Tax Planning Using Private Corporations — The Government Speaks

July 2017

Consultation_Paper_Landing_679x220-(1).jpg

Finance Minister Bill Morneau has released the much anticipated consultation paper proposing changes to how private corporations are used to gain tax advantages. The release of the proposed changes was originally announced as part of the 2017 Federal Budget and BDO Canada issued a 4 part series of blogs in late June in anticipation of the announcement in July. Find the first in the series here. As expected the proposed changes are far-reaching and will impact all Canadians who use private companies, including family businesses and incorporated professionals. Certain proposals were accompanied by draft legislation with effective dates, demonstrating the government is moving ahead with these changes.

The proposals focus on three main areas that the federal government believes provide unfair tax results to Canadian taxpayers:

  • Income splitting with family members to reduce the overall family tax burden. This is generally achieved by having income that would otherwise be earned by an individual who is taxed at high marginal personal tax rates taxed in the hands of family members who are taxed at lower marginal rates;
  • Perceived tax advantages achieved through the accumulation of a passive investment portfolio owned by a private corporation; and
  • Strategies that convert regular income or dividend income of a private corporation into capital gains, which are taxed at lower tax rates.

The government has commenced a 75-day consultation process during which it will accept submissions on these proposals.

Watch our on demand webinar to learn more about the proposed reforms and how they might impact you.

Watch now

Following is a summary of what the consultation paper contains.

Income splitting

Income sprinkling

There are rules in place to curtail income splitting with certain minors (known as the tax on split income or “kiddie tax” rules). These rules prevent the transfer of income from high income earning individuals to their children under the age of 18 by taxing split income, such as dividends from private companies, as well as income from a partnership or trust derived from a business or rental activity of a related individual, at the top marginal personal tax rates.

The government is proposing to apply the tax on split income to any Canadian resident individual, regardless of age, who receives split income to the extent that the split income is determined to be unreasonable. An amount would be considered unreasonable to the extent that it exceeds what an arm’s length party would have paid. 

These proposals would be effective for 2018 and later tax years and may severely limit the ability of business owners to split income with family members.

Multiplication of the Capital Gains Exemption

A surprise in the document released yesterday by the federal government was the significant restrictions proposed for the use of the lifetime capital gains exemption (LCGE). The LCGE provides an exemption in computing taxable income in respect of capital gains realized by individuals on the disposition of qualified small business corporation shares and qualified farm or fishing property. The LCGE may be claimed by several members of the family in circumstances where those individuals are legal owners of the business.

The policy paper proposes to significantly restrict the circumstances in which the LCGE may be claimed including:

  • Individuals will no longer qualify for the LCGE in respect of capital gains that accrue before that individual reaches 18 years of age.
  • The LCGE will generally not apply to the extent that the taxable capital gain arising from the disposition is included in the individual’s split income.
  • Subject to certain exceptions, gains that accrue in a trust will no longer be eligible for the LCGE.

These proposals have significant impact to many Canadian private company shareholders.

These proposed rules will generally apply to dispositions occurring after 2017; however transitional rules are being proposed for certain dispositions that occur in 2018.

Holding passive investments inside a private corporation

The concept of integration in the Canadian tax rules ensures that an owner-manager carrying on a business in a corporation pays essentially the same amount of tax on that business income as they would pay if they had earned that income personally. The business income earned is taxable in the corporation and the dividend distributed to the owner-manager is taxable to the individual. The current system allows for a tax deferral of the individual tax payable if the shareholder leaves the funds in the corporation. The government believes that this tax deferral results in a significant tax advantage to owners of private corporations.

The government is seeking feedback with respect to suggested solutions outlined in the paper to deal with the taxation of investment income in a private corporation in order to eliminate this perceived advantage. The suggested methods would require taxpayers to identify the source of funds in the company that are being used to generate investment income, with the tax rate applied to this income being different depending on the source of funds. Additional non-refundable taxes on investment income would be used to eliminate the tax deferral advantage that accumulating investments in a corporation currently offers.

The paper is clear that the changes the government is considering should not apply to companies that reinvest the after-tax profits in the active business operations.

Converting income into capital gains

The third area addressed in the consultation paper deals with the manner in which shareholders of private corporations extract funds from their corporations. A significant tax benefit can be obtained by individual shareholders with higher incomes when planning is undertaken to convert corporate surplus that would normally be taxable as dividends or salary into lower-taxed capital gains. This is often referred to as surplus stripping.

In an effort to prevent such planning, the government is proposing two measures to prevent the surplus income of a private corporation from being converted to a capital gain and stripped from the corporation. The first is the expansion of an existing anti-avoidance rule to include situations where the cost base of shares transferred to a non-arm’s length corporation is increased in a taxable transaction, and that allows for this cost base to be extracted. The second is the proposal of a new anti-avoidance rule aimed specifically at surplus stripping.

It is proposed that both of these measures will be effective as of the release date of July 18, 2017. This type of planning can no longer be implemented if these measures are enacted.

The government also indicated it would consider whether there are features of the current income tax system that have an inappropriate and adverse impact on genuine business transactions involving family members. A concern has been raised that the application of current anti-avoidance rules can be an issue in certain cases on the transfer of a business from one generation to another within a family because the LCGE would not be available. The government has requested feedback from stakeholders on how the tax rules could better accommodate genuine intergenerational business transfers while protecting against potential abuses that could arise with certain planning.

Summary

The Canadian Department of Finance promised a consultation paper, however, Canadian taxpayers received proposals with effective dates and draft legislation on income splitting and conversion of capital gains. The federal government is asking for further consultation around holding passive investments inside a private corporation.

Individuals and businesses impacted by any of the three proposed areas of change should begin planning revised strategies as soon as possible. Please contact one of our trusted BDO advisors for assistance with this planning.

We will be releasing a more detailed Tax Alert with further analysis on these proposed changes.

Dave Walsh
Canadian Tax Service Line Leader

Rachel Gervais
GTA Tax Service Line Leader

Peter Routly
Central Canada Tax Service Line Leader

Daryl Maduke
Western Canada Tax Service Line Leader

Shelley Smith
Eastern Canada Tax Service Line Leader

Access the government consultation paper documents and proposed legislation.

Learn more about BDO's Canadian Tax Services.


The information in this publication is current as of July 18, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Planification Fiscale au Moyen de Sociétés Privées — La Position du Gouvernement

juillet 2017

Consultation_Paper_Landing_679x220-(1).jpg

Le ministre des Finances Bill Morneau a publié le document de consultation tant attendu relativement à l’utilisation de sociétés privées dans le but d’obtenir des avantages fiscaux. La publication de ces propositions avait été annoncée dans le cadre du budget fédéral de 2017. En préparation pour l’annonce, prévue en juillet, BDO Canada avait publié, à la fin juin, une série de quatre blogues. Cliquez ici pour lire le premier article de cette série. Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, les modifications proposées ont une portée considérable et toucheront tous les Canadiens qui ont recours à des sociétés privées, y compris les entreprises familiales et les professionnels constitués en société. Certaines de ces modifications sont accompagnées de propositions législatives comportant des dates d’entrée en vigueur, ce qui démontre que le gouvernement est décidé à implanter ces modifications.

Les modifications proposées mettent l’accent sur trois stratégies qui, de l’avis du gouvernement fédéral, donnent lieu à des résultats fiscaux injustes chez les contribuables canadiens :

  • le fractionnement du revenu entre les membres de la famille afin de réduire le fardeau fiscal global de la famille. En règle générale, la stratégie consiste à faire en sorte que le revenu réalisé par un particulier qui serait par ailleurs assujetti à un taux élevé d’imposition soit imposé entre les mains des membres de la famille qui sont assujettis à des taux d’imposition moindres;
  • la détention d’un portefeuille de placements passif dans une société privée, qui peut se traduire par des avantages fiscaux;
  • la conversion  du revenu régulier ou de dividendes d’une société privée en gains en capital, qui sont assujettis à des taux d’imposition moindres.

Le gouvernement a entamé un processus de consultation de 75 jours au cours duquel il recevra les observations concernant ces modifications proposées.

Voici un résumé du document de consultation.

Fractionnement du revenu

La répartition du revenu

Il existe déjà certaines règles qui restreignent le fractionnement du revenu avec certaines personnes mineures en appliquant ce qu’on appelle l’« impôt sur le revenu fractionné » ou l’« impôt pour les enfants mineurs ». Plus précisément, ces règles empêchent les particuliers ayant un revenu élevé de transférer une partie de leur revenu à leurs enfants de moins de 18 ans. Pensons par exemple au revenu de dividendes d’une société privée ou encore au revenu d’une société de personnes ou d’une fiducie qui découle d’une entreprise ou des activités de location d’un particulier lié, auquel est appliqué le taux marginal d’imposition du revenu des particuliers.

Le gouvernement propose d’appliquer  l’impôt sur le revenu fractionné à tout particulier résidant au Canada, peu importe son âge, qui reçoit un revenu fractionné si celui-ci est jugé déraisonnable. Un montant ne serait pas considéré comme raisonnable dans la mesure où il dépasse celui qu’une partie sans lien de dépendance aurait convenu de verser. 

Ces modifications s’appliqueront à compter de l’année d’imposition 2018 et pourraient restreindre considérablement la capacité des propriétaires d’entreprises à fractionner leur revenu avec les membres de leur famille.

Multiplication de l’exonération des gains en capital

Le document publié hier par le gouvernement fédéral a créé la surprise en limitant considérablement l’accès à l’exonération cumulative des gains en capital (ECGC). L’ECGC prévoit une exonération dans le calcul du revenu imposable relativement aux gains en capital réalisés par les particuliers sur la disposition d’actions admissibles de petite entreprise et de biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles. Plusieurs membres de la famille peuvent demander l’ECGC dans des circonstances où ils sont les propriétaires d’actions de l’entreprise.

Le document de politique propose de réduire considérablement les circonstances permettant de demander l’ECGC, notamment dans les cas suivants :

  • Les particuliers ne seraient plus admissibles à l’ECGC relativement aux gains en capital qui se sont accumulés avant qu’ils atteignent l’âge de 18 ans;
  • L’ECGC ne serait généralement pas applicable dans la mesure où un gain en capital imposable provenant d’une disposition est inclus dans le revenu fractionné d’un particulier;
  • Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les gains réalisés par une fiducie ne donneraient plus droit à l’ECGC.

Ces modifications auront une incidence considérable sur de nombreux actionnaires de sociétés privées canadiennes.

Les règles, comme proposées, s’appliqueront de façon générale aux dispositions réalisées après 2017; toutefois, des règles transitoires spéciales sont proposées à l’égard des dispositions qui seront réalisées en 2018.

Détention d’un portefeuille de placements passif dans une société privée

Compte tenu du principe d’intégration prévu dans les lois fiscales canadiennes, un propriétaire qui exploite une entreprise au moyen d’une société doit payer le même montant d’impôt sur son revenu d’entreprise que s’il avait gagné ce revenu à titre personnel. Le revenu tiré d’une entreprise est imposable entre les mains de la société et les dividendes distribués au propriétaire-exploitant sont imposables entre les mains du particulier. Le régime actuel permet le report de l’impôt à payer par le l’actionnaire dans la mesure où ce particulier laisse les fonds dans la société. Le gouvernement est d’avis que ce report d’impôt accorde un avantage fiscal substantiel aux particuliers propriétaires de sociétés privées.

Le gouvernement souhaite recevoir des commentaires sur les mesures qu’il propose dans son document de consultation pour gérer l’imposition des revenus de placements dans une société privée et éliminer ce qui est perçu comme un avantage. Selon ces mesures, les contribuables devront établir la provenance des fonds qui sont dans la société et qui servent à produire des revenus de placements; ainsi, les fonds seraient assujettis à un taux d’imposition qui variera en fonction de leur provenance. Des impôts supplémentaires non remboursables seront appliqués aux revenus de placements pour éliminer l’avantage du report de l’impôt, qui est actuellement accessible par l’accumulation de placements dans une société.

Le document indique clairement que les changements envisagés par le gouvernement ne devraient pas s’appliquer aux entreprises qui réinvestissent leurs bénéfices après impôt dans l’exploitation active de leur entreprise.

Conversion d’un revenu en gains en capital

Le troisième aspect traité dans le document de consultation est la manière dont les actionnaires de sociétés privées utilisent celles-ci pour en retirer des fonds. Les particuliers à revenu plus élevé qui sont des actionnaires peuvent obtenir un important avantage fiscal si, au moyen d’une planification fiscale, ils convertissent en gains en capital imposable à un taux inférieur le surplus de la société qui devrait être imposable au titre de dividendes, ou de salaires. Ce mécanisme est communément appelé « dépouillement de surplus ».

Soucieux d’éliminer ce type de planification, le gouvernement propose deux mesures pour empêcher que les surplus de revenus d’une société privée soient convertis en gains en capital, puis retirés de la société. La première est l’élargissement d’une règle anti-évitement existante pour qu’elle s’applique aux cas où le prix de base rajusté d’actions transférées à une personne qui a un lien de dépendance est majoré dans le cadre d’une opération « imposable », permettant ainsi l’extraction de ce prix de base rajusté. La deuxième est l’instauration d’une nouvelle règle anti-évitement qui viserait expressément le dépouillement de surplus.

Il est proposé que ces deux mesures entrent en vigueur le 18 juillet 2017, soit la date de publication du document. Si ces mesures sont instaurées, il ne sera plus possible de mettre en place ce type de planification.

Le gouvernement a également indiqué qu’il déterminerait si des caractéristiques de l’actuel régime de l’impôt sur le revenu ont des incidences indues et négatives sur les opérations commerciales véritables auxquelles participent des membres d’une même famille. On a soulevé le fait que dans certains cas, l’application des règles anti-évitement pourrait poser problème lors du transfert d’une entreprise d’une génération à l’autre du fait que l’ECGC ne serait pas accordée. Le gouvernement souhaite recevoir les commentaires des parties intéressées pour savoir comment modifier les lois fiscales de manière à améliorer le traitement des transferts d’entreprises entre générations, tout en continuant de protéger contre les utilisations abusives possibles d’un tel traitement.

Conclusion

Alors qu’il avait promis un document de consultation, le ministère des Finances du Canada a transmis aux contribuables des propositions sur le fractionnement du revenu et la conversion des gains en capital, accompagnées de dates d’entrée en vigueur et de propositions législatives. Le gouvernement fédéral souhaite également tenir une consultation sur la détention d’un portefeuille de placements passif dans une société privée. 

Les particuliers et les entreprises qui sont touchés par les propositions visant l’un des trois domaines décrits plus haut devraient revoir leurs stratégies dès que possible. Pour obtenir de l’aide à cet effet, nous vous invitons à consulter l’un de nos conseillers BDO de confiance.

Nous ferons l’analyse détaillée des modifications proposées dans une Alerte fiscale publiée ultérieurement.

Dave Walsh
Chef de gamme de services en fiscalité, Canada

Rachel Gervais
Chef de gamme de services en fiscalité, RGT

Peter Routly
Chef de gamme de services en fiscalité, Centre du Canada

Daryl Maduke
Chef de gamme de services en fiscalité, Ouest du Canada

Shelley Smith
Chef de gamme de services en fiscalité, Est du Canada


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 19 juillet, 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.