Credit unions—the impact of the new rules

February 2017

In July of 2016, while many of us were at the cottage enjoying the beautiful weather, the Department of Finance announced a series of technical amendments to the GST/HST legislation. Included in the amendments were some significant changes that were directed at credit unions. This article will highlight how many of the changes will impact credit unions and the potential new filing requirements that credit unions may face.

Selected Listed Financial Institution—Credit Unions

In very general terms a selected listed financial institution (SLFI) is a financial institution that has a presence or permanent establishment (PE) in an HST province and another province. Under the new rules, a credit union would be deemed to have a PE in each province where:

  • land, that acts as security for loans issued by the credit union, is situated;
  • the recipient of a loan resides (other than a loan secured by land) issued by the credit union; or
  • account holder of a deposit account or similar account of the credit union, resides.

While many credit unions were not considered SLFIs under the old rules, it is expected that under the new legislation more credit unions will be considered SLFIs and as a result will be required to file information returns.

Take note that credit unions that are registered for GST/HST and/or QST and qualify as SLFIs and have a December 31 year-end, must file an annual final return for GST/HST and QST, no later than June 30th of the following year. In this case, either GST494 Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax (GST/HST) Final Return for Selected Listed Financial Institutions or RC7294 GST/HST and QST Final Return for Selected Financial Institution must be filed. Keep in mind that because SLFIs are required to use a complicated formula known as the special attribution method to complete these annual returns, the process can be quite onerous. Even credit unions that are not currently registered for GST/HST and QST purposes can be effected by these new rules.

Remember that the objective of filing these returns is to calculate the provincial portion of the HST and QST to the extent that the credit union does business in a particular province. Therefore, the HST/QST that was charged to the SLFI by their suppliers does not represent the ultimate obligation for HST and/or QST.

Determining whether or not your credit union is a SLFI is certainly not straightforward. For instance a credit union located in Manitoba, with deposit holders (or perhaps a mortgage holder) resident across the border in Ontario may now be considered a SLFI under the new rules because it has a PE in one province and a deemed PE in Ontario (which is an HST province). As well, a credit union which provides banking services through its internet website that has a PE in Ontario and deposit holders who reside in Ontario, Quebec and New Brunswick will now be considered a SLFI under the new rules.

GST/HST and QST Information return(s)

Depending on a number of factors including the GST/HST and QST registration status and total revenue, credit unions may also be required to file the annual information return, GST111 Financial Institution GST/HST Annual Information Return or form RC7291 GST/HST and QST Annual Information Returns for Selected Listed Financial Institutions. (Take note that in cases where a credit union is considered SLFI for both GST/HST and QST purposes, it will be form RC7291 that must be filed.)

A “reporting institution”, must file an Annual Information Return, no later than six months after its year-end. In this regard, in general, a credit union that is registered for GST/HST and that has annual income exceeding $1 million is considered a “reporting institution”. As well, a related entity that has filed an election to not have to charge each other GST/HST and QST (referred to as a section 150 closely related election for financial institutions) with the credit union may also qualify as a “reporting institution”.

Now, more than ever, it is important for you to consider if your credit union is caught by the new rules. Please contact your BDO advisor for additional help in determining if these rules apply to your credit union.


The information in this publication is current as of February 2, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it

Caisses de crédit - Conséquences des nouvelles règles

février 2017

En juillet 2016, alors que plusieurs d’entre nous profitaient du beau temps dans un chalet, le ministère des Finances annonçait une série de modifications techniques à la loi relative à la TPS/TVH, notamment des changements importants qui visent tout particulièrement les caisses de crédit. Dans cet article, nous expliquerons l’incidence qu’auront plusieurs de ces changements sur les caisses de crédit et nous aborderons les nouvelles exigences de déclaration auxquelles les caisses de crédit pourraient être soumises. 

Institution financière désignée particulière — Caisses de crédit 

En termes très généraux, une institution financière désignée particulière (IFDP) est une institution financière qui a une présence ou un établissement stable dans une province où la TVH s’applique  ainsi que dans une autre province. En vertu des nouvelles règles, une caisse de crédit sera réputée avoir un établissement stable dans chaque province :

  • où sont situés des terrains servant à garantir des prêts consentis par elle ; 
  • où réside le bénéficiaire d’un prêt (sauf un prêt garanti par un terrain) consenti par elle ;
  • où réside le titulaire d’un compte de dépôt ou d’un autre compte similaire détenu à la caisse de crédit.

Selon les anciennes règles, de nombreuses caisses de crédit n’étaient pas considérées comme des IFDP. En vertu de la nouvelle législation, on prévoit que plusieurs caisses de crédit seront désormais considérées comme des IFDP et devront commencer à produire des déclarations de renseignements. 

Il convient de noter que les caisses de crédit qui sont inscrites à la TPS/TVH ou à la TVQ, qui sont des IFDP et dont la date de fin d’exercice est le 31 décembre devront produire une déclaration finale annuelle de renseignements sur la TPS/TVH et la TVQ au plus tard le 30 juin de l’année suivante. Pour ce faire, elles devront utiliser soit le formulaire GST494 Déclaration finale de la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) pour les institutions financières désignées particulières, soit le formulaire RC7294 Déclaration finale de TPS/TVH et de TVQ pour les institutions financières désignées particulières. Pour remplir ces déclarations finales annuelles, les IFDP seront tenues d’utiliser une formule complexe appelée « méthode d'attribution spéciale », qui peut augmenter considérablement les coûts d’observation du processus. Les nouvelles règles pourraient même toucher les caisses de crédit qui, à l’heure actuelle, ne sont pas inscrites à la TPS/TVH et à la TVQ.

Il ne faut pas oublier que l’objectif de ces formulaires est de calculer la composante provinciale de la TVH et la TVQ attribuable dans la province où la caisse de crédit a exercé des activités. Par conséquent, la TVH/TVQ facturée à l’IFDP par ses fournisseurs ne constitue pas une obligation définitive en matière de TVH ou de TVQ.

Chose certaine, il n'est pas simple de déterminer si votre caisse de crédit est une IFDP ou non. Par exemple, selon les nouvelles règles, une caisse de crédit située au Manitoba qui compte, parmi ses détenteurs de dépôts (ou débiteurs hypothécaires), des résidents de l’Ontario pourrait être considérée comme une IFDP du fait qu’elle a un établissement stable dans une province où la TVH est appliquée (dans ce cas-ci l’Ontario) ainsi que dans une autre province. De même, en vertu des nouvelles règles, une caisse de crédit sera considérée comme une IFDP si elle offre des services bancaires sur son site Internet, a un établissement stable en Ontario et  compte parmi ses détenteurs de dépôts, des résidents de l’Ontario, du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Déclarations de renseignements sur la TPS/TVH et la TVQ

Selon plusieurs facteurs, notamment leur statut d’inscription à la TPS/TVH et à la TVQ et leur revenu total, certaines caisses de crédit pourraient être tenues de produire le formulaire GST111 Déclaration annuelle de renseignements de la TPS/TVH pour les institutions financières ou le formulaire RC7291 Déclaration annuelle de renseignements de la TPS/TVH et de la TVQ pour les institutions financières désignées particulières. (Il convient de noter que si la caisse de crédit est considérée comme une IFDP à la fois aux fins de la TPS/TVH et de la TVQ, elle devra produire le formulaire RC7291.)

Une « institution déclarante » doit produire une déclaration annuelle de renseignements au plus tard six mois après la fin d’un exercice. À cette fin, et de façon générale, une caisse de crédit est considérée comme une « institution déclarante » si elle est inscrite à la TPS/TVH et que son revenu annuel est supérieur à un million de dollars. De même, une entité étroitement liée à la caisse de crédit pourrait être considérée comme une « institution déclarante » si elles ont produit un choix de ne pas se facturer la TPS/TVH et la TVQ (fait référence à un choix fait en vertu de l’article 150 pour les institutions financières étroitement liées).

Dans ce contexte, il est plus important que jamais de vérifier si votre caisse de crédit est visée par les nouvelles règles. N’hésitez pas à demander l’aide de votre conseiller BDO à cet effet. 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces enjeux qui peuvent toucher votre entreprise, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau de BDO ou avec :

Jeff Reid
Associé, taxes indirectes
jareid@bdo.ca

Shelley Smith
Associée, chef de services en taxes indirectes
ssmith@bdo.ca


L’information contenue dans ce document est en date du 2 février 2017.

ette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, veuillez communiquer avec nous. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d’une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.