Important dates for 2018

January 19, 2018

Tax-Factor_12Jan18_Website-Important-Dates_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

With the new calendar year, it is important to take note of the following key tax dates that may impact you and your business. While the following summary is not exhaustive, it does highlight some key dates for you to remember and mark on your calendar. You should note that the summary focuses on federally imposed deadlines and does not highlight any differing deadlines imposed by the provinces or territories.

Of interest, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) has a Business Tax Reminders mobile app to help small and medium-sized businesses remember their tax deadlines. The mobile app lets business users create custom reminders and alerts for key CRA due dates related to instalment payments, returns and remittances.

Individuals Deadline in 20181
Personal Tax Returns:
Filing of returns2  
     General April 30
     Self-employed individual and spouse June 15
Final payment of income tax
     General April 30
     Self-employed individual and spouse April 30
Instalment payments3 March 15, June 15, September 17 and December 17
Deadline for contributing to an RRSP for the 2017 tax year March 1
Reimburse personal operating costs on employer-
provided automobiles
February 144
Reimburse the costs associated with employer-provided automobiles (other than operating costs) December 314
Pay interest on employee loans January 305
Pay interest on prescribed rate loans January 306
Trust Income Tax and Information Returns (T3 Return, the related T3 slips, NR4 slips, and T3 and NR4 summaries)​ Within 90 days of the trust’s year-end (April 3 for the majority of inter-vivos trusts and for many testamentary trusts)
T1135 Foreign Income Verification Statement Due on same date as income tax return15
 
Businesses Deadline in 20181
Corporate Tax Returns:
Filing of returns Six months after the tax year-end of the corporation
Final payment of tax
     General corporations The last day of the second month following the tax year-end of the corporation7
     Canadian-controlled private
     corporations (CCPCs)
The last day of the third month following the tax year-end of the CCPC7
Instalment payments
     General corporations8 Monthly9
     CCPCs10 Quarterly9
GST/HST Returns Based on reporting period11
Information Returns (T4, T4A, T4A-NR, T5) February 2812
Information Returns (NR4) April 313
T5013 Partnership Information Returns (where all 
members are individuals, including trusts)
April 314
T1135 Foreign Income Verification Statement Due on same date as income tax return15
   

 



1. Keep in mind that if the deadline falls on a weekend or public holiday recognized by the CRA, for federal tax purposes, your tax return is filed on time if it is received or it is postmarked on the next business day.

2. In cases where an individual dies, the final income tax return must generally be filed on or before the regular filing deadline for the year or six months after the date of death of the individual, whichever is later.

3. An instalment payment is considered to be paid if it is received or it is postmarked on the next business day. You should note that the CRA’s determination as to when a personal income tax instalment is paid is dependent upon the method of payment that is chosen. For instance:

  • Payments made in person at a financial institution are considered paid on the date stamped on an INNS3 receipt;
  • Payments made through a financial institution’s online or telephone banking service are considered paid when the financial institution credits the CRA with the payment;
  • Payments sent by mail are considered paid on the date they are mailed; and
  • Post-dated cheques and payments made by pre-authorized debit are considered paid on the negotiable date.

4. There will be no income inclusion for an operating cost benefit if an employee fully reimburses the employer for all operating expenses, including GST/HST and PST, relating to the personal use of the automobile within 45 days after the end of the calendar year. In respect of costs associated with employer-provided automobiles other than the operating benefit, the income inclusion will be reduced by reimbursements made to the employer by December 31, 2018.

5. An employee who has received a low-interest loan from an employer during any part of the year is deemed to have received a taxable employment benefit that is calculated as interest at the CRA’s prescribed rate for the period during which the loan was outstanding. The amount of the benefit is reduced by any interest actually paid no later than 30 days after the end of the calendar year.

6. Where a family member has loaned funds to another family member or to a family trust, the income attribution rules may not apply on the related investment income where interest on the loan is charged at a rate at least equal to the prescribed rate that was in effect when the loan was made and where interest on the loan is paid no later than 30 days after year-end.

7. In the case of a general corporation, the due date for the balance owing for a taxation year is generally the last day of the second month following the end of the year. In addition, provided certain conditions are met, the due date for the balance owing for CCPCs is the last day of the third month following the end of the taxation year. The CRA considers a corporate tax payment to have been made on the day that it is received by the CRA or on the day it is processed at any financial institution belonging to the Canadian Payments Association. Remember, all corporate tax payments that are mailed to the CRA are considered to be made on the day the payment is received by the CRA and not on the day it is mailed. In addition, keep in mind that when a corporate payment due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday, the CRA will consider the payment received on time if it is received on the next open business day after the deadline.

8. With the exception of new corporations in their first year of operations, corporations are required to pay monthly tax instalments during the year if their total taxes payable, which is specifically defined, for the current or preceding taxation year is more than $3,000.

9. In cases where the taxation year-end of the corporation is the last day of the month, instalment payments are due on or before the last day of each month or each quarter. Where the taxation year-end of the corporation does not fall on the last day of the month, the first instalment is due one month or quarter less a day from the first day of the corporation’s taxation year. Subsequent instalments are due on the same day of each of the following months or quarters.

10. CCPCs may pay quarterly instalments if the following conditions are met:

  • The corporation’s taxable income, and that of any associated corporations, for the current or previous year does not exceed $500,000;
  • The corporation claimed the small business deduction in computing its tax payable for the taxation year or for the preceding taxation year;
  • The corporation’s taxable capital employed in Canada, and that of any associated corporations, does not exceed $10 million in the year or in the preceding taxation year; and
  • Throughout the 12 months ending at the last instalment payment date, the corporation made all tax remittances and filings under the Income Tax Act, Employment Insurance Act, Canada Pension Plan or GST/HST section of the Excise Tax Act on time.

11. The due date of a GST/HST return is determined by the reporting period. If the reporting period is monthly or quarterly, the GST/HST return must be filed, and any amount owing must be remitted, no later than one month after the end of the reporting period. If there is an annual reporting period, the GST/HST return must be filed and any amount owing must be remitted no later than three months after the end of the fiscal year. Please note that an individual with business income, who is also an annual filer with a December 31 fiscal year-end, must file their GST/HST return by June 15 and pay their net GST/HST owing by April 30 to avoid penalties and interest.

12. Information returns that include T4, T4A, T4A-NR, and T5 must be filed on or before the last day of February in each year and shall be in respect of the preceding calendar year. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or public holiday, the information return is due the next business day. Note that an information return, including T4, T4A, T4A-NR, and T5, are considered to be filed on time if the CRA receives it or it is postmarked on or before the due date.

13. An NR4 information return must be filed on or before the last day of March or in the case of an estate or trust, no later than 90 days after the end of the estate’s or trust’s tax year. An NR4 information return must be filed in respect of payments such as interest, dividends, royalties, or pensions made to non-residents in the preceding calendar year.

14. In cases where all members of the partnership are individuals (including trusts), the T5013 is due no later than March 31 of the calendar year following the year in which the partnership’s fiscal period ended. In cases where all members of the partnership are corporations, the T5013 is due no later than five months from the end of the partnership’s fiscal period. In all other cases, the T5013 is due on or before the earlier of (i) the day that is five months after the end of the fiscal period, and (ii) the last day of March in the calendar year immediately following the calendar year in which the fiscal period ended or with which the fiscal period coincides. As March 31, 2018 falls on a Saturday and April 2, 2018 is a public holiday recognized by the CRA, the T5013 is filed on time if it is received or it is postmarked by April 3, 2018.

15. The T1135 Foreign Income Verification Statement is due on the same date as the corresponding income tax return. Keep in mind that Form T1135 is a separate filing from the income tax return. If the deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or public holiday, Form T1135 is considered filed on time if it is received or it is postmarked on the next business day.

Consult with your BDO tax advisor for further details.


The information in this publication is current as of January 17, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

BDO Canada LLP, a Canadian limited liability partnership, is a member of BDO International Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, and forms part of the international BDO network of independent member firms. BDO is the brand name for the BDO network and for each of the BDO Member Firms.

Dates importantes en 2018

19 janvier 2018

Tax-Factor_12Jan18_Website-Important-Dates_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

En début de nouvelle année, il est opportun de noter les dates importantes ci-après aux fins fiscales, car elles pourraient avoir une incidence sur vous et votre entreprise. Bien que cette liste ne soit pas exhaustive, elle comporte certaines dates importantes à inscrire à votre calendrier. Veuillez prendre note que cette liste met l’accent sur les dates limites imposées par le gouvernement fédéral et ne tient compte d’aucune date limite imposée par les gouvernements des provinces ou territoires.

L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) offre une application mobile « Rappels d’impôts d’entreprise » afin d’aider les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) à se souvenir de leurs dates d’échéance pour les impôts et les taxes. Cette application permet aux utilisateurs du milieu des affaires de créer des rappels et des alertes personnalisés pour les principales dates d’échéance de l’ARC liées aux acomptes provisionnels, aux déclarations et aux versements.

Particuliers Date limite en 20181
Déclarations de revenus des particuliers :  
Production des déclarations2
     Ensemble des particuliers Le 30 avril
     Travailleurs indépendants et leur époux Le 15 juin
Versement final de l’impôt sur le revenu
     Ensemble des particuliers Le 30 avril
     Travailleurs indépendants et leur époux Le 30 avril
Acomptes provisionnels3 Le 15 mars, 15 juin, 17 septembre et 17 décembre
Date limite pour cotiser à un REER pour l’année d’imposition 2017 Le 1er mars
Remboursement des frais d’utilisation à des fins personnelles d’un véhicule fourni par l’employeur Le 14 février4
Remboursement des coûts liés à un véhicule fourni par l’employeur (autres que les frais d’utilisation) Le 31 décembre4
Paiement de l’intérêt sur les prêts aux employés Le 30 janvier5
Paiement de l’intérêt sur les prêts au taux prescrit Le 30 janvier6
Déclarations de renseignements et de revenus des fiducies (déclaration T3, feuillets T3 y afférents, feuillets NR4, ainsi que sommaires T3 et NR4) Dans les 90 jours suivant la fin de l’année d’imposition de la fiducie (le 3 avril pour la majorité des fiducies entre vifs et plusieurs fiducies testamentaires)
T1135 Bilan de vérification du revenu étranger Exigible à la même date que la déclaration de revenus15
Sociétés Date limite en 20181
Déclarations de revenus des sociétés :
Production des déclarations Dans les six mois suivant la fin de l’année d’imposition de la société
Versement final de l’impôt sur le revenu
     Ensemble des sociétés Le dernier jour du deuxième mois suivant la fin de l’année d’imposition de la société7
     Sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) Le dernier jour du troisième mois suivant la fin de l’année d’imposition de la SPCC7
Acomptes provisionnels  
     Ensemble des sociétés8 Tous les mois9
     SPCC10 Tous les trimestres9
Déclarations de TPS/TVH En fonction de la période de déclaration11
Déclarations de renseignements (T4, T4A, T4A-NR, T5) Le 28 février12
Déclarations de renseignements (NR4) Le 3 avril13
Déclarations de renseignements des sociétés de personnes T5013 (lorsque tous les membres sont des particuliers, y compris des fiducies) Le 3 avril14
T1135 Bilan de vérification du revenu étranger Exigible à la même date que la déclaration de revenus15
   

1. N’oubliez pas que si la date limite tombe une fin de semaine ou un jour férié reconnu par l’ARC, on considérera, aux fins fiscales, que votre déclaration est produite à temps si elle est reçue ou marquée du cachet de la poste le jour ouvrable suivant cette date.

2. En cas de décès d’un particulier, la déclaration de revenus finale doit généralement être produite au plus tard à la date limite habituelle pour l’année d’imposition visée ou six mois après la date de décès du particulier, selon le dernier de ces événements à survenir.

3. Un acompte provisionnel est considéré comme versé s’il est reçu ou s’il est marqué du cachet de la poste le jour ouvrable suivant. Vous devez prendre note que la détermination par l’ARC du moment où est versé un acompte provisionnel dépend du mode de paiement choisi. Par exemple :

  • les paiements effectués en personne auprès d’une institution financière sont considérés comme versés à la date estampillée sur la pièce de versement d’acomptes provisionnels INNS3;
  • les paiements effectués par le biais des services bancaires en ligne ou téléphoniques sont considérés comme versés lorsque l’institution financière crédite l’ARC avec le versement;
  • les paiements envoyés par la poste sont considérés comme versés à la date à laquelle ils sont postés;
  • les chèques postdatés et les paiements effectués par débit préautorisé sont considérés comme versés à la date convenue.

4. L’avantage relatif aux frais d’utilisation ne sera pas inclus au revenu de l’employé qui rembourse entièrement son employeur pour tous les coûts liés à l’utilisation d’un véhicule à des fins personnelles, y compris la TPS/TVH et la TVP, dans les 45 jours suivant la fin de l’année civile. En ce qui concerne les coûts liés à un véhicule fourni par l’employeur autres que l’avantage lié aux frais d’utilisation, la somme à inclure dans le revenu sera réduite par les remboursements effectués à l’employeur d’ici le 31 décembre 2018.

5. Un employé ayant obtenu, au cours de l’année, un prêt à intérêt réduit de son employeur est réputé avoir reçu un avantage imposable lié à l’emploi, qui est calculé au taux prescrit par l’ARC pour la période pendant laquelle le prêt est demeuré impayé. La valeur de l’avantage reçu réputé est réduite selon l’intérêt payé au plus tard 30 jours après la fin de l’année civile.

6. Lorsqu’un particulier a prêté des fonds à un membre de sa famille ou à une fiducie familiale, il est possible que les règles d’attribution ne s’appliquent pas au revenu de placement connexe si l’intérêt sur le prêt est perçu à un taux au moins égal au taux prescrit en vigueur lorsque le prêt a été consenti et que l’intérêt sur le prêt est payé au plus tard 30 jours après la fin de l’année.

7. Dans le cas de l’ensemble des sociétés, la date d’échéance du solde dû pour une année d’imposition donnée est généralement le dernier jour du deuxième mois suivant la fin de l’année. De plus, si certaines conditions sont réunies, la date d’échéance du solde dû par une SPCC est le dernier jour du troisième mois suivant la fin de l’année d’imposition. L’ARC considère qu’un paiement au titre de l’impôt des sociétés a été effectué le jour où elle le reçoit ou le jour où il est traité par une institution financière membre de Paiements Canada. Rappelez-vous que tout paiement au titre de l’impôt des sociétés qui est posté à l’ARC est considéré comme étant effectué le jour où il est reçu par l’ARC et non le jour où il est posté. De plus, lorsque la date limite d’un paiement au titre de l’impôt des sociétés tombe un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié, l’ARC considère que le versement reçu est à temps s’il est reçu le jour ouvrable suivant cette date limite.

8. À l’exception des nouvelles sociétés qui en sont à leur première année d’exploitation, les sociétés sont tenues de verser des acomptes provisionnels de façon mensuelle pendant l’année si le total des impôts qui leur sont exigibles (lesquels sont précisément définis) pour l’année d’imposition en cours ou précédente est supérieur à 3 000 $.

9. Lorsque la fin de l’année d’imposition de la société tombe le dernier jour du mois, les acomptes provisionnels sont exigibles au plus tard le dernier jour de chaque mois ou trimestre. Lorsque la fin de l’année d’imposition de la société ne tombe pas le dernier jour du mois, le premier acompte provisionnel est exigible un mois ou un trimestre moins un jour suivant le début de l’année d’imposition de la société. Les acomptes provisionnels subséquents sont exigibles le même jour de chacun des mois ou trimestres suivants.

10. Les SPCC peuvent verser des acomptes trimestriels si les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • Le revenu imposable de la société et de toutes sociétés associées ne dépasse pas 500 000 $ pour l’année en cours ou précédente;
  • La société a demandé la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises (DPE) lorsqu’elle a effectué le calcul de ses impôts exigibles pour l’année d’imposition visée ou l’année précédente;
  • Le capital imposable de la société qui est employé au Canada et de toutes sociétés associées ne dépasse pas 10 millions de dollars pour l’année d’imposition visée ou l’année précédente; et
  • au cours de la période de 12 mois prenant fin à la date de versement du dernier acompte provisionnel, la société a effectué toutes les remises et produit toutes les déclarations en temps opportun en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, de la Loi sur l’assurance-emploi, du Régime de pensions du Canada ou de la Partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise relative à la TPS/TVH.

11. La date limite pour produire la déclaration de TPS/TVH est déterminée en fonction de la période de déclaration. Si la période de déclaration est mensuelle ou trimestrielle, la déclaration de TPS/TVH doit être produite et tout montant exigible doit être remis au plus tard un mois après la fin de la période de déclaration. Si la période de déclaration est annuelle, la déclaration de TPS/TVH doit être produite et tout montant exigible doit être remis au plus tard trois mois après la fin de l’exercice. Veuillez prendre note qu’un particulier qui a un revenu d’entreprise pour fins fiscales, qui produit une déclaration annuelle et dont la date de fin d’exercice est le 31 décembre doit produire sa déclaration de TPS/TVH au plus tard le 15 juin et verser le montant net de TPS/TVH exigible au plus tard le 30 avril afin d’éviter des pénalités et des intérêts.

12. Les déclarations de renseignements comme les formulaires T4, T4A, T4A-NR et T5 doivent être produites au plus tard le dernier jour de février de chaque année relativement à l’année civile précédente. Si la date d’échéance tombe un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié, la déclaration de renseignements est due le jour ouvrable suivant. Veuillez prendre note qu’une déclaration de renseignements, y compris les formulaires T4, T4A, T4A-NR et T5, est considérée être produite à temps si l’ARC la reçoit à la date limite ou avant, ou si elle est marquée du cachet de la poste de la date limite ou avant.

13. La déclaration de renseignements NR4 doit être produite au plus tard le dernier jour de mars ou, dans le cas d’une succession ou d’une fiducie, dans les 90 jours suivant la fin de l’année d’imposition de la succession ou de la fiducie. La déclaration de renseignements NR4 doit être produite à l’égard des paiements comme les intérêts, les dividendes, les redevances ou les rentes versés aux non-résidents au cours de l’année civile précédente.

14. Dans les cas où tous les membres de la société de personnes sont des particuliers (incluant les fiducies), le formulaire T5013 doit être produit au plus tard le 31 mars de l’année civile suivant la fin d’exercice de la société de personnes. Dans les cas où tous les membres de la société de personnes sont des sociétés, le formulaire T5013 doit être produit dans les cinq mois suivant la fin d’exercice de la société de personnes. Dans tous les autres cas, le formulaire T5013 doit être produit au plus tard i) cinq mois après la fin de l’exercice de la société de personnes ou ii) le dernier jour de mars de l’année civile suivant immédiatement l’année au cours de laquelle l’exercice de la société de personnes a pris fin ou avec laquelle la fin de l’exercice coïncide, selon le premier de ces événements à survenir. Comme le 31 mars 2018 est un samedi et le 2 avril 2018 est un jour férié reconnu par l’ARC, le feuillet T5013 est considéré comme étant produit à temps s’il est reçu ou marqué du cachet de la poste au plus tard le 3 avril 2018.

15. Le feuillet T1135 Bilan de vérification du revenu étranger est exigible à la même date que l’est la déclaration de revenus correspondante. N’oubliez pas que le formulaire T1135 est un document à produire distinct de la déclaration de revenus. Si la date limite est un samedi, un dimanche ou un jour férié, le formulaire T1135 est considéré comme étant produit à temps s’il est reçu ou marqué du cachet de la poste au plus tard le jour ouvrable suivant.

Consultez votre conseiller en fiscalité de BDO pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet.


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 17 janvier 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations articulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.