Government releases proposed legislation for further business COVID-19 support

December 15, 2021

decorative

In continuance of its initiatives to support Canadian businesses, the federal government tabled legislation on November 24, 2021 containing proposals for continued support to businesses, charities and not-for-profit organizations hardest hit by the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. When passed, this legislation will enact the announcements made on October 21, 2021 for new wage and rent support for targeted entities.

This article expands on a previous BDO article, Government announces new more targeted COVID-19 programs to support businesses, which discusses the initial announcement of these initiatives by the federal government on October 21, 2021. Certain provisions initially mentioned have been clarified by the recent draft legislation. These items are summarized in this article, keeping in mind that none of the proposed changes have yet become law.

Variations of the Canadian Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) and the Canadian Emergency Rent Subsidy (CERS)

Rather than terminating the CEWS and CERS, the government announced three new programs in October 2021:

  • The Tourism and Hospitality Recovery Program (THRP)
  • The Hardest-Hit Business Recovery Program (HHBRP)
  • Special Lockdown Support for All Entities (SLS)

These new programs are variations of the former ones yet are bundled with more restrictive requirements and are crucial to examine.

Where the regular CEWS and CERS ended on October 23, 2021, these new programs start on October 24, 2021. The new programs are proposed to last until at least May 7, 2022, with a further extension possible to July 2, 2022.

New required revenue decline rule

Under the general CEWS and CERS, eligible entities were required to have experienced a revenue decline of more than 10% to qualify for the subsidy. However, the new required revenue decline under the THRP and SLS rules is 40% or more, while the required revenue decline under the HHBRP is 50% or more.

In addition, the THRP and HHBRP require entities to have experienced a revenue decline in the first year of the pandemic of at least 40% and 50% respectively. The draft legislation has created a new definition “prior year revenue decline” for this calculation. An example of how to calculate the prior year revenue decline is set out in the table below.

Note that as qualifying periods 10 and 11 used the same reference periods to determine CEWS or CERS eligibility, the calculation requires taxpayers to use the revenue decline (revenue reduction percentage) for only one of these periods in the calculation. The result is that of thirteen qualifying periods in the first year of the CEWS program, the revenue decline of only 12 periods is averaged as demonstrated.

Qualifying periods in the first year of the CEWS program
Qualifying period Date of qualifying periods Revenue reduction
1 March 15 – April 11, 2020 31.39%
2 April 12 – May 9, 2020 38.92%
3 May 10 – June 6, 2020 26.62%
4 June 7 – July 4, 2020 43.67%
5 July 5 – August 1, 2020 52.76%
6 August 2 – August 29, 2020 60.65%
7 August 30 – September 26, 2020 55.85%
8 September 27 – October 24, 2020 48.43%
9 October 25 – November 21, 2020 39.24%
10 or 11 November 22 – December 19, 2020 44.36%
  OR December 20 – January 16, 2021  
12 January 17 – February 13, 2021 48.26%
13 February 14 – March 13, 2021 52.56%
     
  Prior year revenue decline 45.23%

Increased CERS total limit

The CERS rules allow a maximum of $75,000 of qualifying rent expenses per qualifying location to be claimed in the CERS calculation.

For each qualifying period, the total of qualifying rent expenses of all qualifying locations, at a maximum of $75,000 per location, cannot exceed $300,000 per eligible entity. If the eligible entity is affiliated with another eligible entity claiming CERS, this $300,000 limit must be shared with all such affiliated entities.

It’s proposed that for qualifying periods starting with period 22 (October 24 - November 20), this aggregate limit is increased from $300,000 to $1,000,000. Yet, no change was proposed to the $75,000 limit per qualifying property per qualifying period.

THRP qualified activities

The new Tourism and Hospitality Recovery Program covers a much broader range of activities than the name would imply.

The government has released a list of activities which an affected business can carry out to be included in the definition of a “qualifying tourism and hospitality entity.” This list includes a vast range of activities that service providers and organizers can offer— including cultural and recreational activities as well as tourism and hospitality activities.

The THRP requires that an eligible entity demonstrates a revenue decline of 40% both in the first year of the pandemic and in the current claim period. Eligible entities must also be organizations that primarily earn revenue from one or more of the activities listed in the draft regulations that accompanied the proposed legislation. This list of activities includes, but is not limited, to:

  • Operating a hotel, restaurant, or bar.
  • Organizing or promoting festivals, conventions, or trade shows.
  • Operating a travel agency or tour operation, or a convention centre.
  • Operating a live performance venue or a museum.
  • Operating a movie theatre or casinos.
  • Operating sightseeing tours, charter fishing services, or amusement parks.
  • Operating fitness, recreational sports centres, and ski hills.
  • Services for docking and storage of pleasure craft.
  • Operating a campground, excluding mobile home sites.
  • Operating an overnight recreational camp.

Golf and country clubs and professional sports clubs (and facilities used by such teams) are specifically excluded from the definition of eligible entities.

Introduction of a qualifying public health restriction

The concept of a qualifying public health restriction is important for the new Special Lockdown Support that is available for any eligible entity that experienced a revenue decline of 40% or more in the current reference period that arose as a result of a qualifying public health restriction.

Note that the SLS is separate from the THRP and the HHBRP and is available to any organization that is an eligible entity for the CEWS and CERS programs. A public health restriction is a requirement for additional benefits under the CERS program, and is fully explained in a previous BDO Article on the Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy Program.

In general, there is a requirement for an entity to have at least a 25% revenue decline associated with an activity at a given location that was restricted during the pandemic due to a public health restriction.

The limitation must have been on the type of activity rather than the extent to which, or the time during which, an activity can be performed. For instance, a gym or a restaurant being closed to in-person service would be an example of a restricted activity. A business restricting its operating hours due to decreased demand would not be such a restricted activity.

The definition of qualifying public health restriction requires a qualifying property to be under a public health restriction for at least seven days in a qualifying period, but also has an additional revenue restriction.

The second requirement is that at least 25% of the qualifying revenues of the eligible entity — together with the qualifying revenues of any specified tenants of the eligible entity— for the prior reference period be derived from the restricted activities. Specified tenants are those that do not deal at arm’s length with the eligible entity.

For some eligible entities, this requirement may be a difficult one to meet, particularly if the entity has more than one location in different provinces or even health districts.

Note that under the THRP and HHBRP, a CERS claim will continue to allow a claim for a 25% top-up for locations in lock-down under the “public health restriction test” and it is not necessary to meet the “qualified public health restriction” to make such claims.

CEWS repayment for certain public companies

A repayment requirement for CEWS was introduced starting with CEWS claims for qualifying period 17 (starting on June 6, 2021) and subsequent qualifying periods. An eligible entity will need to repay a CEWS subsidy amount if the executive remuneration (as defined) for the 2021 calendar year exceeds the executive remuneration for the 2019 calendar year.

The CEWS repayment requirement is proposed to be extended for all subsequent periods. For qualifying periods after period 23 (starting December 19, 2021), it will be necessary to compare 2022 executive remuneration (instead of 2021 executive remuneration) to 2019 executive remuneration.

Note that this new measure applies only where the shares of the eligible entity are listed or traded on a stock exchange or other public market, or if the eligible entity is controlled by such a corporation.

Canada Recovery Hiring Program (CRHP)

The draft legislation made no changes to the proposal to continue this program until at least May 7, 2022 with a 50% recovery rate. Background to this program is set out in a previous BDO article, How the Canada recovery hiring program supports jobs and growth

How BDO can help

Our BDO tax professionals understand the uncertainty and challenges your business is facing as a result of the COVID-19 crisis and during this recovery period. We can help you assess how these government relief programs will affect your organization and provide guidance in determining your next steps.

To learn how these new subsidy programs apply to you or your organization, please contact:

Rachel Gervais, GTA Tax Service Line Leader

Bruce Sprague, Western Canada Tax Service Line Leader

Greg London, Eastern Canada Tax Service Line Leader


The information in this publication is current as of December 13, 2021.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Propositions législatives du gouvernement pour soutenir davantage les entreprises pendant la pandémie de COVID-19

15 décembre 2021

Pour faire suite à ses initiatives visant à soutenir les entreprises canadiennes, le gouvernement fédéral a déposé un projet de loi le 24 novembre 2021 pour présenter des propositions afin d'offrir un soutien continu aux entreprises, aux organismes de bienfaisance et aux organismes sans but lucratif les plus touchés par la pandémie de COVID-19 qui perdure. Lorsqu'elle sera adoptée, la loi officialisera les annonces faites le 21 octobre 2021 à l'égard des nouvelles mesures de soutien relatives aux salaires et aux loyers destinées à des entités cibles.

Le présent article approfondit le sujet, qui avait été abordé dans un article antérieur de BDO intitulé « Le gouvernement annonce de nouveaux programmes de soutien relatif à la COVID-19 destinés aux entreprises » traitant de l'annonce initiale du gouvernement fédéral du 21 octobre 2021 à propos de ces initiatives. Certaines dispositions initialement mentionnées ont été clarifiées dans le récent projet de loi. Il convient de se souvenir qu'à la date de publication de ce nouvel article, aucun des changements proposés n'a encore été adopté.

Variations de la Subvention salariale d'urgence du Canada (SSUC) et de la Subvention d'urgence pour le loyer du Canada (SULC)

Plutôt que de mettre fin à la SSUC et à la SULC, le gouvernement a annoncé que ces subventions seraient remplacées par trois nouveaux programmes en octobre 2021 :

  • Programme de relance pour le tourisme et l'accueil (PRTA)
  • Programme de relance pour les entreprises les plus durement touchées (PREPDT)
  • Mesure de soutien en cas de confinement destinée aux entreprises

Ces nouveaux programmes sont des variations des programmes qui existaient déjà, mais sont assortis d'exigences plus strictes dont il est essentiel de prendre connaissance.

La SSUC et la SULC ont pris fin le 23 octobre 2021, et les nouveaux programmes mentionnés ci-dessus ont été lancés le 24 octobre 2021. Ceux-ci devraient être en vigueur jusqu'au 7 mai 2022, et pourraient être prolongés jusqu'au 2 juillet 2022.

Nouvelle règle relative à la baisse de revenus requise

En vertu de la SSUC et de la SULC, les entités déterminées devaient avoir subi une baisse de revenus de plus de 10 % pour avoir droit à la subvention. La nouvelle baisse de revenus requise est plutôt de 40 % ou plus en vertu du Programme de relance pour le tourisme et l'accueil ainsi que la mesure de soutien en cas de confinement destinée aux entreprises, et de 50 % ou plus dans le cas du Programme de relance pour les entreprises les plus durement touchées.

De plus, le PRTA et le PREPDT exigent que les entités aient subi une baisse de revenus d'au moins 40 % et 50 %, respectivement, au cours de la première année de la pandémie. Une nouvelle définition de « réduction du revenu d'une année antérieure » a été établie dans la proposition législative aux fins de ce calcul. Le tableau ci-dessous fournit un exemple de calcul du revenu d'une année antérieure.

Comme les périodes d'admissibilité 10 et 11 utilisaient les mêmes périodes de référence pour déterminer l'admissibilité à la SSUC et à la SULC, les contribuables doivent utiliser la baisse de revenus (en pourcentage de réduction du revenu) pour une seule de ces périodes aux fins du calcul. Ainsi, sur les 13 périodes d'admissibilité de la première année du programme de SSUC, la moyenne de la baisse de revenus porte sur 12 périodes seulement comme le démontre le tableau.

Tableau
Période d'admissibilité Dates de la période d'admissibilité Baisse de revenus
1 Du 15 mars au 11 avril 2020 31,39 %
2 Du 12 avril au 9 mai 2020 38,92 %
3 Du 10 mai au 6 juin 2020 26,62 %
4 Du 7 juin au 4 juillet 2020 43,67 %
5 Du 5 juillet au 1er août 2020 52,76 %
6 Du 2 au 29 août 2020 60,65 %
7 Du 30 août au 26 septembre 2020 55,85 %
8 Du 27 septembre au 24 octobre 2020 48,43 %
9 Du 25 octobre au 21 novembre 2020 39,24 %
10 ou 11 Du 22 novembre au 19 décembre 2020 44,36 %
Ou du 20 décembre au 16 janvier 2021
12 Du 17 janvier au 13 février 2021 48,26 %
13 Du 14 février au 13 mars 2021 52,56 %
     
  Baisse de revenus de l'année précédente 45,23 %

Limites totales accrues à l'égard de la SULC

Les règles relatives à la SULC permettent de présenter des demandes relatives à des dépenses de loyer admissibles d'au plus 75 000 $ par emplacement admissible.

Pour chaque période d'admissibilité, les dépenses de loyer admissibles totales pour tous les emplacements admissibles, jusqu'à un maximum de 75 000 $ par emplacement, ne peuvent pas dépasser 300 000 $ par entité déterminée. Si l'entité déterminée est affiliée à une autre entité déterminée qui demande la SULC, cette limite de 300 000 $ doit être partagée entre ces entités affiliées.

Pour les périodes d'admissibilité commençant à la période 22 (24 octobre au 20 novembre), il est proposé que cette limite cumulative passe de 300 000 $ à 1 000 000 $. Pourtant, aucun changement à la limite de 75 000 $ par bien admissible pour chaque période d'admissibilité n'a été proposé.

Activités admissibles en vertu du PRTA

Le nouveau Programme de relance pour le tourisme et l'accueil (PRTA) couvre une vaste gamme d'activités appartenant à ce secteur.

Le gouvernement a publié une liste des activités pouvant être réalisées par une entreprise correspondant à la définition d'une « entité touristique ou d'accueil admissible ». Cette liste comprend une vaste gamme d'activités que les fournisseurs de services et les organisateurs peuvent offrir, notamment des activités culturelles et récréatives ainsi que des activités de tourisme et d'accueil.

Le PRTA exige qu'une entité déterminée démontre une baisse de revenus de 40 % à la fois pour la première année de la pandémie et la période de demande en question. Les entités déterminées doivent également être des organisations gagnant des revenus découlant principalement d'une ou plusieurs des activités figurant dans le projet de règlement accompagnant les propositions législatives. Les activités figurant dans la liste comprennent celles-ci dessous, sans s'y limiter :

  • Exploitation d'un hôtel, d'un restaurant ou d'un bar;
  • Organisation ou promotion de festivals, de conventions ou de salons professionnels;
  • Exploitation d'une agence de voyages, d'activités de voyagiste ou d'un centre de congrès;
  • Exploitation d'une salle de spectacles en direct ou d'un musée;
  • Exploitation d'un cinéma ou d'un casino;
  • Offre de services de trajets touristiques et de forfaits de pêche ou exploitation de parcs d'attractions;
  • Exploitation d'un centre de sports récréatifs et de conditionnement physique ou d'un centre de ski;
  • Exploitation de services d'installation d'amarrage et de gardiennage pour les propriétaires de bateaux de plaisance;
  • Exploitation de terrains de camping, à l'exclusion de terrains de maisons mobiles;
  • Exploitation d'un camp récréatif d'hébergement.

Les clubs de golf et de loisirs ainsi que les clubs de sports professionnels (et les installations utilisées par ces équipes) sont spécifiquement exclus de la définition d'entité touristique ou d'accueil admissible.

Introduction des restrictions sanitaires admissibles

Le concept de restriction sanitaire admissible est important pour la nouvelle mesure de soutien en cas de confinement destinée aux entreprises admissibles offerte aux entités déterminées qui ont subi une baisse de revenus d'au moins 40 % au cours de la période de référence en question en raison d'une telle restriction.

La nouvelle mesure de soutien en cas de confinement destinée aux entreprises est distincte du PRTA et du PREPDT et est offerte aux organisations qui sont des entités déterminées aux fins de la SSUC et à la SULC. Les restrictions sanitaires admissibles constituent une exigence pour recevoir des prestations supplémentaires en vertu de la SULC et sont expliquées en détail dans l'article de BDO intitulé « Subvention d'urgence du Canada pour le loyer ».

En règle générale, une entité doit avoir subi une baisse de revenus d'au moins 25 % en ce qui concerne une activité à un emplacement donné visé par des restrictions sanitaires au cours de la pandémie.

La restriction doit porter sur le type d'activité plutôt que sur la mesure dans laquelle une activité peut être réalisée ou sur la durée de celle-ci. Par exemple, un centre d'entraînement physique ou un restaurant n'offrant plus le service en personne serait un exemple d'activité ayant cessé à cause des restrictions. Une entreprise qui limiterait ses heures d'ouverture en raison d'une baisse de la demande ne correspondrait pas à une activité ayant cessé à cause des restrictions.

La définition de restriction sanitaire admissible indique qu'un bien admissible doit être soumis à une restriction sanitaire admissible pendant au moins sept jours au cours d'une période d'admissibilité et comporte également une notion de restriction supplémentaire à l'égard du revenu.

Selon la deuxième exigence, au moins 25 % du revenu admissible de l'entité déterminée et de celui de ses locataires déterminés pour la période de référence antérieure provenait des activités ayant cessé à cause des restrictions. Les locataires déterminés sont les parties avec lesquelles l'entité déterminée a un lien de dépendance.

Pour certaines entités déterminées, cette exigence peut être difficile à respecter, en particulier si l'entité a plus d'un emplacement dans différentes provinces ou même différents districts de santé.

En vertu du PRTA et du PREPDT, une demande au titre de la SULC demeure admissible à la subvention compensatoire de 25 % pour les emplacements soumis à un confinement en fonction du critère relatif aux restrictions sanitaires et les entités n'ont pas à être visées par des « restrictions sanitaires admissibles » pour pouvoir présenter ces demandes.

Remboursement de la SSUC pour certaines sociétés ouvertes

Une exigence de remboursement de la SSUC a été ajoutée pour les demandes de SSUC à partir de la période 17 (à compter du 6 juin 2021) et les périodes d'admissibilité subséquentes. Une entité déterminée devra rembourser un montant de SSUC si la rémunération de la haute direction (selon la définition donnée) de l'année civile 2021 dépasse celle de l'année civile 2019.

Il est proposé que l'exigence de rembourser la SSUC soit prolongée pour toutes les périodes subséquentes. Pour les périodes d'admissibilité suivant la période 23 (débutant le 19 décembre 2021), il faudra comparer la rémunération de la haute direction de 2022 (plutôt que leur rémunération de 2021) avec celle de 2019.

Cette nouvelle mesure s'applique seulement lorsque les actions de l'entité déterminée sont cotées ou négociées sur une bourse de valeurs ou un autre marché public ou si l'entité déterminée est contrôlée par une telle société.

Programme d'embauche pour la relance économique du Canada (PEREC)

Le projet de loi n'a apporté aucun changement à la proposition de prolonger le programme au moins jusqu'au 7 mai 2022 à un taux de subvention de 50 %. De l'information supplémentaire sur ce programme est présentée dans un article précédent de BDO intitulé « Programme d'embauche pour la relance économique du Canada pour soutenir les emplois et la croissance »..

Comment BDO peut vous aider

Nos spécialistes en fiscalité comprennent toute l'incertitude et tous les défis auxquels votre entreprise fait face en raison de la pandémie et pendant la relance économique. Nous pouvons vous aider à évaluer l'incidence des programmes d'aide gouvernementaux sur vos activités et à déterminer les prochaines étapes à suivre.

Pour savoir comment ces nouveaux programmes de soutien s'appliquent à votre entreprise et à vous-même, veuillez communiquer avec :

Rachel Gervais, chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité pour la RGT

Bruce Sprague, chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité pour l'ouest du Canada

Greg London, chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité pour l'est du Canada


L'information présentée est à jour en date du 13 décembre 2021.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n'est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d'ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l'obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d'une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.