Implications of the Government’s Consultation Paper on Post-Mortem Planning

October 2017

NTL-Firm_05Sep17_Website_Private-Corps-Campaign_Article3_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Changes proposed in the federal government’s recent consultation paper, “Tax Planning Using Private Corporations”, could have significant impacts to post-mortem planning for business owners, both in the future and for in-progress estates. The changes are designed to close loopholes and address perceived issues of fairness in three main areas:

  1. Income splitting with family members to reduce the total family tax burden.
  2. Passive investment portfolios owned by private corporations.
  3. Strategies that convert regular or dividend income into capital gains.

While all areas could impact business owners, the third area could have some significant consequences for post-mortem planning.

Post-mortem strategies

When an individual dies, they have a deemed disposition—essentially a sale—of any assets, and the gain or loss on the disposition of these assets is reported on the individual’s final tax return. If the individual owns shares of a private company, they are deemed to have sold those shares upon death, resulting in a capital gain. If the beneficiaries of the estate then wish to draw assets from the company, the estate incurs a dividend on that money. Without further planning, this process would result in paying double tax: once on the final tax return, and again on the estate’s dividend.

Under current tax law, there are two methods used to address this situation and avoid double taxation:

  1. 164(6) loss carryback. Using this strategy, the estate pays dividend tax rates (generally 30-43 percent, depending on province) and the tax that was previously paid on the capital gain on death is eliminated. For loss carryback planning to work, the estate must liquidate all company assets within one year of the owner’s death.
  2. Pipeline planning. Under this method, rather than dividend tax rates, the estate pays capital gains tax rates, and the tax paid on the capital gain on death is removed. As capital gains tax rates generally range between 22-27 percent, depending on province, this method can provide a significant tax advantage, especially for larger estates.

The government’s proposed changes eliminate the pipeline planning method. Estates will no longer have the option of paying capital gains rates, and must pay dividend rates to liquidate the assets of a company. This change, if implemented as proposed, will have a number of serious consequences on post-mortem planning and estates.

Impacts of the proposed changes

For a loss carryback strategy to work the estate must liquidate company assets within one year. Currently, if the assets are not liquidated within that timeframe, the only options are to initiate pipeline planning or to pay double tax. With these new changes, in addition to the increase in overall taxation that will result from the estate paying dividend rather than capital gains tax rates, there will now be an increased pressure to wrap up the estate within a limited time period with no fallback plan. Should the estate fail to liquidate assets within one year of death, double taxation will likely occur.

If these changes are implemented as currently written, they will take effect as of the date of the release of the consultation paper: July 18, 2017. This means that in addition to affecting estate planning moving forward, the changes will also apply to any in-progress estates. These rules, if applied to in-progress estates as written, would result in a range of potentially significant financial issues.

For example, any estate still in the process of liquidating business assets for a business owner that died more than one year before July 18, 2017 will face double taxation with no recourse. In another scenario, an estate could have already made an interim distribution of assets on the assumption of capital gains tax rates applying, and will now be faced with dividend tax rates, resulting in insufficient funds remaining to pay taxes owed.

One possible solution would be for the government to only apply the proposed changes to deaths occurring after the implementation of the new rules, rather than to all open estates. However, no such modifications to the proposal have yet been made.

Post-mortem planning considerations

In light of the proposed changes, business owners should start to:

  1. Review current wills. When creating a will, many individuals will allocate amounts to be given to family members, charities, and others with an assumption that a certain amount of their total assets are going to be given in tax. As the rate of taxation for many could increase by approximately 50 percent if the proposed changes go through, there might not be enough money left over after tax to make all of the anticipated distributions. Business owners are strongly encouraged to go over estate plans, including life insurance amounts, to calculate the amount that will remain after dividend taxes to ensure that there will be sufficient funds for the distributions in your will.
  2. Evaluate whether to draw out funds prior to death. Under the old rules, as someone neared the end of their life they would generally leave funds within the company, knowing that lower capital gains rates would apply upon death. Under the new rules, there are situations in which it may make more sense to draw out funds while the individual is alive, as dividend tax rates will apply regardless. The incentive to keep money within the corporation is essentially gone, which means that revisiting compensation plans may be in order.
  3. Reconsider funds held in companies. Many business owners use private companies as a form of personal RRSP, with the corporation holding investments as a retirement fund. These individuals, not just high-income business owners, will be affected by these changes, as well as other changes proposed in the consultation paper. Business owners who have been moving forward with company-held retirement funds are strongly recommended to speak to their tax advisor.

Note that no action should be taken until the government announces whether any changes will be made to the proposals. This announcement is expected before the end of 2017.

Recommendations on how to provide feedback on the changes

While the Department of Finance is actively soliciting feedback on particular areas of their proposed changes, including suggestions regarding the taxation of investment income in a private corporation, draft legislation has been provided for other areas. With this in mind, it is likely that most of these changes will be implemented with few, if any, modifications.

Given the significant implications on post-mortem planning, and in particular the unfair consequences for in-progress estates, affected Canadians are strongly recommended to provide their opinion and feedback to their Members of Parliament. In late September, BDO outlined our concerns with the proposals in a submission to the Department of Finance, which you can access here.

Post-mortem planning for business owners may become more complicated and expensive, with less room for error. For personal advice and support on how the proposed changes will affect your post-mortem planning, please speak to one of our trusted BDO advisors.

View all of BDO's related content in our Private Corporation Tax Changes Round-up resource.

AUTHOR

Kostenchuk_Dan_website_362x259_2017.jpg

Dan Kostenchuk

Partner, Canadian Tax

Learn more about our Canadian Tax practice.


The information in this publication is current as of September 30, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Conséquences liées au document de consultation du gouvernement sur la planification après décès

13 octobre 2017

NTL-Firm_05Sep17_Website_Private-Corps-Campaign_Article3_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Les modifications proposées dans le récent document de consultation du gouvernement « Planification fiscale au moyen de sociétés privées » pourraient avoir des conséquences importantes sur la planification après décès (post mortem) pour les propriétaires d’entreprises. Tant en ce qui concerne les successions à venir que celles qui sont actuellement en cours. Les modifications proposées visent à éliminer les échappatoires et à s’attaquer aux problèmes perçus en matière d’équité dans trois stratégies :

  1. le fractionnement du revenu entre les membres d’une famille en vue de réduire le fardeau fiscal total de la famille;
  2. les portefeuilles de placements passifs détenus par des sociétés privées;
  3. ​les stratégies qui convertissent le revenu régulier ou le revenu de dividendes en gains en capital.

Bien que ces stratégies peuvent avoir une incidence sur les propriétaires d’entreprises, la troisième est celle qui pourrait avoir les conséquences les plus importantes en matière de planification après-décès.

Stratégies après-décès

Lorsqu’un particulier décède, il est réputé disposer, essentiellement sous forme de vente, de tous ces biens. Le gain ou la perte découlant cette disposition est reporté(e) sur la déclaration de revenus finale du particulier. Si le particulier détient des actions d’une société privée, ces actions sont réputées être vendues au décès, ce qui engendre un gain en capital. Si les bénéficiaires de la succession veulent retirer des actifs de la société, la succession se verra imposer sous forme de dividendes sur ce qu’elle a retiré. Sans planification additionnelle, ce processus entraîne une situation de double imposition : une première sur la déclaration de revenus finale du défunt et une seconde sur les dividendes de la succession.

En vertu de la loi de l’impôt actuelle, deux méthodes sont utilisées pour résoudre cette situation et éviter la double imposition :

  1. Report de perte en vertu de 164(6) En utilisant cette méthode, la succession est imposée aux taux pour les dividendes (généralement de 30 à 43 pour cent, selon la province) et l’impôt préalablement payé sur le gain en capital au décès est éliminé. Pour que la planification de report de perte fonctionne, la succession doit liquider tous les actifs de la société dans un délai d’un an suivant le décès de l’actionnaire.
  2. Planification au moyen de la technique du « pipeline » Selon cette méthode, plutôt que d’être imposée aux taux pour les dividendes, les taux pour le gain en capital sont utilisés et l’impôt payé sur le gain en capital au décès demeure. Puisque les taux pour le gain en capital sont généralement de 22 à 27 pour cent, selon la province, cette méthode peut offrir un avantage fiscal important, surtout pour les successions de plus grande valeur.

Les modifications proposées par le gouvernement entraînent l’élimination de la technique du « pipeline ». Les successions ne pourront plus être imposées aux taux utilisés pour le gain en capital et devront payer les taux pour les dividendes afin de liquider les actifs d’une société. Si cette modification est mise en place telle que proposée, elle aura de nombreuses conséquences sur la planification après-décès et sur les successions.

Conséquences des modifications proposées

Pour qu’une stratégie de report de perte fonctionne, la succession doit liquider tous les actifs de la société dans un délai d’un an. Actuellement, si les actifs ne sont pas liquidés dans ce délai, les seules options possibles sont soit d’initier la planification au moyen de la technique du « pipeline » ou de rester en situation de double imposition. En plus d’augmenter l’imposition globale en raison de l’application des taux pour les dividendes au lieu des taux pour le gain en capital, les nouvelles modifications engendreront une pression accrue quant au délai afin de liquider les successions et ce, sans alternative. Si la succession ne liquide pas les actifs dans un délai d’un an, la double imposition se matérialisera probablement.

Si ces modifications sont mises en œuvre telles qu’elles sont proposées, elles entreront en vigueur à la date de publication du document de consultation, soit le 18 juillet 2017. Ceci signifie qu’en plus de l’incidence sur la future planification successorale, les modifications s’appliqueront également aux successions en cours. Ces règles, si elles sont appliquées aux successions en cours, devraient entraîner divers problèmes financiers potentiellement importants.

Par exemple, toute succession dont la liquidation des actifs est en cours pour un actionnaire décédé plus d’un an avant le 18 juillet 2017 fera l’objet d’une double imposition et ce, sans recours possible. Dans un autre scénario, une succession ayant déjà procédé à une distribution provisoire de ses actifs en se fondant sur l’hypothèse de l’application des taux pour le gain en capital sera plutôt imposée aux taux pour les dividendes et ses fonds pourraient être insuffisants pour payer l’impôt exigible.

L’une des solutions possibles serait l’application des modifications proposées par le gouvernement uniquement aux décès survenant après la mise en œuvre des nouvelles règles plutôt qu’à toutes les successions en cours. Aucun changement de ce genre n’a toutefois été apporté à la proposition.

Considérations en matière de planification après-décès

À la lumière des modifications proposées, les propriétaires d’entreprises devraient commencer à :

  1. Revoir les testaments actuels Au moment de faire leur testament, plusieurs personnes attribuent des montants aux membres de leur famille, à des organismes de bienfaisance et à d’autres personnes en présumant qu’un certain montant de leurs actifs totaux sera versé en impôt. Puisque le taux d’imposition pourrait augmenter d’environ 50 pour cent pour plusieurs si les modifications proposées sont appliquées, les fonds résiduels une fois l’impôt versé pourraient être insuffisants pour procéder à toutes les distributions prévues. Les propriétaires d’entreprises sont fortement encouragés à revoir leurs plans successoraux, y compris les montants alloués à l’assurance vie, et à calculer le montant résiduel après imposition aux taux pour les dividendes afin de s’assurer qu’ils disposent de fonds suffisants pour procéder aux distributions prévues dans leur testament.
  2. Envisager un retrait de fonds avant le décès En vertu des anciennes règles, lorsqu’une personne était en fin de vie, elle laissait généralement des fonds dans sa société sachant qu’ils seraient imposés aux taux pour le gain en capital. En vertu des nouvelles règles, il pourrait s’avérer avantageux de retirer des fonds avant le décès dans certains cas puisque les taux pour les dividendes s’appliqueront de toute façon. L’incitatif à conserver des fonds dans une société a essentiellement disparu, ce qui veut dire qu’un réexamen des régimes de rémunération pourrait s’imposer.
  3. Réexaminer les fonds détenus dans des sociétés Plusieurs propriétaires d’entreprises utilisent des sociétés privées en guise de REER personnel, la société détenant des placements comme fonds de retraite. Ces personnes, pas seulement les actionnaires dont le revenu est élevé, seront touchées par ces modifications et par les autres modifications proposées dans le document de consultation. Les propriétaires d’entreprises dont les fonds de pension sont détenus par une société sont fortement encouragés à aborder le sujet avec leur conseiller fiscal.

Il est à noter qu’aucune mesure ne doit être prise avant l’annonce par le gouvernement de changements à apporter aux modifications proposées. Cette annonce est prévue avant la fin de 2017.

Recommandations sur la façon de fournir des commentaires à propos des modifications

Même si le ministère des Finances sollicite activement des commentaires sur certains aspects des modifications proposées, incluant des suggestions en ce qui concerne l’imposition des revenus de placements dans des sociétés privées, des propositions législatives ont été déposées concernant d’autres aspects. Dans ce contexte, les modifications risquent pour la plupart d’être mises en œuvre sans grands changements.

Puisque la planification après-décès entraîne des conséquences importantes, en particulier des conséquences injustes pour les successions en cours, les Canadiens touchés sont fortement encouragés à faire part de leur opinion et de leurs commentaires à leurs députés. À la fin du mois de septembre, BDO a fait part de ses inquiétudes face aux modifications proposées au ministère des Finances; vous trouverez cette communication ici.

La planification après-décès pour les propriétaires d’entreprises pourrait devenir plus compliquée et dispendieuse et leur laisser moins de marge de manœuvre. Pour obtenir des conseils personnels et du soutien concernant les modifications proposées qui auront des conséquences sur votre planification après-décès, veuillez communiquer avec l’un de nos conseillers BDO de confiance.

Collaborateur

Dan Kostenchuk, Associé, fiscalité canadienne

Apprenez-en plus sur nos services en fiscalité canadienne.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 30 septembre 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.