Is the Future of Income Splitting in Jeopardy?

June 2017

Tax-Income_Splitting_26Jun17_LandingBanner_679x220.jpg

In its 2017 budget, the federal government announced that it would be reviewing certain tax planning strategies that it believes result in wealthy individuals gaining unfair tax advantages over other Canadians. In particular, the government intends to review three tax-saving strategies that involve the use of private corporations and is expected to release a paper shortly to summarize its findings and propose policy alternatives to address these issues. One of these issues is the use of private corporations to split income between family members.

“Income splitting is essentially the redistribution of income among members of the same family, where income-earning assets are transferred out of the hands of the high-income earning family members into the hands of the lower-income family members, making the related income from those assets taxable to the lower-income family members,” explains Eric Wipf, a tax partner in BDO’s Calgary office. “Doing so allows a family to retain the most amount of income by taking advantage of the tax brackets, deductions and credits available to each family member. It’s a fairly common and acceptable practice and is something we, as tax advisors, frequently recommend to our owner-manager clients.”

While income splitting can be achieved in a number of ways, the government is focusing its current review on a form of income splitting commonly known as “income sprinkling.” Where a family business is carried on through a corporation, multiple classes of shares can be issued to family members, either directly or through the use of a family trust, allowing the corporation to distribute (or “sprinkle”) dividends or other income (such as capital gains) to some, but not all, shareholders. In this way, the family’s overall tax burden can be minimized, since income can be paid to the family member shareholders in lower tax brackets.

Often, a tax plan to sprinkle income using a private corporation is carried out as part of an estate freeze. In the basic scenario, the owner-manager would exchange their shares for fixed-value preferred shares, which cannot increase in value, thereby “freezing” the current value of the business. Common shares, which represent the future growth in value of the company, are then held either directly by the owner-manager’s family members, or indirectly by them using a family trust. With such a plan, dividends could be paid on one class of shares to the exclusion of others, which can achieve the income splitting goal. Using a fully discretionary family trust for this purpose can further facilitate income splitting since the trustees can determine the optimal type and amount of income to be distributed to each family member beneficiary of the trust.

“What’s interesting is that the federal government has already put rules in place to prevent certain abuses when it comes to dividend sprinkling,” says Wipf. For instance, the “kiddie tax” rules prevent the transfer of income from high-income individuals to their children under the age of 18. Where dividends or certain other types of business income are paid to a minor child, these rules apply to tax the offending income in the child’s hands at the top federal personal tax rate. Other rules, known as the attribution rules, can also result in adverse tax results in certain situations. Generally, these rules apply where an individual makes a gift or a low-interest or interest-free loan to a spouse or child either directly or indirectly through a corporation.

In light of the existing constraints on income splitting with family members, tax advisors are concerned about what the government might be targeting now. They generally cast a large net that catches more than the issue they are primarily seeking to address “Certainly, we already know that many forms of income splitting with your minor children is a no-no, but income splitting with your spouse or adult children was definitely something that you could do. We will just have to wait and see what happens,” says Wipf. “In the meantime, if your family business operates through a corporation, it isn’t a bad idea to talk with your tax advisor about what you can do now before any changes are proposed.”

As announced by Minister Morneau at a recent Board of Trade speech in Toronto, we expect the government to release a consultation paper in the coming days or weeks proposing changes to the way private corporations are taxed as a way of dealing with these three tax savings strategies. Following the release of this paper, we will be hosting a webinar with Dave Walsh, Tax Service Line Leader for Canada along with a number of our Partners in order to review and discuss the impact on private corporation owners. Our BDO Canada Tax advisors will remain dedicated to providing you with updates and information as it is released.

Update - July 18, 2017

Finance Minister Bill Morneau released the much anticipated consultation paper on July 18 proposing changes to how private corporations are used to gain tax advantages. The Canadian Department of Finance promised a consultation paper, however, Canadian taxpayers received proposals with effective dates and draft legislation on income splitting and conversion of capital gains. The federal government is asking for further consultation around holding passive investments inside a private corporation.  See our detailed review and watch our on demand webinar to learn more about the proposed reforms and how they might impact you.

For more information or assistance, please feel free to contact us.


The information in this publication is current as of June 26, 2017. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

L’avenir du fractionnement du revenu est-il menacé?

juin 2017

Tax-Income_Splitting_26Jun17_LandingBanner_679x220.jpg

Dans son budget de 2017, le gouvernement fédéral annonçait un examen de certaines stratégies de planification fiscale qui, à son avis, permettent à des particuliers à revenu élevé de profiter d’avantages fiscaux injustes au détriment des autres Canadiens. Plus précisément, le gouvernement a l’intention de se pencher sur trois stratégies de réduction de l’impôt qui font appel à des sociétés privées. Prochainement, il devrait publier un document résumant ses conclusions et proposer des modifications aux politiques pour remédier à ces enjeux. L’une des questions en cause est le recours aux sociétés privées pour fractionner le revenu entre les membres d’une famille.

« Le fractionnement du revenu consiste essentiellement à redistribuer le revenu au sein des membres d’une même famille, par exemple en transférant les actifs productifs de revenus de membres à revenu élevé à d’autres membres à revenu moins élevé, explique Eric Wipf, associé en fiscalité au bureau de Calgary de BDO. Ainsi, le revenu lié à ces actifs est imposable entre les mains des membres à revenu moins élevé. La famille peut donc conserver la majeure partie de son revenu en profitant des paliers d’imposition, des déductions et des crédits dont dispose chacun de ses membres. Cette pratique est acceptable et assez répandue et, à titre de conseillers en fiscalité, il nous arrive souvent de la recommander à nos clients qui sont propriétaires-exploitants d’entreprises. »

Le fractionnement du revenu peut être réalisé de différentes façons, mais l’examen du gouvernement portera tout particulièrement sur ce qu’on appelle couramment la « répartition du revenu ». Lorsqu’une entreprise familiale exerce ses activités par l’intermédiaire d’une société, les membres de la famille peuvent avoir droit à différentes catégories d’actions. Celles-ci peuvent être émises directement ou par le recours à une fiducie familiale, qui permet à la société de distribuer ou répartir les dividendes ou d’autres types de revenus (par exemple les gains en capital) à certains actionnaires, mais pas tous. Cette méthode permet de réduire au minimum le fardeau fiscal global de la famille, car le revenu est versé aux actionnaires membres de la famille dont dans les paliers d’imposition sont plus bas.

Les gels successoraux incluent souvent un plan fiscal consistant à répartir les revenus au moyen d’une société privée. Dans un scénario de base, le propriétaire-exploitant échange ses actions contre des actions privilégiées à valeur fixe. Autrement dit, leur valeur ne peut pas augmenter, ce qui « gèle » la valeur actuelle de l’entreprise. Les actions ordinaires, qui représentent la croissance future de la valeur de la société, sont détenues par les membres de la famille du propriétaire-exploitant, que ce soit directement ou par l’intermédiaire d’une fiducie familiale. Ce type de plan permet de verser les dividendes sur une catégorie d’actions et d’exclure le reste pour atteindre le fractionnement du revenu. Le fractionnement du revenu devient encore plus facile grâce au recours à une fiducie familiale purement discrétionnaire. En effet, les fiduciaires peuvent déterminer le type et le montant de revenu optimal à distribuer à chaque membre de la famille qui est bénéficiaire de la fiducie.

« Il est intéressant de constater que le gouvernement fédéral a déjà mis en place des règles pour prévenir certains abus en matière de répartition de dividendes », affirme M. Wipf. Pensons aux règles relatives à l’impôt pour les enfants mineurs, qui empêchent les particuliers à revenu élevé de transférer leur revenu à leurs enfants de moins de 18 ans. En vertu de ces règles, les dividendes ou certains autres types de revenus d’entreprise versés à un enfant mineur sont imposés entre les mains de ce dernier, et ce, au taux fédéral d’imposition des particuliers le plus élevé. D’autres règles, connues sous le nom de « règles d’attribution », peuvent également entraîner des conséquences fiscales négatives dans certaines situations. En règle générale, ces règles s’appliquent lorsqu’un particulier fait un don ou un prêt sans intérêt ou à un faible taux d’intérêt à son conjoint ou à un enfant, directement ou par l’intermédiaire d’une société.

Compte tenu des contraintes actuelles à l’égard du fractionnement du revenu avec les membres de la famille, les conseillers en fiscalité sont préoccupés par ce qui pourrait maintenant se trouver dans la mire du gouvernement. Habituellement, le gouvernement met en place des politiques mur à mur, qui s’appliquent non seulement aux enjeux principaux, mais bien à une vaste gamme de problèmes. « Il va sans dire qu’il ne faut jamais recourir aux nombreuses formes de fractionnement du revenu avec les enfants mineurs; en revanche, il était tout à fait possible de fractionner son revenu avec le conjoint ou les enfants adultes, rappelle M. Wipf. Nous devrons attendre de voir la suite des choses. Entre-temps, si votre entreprise familiale exerce ses activités par l’intermédiaire d’une société, vous auriez intérêt à demander à votre conseiller en fiscalité ce que vous pouvez faire dès maintenant avant que des changements soient proposés. »

À la suite de l’annonce du ministre Morneau dans un récent discours à la chambre de commerce de Toronto, nous prévoyons que le gouvernement publiera un document de consultation dans les prochains jours ou les prochaines semaines proposant des changements à l’imposition des sociétés privées pour éliminer ces trois stratégies d’économie d’impôt. Après la publication du document, nous tiendrons un webinaire avec Dave Walsh, chef des services en fiscalité pour le Canada et plusieurs associés pour en examiner l’incidence sur les propriétaires de sociétés privées et en discuter. Les conseillers en fiscalité de BDO Canada continueront de s’employer à vous fournir des mises à jour et de l’information à mesure qu’elle sera publiée.


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 26 juin, 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.