains en capital de l'entreprise (et des encaissements similaires) ne sera pas imposable entre les mains des actionnaires qui la recevront.

Comme le compte de dividendes en capital est calculé sur une base cumulative nette, les pertes en capital que subit la société diminuent son solde. Toutefois, celles subies après la distribution du compte de dividendes en capital n'ont pas d'incidence rétroactive sur la distribution reçue libre d'impôt. Ainsi, il est conseillé de verser le solde du compte de dividendes en capital dès qu'il est possible d'y avoir accès.

Cela dit, le calcul du solde de ce compte peut s'avérer complexe. Il existe des règles quant à ce qui peut en faire partie ou non, ainsi que des contraintes temporelles relativement à la comptabilisation des entrées au compte (et des sorties du compte). Malheureusement, un remboursement de capital supérieur au solde du compte de dividendes en capital de la société peut entraîner des conséquences négatives à l'égard de l'impôt sur le revenu. De plus, des exigences de déclaration particulières doivent être respectées lors du versement d'un dividende en capital. Pour ces raisons, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec votre conseiller BDO avant de verser un dividende à partir du compte de dividendes en capital de votre société.

Note de planification : si votre société n'a aucun compte de dividendes en capital, ou que son solde est peu élevé, vous pourriez effectuer une vente en interne de ses actifs générant des gains en capital non réalisé. Leur réalisation aura pour effet de créer un compte de dividendes en capital à partir duquel des dividendes en capital libres d'impôt pourront être distribués. Une distribution regroupant des dividendes en capital et des dividendes imposables peut se révéler avantageuse par rapport au simple versement de dividende imposable, même si vous devrez payer de l'impôt sur le gain réalisé dans la société. Les nouvelles règles à l'égard du revenu de placement passif, dont il a été question précédemment, peuvent entraîner d'autres complications. Si la société réalise un gain en capital à la vente en interne d'actifs passifs, ce gain en capital pourrait avoir une incidence sur la capacité de la société à demander la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises. Une fois de plus, consultez votre conseiller BDO avant d'adopter ce type de stratégie.

Que vous retiriez des fonds de votre entreprise par nécessité ou parce qu'il s'agit d'une pratique courante, vous parviendrez à réduire vos impôts au minimum en prenant le temps de planifier adéquatement la façon dont vous procéderez. Toutefois, comme nous l'avons vu, il n'existe pas de méthode universellement avantageuse sur le plan fiscal. En effet, il faut explorer diverses avenues et tenir compte de nombreux facteurs au moment de choisir la stratégie qui vous convient. Votre conseiller BDO peut vous aider à choisir celle qui répondra le mieux à vos besoins.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 9 octobre 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.