Tax Alert - New Legislation Could Offer Significant Tax Benefits For Real Estate Professionals

November 28, 2019

NTL_Tax_Personal-Real-Estate-Corporations_27Nov19_Website-Image-Assets_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

The Government of Ontario has recently introduced legislation, Bill 145 - Trust in Real Estate Services Act, 2019, which will amend the Real Estate and Business Brokers Act, 2002. This amending legislation will afford real estate professionals the opportunity to incorporate and earn commissions and other professional income through a personal real estate corporation. This will allow them to benefit from potential personal income tax deferrals available to other incorporated professionals such as accountants, lawyers, and doctors.

What does this mean for real estate professionals?

  • Presently, real estate professionals are taxed on all self-employed income earned in the year at personal tax rates, which in some cases can be as high as 53.5%.
  • This legislation will now permit real estate professionals to earn income through a corporation, pay tax at corporate tax rates (between 12.2% and 26.5%) on the income reported in the corporation's fiscal year, and only pay personal tax on amounts drawn out as either a salary or dividend.
  • Real estate professionals could defer personal tax on funds that they retain in the corporation, permitting them to use the deferred personal tax to fund investments and save for retirement.
  • Incorporation only provides tax advantages to real estate professionals who are legally independent contractors and not employees. Punitive tax rules apply to employees who attempt to earn their employment income through a corporation.

What are your next steps?

Bill 145 has only recently been introduced, so real estate professionals should stay tuned for further news on its passage. Further details can be found by visiting the news section of the Ontario Government or by viewing the bill itself from the Legislative Assembly of Ontario.  In the meantime, make sure to speak to a BDO advisor for further details on how incorporating could benefit your real estate operation.


The information in this publication is current as of November 25, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale — Une nouvelle législation pourrait offrir des avantages fiscaux importants aux professionnels de l'immobilier

28 novembre 2019

NTL_Tax_Personal-Real-Estate-Corporations_27Nov19_Website-Image-Assets_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a récemment déposé le projet de loi 145, Loi de 2019 sur la confiance envers les services immobiliers, qui modifiera la Loi de 2002 sur le courtage commercial et immobilier. Cette loi donnera aux professionnels de l’immobilier la possibilité de se constituer en société et de gagner des commissions et autres revenus professionnels via une société immobilière personnelle. Cela leur permettra de bénéficier d'éventuels reports d'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers présentement disponibles à d'autres professionnels incorporés tels que des comptables, des avocats et des médecins.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour les professionnels de l'immobilier?

  • À l’heure actuelle, les professionnels de l’immobilier perçoivent l’intégralité du revenu en tant que travailleur indépendant et sujet aux taux d’imposition des particuliers, qui peuvent dans certains cas atteindre 53,5 %.
  • Cette législation permettra désormais aux professionnels de l’immobilier de gagner un revenu par l’intermédiaire d’une société, de payer l’impôt aux taux d’impôt sur les sociétés (compris entre 12,2 % et 26,5 %) sur le revenu perçu au cours de l’exercice de la société et de ne payer l’impôt personnel que sur les montants tirés sur forme de salaire ou de dividende.
  • Les professionnels de l’immobilier pourront différer l’impôt personnel sur les fonds qu’ils conservent dans la société, ce qui leur permet d’utiliser l’impôt personnel différé pour financer des investissements et économiser en vue de la retraite.
  • L’exercice de la profession en société ne procure des avantages fiscaux qu'aux professionnels de l'immobilier qui sont des entrepreneurs légalement indépendants et non des employés. Des règles fiscales punitives s'appliquent aux employés qui tentent de gagner leur revenu d'emploi par l'intermédiaire d'une société.

Quelles sont vos prochaines étapes?

La loi 145 n’a été présentée que récemment, alors, les professionnels de l’immobilier devraient rester à l’écoute pour en savoir plus sur son adoption. Pour plus de détails, consultez la section nouvelle du gouvernement de l'Ontario ou consultez le projet de loi lui-même de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario. En attendant, assurez-vous de parler à un conseiller de BDO pour obtenir plus de détails sur les avantages d'une intégration pour vos opérations immobilières.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 25 novembre 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.