Tax Alert - Reducing Complexities of Land Transfer Tax

July 2017

Private-Company-Tax-Planning_iStock-588257804_Banner-Landing_679x200.jpg


On July 14th 2017, the Ontario Ministry of Finance released a Consultation Document which discusses a number of proposed measures that aim to reduce the complexity associated with the administration of the Land Transfer Tax (“LTT”) as it applies to unregistered dispositions of land by certain entities.

Under the proposed approach, certain entities who acquire land in Ontario through an unregistered disposition would be classified as either Group 1 or Group 2 “Vehicles” and the application of the LTT would differ depending on which vehicle the particular entity was classified as.

Group 1 Vehicles

The following entities would be classified as Group 1 Vehicles:

  • Specified Investment Flow Through (“SIFT”) Trusts and Partnerships
  • Mutual Fund Trusts
  • Exempt Pension Trusts under Paragraph 149(1)(o) of the Federal Income Tax Act (“ITA”)

Under the proposals, Group 1 Vehicles would themselves be considered taxpayers for the purposes of the LTT. This is in contrast to the current legislation under which such entities are “looked through” for the purposes of determining the entity subject to LTT on an unregistered disposition.

Group 2 Vehicles   

The following entities would be classified as Group 2 Vehicles:

  • A “unit trust” as defined under Subsection 108(1) of the ITA or a partnership that has filed or was required to file a declaration under the Ontario Limited Partnerships Act; and
  • The vehicle has issued its investments to 50 or more arm’s length unitholders or partnerships; and 
  • The vehicle is not a Group 1 Vehicle

A Group 2 Vehicle would not be considered a taxpayer itself but would be required to collect and remit LTT on behalf of its unitholders or partners.  The Group 2 Vehicle would be required to collect the applicable LTT by withholding from amounts paid as distributions to its unitholders or partners.  Penalties would be applicable to a Group 2 Vehicle who fails to collect.

The following information is also included in the Consultation Document:

  • LTT would not apply to Unit Trades or Unit Redemptions of a Group 1 Vehicle’s units.  It would also appear that Unit Issuances would continue to remain exempt.  This would include units issued through a DRIP (Dividend Re-investment Plan)
  • A Group 1 Vehicle would be able to avail itself of the 5% de minimis exception prescribed under Section 1(2) of Ontario Regulation 70/91 which generally states that LTT is not applicable on an acquisition of a beneficial interest in land that is an acquisition of a partnership interest if the partners entitlement to share in profits of the partnership is not increased by greater than 5% on the acquisition
  • A Group 1 Vehicle would be required to report and remit LTT within 30 days of the unregistered disposition
  • A Group 2 Vehicle would be subject to quarterly reporting 

The consultation period will expire on August 28th, 2017.

Should you have questions regarding this, please contact your BDO advisor or one of our Real Estate and Construction Leaders:

Salmaan Alvi
National Real Estate & Construction Leader   

Stan Zinman
International Tax Services Leader    
Real Estate & Construction Industry Tax Lead    

 
The information in this publication is current as of July 25, 2017. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale – Réduction des complexités en matière de droits de cession immobilière

juillet 2017

Private-Company-Tax-Planning_iStock-588257804_Banner-Landing_679x200.jpg

Le 14 juillet 2017, le ministère des Finances de l’Ontario a publié un document de consultation traitant d’un certain nombre de mesures proposées visant à réduire la complexité associée à l’administration des droits de cession immobilière (DCI) en ce qui concerne les dispositions non enregistrées de propriétés immobilières par certaines entités.

En vertu de l’approche proposée, certaines entités qui font l’acquisition de propriétés immobilières en Ontario au moyen d’une disposition non enregistrée seraient classées comme « véhicules » du groupe 1 ou du groupe 2, et l’application des DCI dépendrait du véhicule dans lequel l’entité particulière est classée.

Véhicules du groupe 1

Les entités suivantes seraient classées comme des véhicules du groupe 1 :

  • Fiducies intermédiaires de placement déterminées et sociétés de personnes intermédiaires de placement déterminées
  • Fiducies de fonds communs de placement
  • Fiducies de pension exemptées en vertu de l’alinéa 149 (1) o) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (fédérale).

Selon les propositions, les véhicules du groupe 1 seraient considérés comme étant des contribuables aux fins des DCI. Cette façon de faire est contraire à la loi actuelle en vertu de laquelle le « voile corporatif » de ces entités est levé afin de déterminer si elles sont assujetties aux DCI lors d’une disposition non enregistrée.

Véhicules du groupe 2

Les entités suivantes seraient classées comme des véhicules du groupe 2 :

  • Une « fiducie d’investissement à participation unitaire » au sens du paragraphe 108 (1) de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (fédérale), soit une société tenue de déposer une déclaration en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés en commandite de l’Ontario
  • Le véhicule a émis ses investissements à au moins 50 détenteurs de parts ou associés indépendants
  • Le véhicule n’est pas un véhicule du groupe 1

Un véhicule du groupe 2 n’est pas considéré comme un contribuable, mais doit percevoir et remettre les DCI au nom de ses détenteurs de parts ou associés. Le véhicule du groupe 2 devrait percevoir les DCI applicables en retenant les montants payés à titre de distributions à ses détenteurs de parts ou associés. Les pénalités seraient applicables au véhicule du groupe 2 qui ne perçoit pas ces montants.

Les renseignements ci-dessous se trouvent également dans le document de consultation :

  • Les DCI ne s’appliqueraient pas aux transactions de parts ou aux rachats de parts d’un véhicule du groupe 1. Il semble également que les émissions de parts demeureront exemptées, notamment les parts émises au moyen d’un RRD (régime de réinvestissement des dividendes).
  • Sous certaines conditions, les DCI ne sont pas applicables lors de l’acquisition d’un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans une propriété immobilière pour un véhicule du groupe 1 qui serait en mesure de se prévaloir de l’exception de minimis de 5 % prescrite au paragraphe 1(2) du Règlement de l’Ontario 70/91. Cette exception s’applique généralement si la participation au partage des bénéfices de la société de personnes n’est pas accrue de plus de 5 % lors de l’acquisition.
  • Un véhicule du groupe 1 serait tenu de produire une déclaration et de remettre les DCI dans les 30 jours suivant la disposition non enregistrée.
  • Un véhicule du groupe 2 devrait effectuer une déclaration trimestrielle.

La période de consultation arrivera à échéance le 28 août 2017.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller BDO ou l’un de nos chefs des services au secteur de l’immobilier et de la construction :

Salmaan Alvi
Chef national des services au secteur de l’immobilier et de la construction

Stan Zinman
Chef des services en fiscalité internationale
Chef en fiscalité des services au secteur de la construction et de l’immobilier


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 25 juillet, 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.