Q&A: Answering your tax questions - Investment portfolios

January 16, 2020

Individual investment goals may be short term or long term. They may be specific – such as saving for a house, a child's education, or retirement - or they may be general. What they have in common is accumulating wealth. As your wealth accumulates, being a tax-savvy investor can help to increase the after-tax return on your investments.

Through the case study in this article, we look at how Canadian income taxes can affect how an individual with marketable security investments can minimize the impact of taxes on investment growth. The Canadian tax system does not treat all investment income equally; for individuals, interest income is taxed at a higher rate than dividends from Canadian corporations, and both of these have higher tax rates than capital gains. This is true across all of the provinces and territories. It is also true that investing in tax sheltered vehicles such as registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs), Registered retirement income funds (RRIFs) or tax-free savings accounts (TFSAs) affects the after-tax return of investment income.

This article will focus on investments in marketable securities, and not private companies or real estate investment. Investment in private companies or real property is restricted or not allowed in most registered plans.

Case Study

Sam and Pat, a married couple living in Canada, are reviewing their investment portfolios prior to visiting their investment counsellor. Sam has recently received an inheritance and they want to invest that money for their retirement. With the new investment funds, they want to review all of their current and proposed investments as part of the meeting.

Both Sam and Pat are employees; neither owns their own business. They live and work in Ontario. Pat has an employer-matched money purchase Registered Pension Plan (RPP). Every year she contributes the maximum amount that she can to this pension plan. Pat also has a TFSA, and has an RRSP to which she made contributions before she started working for her current employer. Sam's main savings are in an RRSP as his employer does not have a pension plan. He and Pat have not made full RRSP and TFSA contributions. In the current year, both Sam and Pat have employment income in excess of $220,000 per year, and therefore any additional investment income will be taxed at the highest Ontario tax rates.

With this inheritance, Sam and Pat will have enough money to maximize their RRSPs and TFSAs and to invest outside of their registered accounts. They have heard that there can be tax savings depending on how investments are held and want to know more about this before deciding where to invest this inheritance.

Sam and Pat's question

To learn more about tax efficient investing in marketable securities, Sam and Pat asked us, their trusted BDO advisors, for some more information.

BDO's answer

In answering this question, we will first look at how different investments are taxed outside of registered plans, and how that taxation changes when the investments are held within registered plans. Keep in mind that there are many variables to be taken into account besides tax when trying to make investment decisions. These variables include investment goals, risk tolerance, investment time-frame and anticipated income levels in retirement. We'll then provide some general rules of thumb. For non-registered investments, it is assumed that Sam will own these investments himself.

Canadian investments

Investing in marketable securities can yield interest, dividends and capital gains. Where the investments are made in Canadian securities, each of these forms of investment return will be taxed differently. (We'll talk about investments in foreign securities later in this article.) The tax rates used in this article assume top marginal tax rates in Ontario, assuming that the rates in effect are the same as they were in 2019.

Interest income

Interest income earned from Canadian securities is not subject to special rates of taxation. It is taxed as “ordinary income” at the same rate as employment or business income. Because Sam has high-rate employment income, any investment income from non-registered accounts will be taxed at the top rate of 53.53%.

Dividend income

The taxation of dividends from Canadian companies has two components. The first is that the dividend is “grossed-up” for tax purposes. This means that an amount more than the actual dividend received is added to taxable income. However, a dividend tax credit is also granted, which reduces the overall rate of tax on the dividend. Most Canadian marketable securities pay “eligible dividends”. In Ontario, the combined effect of the dividend gross-up and tax credit results in a top tax rate of 39.34%. For those not in the top tax bracket, the rate can be significantly lower.

Capital gains and losses

Only 50% of capital gains are taxed, so the effective tax rate on capital gains in Ontario, at the top rate, is 26.77%. Any equity investment has the potential for a capital gain or a capital loss. However, some investors specifically buy growth investments that have low income yields with a goal of earning a substantial capital gain as a long-term hold. Capital gains realized in a non-registered account can be offset by capital losses that are also realized in a non-registered account, provided the capital loss occurs no more than 3 years after the gain is realized. However, capital losses in a registered account (an RRSP or RRIF) cannot be used to offset capital gains realized in a non-registered account.

Capital gains are only taxed when they are realized (that is, when you sell your investment). If you invest outside of your RRSP in stocks that you expect to sell in the short-term, paying tax on the capital gains upon disposition will reduce the funds you have to invest. Therefore, from a tax perspective it makes sense to hold stocks you intend to sell in the short-term (short-term holds) in your RRSP, where the tax on capital gains will be deferred, and to hold stocks you intend to hold long-term (long-term holds) outside of your RRSP.

Keep in mind that short-term holds are usually riskier. This may conflict with your objective to have stable investments in your RRSP. In addition, if you incur losses on investments held in your RRSP, the losses will not be tax deductible — they will reduce the size of the RRSP available to you in your retirement.

RRSPs

The income earned in an RRSP will be taxed when funds are withdrawn from the RRSP, or from the related RRIF. Income and gains earned in the RRSP lose their character as interest, dividends or capital gains income. When this income is taxed, it is taxed as ordinary income – i.e. at the same rate as employment income or interest income. However, many people have a lower taxable income in retirement, which means that the income coming out of the RRSP could be taxed at a lower rate than if it were held in a non-registered account and taxed when earned. In addition, the fact that income is not taxed within the RRSP means that investment income can grow without tax. These two advantages will reduce the effect of the loss of favourable capital gains or dividend tax rates.

TFSAs

Investment income, including gains, earned in a TFSA is never taxed. So, any type of investment income or gains earned in a TFSA will be sheltered from Canadian tax.

Foreign investments

Foreign investments can be an important part of a diverse investment strategy. If you choose to invest directly in foreign investments, rather than through a Canadian fund that invests in foreign securities, there are additional considerations.

For example, suppose you own some shares of a dividend-paying U.S. public company in your investment portfolio. The dividends are subject to a 15% withholding tax. If you held these in a non-registered account, the dividends would be taxed as ordinary income (not as dividends). However, you should get credit against your Canadian tax for the 15% withholding tax so that the U.S. withholding tax will not generally be an additional cost to you.

If you hold that same U.S. stock in your RRSP, there is a provision in the Canada-U.S. tax treaty that exempts registered retirement plans from the withholding tax. So again, there is no net tax cost due to withholding tax. This exemption will also apply if an RRSP is converted to a Registered Retirement Income Fund (RRIF).

This same principle does not apply to TFSAs. This means that if the U.S. stock you hold in your TFSA pays a $100 dividend, you will only receive $85. You will not be able to claim a credit for the $15 U.S. withholding tax, and therefore, the income earned on holding this investment in a TFSA is not entirely tax free.

Currently, there is no U.S. withholding tax on portfolio interest payments from the U.S. to Canada, so the same issue should not arise with interest-bearing marketable securities.

Foreign reporting

Another factor to consider is the requirement to report certain foreign property holdings to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) on form T1135. If the cost of all of the foreign securities, plus any other reportable foreign assets that you own, is more than $100,000 (CDN), then certain information pertaining to the foreign assets must be reported for that year. However, if the foreign securities are held in an RRSP, RRIF or TFSA, this reporting requirement does not apply. There is a penalty of $25 per day for a maximum of 100 days if form T1135 is not filed by the tax-return due date. The CRA regularly assesses such penalties.

Analysis

Until now, Sam and Pat have not had enough money to be worried about which investments to hold outside of a registered plan and which to hold inside. However, with the inheritance, their goal from a tax perspective will be to allocate investments to different accounts to reduce their overall tax exposure. With the above noted tax consequences in mind, here are some rules of thumb. It is important to note that these rules are generalizations and specific advice should be obtained once their investment goals are set.

RRSPs vs. non-registered accounts

  • Investments that produce interest income are well suited for RRSPs. This income does not benefit from a preferential tax rate, so no tax advantage will be lost if this type of investment is held in an RRSP and a tax deferral is gained. Similarly, it makes sense to hold investments in stock of U.S. corporations that pay dividends in an RRSP as withholding tax will not apply.
  • For equity investments that will produce capital gains and/or dividends, it makes sense to hold these investments outside of an RRSP when compared with investments that produce interest income.
  • In terms of long-term versus short-term investments, it may make sense to hold long-term investments outside of RRSPs when compared with short-term holds. For long-term investments with low income yields, tax may not arise until the asset is sold, and therefore, the tax deferral provided by an RRSP may not be needed.

TFSAs

When it comes to TFSAs, there are two common schools of thought. If you are prepared to take risks with your investments, a TFSA may be the best place to hold high-risk investments that could result in large gains. The reason is that if the investment is sold later for a large gain, then the gain will not be taxed and the TFSA can be used at that point to buy a larger volume of income producing investments. So, earning a large gain increases the value of the TFSA as a tax shelter.

For those who have a conservative investment philosophy, it is better to hold interest producing investments in a TFSA while holding investments that produce Canadian dividend income outside of a TFSA. And, as discussed previously, it is better to hold U.S. investments in an RRSP if U.S. withholding tax applies.

Other considerations

Once a portfolio has been established, Sam will need to be cautious about moving investments from one type of account to another. There are rules to prevent “swapping” investments between registered and non-registered accounts. However, it may be possible to sell an asset in one account and buy the same asset in another account with reduced commissions depending on the investment advisor. Sam should also keep in mind that our tax rules prevent the triggering of capital losses where an investment is disposed of in one of their accounts and acquired in another account within 30 days.

A final point to remember, is that because the inheritance is Sam's, they will need to be aware of the income attribution rules if Sam wants to gift funds to Pat to invest. For non-registered accounts, any amounts that were gifted from Sam and then invested by Pat will create income that is taxable to Sam and not Pat. However, there is an exception for this rule if Sam were to contribute to a spousal RRSP or gift funds that Pat then invested in her TFSA. If it made sense, Sam could use some of his RRSP contribution room to contribute to a spousal RRSP for Pat. As long as the funds are not withdrawn from the RRSP in the contribution year or either of the next two years, the RRSP withdrawal will be taxed as Pat's taxable income. The attribution rules do not apply to income earned in a TFSA, but will apply if assets are transferred from the TFSA and invested outside of the TFSA.

For more information and specific advice, please contact your BDO advisor.


The information in this publication is current as of December 12, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Q et R : Réponses à vos questions en fiscalité - Portefeuilles de placements

16 janvier 2020

NTL_Tax_12Dec19_Tax-Factor-Investment-Portfolios_Website-Image-Assets_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Les objectifs de placement personnels peuvent être assortis d’un horizon à court ou long terme. Ils peuvent être spécifiques, par exemple pour l’achat d’une maison, les études d’un enfant ou la retraite, ou être généraux. Le point qu’ils ont en commun est qu’ils permettent d’accumuler du patrimoine. À mesure que votre épargne s’accumule, une bonne connaissance des aspects fiscaux peut aider à accroître le rendement après impôt de vos investissements.

Au moyen de l’étude de cas présentée dans cet article, nous examinons comment un particulier possédant des titres négociables peut réduire l’incidence des impôts sur la croissance des placements. Le régime fiscal canadien ne traite pas tous les revenus de façon égale. Pour les particuliers, le revenu d’intérêts est imposé à un taux plus élevé que celui des dividendes de sociétés canadiennes, et ces deux types de revenus sont imposés à des taux supérieurs à ceux des gains en capital. Cela s’applique à toutes les provinces et tous les territoires. Le fait de détenir les placements dans des types d’instruments d’épargne à l’abri de l’impôt, comme des régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite (REER), des fonds enregistrés de revenu de retraite (FERR) ou des comptes d’épargne libres d’impôt (CELI), a une incidence sur le rendement après impôt du revenu de placement.

Cet article met l’accent sur les titres négociables plutôt que sur les sociétés privées ou les investissements immobiliers. Les placements dans les sociétés privées et les investissements immobiliers sont assujettis à des restrictions et ne sont pas admissibles dans la plupart des régimes enregistrés.

Étude de cas

Sam et Pat, un couple marié habitant au Canada, examinent leurs portefeuilles de placements avant de rencontrer leur conseiller en placement. Sam a récemment touché un héritage, et le couple veut investir cette somme en vue de la retraite. Compte tenu des fonds reçus, Sam et Pat souhaitent examiner tous leurs investissements actuels et envisagés au cours de la rencontre avec leur conseiller.

Sam et Pat sont salariés et ne possèdent pas d’entreprise. Ils habitent en Ontario et y travaillent. Pat participe à un régime de pension agréé (RPA) pour lequel son employeur verse des cotisations. Chaque année, elle verse la cotisation maximale à ce régime de pension. Pat a également un CELI, et a un REER auquel elle a versé des cotisations avant de commencer à travailler pour son employeur actuel. La plus grande partie des économies de Sam se trouvent dans un REER puisque son employeur n’offre pas de régime de retraite. Pat et lui n’ont pas utilisé toutes les cotisations auxquelles ils ont droit dans leur REER et leur CELI. Pour l’année en cours, Sam et Pat ont un revenu d’emploi supérieur à 220 000 $ par année. Par conséquent, tout revenu de placement supplémentaire obtenu sera imposé aux taux d’imposition les plus élevés en Ontario.

Toutefois, grâce à l’héritage reçu, Sam et Pat auront suffisamment d’argent pour maximiser leur REER et leur CELI et investir à l’extérieur de comptes enregistrés. Ils ont entendu dire que certains types de placements permettent de réaliser des économies d’impôt, et ils veulent en savoir plus avant de décider comment investir l’héritage.

Question de Sam et Pat

Pour en savoir davantage sur les façons efficaces, sur le plan fiscal, d’investir dans les titres négociables, Sam et Pat se sont tournés vers nous, leurs conseillers de confiance de BDO.

Réponse de BDO

Pour répondre à cette question, nous allons d’abord nous pencher sur le régime fiscal s’appliquant aux différents types de placements hors régimes enregistrés et sur la façon dont le mode d’imposition change lorsque les mêmes placements sont détenus dans un régime enregistré. N’oubliez pas que l’impôt n’est que l’un des nombreux facteurs qu’il faut considérer au moment de prendre une décision en matière de placement. En effet, il faut également tenir compte des objectifs de placement, de la tolérance au risque, de l’horizon de placement et du revenu de retraite prévu. Nous établirons ensuite quelques règles générales. Dans le cas des placements non enregistrés, nous présumerons que ces placements sont détenus par Sam lui-même.

Placements canadiens

Un placement en titres négociables peut engendrer des intérêts, des dividendes et des gains en capital. Si ces placements sont en titres canadiens, chacun des types de rendement sur le capital investi est imposé différemment. Nous aborderons plus loin les investissements dans des titres étrangers. Dans cet article, on suppose que les taux marginaux les plus élevés en Ontario s’appliquent et que les taux en vigueur sont les mêmes que ceux de 2019.

Revenu d’intérêts

Le revenu d’intérêts de source canadienne n’est assujetti à aucun taux spécial d’imposition. Les intérêts sont imposés en tant que « revenu ordinaire » au même taux que les revenus d’emploi ou d’entreprise. Compte tenu du revenu d’emploi de Sam imposé à un taux élevé, les revenus de placement qu’il touche en dehors de régimes enregistrés seront imposés au taux maximal de 53,53 %.

Revenu de dividendes

Le traitement fiscal des dividendes versés par des sociétés canadiennes comporte deux aspects. Premièrement, le dividende est d’abord majoré aux fins de l’impôt. Cela signifie qu’un montant supérieur à celui des dividendes versés est ajouté au revenu imposable. Toutefois, le dividende est admissible à un crédit d’impôt, ce qui fait diminuer le taux d’imposition du dividende. La plupart des titres négociables canadiens versent des « dividendes admissibles ». En Ontario, la majoration du dividende et le crédit d’impôt font en sorte que le taux d’imposition maximal des dividendes est de 39,34 %. Toutefois, ce taux peut être beaucoup plus bas pour les contribuables qui ne se trouvent pas dans la tranche d’imposition maximale.

Gains et pertes en capital

Seulement 50 % des gains en capital sont imposés, ce qui porte à 26,77 % le taux maximal d’imposition des gains en capital en Ontario. Tout placement en actions peut donner lieu à un gain ou à une perte en capital. Toutefois, certains investisseurs font des placements dans des titres de croissance qui produisent peu de revenus, et ce, dans le but de détenir ces titres sur une longue période et de toucher un gain en capital considérable. Il est possible de compenser un gain en capital réalisé dans un compte non enregistré en y appliquant une perte en capital également réalisée dans un compte non enregistré, à condition que la perte en capital soit réalisée au cours des trois années qui suivent la réalisation du gain. Toutefois, les pertes en capital dans un compte enregistré (REER ou CELI) ne peuvent être appliquées à un gain en capital réalisé dans un compte non enregistré.

Les gains en capital ne sont imposables que lorsqu’ils sont réalisés (c’est-à-dire lorsque vous vendez votre placement). Si vous achetez à l’extérieur de votre REER des actions que vous prévoyez vendre à court terme, le paiement de l’impôt sur les gains en capital à la disposition réduira les fonds qu’il vous restera à investir. Ainsi, du point de vue fiscal, il est avantageux de détenir les actions que vous prévoyez vendre à court terme (titres détenus à court terme) dans votre REER, afin de reporter l’impôt sur les gains en capital, et effectuer les transactions d’actions que vous prévoyez détenir à long terme (titres détenus à long terme) à l’extérieur de votre REER.

N’oubliez pas que les titres détenus à court terme présentent habituellement un risque plus élevé. Ceci pourrait ne pas correspondre à votre objectif de détenir des placements stables dans votre REER. De plus, si vous subissez des pertes sur les placements que vous détenez dans votre compte REER, celles-ci ne seront pas déductibles et réduiront la taille du REER dont vous disposerez à votre retraite.

REER

Les revenus provenant d’un REER sont imposés lorsque les fonds sont retirés du REER ou du FERR. Tous les revenus et les gains retirés d’un REER sont imposés de la même façon, qu’il s’agisse des intérêts, des dividendes ou des gains en capital. Ce revenu est imposé en tant que revenu ordinaire, au même taux que les revenus d’emploi ou d’intérêts. Toutefois, le revenu imposable est souvent moins élevé à la retraite, ce qui signifie que les revenus provenant d’un REER devraient être imposés à un taux moins élevé que s’ils avaient été détenus dans un compte non enregistré et imposés au moment où ils ont été gagnés. De plus, puisque ces revenus ne sont pas imposés dans le REER, les revenus de placement peuvent fructifier à l’abri de l’impôt. Ces deux avantages compensent la perte des taux avantageux d’imposition sur les gains en capital et les dividendes.

CELI

Les revenus de placement détenus dans un CELI, y compris les gains, ne sont jamais imposés. Par conséquent, tous les revenus et les gains de placement détenus dans un CELI sont à l’abri de l’impôt canadien.

Investissements étrangers

Les investissements étrangers peuvent représenter une composante importante d’une stratégie de placement diversifiée. Si vous choisissez d’effectuer des investissements directement à l’étranger au lieu d’utiliser un fonds canadien qui investit dans des valeurs étrangères, vous devez tenir compte de quelques facteurs supplémentaires.

Partons de l’hypothèse que vous détenez des actions dans une société ouverte américaine qui verse des dividendes. Les dividendes sont assujettis à une retenue d’impôt de 15 %. Si vous détenez ces valeurs dans un compte non enregistré, les dividendes seront imposés au même taux qu’un revenu ordinaire (et non en tant que dividendes). Toutefois, vous devriez obtenir un crédit d’impôt au Canada pour la retenue de 15 %, ce qui fait que la retenue d’impôt des États-Unis ne représentera pas un coût supplémentaire.

Si vous détenez les mêmes actions américaines dans votre REER, sachez qu’une disposition de la Convention fiscale Canada-États-Unis exonère les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite de la retenue d’impôt. Ici aussi, la retenue d’impôt ne vous causera pas de coût fiscal net. Cette exonération s’appliquera également si un REER est converti en fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR).

Ce principe ne s’applique toutefois pas aux CELI. Cela signifie que si les actions américaines que vous possédez dans votre CELI vous versent des dividendes de 100 $, vous ne recevrez que 85 $. Vous ne pourrez pas réclamer de crédit d’impôt pour la retenue d’impôt de 15 $ US prélevée par les autorités fiscales américaines. Par conséquent, le revenu gagné sur ce placement détenu dans un CELI n’est pas entièrement libre d’impôt.

Actuellement, les États-Unis ne prélèvent pas de retenue d’impôt sur les intérêts versés au Canada sur des titres américains; le problème ne devrait donc pas se présenter avec des titres qui versent des intérêts.

Déclaration de biens étrangers

Un autre facteur dont il faut tenir compte est l’obligation de déclarer certains biens étrangers à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) sur le formulaire T1135. Si le coût de toutes les valeurs étrangères plus les autres valeurs étrangères que vous détenez et que vous devez déclarer est de plus de 100 000 $ (CA), certains renseignements qui se rapportent aux actifs étrangers doivent être déclarés pour cette année. Toutefois, cette exigence ne vise pas les valeurs étrangères qui sont détenues dans un REER, un FERR ou un CELI. Une pénalité de 25 $ par jour pour un maximum de 100 jours s’applique si le formulaire T1135 n’est pas produit avant la date limite pour la production. L’ARC impose régulièrement de telles pénalités.

Analyse

À ce jour, Sam et Pat n’avaient jamais eu assez d’argent pour avoir à se demander quels placements devaient être détenus dans un régime non enregistré et quels placements devaient être détenus dans un régime enregistré. Toutefois, après avoir touché l’héritage, leur objectif, d’un point de vue fiscal, consistera à répartir leurs investissements entre chaque compte afin de diminuer leur exposition à l’impôt. En fonction des conséquences expliquées précédemment, nous vous présentons quelques règles générales. Il est important de prendre note que ces règles sont d’ordre général et que vous devez obtenir des conseils particuliers une fois que vos objectifs de placement sont fixés.

Le REER par rapport aux comptes non enregistrés

  • Les placements qui produisent des revenus d’intérêt conviennent bien au REER. Comme ce revenu ne bénéficie d’aucun taux d’imposition préférentiel, vous ne perdez aucun avantage fiscal si vous détenez ces valeurs dans un REER et vous obtenez un report de l’impôt. Il est également avantageux de détenir dans un REER les placements en actions de sociétés américaines qui versent des dividendes puisque ces placements seront exonérés de la retenue d’impôt.
  • Il est avantageux de détenir les placements qui rapportent des intérêts dans des REER et de conserver les placements boursiers qui produisent des gains en capital et/ou des dividendes à l’extérieur des REER.
  • En ce qui concerne l’horizon de placement, il est avantageux de détenir les placements à long terme hors REER, comparativement aux placements à court terme. Dans le cas des placements à long terme rapportant peu de revenus, il est possible que l’impôt ne soit pas exigible avant la vente de l’actif, et par conséquent, le report de l’impôt que procure le REER pourrait ne pas être nécessaire.

CELI

En ce qui concerne le CELI, il existe deux écoles de pensée. Si, en tant qu’investisseur, vous présentez une tolérance élevée au risque, le CELI pourrait constituer le meilleur véhicule pour détenir ces placements à haut risque qui pourraient engendrer des gains importants. Si vous vendez ces titres et que vous réalisez un gain important, celui-ci ne sera pas imposé. Ainsi, le CELI peut être utilisé pour faire un investissement important dans des titres qui produisent des revenus. Le CELI est donc un abri fiscal efficace pour réaliser des gains importants.

Si vous préférez suivre une stratégie de placement prudente, il est préférable de conserver les investissements qui produisent des intérêts dans un CELI et de détenir les titres qui rapportent des dividendes canadiens hors d’un CELI. Comme nous l’avons vu auparavant, il est préférable de détenir les titres américains assujettis à la retenue d’impôt des États-Unis dans un REER.

Considérations supplémentaires

Une fois qu’un portefeuille sera constitué, Sam devra agir avec prudence lorsqu’ils voudront déplacer des investissements d’un type de compte à l’autre. Il existe des règles qui empêchent l’échange de placements entre les comptes enregistrés et non enregistrés. Toutefois, il est possible de vendre un actif dans un type de compte et d’acheter le même actif dans un autre compte et de bénéficier d’une réduction de la commission, selon le conseiller en placements. En outre, Sam ne doit pas oublier que nos règles fiscales empêchent d’appliquer des pertes en capital lorsqu’un investissement est vendu dans un compte et acheté dans un autre dans un délai de 30 jours.

Pour terminer, étant donné que Sam est le bénéficiaire de l’héritage, le couple devra tenir compte des règles d’attribution de revenu si Sam désire donner des fonds à Pat aux fins de placement. Dans les comptes non enregistrés, tout montant que Sam donne à Pat pour l’investir engendrera un revenu imposable pour Sam, et non pour Pat. Toutefois, une exception s’applique à cette règle si Sam cotise à un REER ou donne des fonds à Pat pour qu’elle les investisse dans son CELI. Si cette stratégie est avisée, Sam pourrait utiliser une partie de ses droits de cotisation de REER inutilisés pour cotiser au REER au profit de l’époux de Pat. Dans la mesure où les fonds ne sont pas retirés du REER au cours de l’année où la cotisation est versée ou des deux années suivantes, le retrait du REER sera imposé à titre de revenu imposable de Pat. Les règles d’attribution ne s’appliquent pas au revenu gagné dans un CELI, mais s’appliqueront si les actifs sont retirés du CELI et investis à l’extérieur de celui-ci.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller de BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 12 décembre 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.