Important considerations when paying management fees

April 13, 2022

Are you using more than one corporation (or other entities such as trusts or partnerships) for business purposes? For example, do you use management fees to bill central management expenses to these entities? Or do you bill management fees to other entities for services performed? If you do, there are important considerations to ensure these fees are deductible for income tax purposes.

For management fees to be allowed as a deduction from taxable income, the following three criteria must be met:

  • The amount of the fees charged must be reasonable
  • The fees must have been incurred for the purpose of earning income
  • There must be a legal obligation to pay the fees

The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) knows that some entities have used management fees to eliminate or reduce taxes by shifting income to corporations with losses. In response, the CRA often reviews the deductibility of these fees, and they have been known to send management fee questionnaires to corporations that deduct these fees as part of their review. Where the CRA disallows the deduction of management fees in one entity, the law does not require any adjustment to fees in the receiving entity, effectively resulting in double taxation.

However, the CRA has a policy of not taxing the same amount twice. This means that if it disallows an intercompany management fee deduction in the payor company, it will allow for an offsetting adjustment in the recipient company. To achieve this, a request must be made in writing by the recipient corporation to the CRA, and the recipient corporation must refund an amount equal to the disallowed fees to the taxpayer. The CRA may also administratively allow an adjustment in other ways to avoid double taxation. However, in general, the CRA will look closely at transactions between related or associated businesses and will not adjust in the case of perceived abuse. Therefore, if the CRA asks for details, you will need to be ready to prove your fees are bona fide management fees with the proper documentation.

Let's look at the requirements for the deductibility of management fees in a little more detail.

Reasonability

Unless the CRA provides an exception through an administrative concession, expenses must be reasonable in the circumstances to be deductible for income tax purposes. Management fees are no exception to this rule. This means that the amount charged must be reasonable compared to the work performed. There have been several court cases specifically pertaining to charges for management fees between related organizations. Based on tests that set out those decisions, it is necessary to consider the nature of the services and the time expended in performing those services when determining the amount of the management fees. As well, consideration should be given to the amount of fees that would be paid to obtain similar services from third-party sources.

Purpose and legal obligation

Management fees must be paid for specific services performed and should not be based on the results of a business. The specific services should be identified in a management fee agreement between the parties involved. Remember that management fees must be incurred to earn or produce income. Where the CRA has challenged fees, the tax courts have required taxpayers to prove how the payment of a specific fee generated revenue for the entity. Management fees must also be paid during the year or be payable under an agreement. It is recommended that taxpayers have a written agreement that describes the management services to be provided, the fee to be charged, and the responsibilities of each party. It is best practice to have a written agreement that sets out the terms, and this could also be an oral understanding. If the management fees are paid to a related non-resident, the arrangements must be in writing and the requirement is to have supporting documentation when fees are paid under the transfer pricing rules. Lastly, there must be a legal obligation to pay the fees; the decision to pay management fees cannot be a discretionary one.

Documentation

Proper documentation is critical to substantiate any management fees you have paid (or that are payable) to support a full deduction based on the above requirements. If the CRA performs an audit or review of the fees, they will generally be looking for the following information for all management fees paid:

  • Names of recipients and their business/social insurance numbers
  • The amount paid and the date of payment
  • Whether the amount was paid by cheque or journal entry
  • The relationship between the corporation and the recipients
  • Details of the services provided, including:
    • A description of the work performed
    • The amount of time spent
    • Details on how often the services were provided

The CRA will also likely want to see a copy of the contract for services between the parties if there is a written agreement. Although you would generally have used the above information when you set the amount of management fees, you should keep the information available if the CRA requests it (rather than tracking it down later).

It is also important to resist the urge to charge a fee based on general information and estimates.

The CRA will be looking for specific proof of how your management fees were determined. Therefore, you should consider retaining backup copies of the employees' time records and a detailed description of the work performed for the other company. The critical point to keep in mind here is that otherwise, reasonable fees could be denied if there is insufficient documentation to back up the fee charged.

Indirect Taxes

Management fees are considered taxable services for GST/HST and QST purposes. As such, unless the entity receiving the fees is a small supplier (generally meaning it must have revenues on an associated basis of less than or equal to $30,000) or is eligible to make and has made an election for closely related corporations and/or Canadian partnerships (election form RC4616 for the CRA and form FP-4616 for Revenue Québec), the fees may be subject to GST/HST and or QST.

Reporting of inter-corporate management fees

Unlike many corporate expenses, there is a requirement for corporations to report management fees paid on a schedule that forms part of their corporate income tax return (Form T2). Management fees paid to shareholders, other residents of Canada and non-residents, are all separately reportable on schedules that support Form T2. Management fees paid to non-residents are also subject to a non-resident reporting process separate from corporate tax return reporting.

You need to improve your tax planning strategies, we’re here

If you have questions concerning the use of management fees or documentation, contact your local BDO advisor. They can help you determine whether your management fees are properly documented to support their deduction for income tax purposes.


The information in this publication is current as of March 21, 2022

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Facteurs importants à prendre en compte lors du paiement des frais de gestion

13 avril 2022

Utilisez-vous plus d'une société (ou d'autres entités comme des fiducies ou des sociétés de personnes) à des fins professionnelles? Par exemple, avez-vous recours à des frais de gestion pour facturer des dépenses de gestion à ces entités? Ou encore, facturez-vous des frais de gestion à d'autres entités pour des services rendus? Si tel est le cas, pour que ces frais soient déductibles aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu, il est important de retenir ces quelques éléments.

Pour que les frais de gestion puissent être admis à titre de déduction du revenu imposable, les trois critères suivants doivent être respectés :

  • Le montant des frais facturés doit être raisonnable;
  • Les frais de gestion doivent être engagés dans le but de tirer un revenu;
  • Il doit y avoir une obligation légale de payer les frais.

L'Agence du revenu du Canada (« ARC ») sait que certaines entités utilisent les frais de gestion pour éliminer ou réduire leurs impôts en transférant des revenus à une entreprise ayant des pertes. À ce titre, l'ARC procède souvent à des vérifications de la déductibilité de ces frais. Il arrive qu'elle envoie des questionnaires sur les frais de gestion aux sociétés qui déduisent ces frais. Lorsque l'ARC ne permet pas la déduction de frais de gestion par une entité, la société réceptrice n'est pas tenue par la loi d'ajuster les frais et cela entraîne une double imposition.

Toutefois, la politique de l'ARC stipule qu'un montant ne peut pas être imposé deux fois. Donc, si l'ARC refuse une déduction pour frais de gestion intersociétés dans la société payante, elle permettra un ajustement compensatoire dans la société réceptrice. Pour ce faire, la société réceptrice doit en faire la demande par écrit à l'ARC et rembourser la juste valeur des frais non admis au contribuable. L'ARC pourrait également permettre, sur le plan administratif, un autre ajustement pour éviter la double imposition. Toutefois, en règle générale, l'ARC surveille de près les transactions entre les sociétés liées et ne procède pas à un ajustement en cas d'abus perçu. Si l'ARC exige de plus amples renseignements, vous devrez être prêt à fournir les pièces justificatives appropriées prouvant que vos frais sont bel et bien des frais de gestion.

Regardons de plus près les exigences relatives à la déductibilité des frais de gestion.

Caractère raisonnable

À moins que l'ARC n'accorde une exception au moyen d'une politique administrative, les dépenses doivent être raisonnables à la lumière des circonstances pour être déductibles aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu. Les frais de gestion n'échappent pas à cette règle. Le montant facturé doit donc être raisonnable compte tenu du travail effectué. Plusieurs affaires saisies en justice traitaient précisément des frais de gestion facturés entre sociétés liées. Selon les critères établis par les tribunaux dans le cadre de leurs décisions, il convient de tenir compte de la nature des services et du temps consacré à la prestation de ces services pour déterminer le montant des frais de gestion. De même, il faut tenir compte du montant des frais qu'il aurait fallu payer à des tiers pour obtenir les mêmes services.

Objet et obligation légale

Les frais de gestion doivent être payés pour des services précis et ne doivent pas être fondés sur les résultats d'une entreprise. Les services précis doivent être définis dans une entente sur les frais de gestion conclue par les parties. Il faut se rappeler que les frais de gestion doivent être engagés dans le but de gagner ou de générer un revenu. Lorsque les frais sont contestés par l'ARC, les tribunaux exigent que les contribuables prouvent en quoi le paiement de frais en particulier a pu générer des revenus pour l'entité. De même, les frais de gestion doivent être payés pendant l'année ou être payables en vertu d'une entente. On recommande aux contribuables de disposer d'un accord écrit qui énonce les services de gestion à fournir, les frais à facturer ainsi que les responsabilités de chacune des parties. Rédiger un accord écrit qui énonce les conditions constitue une pratique optimale, mais il est également possible de conclure un accord verbal. Si les frais de gestion sont payés à un non-résident lié, les modalités de l'accord conclu doivent être énoncées par écrit afin de disposer de pièces justificatives en cas de paiement des frais selon les règles en matière de prix de transfert. Enfin, l'entité doit avoir l'obligation légale de payer les frais; le paiement des frais ne peut pas être une décision de nature discrétionnaire.

Documentation

Il est essentiel que vous ayez en main la documentation adéquate pour attester des frais de gestion que vous avez payés (ou qui sont payables) et ainsi justifier leur entière déduction en fonction des exigences qui précèdent. Si l'ARC effectue une vérification ou un examen des frais, elle cherchera les éléments suivants relativement à tous les frais de gestion payés :

Noms des acquéreurs ainsi que leur numéro d'entreprise ou d'assurance sociale;

  • Montant payé et date du paiement;
  • Mode de paiement, c.-à-d. par chèque ou par écriture de journal;
  • Relation entre la société et les acquéreurs;
  • Détails relatifs aux services fournis, à savoir :
    • une description du travail effectué,
    • le temps qui y a été consacré,
    • des précisions sur la fréquence des services fournis.

L'ARC voudra sans doute obtenir un exemplaire du contrat de service conclu entre les parties, le cas échéant. Même si vous utilisez les renseignements ci-dessus pour définir le montant de vos frais de gestion, nous vous conseillons de conserver les documents nécessaires dans l'éventualité où l'ARC vous les demanderait (plutôt que d'avoir à les chercher plus tard).

Il est également important de résister à l'envie de facturer un montant calculé sur la base d'estimations et de données générales.

L'ARC exigera des preuves précises quant à la façon dont vous avez calculé vos frais de gestion. De ce fait, vous devriez aussi envisager de conserver des copies des feuilles de temps des employés, fournissant une description détaillée du travail effectué par l'autre société. Il ne faut surtout pas oublier que, sans ces preuves, des frais, même raisonnables, peuvent être rejetés si la documentation à l'appui des frais facturés est insuffisante.

Taxes indirectes

Les frais de gestion sont considérés comme des services taxables aux fins de la TPS, de la TVH ou de la TVQ. À ce titre, à moins que l'entité qui reçoit les frais soit un petit fournisseur (c'est-à-dire un fournisseur dont les revenus sont inférieurs ou égaux à 30 000 $ pour un groupe associé) ou qu'elle soit admissible à un choix visant les personnes morales et les sociétés de personnes canadiennes étroitement liées (formulaire RC4616 de l'ARC et formulaire FP-4616 de Revenu Québec), les frais sont assujettis à la TPS, à la TVH et à la TVQ.

Déclaration des frais de gestion intersociétés

Les sociétés sont tenues de déclarer les frais de gestion payés dans une annexe faisant partie de leur déclaration de revenus (formulaire T2), contrairement à ce qui prévaut pour les dépenses d'entreprise. Les frais de gestion payés à des actionnaires, que ces derniers soient résidents du Canada ou non, doivent tous être déclarés dans des annexes séparées jointes au formulaire T2. Les frais de gestion payés à des non-résidents doivent également être déclarés séparément des revenus de la société.

Vous avez besoin d'améliorer vos stratégies en matière de planification fiscale? Nous sommes là pour vous aider.

Si vous avez des questions concernant l'utilisation des frais de gestion ou la documentation à fournir, communiquez avec votre conseiller local de BDO. Il pourra vous aider à déterminer si vous possédez une documentation adéquate à l'égard de vos frais de gestion pour en justifier la déduction aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu.


L'information présentée est à jour en date du 21 mars 2022.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n'est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d'ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l'obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d'une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.