The Federal Government Targets Shareholders of Private Corporations

June 2017

NTL_Firm_21Jun17_Federal-Tax_Private-Corporations679-x-220.jpg

Tax fairness for the middle class. This has been one of the pillars of the current federal government. Finance Minister Bill Morneau has been quoted as saying “When people pay their taxes, they want to know that their neighbour pays roughly the same taxes. Right now there are some loopholes in our system that means that that is not necessarily always the case.”

When Morneau talks about loopholes in this context, he is speaking about using private corporations. As he has said “You don’t want people to be shielding money inside the private corporation at the private corporation tax rate with no long-term intent of actually making investments into the business; it’s just a way of shielding their gains from tax.”

What does this mean for business owners?

What these quotes do not mention is differing levels of risk, explains Rachel Gervais, Partner and GTA Tax service line leader. “When comparing a business owner to his neighbour who is an employee, you cannot forget that the business owner creates wealth and drives growth for the Canadian economy but does not have the security that many employees have, nor do they have a pension plan or other retirement benefits. The business owner is taking risks that an employee is not. The primary driver for a business owner to use a corporation is often personal liability protection, not to save taxes.”

That is not to say that there are not tax savings in using corporations, but that simply comparing tax rates between individuals may not be an entirely fair comparison.

In the 2017 federal budget, the government announced that they have been studying the way private corporations are used to save taxes. In the 2017 budget papers, the government identified three main strategies that are currently being used by owners of private corporations to take advantage of preferential tax rates:

Income Splitting - A corporation with multiple shareholders and different classes of shares can pay dividends of varying amounts to shareholders, depending on which class they hold. If some of the shares are held by individuals who are not high-income individuals, such as the taxpayer’s spouse or adult children, then some income of the company can be paid by way of dividend to the lower-income shareholders. By doing this, some business profits will be taxed at a lower overall tax rate than if all of the income was earned directly by the taxpayer. This is an example of a tax-saving strategy known as “income or dividend sprinkling.”

Tax Deferral - Canada has a tax system for Canadian private corporations and their shareholders that is built on the concept of “integration.” That is, an owner-manager carrying on a business in a corporation should pay the same amount of tax on that business income as they would pay if such income was earned directly by them in an unincorporated business. When income is earned in a corporation and then paid to an owner-manager as a dividend, there are two levels of tax to consider. There is the initial corporate tax, and a second level of tax that occurs when the dividend is paid to the owner-manager. The initial corporate tax is lower than the tax that would be paid by the owner-manager if the business profits had been paid out in the year to the owner-manager in the form of salary. If the funds are not needed by the owner-manager, then paying just the initial corporate layer of tax and retaining the funds in the corporation can allow for a tax deferral. This strategy defers the payment of the second level of tax, which occurs when dividends are paid from the corporation and are taxed in the hands of the individual shareholder. Where the income earned in the company is in excess of the shareholders’ needs and is not re-invested in a business, this indefinite deferral of tax can be a form of real tax savings.

Extracting Funds Tax Effectively - There is currently a tax rate difference between income paid from a private corporation in the form of a dividend and the tax rate that would be paid if the corporation was sold and the individual shareholder paid tax on the resulting capital gain. This rate differential creates an incentive to extract funds from a corporation by creating a capital gain instead of paying a dividend to the shareholder, which is a form of tax savings.

As announced by Minister Morneau at a recent Board of Trade speech in Toronto, we expect the government to release a consultation paper in the coming days or weeks proposing changes to the way private corporations are taxed as a way of dealing with these three tax savings strategies. Following the release of this paper, we will be hosting a webinar with Dave Walsh, Tax Service Line Leader for Canada along with a number of our Partners in order to review and discuss the impact on private corporation owners. Our BDO Canada Tax advisors will remain dedicated to providing you with updates and information as it is released.

Update - July 18, 2017

Finance Minister Bill Morneau released the much anticipated consultation paper on July 18 proposing changes to how private corporations are used to gain tax advantages. The Canadian Department of Finance promised a consultation paper, however, Canadian taxpayers received proposals with effective dates and draft legislation on income splitting and conversion of capital gains. The federal government is asking for further consultation around holding passive investments inside a private corporation.  See our highlights document and watch our on demand webinar to learn more about the proposed reforms and how they might impact you.

For more information or assistance, please feel free to contact us.


The information in this publication is current as of June 26, 2017. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Le gouvernement fédéral cible les actionnaires de sociétés privées

juin 2017

NTL_Firm_21Jun17_Federal-Tax_Private-Corporations679-x-220.jpg

L’équité fiscale pour la classe moyenne. Il s’agit de l’un des piliers du gouvernement fédéral actuel. Le ministre des Finances Bill Morneau a indiqué ce qui suit [traduction] : « Lorsque les gens paient leurs impôts, ils veulent savoir que leur voisin paie environ le même montant. À l’heure actuelle, notre système comporte des échappatoires, ce qui signifie que ce n’est pas nécessairement toujours le cas. »

Lorsque M. Morneau parle des échappatoires dans ce contexte, il fait référence à l’utilisation de sociétés privées. Comme il a indiqué [traduction] : « Vous ne voulez pas que les gens placent de l’argent à l’abri dans des sociétés privées au taux d’imposition des sociétés privées sans avoir l’intention d’investir réellement dans l’entreprise à long terme; il s’agit simplement d’une façon de mettre leurs gains à l’abri de l’impôt. »

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour les propriétaires d’entreprise?

Ces citations ne mentionnent pas qu’il existe différents niveaux de risque, explique Rachel Gervais, associée et chef des services en fiscalité de la région du grand Toronto pour BDO. « Lorsqu’on compare un propriétaire d’entreprise à son voisin qui est un employé, il ne faut pas oublier que le propriétaire d’entreprise crée de la richesse et favorise la croissance de l’économie canadienne, mais qu’il ne dispose pas de la sécurité dont bénéficient de nombreux employés et qu’il ne détient pas de régime de retraite ni d’autres avantages liés à la retraite. Le propriétaire d’entreprise prend des risques que l’employé ne prend pas. Le principal facteur qui incite un propriétaire d’entreprise à utiliser une société est souvent la protection contre la responsabilité personnelle plutôt que l’économie d’impôts. »

Cela ne signifie pas que l’utilisation de sociétés ne permet pas d’économiser de l’impôt, mais que comparer simplement les taux d’imposition entre les deux n’est peut-être pas une base de comparaison équitable.

Dans le budget fédéral de 2017, le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il étudierait la façon dont les sociétés privées sont utilisées pour réaliser des économies d’impôt. Dans les documents de ce budget de 2017, le gouvernement a relevé les trois principales stratégies qu’utilisent actuellement les propriétaires de sociétés privées pour tirer parti des taux d’imposition préférentiels :

Fractionnement du revenu – Une société qui compte plusieurs actionnaires et différentes catégories d’actions peut verser des dividendes de divers montants aux actionnaires, selon la catégorie d’actions qu’ils détiennent. Dans le cas où certaines des actions sont détenues par des particuliers qui ne sont pas des particuliers à revenu élevé, comme le conjoint ou les enfants adultes du contribuable, une partie du revenu de la société peut alors être versée sous forme de dividendes aux actionnaires assujettis à des taux d’imposition moins élevés. Ainsi, une partie des profits de l’entreprise sera imposée à un taux global d’imposition plus bas que si l’ensemble du revenu avait été gagné directement par le contribuable. Il s’agit d’un exemple d’une stratégie d’économie d’impôt appelée « répartition du revenu ou des dividendes ».

Report d’impôt – Le Canada a un régime fiscal pour les sociétés privées canadiennes et leurs actionnaires qui est bâti sur le concept d’« intégration ». Par conséquent, un propriétaire qui exploite une entreprise au moyen d’une société doit payer le même montant d’impôt sur ce revenu d’entreprise que s’il l’avait gagné directement dans une entreprise non constituée en société. Lorsque le revenu est gagné dans une société, puis versé à un propriétaire-exploitant sous forme de dividendes, il existe deux niveaux d’impôts : l’impôt initial des sociétés et l’impôt sur les dividendes versés au propriétaire-exploitant. L’impôt initial des sociétés est inférieur à l’impôt qui aurait été payé par le propriétaire-exploitant si les profits d’entreprise avaient été versés au cours de l’année au propriétaire-exploitant sous forme de salaire. Si le propriétaire-exploitant n’a pas besoin des fonds, le paiement de l’impôt initial de la société seulement et la conservation des fonds dans la société crée un report d’impôt. Cette stratégie permet de reporter le paiement du deuxième niveau d’impôt qui doit être payé lorsque les dividendes sont versés par la société et sont imposés entre les mains de l’actionnaire. Lorsque le revenu gagné au sein de la société dépasse les besoins des actionnaires et n’est pas réinvesti dans une entreprise, ce report d’impôt indéfini peut constituer une réelle forme d’économie d’impôt.

Retrait de fonds de manière efficace sur le plan fiscal – Il existe actuellement une différence de taux entre celui applicable au revenu versé par une société privée sous forme de dividendes et le taux d’impôt qui serait payé si la société était vendue et que l’actionnaire payait de l’impôt sur le gain en capital qui en découlait. Cette différence de taux crée un incitatif au retrait de fonds d’une société en créant un gain en capital plutôt que de verser des dividendes à l’actionnaire, qui constitue une forme d’économie d’impôt.

À la suite de l’annonce du ministre Morneau dans un récent discours à la chambre de commerce de Toronto, nous prévoyons que le gouvernement publiera un document de consultation dans les prochains jours ou les prochaines semaines proposant des changements à l’imposition des sociétés privées pour éliminer ces trois stratégies d’économie d’impôt. Après la publication du document, nous tiendrons un webinaire avec Dave Walsh, chef des services en fiscalité pour le Canada et plusieurs associés pour en examiner l’incidence sur les propriétaires de sociétés privées et en discuter. Les conseillers en fiscalité de BDO Canada continueront de s’employer à vous fournir des mises à jour et de l’information à mesure qu’elle sera publiée.


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 26 juin, 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.