Weekly Tax Tip - Review your outstanding debt to ensure that you make your interest expense deductible to the maximum extent

November 2017

NTL_Tax_06Nov17_Outstanding-Debt_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

To be deductible, interest expense must relate to debt incurred to earn business or investment income. Interest on personal debts, such as mortgages or car loans and interest incurred to make RRSP contributions, are not generally deductible. Another point to keep in mind is that investment income doesn’t include capital gains. The CRA takes the position that interest on funds borrowed to invest in assets producing only capital gains isn’t deductible.

Review your loans outstanding at year-end and your overall cash position. Where possible, pay off non-deductible debt as quickly as possible. Avoid using excess funds to pay off business or investment loans, if you know you will have to make large personal expenditures in the near future. Where you have a choice, always borrow for investment or business purposes over personal uses.

Also, note that where you’ve sold an investment at a loss and continue to carry debt incurred to purchase the investment, you should leave these loans outstanding as long as you have other non-deductible debt that could be paid off first. Interest from debts relating to the loss on an investment (other than real estate or depreciable property) continues to be deductible as long as those debts remain outstanding and all of the proceeds from the loss asset are reinvested. Your BDO tax advisor would be pleased to provide further details.

This tax tip is a publication of BDO Canada LLP on developments in the area of taxation. This material is general in nature and should not be relied upon to replace the requirement for specific professional advice. The information in this tax tip is current as of November 6, 2017.

Examinez votre dette et assurez-vous que vous utilisez au maximum vos déductions pour frais d’intérêts

novembre 2017

NTL_Tax_06Nov17_Outstanding-Debt_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Pour que les frais d’intérêts soient déductibles, ils doivent être liés à une dette encourue pour réaliser des revenus d’entreprise ou de biens. Les intérêts sur les dettes personnelles comme les hypothèques ou les prêts-autos, ou l’intérêt sur un prêt permettant de cotiser à un REER ne sont normalement pas déductibles. Il faut aussi noter que les gains en capital ne sont pas inclus dans les revenus de placements. D’après l’ARC, l’intérêt sur les fonds empruntés pour l’acquisition de biens ne produisant que des gains en capital n’est pas déductible.

Examinez vos prêts en cours à la fin de l’année dans le cadre de votre situation financière globale. Dans la mesure du possible, remboursez les emprunts non déductibles aussi vite que possible. Évitez d’utiliser des fonds excédentaires pour rembourser des prêts d’entreprise ou des prêts contractés pour faire des placements, si vous prévoyez des dépenses personnelles importantes à brève échéance. Lorsque vous avez le choix, empruntez toujours pour faire des placements ou pour votre entreprise plutôt qu’à des fins personnelles.

Veuillez aussi noter que, si vous avez vendu un placement à perte et que vous avez encore une dette pour l’achat de ce placement, vous devriez éviter de la rembourser totalement tant qu’il vous reste d’autres dettes non déductibles à régler. L’intérêt sur une dette liée à une perte sur placement (sauf pour les biens immobiliers ou les biens amortissables) continue d’être déductible tant que la dette n’est pas remboursée et que le produit de la vente de l’actif vendu à perte est réinvesti. Votre conseiller fiscal BDO se fera un plaisir de vous fournir de plus amples renseignements.

Le présent bulletin est une publication de BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. qui traite des nouvelles mesures fiscales. Il s’agit d’information d’ordre général qui ne devrait pas remplacer les conseils d'un professionnel dans les cas particuliers. L’information est à jour en date du 6 novembre 2017