Accessibility Policy

Purpose

The purpose of BDO Canada LLP’s (“BDO”) Customer Service Standard Policy is to be proactive about the inclusion of people with disabilities in our service offerings and to align ourselves with legislative requirements, such as the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act and corresponding regulations, which address the historical disadvantage suffered by persons with disabilities due to discrimination. The purpose of these types of legislation is to benefit all Canadians by:
  • developing, implementing and enforcing accessibility standards in order to achieve accessibility for people with disabilities with respect to goods, services, facilities, accommodation, employment, buildings, structures and premises; and
  • providing for the involvement of persons with disabilities, of provincial governments and of representatives of industries and of various sectors of the economy in the development of the accessibility standards
 

Our Commitment

BDO strives to provide our services in a manner that is accessible to all of our clients, and respects the dignity, independence, and integration of people with disabilities. We are committed to offering equal opportunity to access our services and to providing the benefit of the same services, in the same place and in a similar way to all clients.
 

Accessibility Training

In order to promote building an inclusive and accessible environment to best serve all of our clients, BDO Partners and staff shall be trained on:
 
  1. The purpose of accessibility legislation such as the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act and requirements of regulations relating to customer service standards.
  2. How to interact and communicate with persons with various types of disability.
  3. How to interact with persons with disabilities who use an assistive device or require the assistance of a guide dog or other service animal or the assistance of a support person.
  4. What to do if a person with a particular type of disability is having difficulty accessing BDO’s services.
This training is mandatory for all BDO Partners and staff and must be completed within the first three (3) months of joining BDO. BDO shall notify Partners and staff if there are any changes to policies, practices and procedures governing BDO’s provision of goods and services to clients, and shall assess the need to update our training on an ongoing basis.

BDO will also train Partners and staff to be familiar with any equipment or assistive devices that may be available at our offices, which may help with the provision of our services to persons with disabilities.
 

Providing Goods and Services to People with Disabilities

BDO is committed to excellence in serving all clients including people with disabilities and we will carry out our functions and responsibilities in the following areas:
 

Communication

We will communicate with people with disabilities in ways that take into account their disability. We are flexible in our approaches.

All staff must consider how people with various disabilities communicate and tailor their approaches to dealing with clients appropriately. The simplest and most effective technique is to ask clients how we can best communicate with them. If a particular method is unavailable, work expeditiously with the client to find an acceptable alternative.
 
We must always ask ourselves how we can make our communications more accessible. Every situation is different and depends on the individual’s needs. Options include:
  • Make the original communication more accessible by using techniques like plain language writing during the planning process; or
  • Change the usual method of communication to meet the client’s needs;
One example is providing schedules or information in paper format. If a client with low vision asks for information in Braille but it is not available in Braille, we may explain that it is available in an accessible format on the website. This may work for the client because s/he has a screen reader at home that reads what is displayed on the website. For another client, who has vision difficulties or a learning disability, it may be sufficient to read the difficult parts out loud.
 

Telephone Services

We are committed to providing fully accessible telephone service to our clients. Staff are expected to communicate with clients over the telephone in clear and plain language and to speak clearly and slowly, wherever necessary.

We will offer to communicate with clients by any other appropriate means of communication if telephone communication is not suitable to their communication needs.
 

Assistive Devices

An assistive device is any piece of equipment a person with a disability uses to help them with their daily living. Some examples include: a wheelchair, screen reader, listening device or cane. We are committed to serving people with disabilities who use assistive devices to obtain, use or benefit from our services.
 
BDO personnel shall wherever possible accommodate clients who use assistive devices in connection with their disability. BDO personnel must ensure that they are familiar with various assistive devices that may be used by clients with disabilities, including any assistive devices available at the local BDO office, while accessing our services.
 
To ensure familiarity, staff need to consider how they will address the use of a client’s assistive device. The best practice is to ask the client on the appropriate and inappropriate ways of interacting with them and their assistive devices. An example is a client who can walk short distances and uses a scooter. It is often difficult to find space in the office to park their scooter, so they will find it helpful when staff suggest parking options and make space.
 

Billing

We are committed to providing accessible invoices to all of our clients. For this reason, invoices shall be provided in alternate formats (including but not limited to hard copy, large print or e-mail) upon request.

We will answer any questions clients may have about the content of the invoice in person, by telephone or email.
 

Use of Service Animals and Support Persons

We are committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a service animal (not necessarily only dogs) on the parts of our premises that are open to the public and other third parties. Before meeting with a client who uses a service animal, we should:

  • identify the few areas of our office not open to service animals (e.g. the kitchen); and
  • ask the client about the appropriate ways to interact with them and their service animals (e.g. never touch or distract a guide dog without permission).
We are committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a support person. Support people do not have to be a paid support worker but could be any family member or friend that helps a client perform daily tasks. Any person with a disability who is accompanied by a support person shall be allowed to enter BDO’s premises with his or her support person. At no time shall a person with a disability who is accompanied by a support person be prevented from having access to his or her support person while on our premises.
 

Notice of Temporary Disruption

BDO shall provide clients with notice in the event of a planned or unexpected disruption in the facilities or services usually used by people with disabilities. This notice must include information about the reason for the disruption, its anticipated duration, and a description of alternative facilities or services, if available.
 
The notice shall be placed at all receptions on our premises.
 

Privacy

All information about a disability is personal and private and must be treated confidentially.
 

Feedback Process

The ultimate goal of BDO is to meet and surpass client expectations while serving clients with disabilities. Comments on our services regarding how well these expectations are being met are welcome and appreciated.
 
Feedback regarding the way BDO provides services to people with disabilities may be made by any reasonable medium. Please contact BDO at national@bdo.ca or (416) 865-0111. All feedback shall be directed to BDO’s Legal and Compliance Department. BDO shall respond within 15 days.
 

Difficulty Accessing Services

If a person with a disability is having difficulty accessing our services, ask the person how s/he can be accommodated and what alternative methods of service provision would be more accessible.


Multi-year Accessibility Plan for BDO Canada

2016-2021 Accessibility Plan for BDO Canada 


Questions About This Policy

If anyone has a question about our policy, or if the purpose of a policy is not understood, please contact Paul Swanson pswanson@bdo.ca.
 
Copies of this policy and related documents, including information on BDO’s compliance with accessibility legislation, are available upon request.

Politique en matière d'accessibilité

Objectif

L'objectif de la politique de normes de service à la clientèle de BDO Canada LLP (« BDO ») est d'adopter une attitude proactive en matière d'inclusion des personnes handicapées dans nos offres de services et de nous aligner sur les exigences des lois en vigueur, telles que la Loi sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario et les règlements correspondants, qui traite des obstacles rencontrés par les personnes handicapées en raison de discriminations. Ces lois bénéficient à tous les Canadiens des façons suivantes :

  • en élaborant, en mettant en œuvre et en appliquant des normes d'accessibilité afin de permettre aux personnes handicapées d'accéder à des biens, à des services, à des installations, à des accommodations, à des emplois, à des bâtiments, à des structures et à des établissements; et
  • en permettant la participation des personnes handicapées des gouvernements provinciaux et des représentants d'industries et de divers secteurs économiques à l'élaboration des normes d'accessibilité.

Notre engagement

BDO s'efforce de fournir des services en les rendant accessibles à tous ses clients et respecte la dignité, l'indépendance et l'intégration des personnes handicapées. Nous sommes déterminés à offrir des opportunités d'accès à nos services identiques à tous et à offrir les avantages de ces services, dans les mêmes lieux et de la même façon à tous les clients. 

Formation sur l'accessibilité

Afin de promouvoir la création d'un environnement accessible et inclusif et d'offrir à nos clients le meilleur service qui soit, les associés et les membres du personnel de BDO recevront une formation sur les points suivants :

  1. Les objectifs des lois en matière d’accessibilité, comme la Loi sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario, et des exigences réglementaires qui régissent les normes en matière de service à la clientèle.
  2. Interagir et communiquer avec les personnes qui vivent avec un handicap
  3. Interagir avec les personnes qui utilisent un appareil fonctionnel ou nécessitent l'assistance d'un chien-guide, d'un autre animal d'assistance ou d'une personne de confiance
  4. Que faire lorsqu'une personne atteinte d'un handicap éprouve de la difficulté à utiliser les services de BDO
Cette formation est obligatoire pour tous les membres du personnel et associés de BDO, et elle doit être donnée dans les trois premiers mois d'emploi suivant l'embauche. BDO doit prévenir les associés et le personnel de tout changement aux politiques, pratiques et procédures qui régissent la prestation de ses produits et services. Il doit également évaluer la nécessité d’effectuer une mise à jour de la formation, et ce, sur une base continue.

BDO prendra également les moyens nécessaires pour familiariser ses associés et membres du personnel avec les équipements ou les dispositifs d’assistance installés dans nos bureaux pour nous permettre de fournir nos services à des personnes handicapées.

Fournir des biens et des services aux personnes handicapées

BDO est déterminé à fournir d'excellents services aux clients y compris aux personnes handicapées et nous mettrons en œuvre nos fonctions et nos responsabilités dans les domaines suivants :

Communication

Nous communiquerons avec les personnes handicapées en tenant compte de leur handicap. Nous adopterons des approches souples.

Tout le personnel doit tenir compte des différentes façons dont les personnes handicapées communiquent et adapter leur approche vis-à-vis des clients. La façon la plus simple et la plus efficace de procéder consiste à demander aux clients de nous indiquer la meilleure façon de communiquer avec eux. Si une méthode particulière n'est pas disponible, trouvez rapidement avec le client une alternative acceptable.

Nous devons toujours nous demander comment nous pouvons rendre nos communications plus accessibles. Chaque situation est différente et dépend des besoins individuels. Les options disponibles à ce sujet sont notamment :

  • Rendre les communications initiales plus accessibles en utilisant, par exemple, un langage écrit simple pendant le processus de planification; ou
  • Changer la méthode de communication habituelle pour répondre aux besoins du client.

Nous pouvons notamment fournir des formulaires ou des informations sur format papier. Si un client a des problèmes de vision et demande des informations en braille, mais si ces informations ne sont pas disponibles en braille, nous pouvons expliquer que ces informations sont disponibles dans un format accessible sur le site Web. Cela peut fonctionner pour le client s'il dispose d’un lecteur d’écran lui permettant de lire les sites Web. Pour un autre client, qui peut également avoir des problèmes de vision ou des difficultés d'apprentissage, il peut être suffisant de lire les portions difficiles à haute voix.

Services au téléphone

Nous sommes déterminés à fournir des services téléphoniques entièrement accessibles à nos clients. Le personnel doit communiquer avec les clients au téléphone d'une façon claire et simple et parler clairement et lentement chaque fois que cela est nécessaire.

Nous offrirons de communiquer avec les clients de toute autre façon appropriée si les communications au téléphone ne sont pas adaptées à leurs besoins de communication.

Dispositifs d'assistance

Un dispositif d'assistance est un équipement qu'une personne handicapée utilise pour l'aider dans ses activités quotidiennes. Il peut s'agir notamment d'une chaise roulante, d'un lecteur d'écran, d'un appareil auditif ou d'une canne. Nous sommes déterminés à desservir les personnes handicapées qui utilisent des dispositifs d'assistance pour obtenir, utiliser ou bénéficier de nos services.

Le personnel de BDO répondra aux demandes des clients qui utilisent des dispositifs d'assistance pour leur handicap chaque fois que cela est possible. Le personnel de BDO doit s'assurer qu'il est familier avec les différents dispositifs d'assistance, y compris les dispositifs installés à même les bureaux locaux de BDO, que les clients handicapés peuvent utiliser lorsqu'ils accèdent à nos services.

Pour se familiariser avec ces dispositifs, notre personnel doit tenir compte de la façon dont le client les utilise. La meilleure façon de procéder consiste à demander au client les façons appropriées et inappropriées d'interagir avec eux lorsqu'ils utilisent leur dispositif d'assistance. Par exemple, un client peut marcher sur de courtes distances et utiliser un scooter électrique. Il est souvent difficile de trouver de la place dans le bureau pour ranger les scooters électriques, il peut donc être utile que l'employé suggère au client des options pour le ranger et qu'il fasse de la place.

Facturation 

Nous sommes déterminés à offrir des factures accessibles à tous nos clients. Pour cette raison, les factures seront fournies dans des formats alternatifs (et notamment sur des copies papier, des documents avec des grosses polices de caractères ou sur des courriels) lorsque le client le demande.

Nous répondrons à toutes les questions des clients que les clients peuvent avoir à propos du contenu de la facture en personne, par téléphone ou par courrier électronique.

Utilisation d'animaux et de personnes d'assistance

Nous sommes déterminés à accueillir les personnes handicapées accompagnées par un animal (pas nécessairement un chien) dans les portions de nos installations ouvertes au public et par d'autres personnes. Avant de rencontrer un client qui utilise un animal d'assistance, nous devons :

  • Localiser dans notre bureau les zones qui ne sont pas ouvertes aux animaux d'assistance (par exemple la cuisine); et
  • Demander au client la façon appropriée d'interagir avec lui et avec son animal d'assistance (ne jamais toucher ou distraire un chien d'assistance sans permission du client).

Nous sommes déterminés à accueillir les personnes handicapées accompagnées de personnes d’assistance. Les personnes d’assistance ne sont pas nécessairement des employés payés, mais peuvent être un membre de la famille ou un ami qui aide le client à effectuer ses activités quotidiennes. Toute personne handicapée accompagnée d'une personne assistance doit pouvoir entrer dans les établissements de BDO avec sa personne d’assistance. Nous ne devons jamais refuser à une personne handicapée accompagnée d'une personne d’assistance d'accéder à sa personne d’assistance lorsqu'elle se trouve dans nos établissements.

Avis d'interruption temporaire

BDO donnera aux clients un avis en cas d'interruption inattendue des installations ou des services en général utilisés par les personnes handicapées. Cet avis doit inclure des informations à propos des raisons de l'interruption et sa durée prévue, et une description des installations ou des services alternatifs qui peuvent être utilisés, le cas échéant.

 
L’avis sera placé à la réception de tous nos établissements.
 

Confidentialité

Toutes les informations à propos d'un handicap sont personnelles et confidentielles et doivent être traitées confidentiellement.

 

Processus de rétroaction

L'objectif ultime de BDO est de répondre et de surpasser les attentes des clients lorsque nous offrons des services à des clients handicapés. Les commentaires sur nos services et sur la façon dont nous répondons à ces attentes sont les bienvenus et appréciés.

Les commentaires relativement à la manière dont BDO fournit des services aux personnes handicapées peuvent être transmis par un moyen raisonnable. Veuillez communiquer avec BDO à national@bdo.ca ou (416) 865-0111. Tous les commentaires doivent être dirigés vers les Services juridiques et de conformité de BDO. BDO répondra dans les 15 jours.
 

Difficultés d'accès aux services

Si une personne handicapée a du mal à accéder à nos services, demandez à la personne la façon dont nous pourrions répondre à ses besoins et les méthodes de services alternatives que nous pourrions utiliser.

 

Questions à propos de cette police

Si vous avez des questions sur la politique ou ses objectifs, veuillez vous adresser à Paul Swanson (pswanson@bdo.ca).

Une copie de la politique et des documents connexes, y compris les renseignements relatifs à la conformité de BDO aux lois sur l’accessibilité, est disponible sur demande.