Stock-option taxation―what changes are in the works?

May 14, 2019

NTL_Tax-Factor_23Apr19_Website_Stock-Option-Taxation_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

In the 2019 federal budget, the government announced an intention to limit the current, favourable taxation rate on stock-option benefits. Until the government provides further information and draft legislation, we can only comment generally on what this may mean for Canadian businesses and other businesses operating in Canada. However, the government has indicated that the revised law will be modelled on certain U.S. stock-option rules.

The proposal

The federal government announced it will release changes restricting Canada’s beneficial employee-stock-option tax treatment by applying a $200,000 annual cap on employee-stock-option grants that qualify for the current tax treatment. The $200,000 cap will be based on the fair-market value of the underlying shares at the time of the grant. The proposed change could affect any employee in Canada who receives stock-option benefits as compensation, including employees of Canadian companies, employees of foreign companies operating in Canada, and employees of Canadian subsidiaries of foreign corporations.

The government asserts that this approach will not adversely affect employees at startups and rapidly growing Canadian businesses who receive employee stock options. However, there is concern within Canadian business, and in Canada’s technology community particularly, that the announced changes will make Canada a less-competitive destination for employees and interfere with businesses’ ability to attract top talent. The current Canadian tax rates on stock-option benefits help to balance out Canada’s high personal tax rates (as compared to personal tax rates in the U.S.).

The budget announcement also stated that the government believes employee stock options should not be used as a tax-preferred method of compensation for executives of large, mature companies. They indicated the public policy rationale for the preferential tax treatment of employee stock options is to support growing Canadian businesses. Under current law, the rules for the tax treatment of employee stock options differ between private and public company stock options, but there is no differentiation of tax treatment based on size of corporation. Consequently, these government comments have caused confusion about how proposed changes to stock-option rules will affect any given business.

Current rules

Under current rules, there is no tax when an employee is granted stock options from their employer, or from a company related to their employer. When an employee exercises stock options of public-company shares, they are subject to tax on the amount by which the fair-market value of the shares at the time of exercise exceeds the amount they need to pay to exercise the options (the exercise price). This income is considered employment income. If the stock options meet specific requirements, then the employee can claim a deduction equal to 50% of the employment income that arose on exercise of the options. The requirements are generally that:

  • the exercise price is the fair-market value of the shares at the date the options were granted, and
  • the employer does not claim a deduction in calculating taxable income for amounts paid to the employee in cash in lieu of issuing shares on exercise of the option.

There is no limit in the Income Tax Act on the number of options that can be granted to any employee, and, consequently, situations can arise in which a large amount of stock-option employment income can be taxed at a very favourable tax rate. This rate is 50% of the rate that would otherwise apply to that income. Where the employee is taxed at the top tax rate, they would have a combined marginal tax rate of between 44.5% and 54%, depending on the province of residence, and based on 2019 tax rates known to date. With the 50% stock-option deduction, stock-option income will be taxed at a top rate of between 22.25% and 27%.

Examples of proposed changes

Budget documents provide examples of how the proposed changes will work. Two of these examples provide the basis for our illustrations:

 

(A)

(B)

(A)x(B)

(C)

(D)

((D)-(B))x(C)=(E)

(F)

(E)-(F)=(G)

 

Number of stock options granted in year one

Fair-market value of underlying shares at date of grant

Value of shares in stock-option grant when granted

Number of stock options exercised in year three

Fair-market value of underlying shares at date of exercise

Employment benefit recognized at date of exercise

Stock-option deduction

Net income included as a result of stock-option exercise in year three

Henry

100,000

C$50

C$5,000,000

 

C$70

     

Treatment under proposals

Option grants that qualify for stock-option deduction

4,000

C$50

C$200,000

4,000

C$70

C$80,000

C$40,000

C$40,000

Option grants that do not qualify for stock-option deduction

96,000

C$50

 

96,000

C$70

C$1,920,000

Nil (Note 1)

C$1,920,000

Total taxable income in year of exercise

             

C$1,960,000

Treatment under current law

Option grants that qualify for stock-option deduction

100,000

C$50

 

100,000

C$70

C$2,000,000

C$1,000,000

C$1,000,000

Additional taxable income under proposed changes

         

C$960,000

Note 1: No deduction because value in stock options at date of grant is greater than C$200,000

                 

Amanda

100,000

C$1

C$100,000

 

C$6

     

Treatment under proposals

Option grants that qualify for stock-option deduction

100,000

C$1

C$100,000

100,000

C$6

C$500,000

C$250,000

C$250,000

Option grants that do not qualify for stock-option deduction

Nil (Note 2)

             

Total taxable income in year of exercise

             

C$250,000

Treatment under current law

Option grants that qualify for stock-option deduction

100,000

C$1

 

100,000

C$6

C$500,000

C$250,000

C$250,000

Note 2: All stock-option grants qualify for 50% deduction as the value in stock options at the date of grant is less than C$200,000

 


Under the proposed system, Henry, a highly compensated executive with a large, established company, will be worse off than under the current system. This is because his stock-option grant represented $5 million in stock value when the options were granted. Only the options representing $200,000 in stock value (or 4,000 options) when the options were granted will be allowed the current, beneficial stock-option tax treatment. As illustrated, Henry will have $960,000 more in taxable income compared with the current tax system for the same value received from stock options.

Conversely, Amanda, employed by a startup company, has a stock-option grant that does not exceed a value of $200,000 in the year of grant, and therefore will not be adversely affected in the taxation of her stock-option benefits.

From comments in the budget-document examples, it appears that the change in taxation of stock-option benefits is intended to limit the personal tax benefit to the recipient of the income received through stock options, but it may also change the corporate tax position regarding a deduction when a stock option is exercised. An example in the budget papers suggests that a corporate tax deduction may be available for stock-option benefits on which the employee is fully taxed. This needs to be confirmed when draft legislation is released.

Uncertainties

Our examples are based on government-provided information. As draft legislation has not yet been released, and may not be released before Canadians go to the polls in October, further analysis is difficult at this time. However, the government has been clear that any changes will apply only on a go-forward basis and will not apply to employee stock options granted prior to the announcement of legislative proposals to implement this change.

If you have questions regarding how the proposed stock-benefit taxation changes may affect your business, please contact your BDO representative.


The information in this publication is current as of April 29, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Imposition des options d’achat d’actions : quels changements seront mis en œuvre?

14 mai 2019

NTL_Tax-Factor_23Apr19_Website_Stock-Option-Taxation_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Dans le budget fédéral 2019, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d’imposer une limite aux taux d’imposition actuellement favorables sur les avantages consentis sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions. D’ici à ce que le gouvernement fournisse davantage d’information et élabore des propositions législatives, nous ne pouvons qu’émettre des commentaires généraux sur l’incidence de ces changements pour les entreprises canadiennes et les autres entreprises qui exercent des activités au Canada. Toutefois, le gouvernement a indiqué que la législation révisée sera basée sur certaines règles américaines à l’égard des options d’achat d’actions.

Proposition

Le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé qu’il publiera des changements qui restreignent le traitement avantageux des options d’achat d’actions des employés canadiens en appliquant un plafond annuel de 200 000 $ pour les options d’achat d’actions admissibles au traitement au titre de l’impôt actuel. La limite de 200 000 $ sera basée sur la juste valeur marchande des actions sous-jacentes au moment de l’attribution. Le changement proposé pourrait toucher les employés qui reçoivent à titre de rémunération des avantages sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions au Canada, notamment ceux qui travaillent pour une société canadienne, une société étrangère exerçant des activités au Canada ou une filiale canadienne d’une société étrangère.

Le gouvernement indique que cette approche n’aura pas d’incidence négative sur les employés de sociétés en démarrage et d’entreprises canadiennes en croissance rapide qui reçoivent des options d’achat d’actions des employés. Toutefois, les entreprises canadiennes, en particulier dans le secteur de la technologie au Canada, craignent que les changements annoncés nuisent à leur capacité d’attirer les meilleurs employés et que le Canada soit moins attrayant pour ceux-ci. Les taux d’imposition canadiens actuels sur les avantages sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions aident à équilibrer les taux d’imposition des particuliers élevés au Canada (par rapport aux taux d’imposition des particuliers aux États-Unis).

Dans le budget, le gouvernement a également indiqué que les options d’achat d’action des employés ne doivent pas être utilisées comme une méthode de rémunération dont le traitement fiscal est préférentiel à l’égard des cadres de grandes entreprises bien établies. Il a souligné que la justification stratégique du traitement fiscal préférentiel des options d’achat d’actions des employés est d’appuyer des entreprises canadiennes en croissance. En vertu de la loi actuelle, les règles relatives au traitement aux fins de l’impôt des options d’achat d’actions des employés sont différentes pour les sociétés privées et les sociétés publiques, mais il n’y a aucune distinction en ce qui a trait à la taille de la société. Par conséquent, ces commentaires du gouvernement ont engendré une certaine confusion sur l’incidence des changements proposés aux règles sur les options d’achat d’actions sur les entreprises.

Règles actuelles

En vertu des règles actuelles, aucun impôt ne s’applique au moment où un employé reçoit des options d’achat d’actions de son employeur ou d’une société qui y est liée. Lorsqu’un employé exerce des options d’achat d’actions d’une société publique, il doit payer de l’impôt sur le montant de la juste valeur marchande des actions excédant le montant à payer pour exercer les options (le prix d’exercice) lors de l’exercice des options. Ce revenu est considéré comme étant un revenu d’emploi. Si les options d’achat d’actions remplissent des critères particuliers, l’employé peut demander une déduction équivalant à 50 % du revenu d’emploi découlant de l’exercice des options. Les exigences sont généralement :

  • le prix d’exercice correspond à la juste valeur marchande des actions à la date d’attribution des options;
  • l’employeur ne demande pas de déduction pour le calcul du revenu imposable lié aux montants payés à l’employé en espèces au lieu des actions émises à l’exercice des options.

La Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu ne prévoit aucune limite à l’égard du nombre d’options qui peuvent être attribuées à un employé. Par conséquent, il peut arriver qu’un important montant de revenu d’emploi sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions puisse être imposé à un taux très avantageux. Ce taux correspond à 50 % du taux qui s’appliquerait autrement à ce revenu. En fonction des taux connus à ce jour pour 2019, lorsque l’employé est imposé au taux supérieur, son taux d’imposition marginal combiné varierait entre 44,5 % et 54 %, selon sa province de résidence. En bénéficiant de la déduction de 50 % pour option d’achat d’actions, le revenu tiré des options d’achat d’actions sera imposé à un taux supérieur se situant entre 22,25 % et 27 %.

Exemples de changements proposés

Les documents du budget fournissent des exemples du fonctionnement des changements proposés. Deux de ceux-ci fournissent la base de nos exemples :

 
 

(A)

(B)

(A)x(B)

(C)

(D)

((D)-(B))x(C)=(E)

(F)

(E)-(F)=(G)

 

Nombre d’options d’achat d’actions attribuées la première année

Juste valeur marchande des actions sous-jacentes à la date d’attribution

Valeur des actions au moment de l’attribution des options d’achat d’actions

Nombre d’options d’achat d’actions exercées la troisième année

Juste valeur marchande des actions sous-jacentes à la date de l’exercice

Avantage d’emploi comptabilisé à la date de l’exercice

Déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

Revenu net inclus en raison de l’exercice d’options d’achat d’actions la troisième année

Henry

100 000

50 $ CA

5 000 000 $ CA

 

70 $ CA

     

Traitement en vertu des propositions

Options attribuées admissibles à la déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

4 000

50 $ CA

200 000 $ CA

4 000

70 $ CA

80 000 $ CA

40 000 $ CA

40 000 $ CA

Options attribuées non admissibles à la déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

96 000

50 $ CA

 

96 000

70 $ CA

1 920 000 $ CA

Néant (Note 1)

1 920 000 $ CA

Revenu imposable total pour l’année

             

1 960 000 $ CA

Traitement en vertu de la loi actuelle

Options attribuées admissibles à la déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

100 000

50 $ CA

 

100 000

70 $ CA

2 000 000 $ CA

1 000 000 $ CA

1 000 000 $ CA

Revenu imposable supplémentaire selon les changements proposés

     

960 000 $ CA

Note 1 : Aucune déduction étant donné que la valeur des options d’achat d’actions à la date d’attribution est supérieure à 200 000 $ CA

                 

Amanda

100 000

1 $ CA

100 000 $ CA

 

6 $ CA

     

Traitement en vertu des propositions

Options attribuées admissibles à la déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

100 000

1 $ CA

100 000 $ CA

100 000

6 $ CA

500 000 $ CA

250 000 $ CA

250 000 $ CA

Options attribuées non admissibles à la déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

Néant (Note 2)

             

Revenu imposable total pour l’année

             

250 000 $ CA

Traitement en vertu de la loi actuelle

Options attribuées admissibles à la déduction pour option d’achat d’actions

100 000

1 $ CA

 

100 000

6 $ CA

500 000 $ CA

250 000 $ CA

250 000 $ CA

Note 2 : Toutes les options d’achat d’actions sont admissibles à une déduction de 50 % étant donné que la valeur en actions des options à la date d’attribution est inférieure à 200 000 $ CA.

 
 

Selon le système proposé, la situation d’Henry, un cadre qui reçoit une rémunération élevée au sein d’une grande société bien établie, sera moins avantageuse qu’en vertu du système actuel. Il en est ainsi parce que les options d’achat d’actions qui lui sont attribuées représentaient une valeur de 5 millions de dollars en actions au moment où elles ont été attribuées. Seules les options représentant une valeur en actions de
200 000 $ (ou 4 000 options) au moment de leur attribution bénéficieront du traitement fiscal actuel pour les options d’achat d’actions. Ainsi, pour la même valeur reçue relativement aux options d’achat d’actions, le revenu imposable d’Henry sera supérieur de 960 000 $ par rapport au régime fiscal actuel.

À l’inverse, Amanda, qui travaille pour une entreprise en démarrage, reçoit des options d’achat d’actions d’une valeur inférieure à 200 000 $ au cours de l’année d’attribution. L’imposition de ses avantages sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions ne sera pas affectée.

D’après les commentaires relatifs aux exemples dans le document sur le budget, les changements à l’imposition des avantages consentis sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions ont pour objectif de limiter l’avantage fiscal du particulier qui reçoit le revenu par l’entremise d’options d’achat d’actions, mais il pourrait également avoir une incidence sur la position fiscale de la société à l’égard d’une déduction lorsqu’une option d’achat d’actions est exercée. Un exemple dans le budget semble indiquer qu’une société pourrait tirer parti d’une déduction fiscale pour les avantages sous forme d’options d’achat d’actions pour lesquelles l’employé est pleinement imposé. Ce point devra être confirmé lorsque les propositions législatives seront publiées.

Incertitudes

Nos exemples sont basés sur l’information fournie par le gouvernement. Comme aucune proposition législative n’a encore été publiée et pourrait ne pas l’être avant que les Canadiens exercent leur droit de vote en octobre, il est difficile d’effectuer une analyse plus approfondie pour le moment. Toutefois, le gouvernement a clairement indiqué que tous les changements s’appliqueront à l’avenir seulement et ne viseront donc pas les options d’achat d’actions accordées avant l’annonce des propositions législatives concernant la mise en œuvre de ce changement.

Si vous avez des questions à propos de l’incidence des changements proposés liés à l’imposition des options d’achat d’actions sur votre entreprise, veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 29 avril 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.