Creating an Effective Transfer Pricing Strategy

June 13, 2017

Article_Transfer-Pricing-Strategy_Banner_Landing_679x220-(1).jpg

International business expansion is a complex process that must be done strategically in order to minimize risk, limit potential tax liabilities and maximize profits.  Our Doing Business Globally series is designed to give Canadian companies the advice they need to reduce risk, limit exposure and successfully expand into global markets.  Part 3 of our 4 part series provides strategic advice on creating an effective transfer pricing strategy. 

As more businesses look to expand their market share beyond Canada’s borders, issues such as business structure, international taxes and repatriation of profits quickly become top of mind. Yet one relevant area that many business owners overlook is transfer pricing.

While many think that transfer pricing is mainly the concern of large multinational corporations, any business operating in another jurisdiction can run afoul of tax laws governing transfer pricing without proper care and planning. Tax laws relating to transfer pricing, which are designed to ensure that related companies in separate countries transfer goods, services, financing and/or intangibles between them at an arm’s length price, can come into play for even small and mid-sized companies making their first forays outside of Canada. 

Developing a Transfer Pricing Strategy

Any intercompany transactions that cross country borders make transfer pricing laws relevant. If your business is setting up any kind of foreign affiliate, or is already doing business abroad, transfer pricing must be on your corporate radar.

When developing your transfer pricing strategy, there are three key areas to consider:

  1. Planned company growth and direction. Your company goals, plans and motivations to expand into foreign jurisdictions are critical to your transfer pricing strategy. The strategy and policy for a company looking to grow a foreign affiliate into a successful stand-alone business will necessarily look different than that for a company whose foreign entity exists primarily for distribution.
  2. Corporate tax rate management. If your company is looking to manage its effective corporate tax rate, you will want to evaluate whether sufficient substance can be established in lower tax jurisdictions that will allow more of the company’s profits to be taxed in those jurisdictions.  This strategy has to be supported with appropriate transfer pricing analyses and documentation.
  3. Industry. The industry of operation can also influence your transfer pricing strategy. Companies in the technology sector, for example, have historically tended to move their IP to foreign jurisdictions, opening up a variety of tax-efficient options. In contrast, the automotive sector tends to operate more conservatively, focusing on buying from American companies, resulting in much of their value chain being in North America and other developed nations. Industry-driven norms may be a factor in determining the best fit for your company’s needs.

Supporting the Strategy

Regardless of the level of risk that you choose to take on when developing your transfer pricing strategy, it is important to back up the strategy with proper analysis and documentation. Should a company come under scrutiny for inter-affiliate transactions, either by the CRA or the tax authorities in the foreign jurisdiction, this documentation will be critical to support the arm’s length prices used for your goods, services and/or intangibles.

In addition, if your cross-border intercompany transactions exceed $1M, you will also have to file Form T106 – Information Return of Non-Arm’s Length Transactions with Non-Residents, which details all corporate transactions with related parties outside of Canada. The CRA gives careful scrutiny to the information provided in this form, especially in situations where management fees, royalties or interest are paid between related companies.

The Cost of Non-Compliance

Many governments are taking an increasingly aggressive position against possible non-arm’s length transfer pricing in an attempt to reduce losses to tax revenues. Countries such as Canada, the U.S., the UK, Australia and Germany are known to aggressively audit, penalize and litigate transfer pricing cases.  Around the globe there is increasing pressures on transfer pricing as a result of the OECD’s Base Erosion and Profit Shifting (BEPS) action items, resulting on more emphasis on factual and economic substance and the transfer pricing documentation required to evidence such substance.

Within Canada, if the CRA wants to audit your company’s transfer pricing, then your company would receive a letter requesting that you provide the company’s contemporaneous documentation. You would get three months from the date of the letter to provide the economic analysis and transfer pricing documentation to support your intercompany pricing. An auditor would then confirm all details.

Should the auditor’s findings disagree with the documentation, the CRA would then reassess the business’s Canadian income upward, resulting in higher taxes and more interest. Additionally, if your business has not completed appropriate contemporaneous documentation, you would also pay a penalty of 10% on the full amount of the adjustment to income. This can have a substantial financial impact. For example, for a Canadian company paying a 26% effective tax rate, the penalty would take the tax rate on the adjusted income to 36%. Domestically, the CRA can reassess and penalize transfer pricing adjustments within seven years from the date of the original Notice of Assessment.

Appealing a Reassessment

A major concern upon reassessment is double taxation. In essence, when the CRA adjusts the company’s Canadian income, the business has to pay tax on income that has already been taxed in the foreign jurisdiction. In this situation, you can go to Competent Authority (under Canada’s tax treaties with other countries) and request that they negotiate an acceptable conclusion. In the easiest case scenario, the foreign country would grant a deduction for the same amount that the income was increased in Canada. It is important to note that Competent Authority is often a difficult process, but the use of mandatory binding arbitration to solve the fight over tax base between counties is making the process easier on taxpayers. Recent cases that BDO has been involved with, involving Canada and the U.S., were resolved expeditiously immediately before the deadline to advance the case to binding arbitration (i.e., two years after the initiation of competent authority proceedings). 

If the foreign affiliate is located in a country with which Canada has a tax treaty, this is the method by which most of these issues are resolved. If, however, no tax treaty exists or the authorities cannot agree on a ruling, appeals and then court may be the only viable route.

An appeal to the CRA could result in the case being overturned, a modification of the reassessed amount, or verification of the auditor’s findings. Should you still disagree with the ruling, you would have the option of taking the case to the Tax Court of Canada and beyond.

Top Recommendations for Small/Medium Business Owners

If your company is considering a foreign expansion, transfer pricing might not be at the top of your list of priorities, but it absolutely should be on your radar. If you are planning an international expansion or your company has already started foreign operations, here are three critical areas to help mitigate your risk:

  1. Plan your value chain. Consider: what is the shape of your value chain, and does that value chain need to be tied to certain countries? If operations are necessarily tied to specific locations, that will dictate your approach to transfer pricing planning. Otherwise, you can have greater freedom in where to locate your operations worldwide, including looking at low-tax jurisdictions. Expert advice is critical at this stage, not only for tax-efficient transfer pricing but also international and value added tax considerations.
  2. Put substance in the right jurisdictions. If you are using low-tax jurisdictions to help create an optimal tax result, it is imperative to put substance in these jurisdictions to support your plan. This includes following through on recommendations from your advisor, such as opening an office, hiring employees in specific locations with sufficient expertise, opening a new bank account, and other essential requirements.
  3. Comply with legislation. Understand transfer pricing legislation, both at home and in the foreign jurisdictions in which your affiliates operate, and be sure to comply with all requirements. It is important to have all appropriate analysis and documentation completed to ensure the company is ready to defend itself in a transfer pricing audit.

For specifically tailored advice on developing a transfer pricing strategy, or for assistance with transfer pricing analysis and documentation, please contact our BDO Transfer Pricing Practice Leader or your BDO Advisor.

Did you miss an installment of our Doing Business Globally series? Catch up now – Part 1 – Foreign Expansion Options; Part 2 – Repatriation of Profits

Contributor
Dan McGeown
Associate, Transfer Pricing Practice Leader


The information in this publication is current as of June 10, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Pour une stratégie efficace en matière de prix de transfert

juin 2017

Article_Transfer-Pricing-Strategy_Banner_Landing_679x220-(1).jpg

L’expansion d’une entreprise à l’étranger est un processus complexe qui doit être réalisé de façon stratégique pour réduire le risque au minimum, limiter la charge fiscale potentielle et maximiser les profits. Notre série Vendre sur le marché mondial vise à donner aux sociétés canadiennes les conseils dont elles ont besoin pour réduire le risque au minimum, limiter l’exposition et s’ouvrir avec succès aux marchés mondiaux. Dans ce troisième d’une série de quatre articles, nous donnons quelques conseils stratégiques pour créer une stratégie efficace en matière de prix de transfert.

Dans un contexte où de plus en plus d’entreprises cherchent à élargir leur part de marché au-delà des frontières canadiennes, des questions comme la structure d’entreprise, l’impôt international et le rapatriement des profits viennent rapidement à l’esprit. Cependant, de nombreux propriétaires d’entreprise négligent un aspect important : les prix de transfert.

Plusieurs croient que les prix de transfert touchent principalement les grandes sociétés multinationales. Pourtant, toute entreprise qui exerce des activités à l’étranger peut contrevenir aux lois fiscales régissant les prix de transfert si elle n’utilise pas une planification adéquate et ne prend pas les précautions nécessaires. Les lois fiscales relatives aux prix de transfert visent à ce que les sociétés affiliées qui exercent des activités dans différents pays effectuent le transfert entre elles des biens, des services, du financement et des actifs incorporels à un prix de personnes n’ayant pas de lien de dépendance. Ces lois s’appliquent aussi aux petites et moyennes entreprises qui effectuent leur première percée à l’extérieur du Canada.

Élaborer une stratégie de prix de transfert

Toute opération intersociété réalisée à l’extérieur des frontières canadiennes est touchée par les lois relatives aux prix de transfert. Si votre société procède à la constitution d’une société étrangère affiliée de tout type, ou si elle réalise déjà des activités à l’étranger, vous devez déjà porter attention aux prix de transfert.

Lorsque vous élaborez votre stratégie de prix de transfert, vous devez prendre en compte les trois aspects suivants :

  1. Planification de la croissance et de l’orientation de votre société.. Votre stratégie de prix de transfert doit impérativement tenir compte des objectifs, des plans et des motivations de votre entreprise en matière d’expansion à l’étranger. La stratégie et les politiques d’une société qui désire que sa société étrangère affiliée devienne une entreprise autonome prospère seront nécessairement différentes de celles d’une société dont l’entité étrangère existe principalement aux fins de distribution.
  2. Gestion du taux d’imposition des sociétés. Si votre société désire gérer son taux effectif d’imposition, vous devriez évaluer si une substance économique suffisante peut être établie dans des juridictions où le taux d’imposition est faible, ce qui permettra d’imposer une plus grande partie des profits de la société dans ces territoires. Cette stratégie doit être appuyée par de la documentation et des analyses de prix de transfert appropriées.
  3. Secteur. Le secteur d’activité peut également influer sur votre stratégie de prix de transfert. Par exemple, les sociétés du secteur de la technologie ont eu tendance à transférer leur propriété intellectuelle dans des territoires étrangers, ce qui leur a permis de disposer d’une variété d’options fiscalement avantageuses. À l’inverse, les sociétés du secteur de l’automobile exercent généralement leurs activités de façon plus prudente, achetant principalement auprès de sociétés américaines, ce qui fait en sorte qu’une grande partie de leur chaîne de valeur est établie en Amérique du Nord et dans des pays développés. Les normes motivées par le secteur peuvent être un facteur pour déterminer la solution idéale pour votre société.

Soutenir la stratégie

Il est important d’appuyer la stratégie de prix de transfert par une analyse et une documentation appropriées, peu importe le niveau de risque que vous choisissez d’assumer lors de son élaboration. Si une société fait l’objet d’un examen attentif en ce qui concerne ses opérations entre sociétés affiliées, par l’Agence du revenu du Canada (« ARC ») ou les administrations fiscales du pays étranger, cette documentation sera essentielle pour justifier les prix de personnes sans lien de dépendance utilisés pour les biens, les services, le financement ou les actifs incorporels.

Par ailleurs, si vos opérations intersociétés transfrontalières dépassent 1 M$, vous devrez produire le formulaire T106 – Déclaration de renseignements sur des opérations avec lien de dépendance effectuées avec des non-résidents, qui précise toutes les opérations de la société avec des personnes liées à l’extérieur du Canada. L’ARC examine attentivement l’information fournie dans ce formulaire, en particulier dans les situations où des frais de gestion, des redevances et des intérêts sont payés entre les sociétés liées.

Coût lié à la non-observation

Pour réduire les pertes de recettes fiscales, de nombreux gouvernements intensifient leur position à l’égard des prix de transfert qui pourraient ne pas être de pleine concurrence. En règle générale, des pays comme le Canada, les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l’Australie et l’Allemagne vérifient, pénalisent et plaident activement les causes de prix de transfert. Il y a de plus en plus de pression sur les prix de transfert à l’échelle mondiale en raison du Plan d’actions concernant l’érosion de la base d’imposition et le transfert de bénéfices (BEPS) de l’OCDE. Résultat : on met davantage l’accent sur les éléments factuels et la substance économique ainsi que sur la documentation en matière de prix de transfert requise pour en faire la preuve.

Au Canada, si l’ARC désire effectuer une vérification des prix de transfert de votre société, elle vous enverra une lettre pour vous demander la documentation ponctuelle de votre société. Vous aurez trois mois à partir de la date de la lettre pour fournir l’analyse économique et la documentation en matière de prix de transfert pour justifier les prix de cession entre vos sociétés. Un vérificateur confirmera ensuite tous les renseignements.

Si ses conclusions ne concordent pas avec la documentation, l’ARC établira alors une nouvelle cotisation à la hausse du revenu canadien de l’entreprise, ce qui entraînerait des impôts et des intérêts plus élevés. Par ailleurs, si votre entreprise n’a pas préparé la documentation ponctuelle appropriée, vous paierez également une pénalité de 10 % sur le montant total du redressement de revenu. Les conséquences financières peuvent être importantes. Par exemple, pour une société canadienne qui paie de l’impôt à un taux effectif de 26 %, la pénalité hausserait le taux d’imposition sur le revenu modifié à 36 %. Au Canada, l’ARC peut établir une nouvelle cotisation et pénaliser les ajustements de prix de transfert dans les sept ans suivant la date de l’avis de cotisation initial.

Contester une nouvelle cotisation

La double imposition constitue une préoccupation importante à l’égard des nouvelles cotisations. Essentiellement, lorsque l’ARC redresse le revenu canadien de la société, celle-ci doit payer de l’impôt sur les montants déjà imposés dans un territoire étranger. Dans cette situation, vous pouvez vous adresser à l’autorité compétente (en vertu de la convention fiscale entre le Canada et l’autre pays) et lui demander de négocier une conclusion acceptable. Dans le meilleur des cas, le pays étranger accorderait une déduction correspondant au montant de l’augmentation du revenu au Canada. Il est important de prendre note que le processus lié à l’autorité compétente est souvent difficile, mais l’utilisation de l’arbitrage contraignant obligatoire pour régler les différends à l’égard de l’assiette fiscale entre les pays facilite le processus pour les contribuables. Les causes récentes auxquelles BDO a collaboré, concernant le Canada et les États-Unis, ont été résolues de façon expéditive immédiatement avant la date limite pour soumettre la cause à l’arbitrage contraignant (c.-à-d. deux ans après le déclenchement de la procédure de recours à l’autorité compétente).

Si la société étrangère affiliée est située dans un pays avec lequel le Canada a signé une convention fiscale, c’est la méthode la plus utilisée pour résoudre la plupart de ces problèmes. Toutefois, s’il n’existe aucune convention fiscale ou si les administrations fiscales ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur une décision, les appels, et même les recours aux tribunaux, peuvent être les seules options envisageables.

Un appel devant l’ARC pourrait infirmer la décision ou entraîner une modification du montant de la nouvelle cotisation ou une vérification des conclusions du vérificateur. Si vous êtes toujours en désaccord avec la décision, vous pouvez porter l’affaire devant la Cour canadienne de l’impôt ou une instance supérieure.

Principales recommandations pour les propriétaires de PME

Si votre société envisage une expansion à l’étranger, les prix de transfert pourraient ne pas figurer en haut de votre liste de priorités. Toutefois, vous devriez certainement y porter attention. Si vous planifiez une expansion internationale ou si votre société a déjà commencé à exercer des activités à l’étranger, voici trois points importants pour vous aider à réduire votre risque au minimum :

  1. Prévoir votre chaîne de valeur. Posez-vous la question : Quelle est la forme de votre chaîne de valeur et doit-elle être liée à certains pays? Si les activités sont nécessairement liées à des emplacements particuliers, votre approche à l’égard de la planification des prix de transfert devra être adaptée en conséquence. Autrement, vous disposerez d’une plus grande latitude quant à l’endroit où établir vos activités dans le monde, notamment dans des territoires à faible charge fiscale. Il est essentiel d’obtenir des conseils d’expert à cette étape, non seulement pour déterminer un prix de transfert efficace sur le plan fiscal, mais également pour prendre en compte des considérations relatives à la fiscalité internationale et aux taxes sur la valeur ajoutée.
  2. S’assurer que la société a une substance économique dans les juridictions appropriées.. Si vous structurez votre exploitation dans des territoires à faible charge fiscale pour obtenir un résultat fiscal optimal, il est essentiel que votre société ait une substance économique dans ces juridictions, car il en va au soutien à votre plan. Vous devrez donc suivre les recommandations de votre conseiller, que ce soit ouvrir un bureau, embaucher des employés à des emplacements précis détenant une expertise suffisante, ouvrir un compte bancaire ou répondre à d’autres exigences.
  3. Se conformer à la législation. . Familiarisez-vous avec la législation relative aux prix de transfert, à la fois au Canada et dans les pays où vos sociétés affiliées exercent leurs activités, et assurez-vous de respecter toutes les exigences. Il est important de disposer des analyses et de la documentation appropriées pour que la société puisse se défendre si elle fait l’objet d’une vérification des prix de transfert.

Pour recevoir des conseils personnalisés selon votre situation à l’égard de l’établissement d’une stratégie de prix de transfert ou pour obtenir de l’aide à propos de l’analyse et de la documentation des prix de transfert, veuillez communiquer avec notre chef des services en prix de transfert de BDO ou votre conseiller BDO.

Avez-vous raté un article de la série Vendre sur le marché mondial? Consultez les articles maintenant 1re partie – Options pour l’expansion à l’étranger; 2e partie – Rapatriement des profits

Collaborateur
Dan McGeown
Premier directeur, chef des services en prix de transfert


The information in this publication is current as of June 10, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.