Tax Tip - Apply for the new Climate Action Incentive on your 2018 personal tax return

February 22, 2019

NTL_Tax_15Feb19_Website_Tax-Tip_New-Climate-Action-Incentive_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

The Climate Action Incentive is a new, refundable tax credit starting in 2019; it can be applied for by eligible individuals on their 2018 personal tax return.

The Incentive is part of the federal government’s climate-change plan, which, beginning in 2019, includes a carbon tax on fuels levied in provinces and territories that have not created a qualifying carbon-tax plan.

The new tax credit is available to residents of Manitoba, New Brunswick, Ontario, and Saskatchewan.

The amount of the payment is not contingent on income, but it does vary based on family size (that is, the number of dependants).

The government has confirmed the following amounts for 2019:

  • For residents of Manitoba, the amount is $170 for a single adult or the first adult in a couple; $85 for the second adult in a couple or the first child of a single parent; and $42 for each child under the age of 18.
  • For residents of New Brunswick, the amount is $128 for a single adult or the first adult in a couple; $64 for the second adult in a couple or first child of a single parent; and $32 for each child under the age of 18.
  • For residents of Ontario, the amount is $154 for a single adult or the first adult in a couple; $77 for the second adult in a couple or the first child of a single parent; and $38 for each child under the age of 18.
  • For residents of Saskatchewan, the amount is $305 for a single adult or the first adult in a couple; $152 for the second adult in a couple or the first child of a single parent; and $76 for each child under the age of 18.
  • An additional supplementary amount is available for eligible individuals residing outside a census metropolitan area in Manitoba, New Brunswick, Ontario, or Saskatchewan.

The tax credit for 2019 can be claimed on line 449 of the 2018 federal income-tax return, and it is calculated on Schedule 14—Climate Action Incentive.

For more information, read our Tax Alert, “Climate Action Incentive Payments Announced” and speak with your BDO tax advisor.

This tax tip is a publication of BDO Canada LLP on developments in the area of taxation. This material is general in nature and should not be relied upon to replace the requirement for specific professional advice. The information in this tax tip is current as of February 5, 2019.

Truc fiscal – Demandez le nouveau crédit d’impôt Incitatif à agir pour le climat dans votre déclaration de revenus de 2018

22 février 2019

NTL_Tax_15Feb19_Website_Tax-Tip_New-Climate-Action-Incentive_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

L’Incitatif à agir pour le climat (l’« Incitatif ») est un nouveau crédit d’impôt remboursable offert à compter de 2019 que les particuliers admissibles peuvent demander dans leur déclaration de revenus de particulier pour 2018.

L’Incitatif fait partie du plan en matière de changements climatiques du gouvernement fédéral qui, à compter de 2019, comprend une taxe sur le carbone sur les combustibles dans les provinces et territoires qui n’ont pas créé de plan de taxe sur le carbone admissible.

Le nouveau crédit d’impôt est offert aux résidents du Manitoba, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Ontario et de la Saskatchewan.

Le montant du paiement ne dépend pas du revenu, mais varie en fonction de la province et de la taille de la famille (c.-à-d., le nombre de personnes à charge).

Le gouvernement a confirmé les montants suivants pour 2019 :

  • Pour les résidents du Manitoba, le montant est de 170 $ pour un adulte célibataire ou pour le premier adulte d’un couple; 85 $ pour le deuxième adulte du couple ou le premier enfant d’une famille monoparentale; et 42 $ pour chaque enfant de la famille âgé de moins de 18 ans.
  • Pour les résidents du Nouveau-Brunswick, le montant est de 128 $ pour un adulte célibataire ou pour le premier adulte d’un couple; 64 $ pour le deuxième adulte du couple ou le premier enfant d’une famille monoparentale; et 32 $ pour chaque enfant de la famille âgé de moins de 18 ans.
  • Pour les résidents de l’Ontario, le montant est de 154 $ pour un adulte célibataire ou pour le premier adulte d’un couple; 77 $ pour le deuxième adulte du couple ou le premier enfant d’une famille monoparentale; et 38 $ pour chaque enfant de la famille âgé de moins de 18 ans.
  • Pour les résidents de la Saskatchewan, le montant est de 305 $ pour un adulte célibataire ou pour le premier adulte d’un couple; 152 $ pour le deuxième adulte du couple ou le premier enfant d’une famille monoparentale; et 76 $ pour chaque enfant de la famille âgé de moins de 18 ans.
  • Un montant supplémentaire est offert aux particuliers admissibles qui résident à l’extérieur d’une région métropolitaine de recensement du Manitoba, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Ontario ou de la Saskatchewan.

Le crédit d’impôt pour 2019 peut être demandé à la ligne 449 de la déclaration de revenus fédérale de 2018 et est calculé à l’Annexe 14, Incitatif à agir pour le climat.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, lisez notre document « Alerte fiscale – Annonce sur le paiement de l’incitatif à agir pour le climat » et consultez votre conseiller en fiscalité de BDO.

Le présent bulletin est une publication de BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP qui traite des nouvelles mesures fiscales. Il s’agit d’information d’ordre général qui ne devrait pas remplacer les conseils d’un professionnel dans les cas particuliers. L’information est à jour en date du 5 février 2019.