Benchmarking for better decisions: Standardized financial statements for primary producers

May 30, 2019

NTL_Agriculture_Benchmarking-for-better-decisions__LandingPage_679x220.jpg

We want to play an integral role in the success of our agricultural clients. Using standardized benchmarks to compare financial performance helps them make better strategic decisions. Ultimately, our benchmarking report and standardized financial statements can provide practical insights into farm operations. Accurate and reliable financial benchmarks allow you to compare performance and manage operational excellence and continuous improvement. They are key to identifying priorities for farm business planning.

BDO and AME collaboration

BDO teamed up with Agrifood Management Excellence (AME) to benchmark financial performance based on operational results. The consensus was that Canadian financial statements created by accountants for farms should be standardized. We’d like to extend a special thanks to Farm Management Canada (FMC) for their financial support of the benchmarking project and resulting documents.

The advantage of benchmarking

BDO accountants can analyze five years of individual data so farmers can see performance trends. Our templates and data are private to our clients, so they’re able get more current, in-depth analyses of their personal results and trends compared to the benchmarks.

This report gives a detailed overview of the following:

  • Key benchmarks for grain/oilseed and dairy operations
  • The standardized financial statement and five standard farm costs
  • Ratios and margins used as benchmarks
  • Diagnosis of management issues
  • How to compare results and apply benchmarks

Benchmarking for Better Decisions will be released annually with the most current results and trends.

Fill out the form on this page to download a copy of the report.

Prendre de meilleures décisions grâce à l’étalonnage : états financiers normalisés pour les producteurs du secteur primaire

30 mai 2019

NTL_Agriculture_Benchmarking-for-better-decisions__LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Nous souhaitons jouer un rôle déterminant dans la réussite de nos clients du secteur agricole. L’étalonnage normalisé du rendement financier les aide à prendre de meilleures décisions stratégiques. Par ricochet, notre rapport sur l’étalonnage et les états financiers normalisés peuvent ouvrir la voie à des réflexions pratiques sur les activités agricoles. Un étalonnage précis et fiable est un outil de comparaison du rendement ainsi que de gestion de l’excellence opérationnelle et de l’amélioration continue. Il constitue un impératif pour déterminer les priorités en vue de la planification de vos activités agricoles.

Collaboration entre BDO et AME

BDO s’est associé à Agrifood Management Excellence (AME) pour réaliser un étalonnage financier fondé sur les résultats opérationnels. L’exercice a permis de conclure qu’il serait préférable de normaliser les états financiers canadiens préparés par des experts-comptables. Nous souhaitons remercier tout particulièrement Gestion agricole du Canada pour son financement du projet et de la publication des documents connexes.

L’avantage de l’étalonnage

Les experts-comptables de BDO peuvent analyser les données sur cinq ans afin que les agriculteurs puissent connaître les tendances en matière de rendement. Nos gabarits et données sont réservés à nos clients. Ils ont donc l’avantage d’un étalonnage approfondi qui se fonde sur leurs plus récents résultats et les dernières tendances propres à leur exploitation agricole.

Ce rapport aborde les sujets suivants :

  • Étalons clés pour les producteurs de céréales et d’oléagineux et les fermes laitières;
  • États financiers normalisés et cinq coûts standard des exploitations agricoles;
  • Étalonnage fondé sur les ratios et marges;
  • Analyse des problèmes de gestion;
  • Comparaison des résultats et processus d’étalonnage. 

Le rapport Prendre de meilleures décisions grâce à l’étalonnage sera publié chaque année pour présenter les résultats et tendances les plus à jour.

Veuillez remplir le formulaire sur cette page pour télécharger le rapport.