Tax Considerations for Airbnb Hosts

September 28, 2021

Have you taken advantage of the surge in demand for cottage rentals and rented out your cottage or summer home? If so, you’re not alone. Thousands of Canadians are renting out their home or secondary property—using Airbnb or another online platform. When joining this growing marketplace, you should consider the tax implications.

Let’s take a closer look at the income tax and GST/HST considerations that affect the finances of Canadian short-term hosts.

How to report Airbnb income

Whenever you earn income from renting your home, you need to report the gross rental income and related expenses on your tax return.

For income tax purposes, a distinction is made between income from property and income from business, and it’s not always easy to determine which classification applies to your rental income. According to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), the determination comes down to the number and kinds of services you provide for your renters.

Usually, you will be considered to have earned rental income when you rent space and provide basic services such as heat, light, parking, and laundry facilities. In this case, the income that you earn will be considered rental income and must be reported on form T776 (Statement of Real Estate Rentals) and declared on line 126 of your personal income tax return.

If, on the other hand, you operate more as a bed and breakfast and provide additional services to your guests—such as cleaning, security, and meals—you will more likely be considered to be carrying on a business, and any income earned will have to be reported as business income on your personal tax return. As a rule of thumb, the more services you provide as a host, the greater the chance that your rental operation will be considered a business.

Do I need to charge GST/HST?

Your Airbnb rental income may be subject to GST/HST. This is because short-term housing rentals for periods less than 30 continuous days are taxable for GST/HST purposes. Long-term residential rentals are exempt from GST/HST. If short-term rental revenues (plus income from any other commercial activity you may have on an associated basis) exceed $30,000 in a 12-month period, you’re required to register and collect GST/HST on this income. Note that you should also determine if a provincial sales tax or other local tax/levy applies on short-term housing rentals.

If you purchase a new or substantially renovated house that is subject to GST/HST and is for use exclusively in short-term rentals, you may consider registering for GST/HST voluntarily before exceeding $30,000 in income.

If you do register for GST/HST before the closing date of your purchase, you will be required to remit the GST/HST directly to the CRA on your own return, rather than paying it to the seller. In that case, if you are eligible for a full recovery of the GST/HST you would claim this on the same return, resulting in no net payment of GST/HST. This is generally preferable to paying GST/HST to the seller and later filing a GST/HST return requesting a refund from the CRA, especially given that banks will typically not finance amounts related to recoverable GST/HST.

It’s important to note that mixed-use properties (properties that include both taxable and exempt accommodation such as short-term and long-term accommodation in a single property) are subject to rules that are more complex and you should discuss your activities with an indirect tax specialist to confirm the appropriate sales tax treatment.

As of July 1, 2021, new rules apply to platform-based short-term accommodation. The aim is to ensure all supplies of short-term accommodation are subject to GST/HST when supplied through a digital platform with the tax being collected by either the property owner or an accommodation platform operator. Generally, accommodation platform operators will only collect GST/HST when the property owner is not GST/HST registered.

The new rules include some additional considerations for owners/suppliers of short-term accommodation:

  • Accommodation platform operators aren’t required to collect GST/HST on service charges related to facilitating the supply of the accommodation billed to non-GST/HST registered third-party property owner/suppliers of short-term accommodation.
  • Fees billed by accommodation platform operators for services they provide to help guests find and book accommodation and in facilitating the transactions between the guest and the third-party property owner/supplier continue to be taxable for GST/HST.

For a comprehensive review of these new rules, please see our article, Digital Sales Tax in Canada.

How to claim Airbnb expenses

The income tax treatment of the expenses that you incur as an Airbnb host may vary depending on whether the expense is considered a current or a capital expense:

  • Current expenses are ongoing-period expenses, such as electricity, or those that don’t provide a lasting benefit.
  • Capital expenses generally give a lasting benefit or advantage.

Renovations or repairs made to your home to make it suitable to rent and expenditures that extend the useful life of your property or improve it beyond its original condition are usually capital expenses.

Current expenses

You may claim a prorated portion of many current expenses when you rent out your home through Airbnb. These expenses include:

  • Mortgage interest
  • Property taxes
  • Utilities
  • Maintenance (such as painting or housekeeping of rental space)
  • Home insurance

If you earn rental income from a condominium unit, you can also deduct condominium fees that represent your share of the upkeep, repairs, maintenance, and other current expenses of the common property.

Keep in mind that you cannot deduct land transfer taxes, payments of mortgage principal, or the value of your own labour.

Calculating your current expenses

If you rent out your entire home, you need to calculate the number of weeks or days of the year that you hosted guests as a percentage of the total time in the year that you owned the home. You then must use that percentage to prorate your costs. For example, if you rented out your home during November and December, then you would be entitled to claim roughly 17% (61/365 or 2/12) of eligible expenses.

If you rent out only part of your home, you’re entitled to claim the amount of your expenses that relate to the rented area of the property. For instance, using the example above, if you decided to rent out 1,500 square feet of your 3,000-square-foot house, you would be entitled to deduct 50% (1,500/3,000) of the expenses already prorated at 17%. Remember that you can also calculate the eligible expenses using square metres or the number of rooms you are renting in your home.

Can I recover GST/HST?

If you register and collect GST/HST on the rental income, you may be able to recover GST/HST paid on certain operating costs, such as:

  • Referral fees to a website
  • Advertising
  • Maintenance and housekeeping expenses
  • Utilities
  • Property management fees

Capital expenses

Unlike the current expenses noted above, capital expenses can’t be deducted all at once and instead must be deducted over a period of several years as capital cost allowance (CCA). The CCA you can claim depends on the type of rental property you own and the date it was acquired. In very simple terms, you can deduct a percentage of the property's capital cost over a period of several years.

Depending on the rental usage of the home, you may be entitled to a recovery on all or a portion of the GST/HST paid on the acquisition or improvements to the home, which are both capital expenses.

Caution: Renting and the long-term tax impact

Decisions made about a rental property can cause surprising results for decades into the future.

When you begin renting a personal property, other than incidentally or occasionally, you’re considered to have changed the use of that property for income tax purposes. As a result, there are significant income tax consequences that must be considered. Read our article, Tax Q&A: Tax Planning Strategies for Cottage Owners, for more information on these income tax considerations.

And let’s not forget about the significant GST/HST consequences that may also arise if you rent out your home. If your home is rented 90% or more of the time for rental periods of less than 60 days, it may lose its status as a ‘residential complex.’ If this occurs, any subsequent sale becomes subject to GST/HST, which may come as a surprise to prospective buyers when faced with having to pay GST/HST on the purchase.

However, if you later decide to stop or scale back the rental of the home and it changes to a personal residence (or exempt long-term rental), you will need to pay GST/HST to the CRA based on the fair market value of the home when this change occurs. In some circumstances, you may be able to apply for a rebate to recover some of this tax.

Keeping records

While renting out your home may seem like an easy way to generate extra income, the decision to become a host must be well informed and include a good understanding of the tax implications.

The decision also adds to your recordkeeping responsibilities. Make sure you keep detailed records of all the rental income you earn and the expenses you incur. It’s also beneficial to log your own personal use of the home throughout the year to support its use as a personal residence. You can validate your purchases and operating expenses with supporting documents such as invoices, receipts, and contracts.

For more information on getting your taxes in order when renting out a property, contact our Canadian tax services team.

Brian Morcombe, Partner, Indirect Tax Practice Leader

Nicole White, Manager, Indirect Tax


The information in this publication is current as of Aug. 19, 2021.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Considérations fiscales pour les hôtes d’airbnb

28 septembre 2021

Avez-vous profité pleinement de l’augmentation de la demande pour la location de chalets en proposant la location de votre propre chalet ou maison d’été? Si oui, vous n’êtes pas seul. Des milliers de Canadiens louent leur logement ou leur résidence secondaire par l’intermédiaire d’Airbnb ou d’une autre plateforme en ligne. En vous lançant sur ce marché en croissance, vous devez en évaluer les conséquences fiscales.

Examinons de plus près les éléments à prendre en compte aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu et de la TPS/TVH qui ont des répercussions financières sur les locateurs à court terme canadiens.

Comment déclarer un revenu gagné au moyen d’Airbnb?

Lorsque vous tirez un revenu de la location de votre résidence, vous devez inclure le revenu de location brut et les dépenses connexes dans votre déclaration de revenus.

Aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu, il existe une distinction entre un revenu tiré d’un bien et un revenu tiré d’une entreprise, et il n’est pas toujours évident de déterminer à quelle catégorie appartient votre revenu de location. Pour ce faire, l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) estime qu’il faut tenir compte du nombre et du genre de services que vous fournissez à vos locataires.

Habituellement, on considère que vous gagnez un revenu de location si vous louez des locaux et fournissez des services essentiels comme le chauffage, l’éclairage, le stationnement et la buanderie. Dans ce cas, le revenu que vous gagnez est considéré comme un revenu tiré d’un bien et doit être déclaré au moyen du formulaire T776 (État des loyers de biens immeubles) et à la ligne 126 de votre déclaration de revenus des particuliers.

À l’inverse, si vous exploitez plutôt un gîte touristique et offrez des services à vos invités (comme le nettoyage, la sécurité et les repas), on considérera probablement que vous exploitez une entreprise, le revenu gagné étant un revenu d’entreprise dans votre déclaration de revenus des particuliers. Règle générale, plus vous offrez de services à titre d’hôte, plus il est probable que vos activités de location soient considérées comme celles d’une entreprise.

Dois-je percevoir la TPS/TVH?

Votre revenu de location sur Airbnb peut être assujetti à la TPS/TVH. En effet, la location d’une habitation pour une période inférieure à 30 jours continus est soumise à la TPS/TVH. La location d’une habitation à long terme est exonérée aux fins de la TPS/TVH. Si votre revenu de location à court terme (en plus du revenu de toute autre activité commerciale connexe que vous exercez) est supérieur à 30 000 $ au cours d’une période de 12 mois, vous êtes tenu de vous inscrire aux fins de la TPS/TVH et de percevoir ces taxes sur ce revenu. Notez que vous devez également déterminer si la taxe de vente provinciale ou une taxe locale s’applique sur les locations à court terme d’une habitation.

Si vous achetez une maison neuve ou une maison ayant fait l’objet de rénovations majeures assujettie à la TPS/TVH qui est exclusivement destinée à la location à court terme, vous devriez songer à vous inscrire volontairement aux fins de la TPS/TVH avant d’avoir des revenus supérieurs à 30 000 $.

Si vous vous inscrivez aux fins de la TPS/TVH avant la conclusion de l’achat, vous devrez verser la TPS/TVH directement à l’ARC dans votre propre déclaration plutôt que de la verser au vendeur. Dans ce cas, si vous êtes admissible à la récupération complète de la TPS/TVH, vous la réclamerez dans cette même déclaration, ce qui n'entraînera aucun paiement net de TPS/TVH. Il est généralement préférable d'adopter cette approche plutôt que de payer la TPS/TVH au vendeur et de remplir une déclaration de TPS/TVH pour demander un remboursement à l’ARC, d'autant que les banques ne financeront habituellement pas les montants de TPS/TVH pouvant être récupérés.

Il est important de noter que les immeubles à usage mixte (propriétés qui comprennent à la fois des logements exonérés d’impôt et des logements imposables, par exemple dans le cas de locations à court terme et à long terme dans un même immeuble) sont assujettis à des règles plus complexes. Vous devriez discuter de vos activités avec un spécialiste des taxes à la consommation afin de confirmer le traitement fiscal qui convient pour les taxes de vente.

Depuis le 1er juillet 2021, de nouvelles règles s’appliquent aux logements provisoires offerts par l’entremise d’une plateforme. L’objectif est de s’assurer que tous les logements provisoires offerts par l’entremise d’une plateforme numérique sont assujettis à la TPS/TVH qui sera prélevée par le propriétaire de l’immeuble ou par l’exploitant de la plateforme. Règle générale, l’exploitant d'une plateforme de logements prélèvera la TPS/TVH seulement si le propriétaire de l’immeuble n’est pas inscrit aux fins de la TPS/TVH.

Les nouvelles règles comprennent des éléments supplémentaires concernant les propriétaires et fournisseurs de logements provisoires :

  • Les exploitants de plateforme de logements ne sont pas tenus de prélever la TPS/TVH sur les frais de service visant à faciliter l’offre d’hébergement facturés à un tiers, soit le propriétaire de l’immeuble ou l’exploitant d'une plateforme de logements provisoires, non inscrit aux fins de la TPS/TVH.
  • Les frais facturés par les exploitants de plateforme de logements pour les services qu’ils offrent visant à aider les invités à trouver un logement et à réserver leur séjour, ainsi que pour faciliter la transaction entre l’invité et le propriétaire de l’immeuble ou l’exploitant, sont encore assujettis à la TPS/TVH.

Pour obtenir une analyse complète de ces nouvelles règles, lisez notre article, Taxes sur les produits et services numériques au Canada.

Comment réclamer des dépenses à titre d’hôte sur Airbnb

Le traitement à l’égard de l’impôt sur le revenu pour les dépenses que vous engagez à tire d’hôte sur Airbnb variera en fonction du type de dépenses engagées : dépenses courantes ou dépenses en capital.

  • Les dépenses courantes sont celles qui sont engagées régulièrement, comme l’électricité, ou celles qui ne procurent pas un avantage durable.
  • Les dépenses en capital procurent généralement un avantage durable.

Les réparations ou les rénovations apportées à votre résidence avant de pouvoir la louer et les dépenses qui prolongent la durée d’utilisation de votre bien ou l’améliorent au-delà de son état initial sont habituellement des dépenses en capital.

Dépenses courantes

Vous pouvez déduire une partie de nombreuses dépenses courantes en fonction d’un pourcentage lorsque vous louez votre résidence par l’entremise d’Airbnb. Ces dépenses comprennent les suivantes :

  • Intérêts sur un emprunt hypothécaire;
  • Impôts fonciers;
  • Services publics;
  • Entretien (comme la peinture ou l’entretien ménager des espaces loués);
  • Assurance-habitation.

Si vous gagnez un revenu de location d’une unité en copropriété, vous pouvez également déduire les frais de copropriété qui représentent votre part des frais pour les réparations, la conservation et l’entretien, ainsi que pour les autres dépenses courantes associées aux parties communes.

N’oubliez pas que vous ne pouvez pas déduire les droits de mutation immobilière, le paiement du capital de l’hypothèque ou la valeur de votre travail.

Calcul de vos dépenses courantes

Si vous louez votre résidence en entier, vous devez calculer en pourcentage le nombre de jours ou de semaines que représente la location sur l’année entière où vous avez été propriétaire de la résidence. Vous devez ensuite utiliser ce pourcentage pour calculer vos coûts de façon proportionnelle. Par exemple, si vous avez loué votre résidence en novembre et en décembre, vous pourriez déduire environ 17 % (61/365 ou 2/12) des dépenses admissibles.

Si vous ne louez qu’une partie de votre résidence, vous pouvez réclamer le montant de vos dépenses lié à l’espace loué. Par exemple, en utilisant l’exemple mentionné ci-dessus, si vous avez décidé de louer 1 500 pieds carrés de votre maison de 3 000 pieds carrés, vous pourriez déduire 50 % (1 500/3 000) des dépenses déjà établies au prorata à 17 %. N’oubliez pas que vous pouvez également calculer les dépenses admissibles en fonction de la superficie en mètres carrés ou en fonction du nombre de pièces de la résidence que vous louez.

Puis-je récupérer la TPS/TVH?

Si vous vous inscrivez aux fins de la TPS/TVH et que vous la percevez sur le revenu de location, vous pourriez récupérer la TPS/TVH payée sur certains coûts d’exploitation, notamment :

  • Commission de référencement à un site Web;
  • Publicité;
  • Frais d’entretien ou de maintenance;
  • Services publics;
  • Honoraires de gestion de l’immeuble.

Dépenses en capital

Contrairement aux dépenses courantes mentionnées ci-dessus, les dépenses en capital ne peuvent pas être déduites d’un seul coup; elles doivent plutôt être déduites sur plusieurs années à titre de déduction pour amortissement (DPA). La DPA que vous pouvez demander varie en fonction de votre type de bien locatif et de la date à laquelle vous en avez fait l’acquisition. Autrement dit, vous pouvez déduire un pourcentage du coût en capital du bien sur plusieurs années.

Selon l’utilisation faite de l’habitation, vous pourriez récupérer une partie ou la totalité de la TPS/TVH payée lors de l’acquisition ou des travaux d’amélioration de la propriété, puisque ces derniers font partie des dépenses en capital.

Mise en garde : location et incidence fiscale à long terme

Les décisions relatives à un bien locatif peuvent engendrer des conséquences surprenantes des décennies plus tard.

Si vous réclamez une DPA sur votre résidence, vous ne pourrez pas demander l’exemption pour résidence principale à l’égard de celle-ci lorsque vous la vendrez. Aussi, lorsque vous commencez à louer un bien d’usage personnel autrement que d’une manière accessoire ou occasionnelle, on considère que vous avez changé l’usage de la propriété aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu. Vous devez donc tenir compte des répercussions considérables sur l’impôt sur le revenu. Pour en savoir plus sur ces points touchant l’impôt sur le revenu, lisez notre article FAQ liée à la fiscalité :Stratégies de planification fiscale pour les propriétaires de chalet.

Il faut également tenir compte des conséquences importantes en matière de TPS/TVH qui peuvent découler de la location de votre résidence. Si votre résidence est louée 90 % ou plus du temps pour des périodes de moins de 60 jours, elle peut perdre son statut d’« immeuble d’habitation ». Si cela se produit, toute vente ultérieure sera alors assujettie à la TPS/TVH, ce qui pourrait constituer une mauvaise surprise pour les acheteurs potentiels qui devront payer la TPS/TVH à l’acquisition.

Toutefois, si vous décidez plus tard de mettre fin à la location de votre résidence ou de la louer moins fréquemment et de faire en sorte qu’elle redevienne une résidence personnelle (ou une habitation en vue d’une location à long terme exonérée de la taxe), vous devrez payer la TPS/TVH à l’ARC en fonction de la juste valeur marchande de la résidence au moment du changement. Dans certaines circonstances, vous pourriez produire une demande de remboursement pour récupérer une partie de cette taxe.

Conserver des registres

La location de votre résidence peut sembler une bonne façon de générer un revenu supplémentaire, mais la décision de devenir un hôte doit être prise de façon éclairée et vous devez bien en comprendre les conséquences fiscales.

Cette décision rend également plus complexe votre responsabilité en ce qui a trait à la tenue de registres. Assurez-vous de tenir des registres détaillés de tous les revenus de location que vous gagnez et des dépenses que vous engagez. Il est également avantageux de consigner votre utilisation personnelle de la résidence tout au long de l’année pour étayer son utilisation à titre de résidence personnelle. Vous pouvez valider vos achats et vos coûts d’exploitation au moyen de documents justificatifs comme des factures, des reçus et des contrats.

Pour en savoir plus sur le traitement de l'impôt et des taxes lorsque vous louez un bien, communiquez avec notre équipe des Services en fiscalité canadienne.

Brian Morcombe, associé et chef des Services en taxes indirectes

Nicole White, directrice, Services en taxes indirectes


L’information présentée dans cette publication est à jour en date du 19 août 2021.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.