How to navigate cyber risks and protect your business during COVID-19

September 04, 2020

The coronavirus pandemic had a swift and significant impact on the way many businesses in Canada operate. Almost overnight, entire organizations had to pivot to remote work, as governments initiated measures to stem the tide of the virus. Even as plans to reopen gradually progress, businesses are still being encouraged to allow employees to work from home as much as possible.

In the not-so-distant past, working remotely was considered a nice-to-have in the corporate world. However, most companies never considered this would become business as usual, and were caught unprepared to deal with the cybersecurity threats during COVID-19.

With this new reality of remote work (also known as teleworking), cybercrime risk has increased. Employees are required to work remotely using their home network, with connections that are outside the bounds of perimeter security—home-based networks do not typically have a firewall to protect internet traffic.

Organizations may now find themselves vulnerable to additional cyber risks, which can impact the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of key data and information systems.

Contact an expert today

What are the top 5 cyber risks when working remotely?

Protecting your organization starts with understanding some of the biggest risks:

1) Lack of defined remote work policy

Employees that may be unfamiliar with approved remote work solutions may have the ability to install various open source software, for collaboration with other employees or customers. These programs may or may not be secure or in compliance with corporate information security and privacy controls. They could even be malware that could damage your data and/or systems.

2) Increased system demands

IT teams may have to defer the regular patching schedule on critical assets to keep network operations stable and available. The increased demand on keeping the remote infrastructure available may limit allowable downtime for patching and updates.

3) Insecure devices and networks

Utilizing home computers or insecure home Wi-Fi networks to connect to and perform work may lead to security breaches, data leakage, and disruption in business operations due to the inadvertent installation of malicious software. When you ignore securing your network, your business is exposed to hacking, hijacking, and other cyber threats.

4) Inadequate virtual private networks (VPN)

An insecure and/or outdated remote access VPN infrastructure may lead to systems being unpatched or users accessing malicious websites.

5) Cyberattacks and fraud attempts

Business email compromise through the spread of malicious content related to COVID-19 may include the use of false or misleading guidance, fictitious new updates, or fake coronavirus global dashboards, to name a few.

Recent cybersecurity incidents

Organizations all over the world have already beenwere affected by COVID-19-related cybersecurity attackscyber threats during COVID-19. Some of the more high-profile incidents include:

The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA)

Two separate cyber attacks on the CRA affected thousands of accounts, leading to compromised or stolen personal information as well as fraudulent claims for the Canadian Emergency Response Benefit (CERB). The attacks were known as ‘credential stuffing' where attackers use usernames and passwords stolen from other websites or previous attacks.

Twitter

Cyber attackers targeted Twitter employees with a social engineering attack. The breach allowed them to gain access to several high-profile accounts and use those accounts to run a cryptocurrency scam.

The World Health Organization

Throughout the COVID-19 crisis, WHO has beenwas targeted multiple times by cyber criminals. According to a report from Threatpost, a group of hackers known as DarkHotel is suspected of creating a fake website to try to steal passwords from WHO staff members. In another incident, attackers created false email addresses and domains to fraudulently solicit bitcoin donations in the name of WHO's legitimate charity, the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

How can businesses protect themselves against cyber attacks? 

While the incidents above are more high-profile examples, the fact is that no organization is too big or too small to be targeted by cyber attackers.

Confirm all requests for payment

If you, or a staff member, receive an email asking for transfer of money or invoices to be paid, it's crucial to verify the legitimacy of the request. As a best practice, pick up the phone and confirm the person is who they say they are.

Disable digital assistants

Disabling digital assistants such as Alexa or Google Assistant, or at least not talking to clients within earshot of such devices, is highly recommended. Depending on how you may have configured the privacy and security settings on Alexa and Google Home devices, they may or may not necessarily record you, but it provides a window of opportunity for a potential hacker. Review and increase your privacy and security settings on these devices.

Secure home Wi-Fi

Users should use strong authentication techniques, such as WPA2, to authenticate and connect to home networks. Consider using strong passwords of 12 characters and changing passwords after changing the authentication technique.

Patch your systems

Periodically check systems for missing patches and outdated antivirus definitions. Consider implementing Network Access Control (NAC) to check the security hygiene of endpoints before allowing remote access to the infrastructure. Ensure your systems, including VPNs and firewalls, are up to date with the most recent security patches.

Increase cybersecurity awareness

Conduct cybersecurity awareness campaigns within your organization to increase knowledge about phishing attacks, especially those related to COVID-19. Update security training for staff and stakeholders to inform and educate them about cybersecurity practices, such as detecting socially engineered messages.

Remote access

Re-evaluate your cybersecurity measures in anticipation of the higher demand on remote access technologies, and test them ahead of time. Validate that the remote desktop client has been configured appropriately and is secure. Ensure your work devices, such as laptops and mobile phones, are secure. Implement multi-factor authentication for remote access systems and resources (including cloud services)

How BDO can help?

We understand the cyber risks and challenges that today's businesses face, especially during periods of uncertainty and disruption. Our team of cybersecurity professionals has the experience to assess and secure your infrastructure as well as help you respond to potential cyber incidents your business may experience during the COVID-19 crisis.

To learn more about how we can help with your cybersecurity needs, fill out the contact form on this page.

Contact an expert today

*: 
*: 
*: 
*: 
: 
Legend
 

Sources:

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Connaître les cybermenaces et protéger son entreprise pendant la crise de la COVID-19

03 avril 2020

Plusieurs entreprises sont dans l’impossibilité de poursuivre leurs activités habituelles en raison de la crise de la COVID-19. Comme tous les paliers de gouvernement visent à juguler la vague de propagation du virus en limitant les grands rassemblements, plusieurs entreprises définies comme essentielles demandent à leurs employés de travailler à distance.

Il n’y a pas si longtemps, la possibilité de télétravailler était considérée comme un avantage agréable dans le monde des affaires. Cependant, plusieurs entreprises n’ont jamais envisagé que le télétravail deviendrait la norme. Elles n’étaient pas prêtes à affronter les risques liés à la cybersécurité et à relever les défis que présente cette nouvelle réalité. 

Le travail à distance, ou « télétravail », a provoqué une augmentation des risques en matière de cybercriminalité. Les employés doivent travailler à distance en utilisant le réseau de leur maison, à l’aide de connexions qui ne font pas partie du périmètre de sécurité de l’entreprise. En effet, les réseaux à domicile ne sont généralement pas équipés de pare-feu qui les protègent du trafic sur Internet.

Les entreprises deviennent ainsi plus vulnérables aux risques liés à la cybersécurité, ce qui peut toucher la confidentialité, l’intégrité et la disponibilité des données clés de même que des systèmes informatiques.

En situation de télétravail, quels sont les plus importants risques liés à la cybersécurité?

La protection de votre organisation commence par la compréhension des risques les plus importants. 

  • L’absence de protocoles définis encadrant le télétravail. Les employés moins familiers avec les outils de travail à distance pourraient installer des logiciels libres pour collaborer avec des collègues ou des clients. Ces logiciels pourraient ne pas être sécuritaires ou conformes aux normes de sécurité et de confidentialité de l’information au sein de l’entreprise. 
  • Demande de disponibilité accrue du système informatique. Les équipes en TI devront peut-être reporter les travaux de mise à niveau des équipements essentiels afin de maintenir la stabilité et la disponibilité du réseau. Cette sollicitation accrue de l’infrastructure informatique limite les périodes d’arrêt nécessaires pour effectuer les mises à jour et installer des correctifs. 
  • Appareils et réseau non sécuritaires. L’utilisation de l’ordinateur ou du réseau Wi-Fi de la maison pour se connecter au réseau de l’entreprise pour travailler pourrait mener à des failles dans la sécurité, à la fuite de données et à des interruptions dans les activités de l’entreprise en raison de l’installation, par inadvertance, de logiciels malveillants. 
  • Réseaux privés virtuels (RPV, ou « VPN » en anglais) inadéquats. L’infrastructure non sécuritaire ou dépassée d’un réseau privé virtuel accessible à distance ou des employés qui accèdent à des sites Web malveillants pourraient compromettre un système informatique auquel les correctifs nécessaires n’ont pas été apportés. 
  • Cyberattaques et tentatives de fraude. Le courrier électronique pourrait compromettre la sécurité de l’entreprise en propageant du contenu malveillant relatif à la COVID-19 au moyen de l’utilisation de lignes directrices fausses ou trompeuses, de fausses mises à jour ou de faux tableaux de bord mondiaux, entre autres. 

Incidents récents relatifs à la cybersécurité

Des organisations de partout ont déjà été touchées par des cyberattaques à la sécurité en lien avec la COVID-19. Voici quelques-uns des incidents les plus médiatisés : 

  • Le ministère américain de la Santé et des Services sociaux (Health and Human Services [HHS]). Le système informatique du Ministère a subi une cyberattaque qui visait à ébranler la réponse à la pandémie de coronavirus. Cette attaque a possiblement été menée par des pirates informatiques étrangers. Les pirates ont tenté de surcharger les serveurs en créant des millions de clics en quelques heures, avec la ferme intention de faire s’écrouler le système informatique, mais ils ont échoué.
  • L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS). Depuis le début de la crise de la COVID-19, l’OMS a été ciblée plusieurs fois par les cybercriminels. Selon un rapport du site de nouvelles en TI Threatpost, un groupe de pirates informatiques connu sous le nom de DarkHotel est soupçonné d’avoir créé un faux site Web pour tenter de voler les mots de passe des employés de l’OMS. Lors d’un autre incident, les pirates auraient créé de fausses adresses courriel et de faux domaines pour solliciter frauduleusement des dons en cryptomonnaie au nom de la fondation légitime de l’OMS, soit le Fonds de riposte à la COVID-19
  • Hammersmith Medicines Research (HMR). Des pirates utilisant un logiciel de rançon ont ciblé HMR, établissement médical du Royaume-Uni ayant planifié de tester un vaccin contre le coronavirus. Les criminels ont volé les données confidentielles de patients concernant un essai clinique antérieur portant sur un vaccin (non relié à la COVID-19) et ont menacé de publier ces résultats en ligne, à moins d’obtenir une rançon. 

Comment les entreprises peuvent-elles se protéger?

Bien que les exemples ci-dessus aient été hautement médiatisés, le fait est que toutes les entreprises, les grandes comme les plus petites, peuvent être ciblées par des cybercriminels. 

  • Confirmer toutes les demandes de paiement. Si vous ou un membre du personnel recevez un courriel vous demandant un transfert de fonds ou parlant de factures à payer, il est impératif de vérifier la légitimité de la demande. La meilleure pratique à adopter dans ces cas-là consiste à appeler la personne qui signe le courriel et à vérifier son identité. 
  • Désactiver les assistants numériques. Il est fortement recommandé de désactiver les assistants numériques comme Alexa ou l’assistant Google, ou de ne pas tenir de conversation avec des clients à portée de voix de ces appareils. Selon les paramètres de confidentialité et de sécurité que vous avez configurés sur les appareils Alexa et Google Home, ces derniers peuvent vous enregistrer ou non, mais ils ouvrent la porte à de possibles cyberattaques. Revoyez les paramètres de confidentialité et de sécurité de ces appareils et resserrez-les. 
  • Sécuriser le réseau Wi-Fi de la maison. Les utilisateurs devraient établir des contrôles d’authentification élevés, comme WPA2, pour s’identifier et se connecter au réseau de la maison. Pensez à utiliser des mots de passe forts contenant 12 caractères et à changer les mots de passe une fois le contrôle d’authentification modifié. 
  • Installer les correctifs nécessaires. Vérifiez régulièrement s’il y a des correctifs pour votre système et si les définitions d’antivirus sont dépassées. Considérez la mise en place d’un contrôle d’accès réseau (CAR) pour vérifier l’état de la sécurité des points de terminaison avant d’autoriser l’accès à distance à l’infrastructure. Assurez-vous que votre système informatique, y compris les VPN et les pare-feu, est bien à jour et qu’il comporte tous les correctifs les plus récents en matière de sécurité. 
  • Accroître la sensibilisation à la cybersécurité. Menez des campagnes de sensibilisation à la cybersécurité au sein de votre organisation afin d’accroître les connaissances des employés au sujet de l’hameçonnage, principalement celui relié à la COVID-19. Rafraîchissez leur formation en sécurité informatique et celle des parties intéressées afin de les informer et de les former au sujet des pratiques en cybersécurité, comme la reconnaissance de messages d’ingénierie sociale. 
  • Accès à distance. Réévaluez les mesures de cybersécurité dans l’optique d’une demande accrue pour les technologies d’accès à distance et faites les tests à l'avance. Vérifiez la configuration adéquate et sécuritaire du bureau à distance client. Assurez-vous que les appareils de travail, comme les portables et les cellulaires, sont sécuritaires. Mettez en place l’authentification multifacteurs pour les systèmes d’accès à distance et les ressources (y compris pour les services infonuagiques). 

BDO peut vous aider

Nous comprenons les risques et les défis informatiques auxquels font face les entreprises d’aujourd’hui, spécialement en cette période d’incertitude et de perturbations. Notre équipe de professionnels de la cybersécurité possède toute l’expérience nécessaire pour évaluer votre infrastructure, pour la sécuriser et pour vous aider à bien riposter aux cyberincidents potentiels auxquels votre entreprise pourrait faire face pendant la crise de la COVID-19.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’aide que nous pouvons vous apporter, communiquez avec :

Vivek Gupta, chef national en cybersécurité aux Services de consultation de BDO

Anne-Marie Bélanger, Associée, Services-conseils financiers

Linda Caron, Directrice principale, Services-conseils financiers

Sources :

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-03-16/u-s-health-agency-suffers-cyber-attack-during-covid-19-response

https://threatpost.com/who-attacked-possible-apt-covid-19-cyberattacks-double/154083/

https://www.forbes.com/sites/daveywinder/2020/03/23/covid-19-vaccine-test-center-hit-by-cyber-attack-stolen-data-posted-online/#7e71600118e5

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.