Tax implications of separation or divorce for a business owner-manager

January 17, 2019

NTL_Firm_07Jan19_Website_Tax-Factor-01_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Separation or divorce is the outcome of many relationships. If this happens, you and your partner will need to determine how to divide your assets in accordance with the laws that apply in your province.

As a business owner, your most valuable asset may very well be your company, which will add complexities to the process—from an operational perspective, and from a valuation and tax perspective.

It is important to consider the approach and timing for dividing the company and/or its assets, as they can have significant long-term tax implications for you, your former partner, and your business.

In a separation or a divorce, you should carefully consider your options before moving forward with a plan for the business.

What is the definition of a spouse and a common-law partner for tax purposes?

For tax purposes, the definitions of a spouse and a common-law partner, as well as the length of time required to dissolve a formal partnership, need to be kept in mind throughout the process of separating business assets.

Under Canadian tax law, a spouse is a person to whom you are legally married. A marriage is ended only through legal divorce, regardless of the length or distance of your separation. This means that even if you have been separated from your spouse for years and live on opposite sides of the country you cannot be considered to be at ‘arm’s length’ for tax purposes—until a divorce is finalized. (That said, there maybe circumstances under which you do not deal at arm’s length, even after divorce.) ‘Arm’s length’ and ‘non-arm’s length’ are important concepts for income-tax purposes—particularly when there is a transfer of property that is not considered to be at arm’s length.

In contrast, a common-law partner is someone to whom you are not legally married, but with whom you live in a conjugal relationship, and with whom at least one of three scenarios applies:

  1. you have been living together for the last twelve continuous months, with no separation periods of more than 90 days due to breakdown of the relationship during that time;
  2. they are the parent of your child, either by birth or adoption; and/or
  3. they have custody and control of your child, and your child is wholly dependent on them for support.

Ending a common-law partnership is less complicated than ending a marriage. A common-law partnership is deemed to be terminated once partners have been separated for 90 days or more.

However, if you are getting out of a common-law relationship, the 90-day rule may mean that you are racing against the clock when it comes to splitting your business assets. This time restriction may also limit your available planning alternatives.

It is often best to reach out to a tax professional before a formal separation or divorce, if possible, as the most tax-effective way of dividing your assets may require you to be separated, divorced, or still legally married to your partner.

Key tax rules

There are three tax areas business owners need to be especially cognizant of when tax planning for the division of business assets during or following a marital breakdown.

Spousal rollover: If assets are transferred between non-arm’s-length individuals, the transaction is deemed to occur at fair market value (FMV), regardless of the amount actually paid for the assets. For example, if you were to sell $100,000 worth of shares to your brother for $50,000, you would still be considered to have sold the shares for their FMV of $100,000. However, spouses get to disregard this rule. Assets transferred between spouses and common-law partners are transferred at cost—often referred to as a spousal rollover. Following the breakdown of your relationship, you can only transfer on a rollover basis provided that the transfer results from a settlement. Otherwise, this rollover rule no longer applies—potentially resulting in a larger capital-gains-tax impact on the transfer of assets.

Spousal attribution rules: Under spousal attribution rules, when one spouse or common-law partner transfers property to the other for less than FMV, the income or gains from that property continue to be taxable to the transferor. For example, if you were to give your spouse $100,000 in stock assets as a gift, the dividends on those stocks would be taxed on your tax return even though your spouse is the person who received and is legally entitled to keep the dividends. This spousal attribution ends immediately when a common-law couple separates or a married couple finalizes a divorce. Attribution is also suspended when common-law partners or spouses are living apart as a result of the breakdown of the relationship. While this suspension happens automatically on the attribution of income, a joint election is required to stop the attribution of capital gains during the separation period. In addition, for purposes of the expanded attribution rules that apply for purposes of the tax on split income rules, spousal attribution will usually not apply at any time in the year if at the end of the year a person is living separate and apart from their spouse or common-law partner because of a breakdown of their marriage or common-law partnership. 

Capital-gains exemption: Normally, in situations where a corporation is buying your shares and those shares qualify for the capital-gains exemption, you will have a capital gain and can claim your lifetime capital-gains exemption. However, when the purchasing corporation is non-arm’s length and the proceeds exceed the paid-up capital of the shares, the excess could be deemed a dividend and not a capital gain. Spouses are non-arm’s length, as are the corporations that they control. Even after a divorce or the end of a common-law relationship, some former partners may still be considered at non-arm’s length—depending on the facts. This can have significant tax implications in situations where a corporation controlled by one former partner buys shares in another corporation controlled by the other, which can be a part of a division-of-assets strategy.

In situations that involve a spousal rollover, the spousal attribution rules, or the capital-gains exemption, timing is critical, as is the legal status of the relationship when the business separation plan is enacted.

Understanding butterfly transactions

One common way of managing a business through a divorce or separation is dividing corporate assets with the use of a butterfly transaction. This is basically splitting the assets of one corporation into two corporations (which may or may not include the original business entity), one owned by each partner, without incurring income taxes. There are generally two ways to achieve a butterfly transaction:

  1. The related-party butterfly applies only to non-arm’s-length parties—thus must be completed while a couple is still considered ‘together’ for tax purposes. The appeal of this approach is its flexibility. The couple gets to decide what assets are allocated to which of the two resulting companies. For example, partners can choose to split corporate assets so that passive assets, such as an investment portfolio, go to one company (thus one partner), while the active business assets stay or go to another corporation.
  2. The divisive butterfly applies when owners are arm’s-length parties. This approach can be much more complicated, and it is considerably less flexible, as there are specific rules dictating that each company must receive pro-rata shares of business and non-business assets. Understandably, deciding this division can become contentious, especially following a difficult divorce.

Finding the right plan for division

There are many approaches to dividing a business depending on your needs and desires, and those of your former partner. The plan to achieve an optimal outcome will look very different depending on whether one or both parties own shares, are active in the business activities, and/or want to continue with the current business, among other considerations.

Proper tax support during your separation or divorce can deliver an optimal tax outcome and limit damage and disruption to your business during a difficult time. For more information on dividing your business assets, contact your trusted BDO advisor.


The information in this publication is current as of January 2, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Conséquences fiscales découlant d’une séparation ou d’un divorce pour un propriétaire-dirigeant d’entreprise

17 janvier 2019

NTL_Firm_07Jan19_Website_Tax-Factor-01_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Les séparations et les divorces ne sont pas rares. Si votre relation prend fin, votre ancien conjoint et vous devrez vous entendre sur la répartition des actifs en fonction des lois en vigueur dans votre province.

En tant qu’entrepreneur, votre actif le plus précieux est sans doute votre entreprise, ce qui viendra complexifier le processus, tant du point de vue opérationnel que sur le plan de l’évaluation et du traitement fiscal.

Il est essentiel de réfléchir à la méthode et au moment propices pour scinder l’entreprise ou diviser ses actifs. Les choix faits peuvent avoir des conséquences fiscales importantes à long terme, pour vous, votre ancien conjoint et votre entreprise.

Advenant une séparation ou un divorce, vous devriez étudier attentivement vos options avant de mettre en œuvre un plan pour votre entreprise.

Définitions des termes « époux » et « conjoint de fait » dans le domaine de la fiscalité

En matière de fiscalité, il importe de tenir compte des définitions données aux termes « époux » et « conjoint de fait », ainsi que du temps requis pour la dissolution d’un partenariat officiel, lorsque vous procédez au partage des actifs d’une entreprise.

Selon le droit fiscal canadien, un époux est une personne avec qui vous êtes légalement marié. Un mariage prend fin uniquement au prononcé d’un divorce légal, sans égard à l’effet du temps et à la distance géographique. Ainsi, même si vous vivez séparément de votre conjoint depuis des années, à l’autre bout du pays, le lien de dépendance est maintenu sur le plan fiscal tant que le divorce n’est pas prononcé (cela étant dit, le lien de dépendance pourrait subsister même après le divorce dans certaines situations). L’absence ou l’existence d’un lien de dépendance est un concept important au sens de l’impôt sur le revenu, en particulier lorsqu’il y a transfert de biens entre personnes qui auraient un lien de dépendance.

En revanche, un conjoint de fait est une personne qui n’est pas votre époux, qui est dans une relation conjugale avec vous et qui remplit au moins l’une des conditions suivantes :

  1. elle vit avec vous depuis au moins 12 mois, sans qu’il y ait eu d’interruption de plus de 90 jours en raison d’une séparation découlant de la rupture de votre union pendant cette période;
  2. elle est le parent de votre enfant par la naissance ou l’adoption;
  3. elle a la garde, la surveillance et la charge entière de votre enfant.

Il est plus facile de mettre fin à une union de fait qu’à un mariage. On juge qu’il y a rupture d’une union de fait lorsque les conjoints vivent séparément depuis au moins 90 jours.

Cependant, cette règle des 90 jours signifie que vous vous engagez dans une course contre la montre pour partager les actifs de votre entreprise lorsque vous mettez fin à une union de fait. Aussi, la contrainte de temps vient limiter les solutions de rechange que vous pouvez envisager.

Dans la mesure du possible, il est préférable de consulter un spécialiste en fiscalité avant d’être officiellement séparé ou divorcé, car la répartition des actifs la plus avantageuse sur le plan fiscal pourrait exiger que vous soyez séparé, divorcé, ou encore légalement marié.

Principales règles fiscales

En fiscalité, il existe trois particularités que doivent connaître les propriétaires d’entreprise lorsqu’ils planifient le partage de leurs actifs pendant ou après le processus de rupture conjugale.

Transfert au conjoint : Si des actifs sont transférés entre des personnes avec lien de dépendance, la transaction est réputée se réaliser à sa juste valeur marchande (JVM), sans égard au montant versé pour obtenir les actifs. Par exemple, si vous vendez des actions d’une valeur de 100 000 $ à votre frère, pour un montant de 50 000 $, vous êtes considéré comme ayant vendu ces actions à leur JVM de 100 000 $. Cette règle ne s’applique toutefois pas aux transferts entre conjoints. Les actifs transférés entre époux et conjoints de fait le sont à leur coût. C’est ce qu’on appelle le transfert au conjoint. Après la rupture de votre relation, ce transfert est possible uniquement s’il découle d’un règlement. Autrement, l’exception accordée dans le cas d’un transfert au conjoint n’est pas possible, ce qui risque d’entraîner l’imposition de gains en capital supérieurs lors du transfert des actifs.

Règles d’attribution au conjoint : En vertu des règles d’attribution au conjoint, lorsqu’un époux ou un conjoint de fait transfère des biens pour un montant inférieur à la JVM, le cédant continue de payer de l’impôt sur le revenu ou les gains liés à ces biens. Par exemple, si vous faites don de 100 000 $ en actions à votre époux, vous ajouteriez les dividendes sur ces actions à votre déclaration de revenus même si votre époux reçoit ces dividendes et a légalement le droit de les garder. L’attribution au conjoint s’éteint immédiatement à la séparation de conjoints de fait ou au divorce d’un couple marié. L’attribution prend également fin lorsque des conjoints de fait ou époux vivent séparément en raison de la fin de leur relation. Si la règle d’attribution prend automatiquement fin dans le cas du revenu, un choix conjoint est requis pour interrompre l’attribution des gains en capital pendant la séparation. De plus, en ce qui a trait aux règles d’attribution étendues applicables aux fins des règles relatives à l’impôt sur le revenu fractionné, il n’y aura habituellement pas d’attribution au conjoint pendant l’année si, à la fin de l’année en cause, les époux ou conjoints de fait vivent séparément à la suite de la rupture de leur mariage ou de leur union de fait. 

Exonération des gains en capital : En règle générale, lorsqu’une société rachète vos actions et que ce rachat répond aux critères pour l’exonération des gains en capital, vous pouvez vous prévaloir de l’exonération cumulative des gains en capital. Cependant, s’il y a un lien de dépendance avec la société en question et si le produit est supérieur au capital versé des actions, l’excédent pourrait être réputé constituer un dividende plutôt qu’un gain en capital. Il existe un lien de dépendance entre des époux ainsi qu’avec les sociétés qu’ils contrôlent. Même après un divorce ou la fin d’une union de fait, certains conjoints pourraient conserver un lien de dépendance dans certaines situations. Cet état de fait peut avoir des répercussions fiscales importantes lorsqu’une société contrôlée par l’un des anciens conjoints acquiert des actions d’une autre société contrôlée par l’autre partie dans le cadre du partage des actifs.

Lors d’un transfert au conjoint, de règles d’attribution au conjoint ou d’une exonération des gains en capital, il est essentiel de savoir saisir le bon moment. Aussi, le statut légal de la relation au moment d’appliquer le plan de partage des actifs d’une entreprise a une incidence importante.

Comprendre les transactions papillon

Une méthode fréquemment employée lorsqu’une société se retrouve au cœur des procédures de divorce ou de séparation est le partage des actifs au moyen d’une transaction papillon. Elle prévoit la répartition des actifs d’une société en deux sociétés (dont l’une est parfois l’entité initiale), chacune appartenant à l’un des anciens conjoints. Cette transaction n’est pas imposable. Il existe deux façons de procéder.

  1. La transaction papillon entre personnes liées est possible uniquement entre des parties avec lien de dépendance. Par conséquent, elle doit avoir lieu lorsque le couple est toujours « ensemble » sur le plan fiscal. L’attrait de cette approche réside dans sa souplesse. Le couple détermine dans quelle mesure les actifs sont répartis entre chacune des deux sociétés utilisées. Par exemple, les conjoints peuvent choisir de partager les actifs de façon à ce qu’une société (c.-à-d., un conjoint) se retrouve avec les actifs excédentaires, notamment le portefeuille de placements, et que l’autre (soit l’entité initiale ou une nouvelle entité) obtienne les actifs d’opérations.
  2. La réorganisation papillon est utilisée lorsque les propriétaires n’ont pas de lien de dépendance. Parce qu’elle n’est pas toujours facile à appliquer, cette approche est jugée moins souple. En effet, elle est soumise à des règles précises concernant le partage. Ainsi, chaque société doit obtenir un nombre proportionnel d’actifs commerciaux et autres types d’actifs. On comprend que les négociations pour convenir du partage peuvent être ardues, en particulier dans le cas d’un divorce houleux.

Trouver le bon plan pour le partage

Le partage des actifs d’une entreprise peut prendre plusieurs formes. Tout dépend de vos besoins et désirs ainsi que de ceux de votre ancien conjoint. Chaque plan doit mener au meilleur résultat possible, à sa manière. Ainsi, l’actionnariat entre les conjoints, la participation de ces derniers aux activités de l’entreprise et la volonté de chacun à conserver l’entité actuelle, le cas échéant, influeront grandement sur la création du plan.

Pendant une séparation ou un divorce, un bon soutien sur le plan fiscal peut se traduire par un résultat optimal et venir limiter le tort et les perturbations causés à votre entreprise pendant cette période tumultueuse. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le partage de vos actifs d’entreprise, communiquez avec votre conseiller BDO de confiance.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 2 janvier 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.