Weekly Tax Tip - Consider selling investments with accrued losses before the end of the year

December 2017

NTL_Tax_04Dec17_Selling-Investments_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

If you’ve realized capital gains in the year, consider selling assets with an accrued loss to offset the gains. You may also want to realize the loss if you’ve had capital gains in the last three years that weren’t offset by your capital gains exemption. In order for a disposition of marketable securities in an open market to be included in your 2017 tax year, you’ll have to sell them on or before the stock exchanges’ last trading day for settlement in 2017. Note that the settlement date for most Canadian and U.S. stock exchanges has generally been shortened from three business days after the trade date to two business days after the trade date. Generally, for Canadian and U.S. exchanges, December 27 will be the last trading date if you want to have the transaction settled in 2017.

Note that rules (known as the stop-loss rules) apply to deny losses on certain dispositions of property, such as:

  • Where you transfer an asset to your spouse or a corporation controlled by you and/or your spouse; or
  • Where you sell an asset on the open market, and you, your spouse or a corporation controlled by you or your spouse reacquires it within 30 days of its disposition.

Note that these stop-loss rules will also apply where you sell or contribute an asset to your or your spouse’s RRSP or TFSA at a loss or where you sell an asset at a loss and that asset is repurchased in an RRSP or TFSA belonging to you or your spouse within 30 days.

These rules are complex and can apply in situations not discussed here, so consult with a trusted BDO tax advisor. As well, read our article “Tax Rules to Remember When Triggering Capital Losses”.

This tax tip is a publication of BDO Canada LLP on developments in the area of taxation. This material is general in nature and should not be relied upon to replace the requirement for specific professional advice. The information in this tax tip is current as of December 4, 2017.

Truc fiscal - Vente de placements présentant des pertes latentes avant la fin de l’année

décembre 2017

NTL_Tax_04Dec17_Selling-Investments_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Si vous avez réalisé des gains en capital pendant l’année, envisagez de vendre des placements présentant des pertes latentes afin de les déduire de vos gains. Vous pourriez aussi vouloir réaliser une perte si certains de vos gains en capital des trois dernières années n’étaient pas admissibles à l’exonération du gain en capital. Afin que la disposition des valeurs mobilières négociées dans un marché ouvert puisse être incluse dans votre année d’imposition 2017, vous devrez vendre les valeurs avant ou à la date de la dernière journée de négociation de la bourse pour que le règlement ait lieu en 2017. La date de règlement pour la plupart des bourses du Canada et des États-Unis est établie habituellement trois jours après la date de l’opération. Pour les bourses canadiennes, le 27 décembre serait généralement le dernier jour de bourse si vous désirez que l’opération soit réglée en 2017.

À noter que des règles (appelées règles sur les pertes apparentes) empêchent de déclarer des pertes sur certaines cessions de biens, notamment:

  • La cession d’un bien à votre conjoint ou à une société contrôlée par vous et (ou) votre conjoint;
  • La vente d’un bien sur le marché libre, si ce bien est de nouveau acquis par vous, votre conjoint ou une société contrôlée par vous ou votre conjoint, dans les trente jours suivant la cession.

Les règles concernant les pertes apparentes s’appliquent aussi si vous vendez un bien à perte à votre REER, à votre CELI ou à ceux de votre conjoint, ou si le bien vendu est racheté dans un REER ou CELI appartenant à vous ou à votre conjoint dans les 30 jours.

Ces règles étant complexes et pourraient s’appliquer à des situations non mentionnées ici, vous devriez donc consulter votre conseiller BDO pour toute planification sur la réalisation des pertes latentes. De même, lisez l’article intitulé « Règles fiscales à considérer lorsque vous déclarez une perte en capital » dans notre publication le Facteur fiscal 2015-10.

Le présent bulletin est une publication de BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. qui traite des nouvelles mesures fiscales. Il s’agit d’information d’ordre général qui ne devrait pas remplacer les conseils d'un professionnel dans les cas particuliers. L’information est à jour en date du 4 décembre 2017.