• Government Incentives

    Securing tax credits, grants, and financial incentives to fund
    research, innovation and growth initiatives.

Incentive to know

The most valuable features in business today are people and knowledge – in particular, people with knowledge. To develop new knowledge and convert it into practical reality is a risky process. Fortunately, organizations can take advantage of the Canadian Scientific Research & Experimental Development (SR&ED) program that rewards businesses with some of the most generous, broad based tax incentives in the world. However, with federal and provincial changes to legislation, technical amendments, and evolving administrative policies and court cases that impact the SR&ED program, staying up-to-date with the program is required to maximize the chance of success.

Whether developing or improving a new product, working to reduce the environmental impact of a manufacturing process, or working on the next generation of technology, BDO’s SR&ED practice helps clients to access significant amount of tax refunds or credits. Under Canadian tax law, benefits for qualifying SR&ED expenditures include eligibility for investment tax credits (ITCs), full tax deductions in the year expenditures occurred, and the ability to ‘pool’ SR&ED expenditures. In addition, most provinces offer additional incentives for qualifying activities.

BDO’s SR&ED practice mentors clients to ensure they meet program requirements, file the necessary forms and reports, and ultimately improve the chance of success with the SR&ED program. Our highly experienced team are informed by deep industry knowledge and includes engineers and scientists who work with our clients to understand the SR&ED program and its eligibility requirements.

• Recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS&DE)

Mesures incitatives à connaître

Les actifs les plus précieux au sein d’une entreprise sont les gens et les connaissances; plus particulièrement les gens avec des connaissances. Le développement de nouvelles connaissances et leur conversion en une réalité constituent un processus risqué. Heureusement, les organisations peuvent profiter du Programme de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental (RS&DE) qui offre aux entreprises certains incitatifs fiscaux importants des plus généreux au monde. Toutefois, en raison des modifications aux lois fédérale et provinciale, des modifications techniques et de l’évolution des politiques administratives et des décisions des tribunaux qui ont une incidence sur le programme de la RS&DE, il faut se tenir informés pour avoir le maximum de chance de réussite.

Qu’il s’agisse de concevoir ou d’améliorer un produit, de travailler à réduire l’incidence d’un processus de production sur l’environnement ou de mettre au point une technologie de prochaine génération, le groupe RS&DE de BDO aide les clients à avoir accès à des montants importants de crédit ou de remboursement d’impôt. En vertu des lois fiscales canadiennes, les avantages liés aux dépenses admissibles en RS&DE comprennent l’admissibilité aux crédits d’impôt à l’investissement, une déduction complète pour l’année au cours de laquelle les dépenses sont engagées et la capacité de regrouper les dépenses en RS&DE. En plus, la plupart des provinces offrent d’autres mesures incitatives pour les activités admissibles.

Le groupe de services pour la RS&DE de BDO encadre les clients afin de s’assurer qu’ils respectent les exigences du programme, qu’ils déposent les formulaires et rapports requis et qu’ils accroissent leurs chances de réussite avec le programme de la RS&DE. Notre équipe d’experts chevronnés connaît bien le secteur et est composée d’ingénieurs et de scientifiques qui travaillent avec nos clients pour comprendre le programme de la RS&DE et ses critères d’admissibilité.