The Benefits of Tax Deferrals

June 2017

NTL_Firm_26Jun17_Website_Benefits-Of-Tax-Deferrals_679x220-(4).jpg

Canadian-owned businesses are frequently carried on in private corporations owned by a controlling shareholder who is an owner-manager. This structure has recently come under scrutiny by the federal government that announced with the March federal budget that it has been studying the way private corporations are used to save taxes. At that time, the government identified three main strategies that are currently being used by owners of private corporations to take advantage of preferential tax rates. One of these strategies is using private companies to defer tax.

According to Deborah Graystone, partner and Private Client Service Practice leader, the Canadian corporate tax system for private corporations that are controlled by Canadian residents is designed around the concept that at certain levels of income, a Canadian resident individual will be tax-neutral whether that income is earned in a corporation or earned personally.

The rules can be clarified by looking at two scenarios. Grant and Alisha are both in business for themselves and are Canadian resident individuals carrying on business in Canada. Grant incorporated his business in a Canadian company, Grantco, and he is the sole shareholder, while Alisha runs her business as a sole proprietorship.

Both businesses earned an income of $300,000 last year, net of expenses. We will assume a corporate tax rate on this income of 25%, a personal tax rate on dividends paid from Grantco of 20%, and a personal tax rate on ordinary income (i.e. income that is not a dividend or a capital gain) of 40%. These tax rates are for illustration only and are representative of the current Canadian rates.

Grantco would have paid tax of $75,000 on the $300,000 of income in the company, leaving $225,000 to be paid out by way of dividend. When the dividend is received by Grant, he will pay $45,000 in personal taxes, leaving him with $180,000 after tax. Alicia would have paid tax of $120,000 on the same net income of $300,000, leaving her with $180,000 after tax.

In the situation where Grantco pays the corporate after-tax profits as a dividend to Grant, Alicia and Grant have the same after-tax income. However, if Grant does not need the profits from his company for personal use currently, then Grant pays significantly less tax now than Alicia does by earning his business income in the company. However, when Grant needs funds for personal use, and his company pays a dividend to him, he will pay the tax at that time. In the meantime, there is a deferral of the tax that he will ultimately pay.

In this illustration, the difference between personal and corporate tax rates is 15%. However, the small business deduction can reduce corporate tax to between 10.5% and 18.5%, at current rates, depending on the province, instead of the 25% used in the illustration. In many provinces, the personal tax rate rises to 50% or more. These two factors can combine to create an actual deferral of tax of up to 40% in some provinces.

It is “this ability to defer the payment of tax that the government is concerned with”, says Graystone. Even though the two-tiered tax system creates the deferral, the trend by the federal and the provincial governments over the past few years has been to lower corporate tax rates, while increasing personal tax rates, thus increasing this tax deferral for incorporated businesses. Keep in mind that the risks of a business owner differ from taxpayers who are employees, and that the risks of a business to its owner is one of the main reasons that drives incorporation and not just the tax advantages.

Graystone also notes that the above tax deferral analysis is only true for active business income earned by a private company. The same tax deferral advantage is generally not available for most investment income earned in a company due to the complex refundable tax rules, which subject the income to a high rate of tax in the company. The rate approximates the combined personal and corporate tax on the income and eliminates any tax deferral opportunity. In order to prevent double taxation, the company receives a refund of a portion of the corporate tax paid when it pays out a taxable dividend to individual shareholders, who would then pay personal tax on the dividend income.

The government mentioned in the federal budget papers that one of the three tax planning strategies that they were concerned about was “building a passive investment portfolio inside a private corporation by taking advantage of generally lower corporate tax rates”. The ability to build a passive investment portfolio only comes when the profits of the owner-managed business are not required by the owner-manager to cover personal expenses as the company must make payments to the owner-manager by way of salary or dividends in order to provide personal funds to the owner-manager.

We will need to wait to see what steps that the government might propose, if any, to address the gap between corporate and personal tax rates, which is creating the incentive for owner-managers to defer tax.

As announced by Minister Morneau at a recent Board of Trade speech in Toronto, we expect the government to release a consultation paper in the coming days or weeks proposing changes to the way private corporations are taxed as a way of dealing with these three tax savings strategies. Following the release of this paper, we will be hosting a webinar with Dave Walsh, Tax Service line leader for Canada along with a number of our partners in order to review and discuss the impact on private corporation owners. Our BDO Canada Tax advisors will remain dedicated to providing you with updates and information as it is released.

Update - July 18, 2017

Finance Minister Bill Morneau released the much anticipated consultation paper on July 18 proposing changes to how private corporations are used to gain tax advantages. The Canadian Department of Finance promised a consultation paper, however, Canadian taxpayers received proposals with effective dates and draft legislation on income splitting and conversion of capital gains. The federal government is asking for further consultation around holding passive investments inside a private corporation.  See our detailed review and watch our on demand webinar to learn more about the proposed reforms and how they might impact you.

For more information or assistance, please feel free to contact us.


The information in this publication is current as of June 26, 2017. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Les avantages du report d’impôt

juin 2017

NTL_Firm_26Jun17_Website_Benefits-Of-Tax-Deferrals_679x220-(4).jpg

Les entreprises canadiennes sont fréquemment exploitées en sociétés privées détenues par un actionnaire ayant le contrôle qui est un propriétaire-exploitant. Cette structure a récemment fait l’objet d’un examen du gouvernement fédéral. Ce dernier a annoncé dans le budget fédéral publié en mars qu’il a étudié la méthode en vertu de laquelle une société privée est utilisée pour économiser de l’impôt. Au moment de l’annonce, le gouvernement a relevé les trois principales stratégies qu’utilisent actuellement les propriétaires de sociétés privées pour tirer avantage des taux d'imposition préférentiels. L’une de ces stratégies consiste à utiliser les sociétés privées pour reporter l’impôt.

Selon Deborah Graystone, associée et chef des services auprès des clients du secteur privé, le système fiscal canadien d’imposition des sociétés privées qui sont contrôlées par des résidents canadiens a été élaboré en vertu du principe voulant qu’à un certain seuil de revenus, un particulier résident du Canada soit fiscalement neutre que son revenu provienne d’une société ou qu’il le gagne personnellement.

Deux scénarios permettent de clarifier les règles. Grant et Alisha travaillent tous deux à leur compte. Ils sont des résidents canadiens exerçant leurs activités au Canada. Grant a constitué en société canadienne son entreprise, Grantco, dont il est le seul actionnaire, tandis qu’Alisha mène ses activités à titre d’entreprise à propriétaire unique.

Les deux entreprises ont réalisé un revenu de 300 000 $, déduction faite des dépenses. Nous partirons de l’hypothèse que ce revenu est imposé au taux d’imposition des sociétés de 25 %, que les dividendes payés par Grantco sont imposés au taux d'imposition des particuliers de 20 % et que le revenu ordinaire est imposé au taux d'imposition personnel de 40 % (c.-à-d. le revenu qui ne provient pas de dividendes ou d’un gain en capital). Ces taux d’imposition sont aux fins d’illustration seulement et sont représentatifs des taux d’imposition canadiens en vigueur.

Grantco aurait payé 75 000 $ en impôts sur son revenu de 300 000 $, ce qui laisse 225 000 $ à payer sous forme de dividendes. Lorsque Grant perçoit les dividendes, il devra payer 45 000 $ en impôts personnels, ce qui lui laisse 180 000 $ après impôts. Alicia aurait payé 120 000 $ en impôts sur le même revenu de 300 000 $, ce qui lui laisse 180 000 $ après impôts.

Dans le cas où Grantco verse les bénéfices après impôts de la société sous forme de dividendes à Grant, Alicia et Grant touche le même revenu après impôt. Toutefois, si Grant n’a pas besoin des bénéfices de la société pour ses besoins personnels, il paiera alors nettement moins d’impôts qu’Alicia en laissant les gains dans l’entreprise. Par contre, il paiera l’impôt sur cette somme quand Grant aura besoin de ces fonds pour ses besoins personnels et que sa société lui versera des dividendes. Entretemps, il y a un report d’impôt qu’il devra éventuellement payer.

Dans cet exemple, la différence entre les taux d'imposition des sociétés et des particuliers est de 15 %. Cependant, la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises peut réduire le taux d’impôt des sociétés à un taux entre 10,5 % à 18,5 % selon la province et les taux actuels, par rapport aux taux de 25 % utilisés dans l’exemple. Dans bien des provinces, le taux d'imposition personnel s’élève à 50 % ou plus. Ces deux facteurs combinés peuvent engendrer un report d’impôt réel pouvant aller jusqu’à 40 % dans certaines provinces.

Il s'agit de « la capacité de reporter le paiement de l’impôt qui préoccupe le gouvernement », explique Graystone. Bien que le système d’imposition à deux paliers crée le report, les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux ont, ces dernières années, eu tendance à baisser les taux d’imposition des sociétés tout en augmentant les taux d'imposition des particuliers, ce qui a entraîné une hausse de ce report d’impôt au sein des entreprises constituées en société. Sachez que, pour un propriétaire-exploitant, les risques sont différents de ceux des contribuables qui sont des salariés, et que ce sont les risques inhérents à l’entreprise qui constituent la principale raison incitant les propriétaires à constituer leur entreprise en société et non les avantages fiscaux.

Graystone souligne également que l'analyse du report d’impôt ci-dessus est uniquement vraie pour le revenu d'entreprise exploitée activement gagné par une société privée. Le même avantage de report d’impôt n’est généralement pas applicable pour la plupart des revenus de placements réalisés par une société, et ce, en raison des règles complexes entourant les remboursements d’impôt, qui assujettissent ces revenus à un taux d’imposition plus élevé. Le taux se rapproche du taux combiné d'imposition des particuliers et des sociétés et élimine toute possibilité de report d’impôt. Pour éviter la double imposition, la société reçoit un remboursement sur une partie de l’impôt des sociétés payé lorsqu’elle verse un dividende imposable aux particuliers actionnaires qui paient alors l’impôt des particuliers sur le revenu de dividendes.

Dans les documents du budget fédéral, le gouvernement a mentionné que l’une des trois stratégies de planification fiscale source de préoccupation était l'établissement d’un portefeuille de placements passif au sein d’une société privée en profitant des taux d’imposition des sociétés généralement plus bas. La capacité d’établir un portefeuille de placements passif survient uniquement quand l’entreprise à propriétaire-exploitant n’est pas tenue de verser au propriétaire-exploitant les bénéfices pour couvrir ses dépenses personnelles, car la société doit effectuer des paiements au propriétaire-exploitant sous forme de salaire ou de dividendes pour fournir des fonds personnels à celui-ci.

Nous devrons attendre pour savoir quelles étapes le gouvernement pourrait éventuellement proposer pour résoudre l’écart entre les taux d’impôts des particuliers et des sociétés; écart qui est un incitatif au report d’impôt pour l’exploitant-propriétaire.

À la suite de l’annonce du ministre Morneau dans un récent discours à la chambre de commerce de Toronto, nous prévoyons que le gouvernement publiera un document de consultation dans les prochains jours ou les prochaines semaines proposant des changements à l’imposition des sociétés privées pour éliminer ces trois stratégies d’économie d’impôt. Après la publication du document, nous tiendrons un webinaire avec Dave Walsh, chef des services en fiscalité pour le Canada et plusieurs associés pour en examiner l’incidence sur les propriétaires de sociétés privées et en discuter. Les conseillers BDO continueront de s’employer à vous fournir des mises à jour et de l’information à mesure qu’elle sera publiée.


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 29 juin 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP., une société canadienne à responsabilité limitée/société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, est membre de BDO International Limited, société de droit anglais, et fait partie du réseau international de sociétés membres indépendantes BDO. BDO est la marque utilisée pour désigner le réseau BDO et chacune de ses sociétés membres.