Implications of the Government’s Consultation Paper on Professionals Using Private Corporations

September 2017

NTL-Firm_05Sep17_Website_Private-Corps-Campaign_Article1_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Changes proposed in the federal government’s recent consultation paper, “Tax Planning Using Private Corporations”, could have significant implications for the use of private corporations by professionals. The proposed changes are designed to close loopholes and address perceived issues of fairness in three main areas:

  1. Income splitting with family members to reduce the total family tax burden.
  2. Passive investment portfolios owned by private corporations.
  3. Strategies that convert regular or dividend income into capital gains.

Each of these areas may potentially impact the many Canadian professionals who use private corporations as a legitimate way to manage their income while deferring and reducing their total tax burden.

Changes to private corporation investments

Under the current system, many professionals use private corporations as a form of tax deferral. The reasons for this are clear: corporate tax rates have been falling, while personal tax rates have been trending upward. For many professionals, especially those in the higher tax brackets, use of a private corporation to help defer the total tax burden has been an obvious solution.

When income is earned through a corporation and taxed at the appropriate corporate tax rate—generally between 10.5 and 15 percent for the small business rate and 26 to 31 percent for the top corporate rate, depending on the province or territory, rather than a 50 percent personal marginal tax rate—the amount that the shareholder retains in the corporation can be used for investment purposes. This allows professionals to use after-tax corporate dollars rather than after-tax personal dollars for passive investment purposes. Under the existing rules, refundable taxes apply to passive income earned in a corporation such that the tax paid by the corporation is roughly the same as would be paid personally. The refundable taxes are then refunded to the corporation on payment of shareholder dividends.

The government’s position is that this corporate investment strategy is unfair to Canadian taxpayers, as it allows professionals with private corporations to retain and invest more than individuals who are employees, due to the difference in after-tax profits at the corporate level that is available for investment as compared to the after-tax profits available if the income had been taxed at the top personal marginal tax rates. This disparity could also grow over time due to the returns from company-held passive investments, compounding the perceived advantage. The proposed changes attempt to mitigate these advantages to ensure that a professional working through a private corporation has the same economic advantages as an employee earning the same income, regardless of sweat equity, risks, or key differences in circumstances that make business owners and employees distinct groups.

Impact of elimination of tax deferral strategies

With the reduction or elimination of the described tax deferral strategy, use of a private corporation will become much less useful or tax-efficient for many professionals. One result could be that professional corporations may become a thing of the past, or used only in very specific situations.

Tax deferral and planning considerations

Within the scope of what is currently proposed, there may still be ways to achieve a tax deferral using a private corporation. One such method is the use of individual pension plans, held by the corporation for the employee. An individual pension plan is similar to an RRSP, but in certain circumstances could allow a greater deferral of tax relating to the amounts contributed to the plan.

Addressing income splitting

Income splitting is a commonly used method of transferring income by way of paying corporate dividends to lower-income family shareholders in order to reduce the total family tax burden. While there are already rules in place to limit the ability to split income with minor children, the government is now taking steps to further limit the usefulness of this approach by taxing these funds at the top marginal personal tax rates.

Income splitting is not available to professional accountants or lawyers in all provinces, but this proposed change would affect other professionals who use private corporations, such as doctors. It is important to note that eligibility of who can have shares in a professional corporation depends on provincial rules. According to the current rules, for example, a doctor could pay corporate tax (ranging between 10.5 and 31 percent), then be able to pay dividends out to low-income family members. In some situations, this could result in paying no more tax at all, whereas if the doctor themselves received that money they would likely pay tax at the top personal tax rates on this income.

The government proposals are designed to stop income splitting with all low income adult family members, such as a spouse, or an adult child who is attending university.

Navigating the changes

There are a number of recommendations that professionals using private corporations may want to consider in advance of potential changes in 2018. Professionals should look to employ the tools available to them right now. Planning recommendations to consider include:

  1. Adjust cash flow and investment strategies in the short term. Professionals should reconsider their short-term compensation strategies related to their private corporation in light of the government proposals.
  2. Use income splitting while you can. Professionals who already use income splitting or for whom income splitting is an option are encouraged to take full advantage of the lower personal tax rates of family members for 2017 that are allowed within the current tax landscape.
  3. Reconsider incorporation. Depending on personal and business objectives, incorporation may no longer offer the most tax efficient structure. For professionals currently considering incorporating, it may be wise to hold off until greater clarity on the potential changes is made available.

Due the complexity involved in the proposed tax changes, there is no “one size fits all” strategy for all professionals that use private corporations. Incorporated professionals are strongly encouraged to reach out to their advisors to fully understand the potential impacts to their business, financial and tax planning.

Recommendations on how to provide feedback on the changes

As many of the proposals in the Department of Finance’s consultation paper came with detailed draft legislation, we can assume that many of these changes are likely to be enacted as is or with only minor modifications. The government solicited feedback, particularly regarding the treatment of passive income portfolios held within a private corporation. Interested and affected parties are strongly recommended to review all proposed changes. 

You can provide feedback by speaking to your advisors, professional organizations, and members of parliament.

The proposed changes will have far-reaching consequences for many professionals using private corporations, in 2018 and beyond. To better understand the impact to your personal financial planning and tax strategies, speak to your BDO advisor.

View all of BDO's related content in our Private Corporation Tax Changes Round-up resource.

Contributors

Christina Arnold
Partner, Canadian Tax

Rachel Gervais
Partner, GTA Group Tax Service Line Leader & Transaction Tax Practice Leader


The information in this publication is current as of September 8, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Conséquences du document de consultation du gouvernement sur les professionnels qui ont recours à des sociétés privées

15 septembre 2017

NTL-Firm_05Sep17_Website_Private-Corps-Campaign_Article1_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Les changements proposés dans le récent document de consultation « Planification fiscale au moyen de sociétés privées » du gouvernement fédéral pourraient avoir des conséquences importantes sur l’utilisation de sociétés privées par des professionnels. Les changements proposés visent à éliminer les échappatoires et à s’attaquer aux problèmes perçus en matière d’équité dans trois principaux domaines :

  1. le fractionnement du revenu entre les membres d’une famille en vue de réduire le fardeau fiscal total de la famille;
  2. les portefeuilles de placements passifs détenus par des sociétés privées;
  3. Les stratégies qui convertissent le revenu régulier ou le revenu de dividendes en gains en capital.

Chacun de ces domaines peut avoir des conséquences pour de nombreux professionnels canadiens qui ont recours à des sociétés privées comme moyen légitime de gérer leur revenu tout en reportant ou en réduisant leur fardeau fiscal total.

Changements relatifs aux placements dans des sociétés privées

En vertu du système actuel, de nombreux professionnels ont recours à des sociétés privées comme méthode de report de l’impôt. Les raisons justifiant l’utilisation de cette approche sont claires : les taux d’imposition des sociétés diminuent, alors que les taux d’imposition des particuliers augmentent. Pour de nombreux professionnels, en particulier ceux dont les revenus se situent aux paliers d’imposition supérieurs, l’utilisation d’une société privée pour aider à reporter leur fardeau fiscal total est une solution évidente.

Lorsque le revenu est gagné au moyen d’une société et est imposé au taux d’imposition des sociétés approprié (qui se situe généralement entre 10,5 et 15 pour cent pour les petites entreprises et entre 26 et 31 pour cent en ce qui concerne le taux maximal d’imposition des sociétés, selon la province ou le territoire, plutôt qu’un taux d’imposition marginal de 50 pour cent pour les particuliers), le montant que l’actionnaire conserve dans la société peut être utilisé à des fins de placement. Cette méthode permet aux professionnels d’utiliser les fonds de l’entreprise après impôt plutôt que les fonds personnels après impôt à des fins de placement passif. En vertu des règles actuelles, les impôts remboursables s’appliquent au revenu passif gagné dans une société de façon à ce que l’impôt payé par la société soit à peu près équivalent au montant qui aurait été payé par le particulier. Les impôts remboursables sont ensuite remboursés à la société sur le versement de dividendes aux actionnaires.

Le gouvernement estime que la stratégie de placement dans une société est inéquitable pour les contribuables canadiens, car elle permet aux professionnels ayant des sociétés privées de conserver des fonds et d’investir davantage que les particuliers qui sont des employés en raison de la différence entre les bénéfices après impôt détenus dans la société qui peuvent être investis comparativement aux bénéfices après impôt accessibles si le revenu a été imposé aux taux d’imposition marginaux les plus élevés pour les particuliers. La disparité pourrait également s’accroître au fil du temps en raison des revenus de placements passifs détenus dans la société, ce qui accentue l’avantage perçu. Les changements proposés visent à réduire ces avantages pour s’assurer qu’un professionnel qui exerce ses activités au moyen d’une société privée bénéficie des mêmes avantages économiques qu’un employé qui gagne le même revenu, peu importe l’apport en main-d’œuvre, les risques ou les différences de circonstances qui font en sorte que les propriétaires d’entreprise et les employés font partie de groupes distincts.

Conséquence de l’élimination des stratégies de report de l’impôt

En raison de la réduction ou de l’élimination de la stratégie de report de l’impôt décrite, l’utilisation d’une société privée deviendra beaucoup moins utile ou efficace sur le plan fiscal pour de nombreux professionnels. Les sociétés de professionnels pourraient donc devenir chose du passé ou n’être utilisées que dans des situations très précises.

Points à prendre en compte en matière de planification et de report de l’impôt

Dans le cadre des changements proposés actuellement, il pourrait encore y avoir des façons d’effectuer un report de l’impôt au moyen d’une société privée. L’une de ces méthodes consiste à utiliser un régime de retraite individuel détenu par la société pour l’employé. Un régime de retraite individuel est similaire à un REER, mais dans certaines circonstances, il pourrait permettre un plus grand report de l’impôt en ce qui concerne les montants cotisés au régime.

S’attaquer au fractionnement du revenu

Le fractionnement du revenu est une méthode couramment utilisée afin de réduire le fardeau fiscal total de la famille en transférant le revenu par le versement de dividendes de la société à des actionnaires de la famille ayant un revenu moins élevé. Bien que des règles soient déjà en place pour limiter la capacité de fractionner le revenu avec des enfants mineurs, le gouvernement prend maintenant des mesures pour limiter davantage l’utilité de cette approche en imposant ces fonds au taux d’imposition marginal le plus élevé pour les particuliers.

Le fractionnement du revenu ne peut pas être utilisé par les comptables et les avocats dans toutes les provinces, mais ce changement proposé aurait des conséquences pour d’autres professionnels qui ont recours à des sociétés privées, notamment les médecins. Il est important de prendre note que l’admissibilité des personnes qui peuvent être actionnaires d’une société professionnelle dépend des règles provinciales. En vertu des règles actuelles, par exemple, un médecin pourrait payer l’impôt de la société (qui varie entre 10,5 et 31 pour cent), puis verser des dividendes à des membres de la famille qui ont un faible revenu. Dans certaines situations, cela pourrait faire en sorte qu’aucun impôt additionnel ne serait payé, alors que si le médecin avait reçu lui-même ce montant, il aurait probablement payé de l’impôt au taux d’imposition personnel le plus élevé sur ce revenu.

Les propositions du gouvernement sont conçues pour mettre fin au fractionnement du revenu avec tous les membres de la famille adultes qui ont un revenu plus faible, notamment le conjoint ou un enfant adulte qui fréquente l’université.

Composer avec les changements

Les professionnels qui ont recours à des sociétés privées devraient prendre en compte un certain nombre de recommandations avant que les changements potentiels ne soient apportés en 2018. Les professionnels devraient chercher à utiliser les outils qui sont présentement à leur disposition. Les recommandations de planification à prendre en compte comprennent :

  1. Ajuster, à court terme, les stratégies en matière de flux de trésorerie et de placement. Les professionnels doivent revoir les stratégies de rémunération à court terme en ce qui a trait à leur société privée à la lumière des propositions du gouvernement.
  2. Utiliser le fractionnement du revenu pendant que vous pouvez le faire. Les professionnels qui utilisent déjà le fractionnement du revenu ou pour qui le fractionnement du revenu est une option envisageable devraient tirer pleinement parti des taux d’imposition moins élevés de certains membres de leur famille pour 2017, comme il est permis dans le contexte fiscal actuel.
  3. Réexaminer la constitution en société. En fonction des objectifs personnels et d’affaires, la constitution en société n’offre peut-être plus la structure fiscale la plus efficace. Pour les professionnels qui envisagent actuellement la constitution en société, il pourrait être sage d’attendre d’obtenir plus de précisions sur les changements potentiels avant de le faire.

En raison de la complexité des changements fiscaux proposés, il n’existe pas de stratégie unique adaptée à tous les professionnels qui ont recours à des sociétés privées. Les professionnels constitués en société devraient communiquer avec leurs conseillers pour bien comprendre les conséquences potentielles pour leur planification financière, fiscale et d’affaires.

Recommandations sur la façon de fournir des commentaires à propos des changements

Comme de nombreuses propositions du document de consultation du ministère des Finances sont accompagnées d’un avant-projet de loi détaillé, nous pouvons présumer qu’il est probable qu’un grand nombre de ces changements seront adoptés tels quels ou avec des modifications mineures. Le gouvernement sollicite activement des commentaires, en particulier en ce qui concerne le traitement des portefeuilles de revenu passif détenus au sein d’une société privée. Il est fortement recommandé aux parties intéressées et touchées d’examiner tous les changements proposés et de s’exprimer à propos des propositions et du contenu de l’ensemble du document de consultation.

Vous pouvez fournir des commentaires en discutant avec vos conseillers, vos organismes professionnels et vos députés.

Les changements proposés auront des conséquences d’envergure pour de nombreux professionnels qui ont recours à des sociétés privées en 2018 et pour les années suivantes. Pour mieux comprendre l’incidence de vos stratégies de planification financière et fiscale personnelles, discutez avec votre conseiller BDO.

Collaboratrices

Christina Arnold
Associée, fiscalité canadienne

Rachel Gervais
Associée, chef des services en fiscalité pour le groupe de la RGT et des services transactionnels


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 8 septembre 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.