Checklist 2019: Save On Your Personal Taxes

October 10, 2019

As we approach the end of the year, now is a good time to think about personal income tax planning. Individuals are taxed on a calendar year basis, meaning that Dec. 31, 2019 is generally the last date for transactions that affect 2019 personal income taxes. So even though your personal tax return won't be due until April 30, 2020 (or June 15, 2020 if you or your spouse is self-employed), there are good reasons to consider a number of tax planning opportunities now before it's too late.

Below are several strategies to help you manage your tax costs. Keep in mind that while not all of these strategies may apply to your particular situation, a trusted BDO advisor can assist you in determining which of these make sense for you. He or she can also help with your tax planning needs.

1. Consider selling investments with accrued losses

If you've realized capital gains in 2019 or in one or more of the last three years, consider selling assets with an accrued loss to offset these gains. To include a disposition of marketable securities in your 2019 tax year, you need to sell them on or before the stock exchange's last trading day for settlement in 2019. The last trading day for settlement in 2019 will generally be Dec. 27 for Canadian exchanges. For other transactions, legal ownership must be transferred before the end of the year.

If you do decide to undertake a tax-loss selling strategy, you should be aware that rules (known as the superficial loss rules) may apply to deny losses on certain dispositions of property. In particular, the loss will be denied if you (or your spouse or a company you or your spouse control) repurchase the asset you disposed of for a loss within 30 days of the disposition.

2. Pay and manage amounts eligible for deduction or credit

Many items that are creditable or deductible for tax purposes must be paid by the end of the year. These amounts include alimony and maintenance, childcare expenses, investment counsel fees, professional dues, charitable donations, medical expenses, and political contributions. To ensure that you will benefit from the tax deduction or credit in 2019, be sure that you pay these amounts by Dec. 31.

Managing your medical expenses

In the case of medical expenses, only amounts in excess of $2,352 (limit may vary by province or territory) or 3% of net income (whichever is less) are eligible for a credit. In Quebec, eligible medical expenses must be reduced by 3% of family income.

If your medical expenses for the current year are already in excess of the threshold, and you anticipate that you won't have medical expenses in excess of the threshold next year, consider paying now for additional expenses that will arise in the near future. Although most medical expenses are only paid as the medical services or supplies are required, some can be paid in advance. Glasses and contact lenses are two common examples. If you're paying for a major expense such as braces on an instalment basis, consider paying the balance owing early to maximize your medical credit claim.

You may have no medical expenses that can be paid in advance. In that case, keep in mind that you can claim eligible medical expenses paid in any 12-month period ending in a given year. For example, consider this scenario:

  • Your medical expenses incurred in the 2019 calendar year don't exceed the threshold.
  • You need major dental surgery.
  • Those dental procedures will run from October 2019 to March 2020.
  • The total cost will be about $5,000, split evenly between 2019 and 2020.
  • Your other eligible medical expenses will total about $1,000 in each of 2019 and 2020.

In this scenario, you wouldn't claim any medical expense in 2019, and you could choose the 12-month period ending on Sept. 30, 2020 as the period to claim medical expenses on your 2020 income tax return. You can then claim all of the dental expenses incurred over the annual threshold, plus the other $1,000 of regular medical expenses incurred in the 12-month period ending Sept. 30, 2020. Note also that medical expenses eligible for the tax credit evolve over time and you should check the Canada Revenue Agency website for a list of common medical expenses that qualify for the credit.

3. Make a contribution to your RRSP

In order to be deductible for 2019, your registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) contribution must be made on or before on or before Feb. 29, 2020 (however, as this is a Saturday, it is anticipated that the due date will be extended to March 2). If you want to know how much you can contribute for 2019, check your RRSP contribution limit on your 2018 notice of assessment or online using the Canada Revenue Agency's (CRA's) My Account service or MyCRA mobile app.

Your contribution limit for 2019 is 18% of your 2018 earned income (to a maximum of $26,500) less your 2018 pension adjustment, if any, plus any RRSP room carried forward from prior years.

Also, remember that if you turn 71 on or before Dec. 31, 2019, you must collapse your RRSP by the end of the year. At that time, you can pay tax on the fair market value of the plan's assets, purchase an annuity, or transfer your RRSP into a registered retirement income fund (RRIF). No tax is paid at the time of the purchase of the annuity or at the time of conversion into an RRIF. Note that despite collapsing your own RRSP, you may still be able to contribute to your spouse's RRSP, provided that such contributions are made no later than the end of the year in which your spouse turns 71.

4. Sell non-qualified investments in your RRSP

There are specific rules as to the types of assets your RRSP can hold. If you have a self-directed RRSP, you may have purchased assets that don't qualify, referred to as non-qualifying investments. Qualified investments generally include money, guaranteed investment certificates, bonds, mutual funds, and securities listed on a designated stock exchange.

If non-qualifying investments are acquired or existing investments become non-qualified, a tax equal to 50% of the amount of such investments will apply to the RRSP holder. Where the non-qualifying investment is disposed of, the tax will be refunded if certain conditions are met. If the purchase and sale are in the same year, the tax and the refund will generally be offset. If you find that you have non-qualifying assets in your RRSP, it will be beneficial to dispose of the non-qualifying assets before Dec. 31, 2019.

5. Remember to make your required HBP repayment

If you participated in the Home Buyers' Plan (HBP) prior to 2018, you may have a repayment due in the 2019 taxation year.

Generally, you have up to 15 years to repay the HBP loan from your RRSP. The CRA issues an annual HBP statement of your account, and your required repayment amount will be shown on that statement. Your 2019 minimum repayment amount will be shown on the statement, which would have been received with your 2018 notice of assessment.

If the minimum repayment isn't made, you will be required to include the shortfall from the minimum payment in your income. To ensure the minimum annual HBP repayment isn't included in your taxable income for 2019, the required amount must be repaid to your RRSP on or before Feb. 29, 2020. A repayment is made by making a regular contribution to your RRSP. Repayments to your HBP don't affect your RRSP deduction limit. This means that you can still contribute to your RRSP and designate that amount as a repayment under the HBP, even if your RRSP deduction limit is zero.

If you are eligible to participate in the HBP, you should keep in mind that the government increased the withdrawal limit to $35,000 from $25,000 in respect of withdrawals after March 19, 2019.

6. Pay interest on low-interest loans

If you have entered into an income-splitting arrangement with family members by loaning your personal after-tax funds to a spouse or common-law partner, a minor child, or a family trust at the CRA's prescribed rate, you should pay the interest before Jan. 30, 2020. If the interest isn't paid on time, the loan will be subject to the attribution rules, which will tax the income earned by the family member who received the loan in your hands.

Also, if you received a low-interest loan from your employer during any point in the year, you should ensure that interest is paid before Jan. 30, 2020 in order to avoid a deemed taxable employment benefit. This benefit will also be calculated at the CRA's prescribed rate for the period that the loan was outstanding, less any interest actually paid. The CRA's prescribed rate has been 2% since April 1, 2018.

Note that if you received a loan by virtue of your shareholdings rather than employment, a different set of rules will apply. In addition, since Jan. 1, 2018, the tax on split income rules were expanded and could affect loans from private corporations to certain family members. If you or your family members borrowed money from your corporation, contact your BDO advisor to discuss whether there are any income tax implications arising from the loan.

7. Reimburse the costs associated with company cars

If your employer provides you with a company car, a taxable benefit will be included on your T4 slip.

The actual benefit is made up of two parts:

  • A standby charge for making the automobile available for your use. It's calculated based on a percentage of the original cost or the monthly lease payments for the automobile.
  • An operating benefit that applies if your employer pays the automobile's operating expenses, such as gasoline and maintenance. A portion of the employer-paid operating expenses will be a taxable benefit if you've driven the automobile for personal purposes. In 2019, this benefit is equal to $0.28 per personal kilometre driven.

The standby charge and the operating benefit are reduced by the amounts you pay to your employer. For a standby charge reduction, your payment must be made on or before Dec. 31, 2019. For an operating benefit reduction, you will have until Feb. 14, 2020 to make a reimbursement to your employer to reduce your taxable benefit.

8. Check your personal income tax instalments

If you're required to pay tax instalments, now is a good time to check to see if you're up to date on your 2019 payments. If you've paid the instalments on the notices sent to you by the CRA for 2019 and plan to make the required final payment by Dec. 15, 2019, then you are up to date.

If you paid less than the amount on the CRA notice because you thought that your income for 2019 would be less than 2018, now is a good time to check to see if you have paid enough.

If you haven't paid your tax instalments, the CRA will charge you interest at the current rate of 6%. If you find that you haven't paid enough for your estimated income for 2019, you can make an overpayment on your instalment account to generate an offset to some or all of the interest charges that will otherwise be assessed. Check with your BDO advisor for assistance in making a determination as to whether this would be a good strategy for you. Further information about income tax instalments can be found in our bulletin, Failure to Pay Instalments Can Be Costly.

Note that individuals whose main source of income is self-employment income from farming or fishing are only required to make one instalment payment, which is due by Dec. 31.

It's not too late to save on your 2019 taxes

Tax planning shouldn't be something that only happens when you file your tax return. By investing some time to review your personal tax situation during the year, and especially as you near the end of the year, you may find some easy ways to save on your annual personal tax bill.

Contact your local BDO office today to see which year-end strategies work best for you.


The information in this publication is current as of Aug. 28, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Liste de contrôle 2019 : pour réaliser des économies d’impôt

10 octobre 2019

À l'approche de la fin de l'année, il est temps de passer en mode planification à l'égard de l'impôt sur le revenu. Les particuliers sont imposés sur la base de l'année civile; ainsi, le 31 décembre 2019 constitue habituellement la date ultime pour effectuer des transactions qui seront prises en compte dans le calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu pour 2019. Même si vous avez jusqu'au 30 avril 2020 (ou 15 juin 2020 si votre conjoint ou vous êtes travailleur autonome) pour produire votre déclaration de revenus, vous auriez avantage à envisager un certain nombre d'occasions de planification fiscale avant qu'il ne soit trop tard.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous différentes stratégies pour vous aider à optimiser votre fardeau fiscal. Puisque certaines de ces stratégies ne s'appliquent pas nécessairement à votre situation, votre conseiller BDO peut vous aider à déterminer celles qui vous conviennent. Il peut également vous apporter son appui relativement à vos besoins en matière de planification fiscale.

1. Songer à vendre des placements ayant des pertes latentes

Si vous avez réalisé des gains en capital en 2019 ou pendant au moins une des trois dernières années, envisagez de vendre des placements ayant des pertes latentes afin de réduire ces gains. Pour inclure la vente de ces titres négociables dans votre année d'imposition 2019, vous devez effectuer la transaction au plus tard le dernier jour de négociation à la bourse permettant un règlement en 2019. En règle générale, il s'agit du 27 décembre 2019 pour les bourses canadiennes. Pour les autres opérations, la propriété légale doit être transférée avant la fin de l'année.

Si vous décidez de mettre en œuvre une stratégie de vente à perte à des fins fiscales, vous devez savoir que des règles (appelées règles sur les pertes apparentes) peuvent vous empêcher d'utiliser des pertes sur certaines dispositions de biens. Plus précisément, la perte ne sera pas déductible si vous (ou votre conjoint ou une entreprise dont votre conjoint ou vous avez le contrôle) rachetez le bien vendu à perte dans les 30 jours suivant sa vente.

2. Payer et optimiser les montants admissibles à des déductions ou des crédits

Plusieurs montants donnant droit à des déductions ou des crédits aux fins de l'impôt doivent être payés avant la fin de l'année. Il en est ainsi pour les pensions alimentaires, les frais de garde d'enfants, les honoraires de conseillers en placement, les cotisations professionnelles, les dons de bienfaisance, les frais médicaux et les contributions politiques. Pour bénéficier de la déduction fiscale ou du crédit en 2019, assurez-vous de régler ces montants au plus tard le 31 décembre 2019.

Gestion de vos frais médicaux

En ce qui concerne les frais médicaux, seuls les montants dépassant le moins élevé de 2 352 $ (cette limite peut varier d'une province à l'autre) ou 3 % du revenu net sont admissibles à un crédit. Au Québec, seuls les frais médicaux admissibles dépassant 3 % du revenu familial donnent droit au crédit.

Si vos frais médicaux pour l'année courante dépassent déjà le seuil établi, et si vous croyez qu'il n'en sera pas ainsi l'année prochaine, vous pouvez devancer le paiement des dépenses que vous effectueriez sous peu de toute façon. La plupart des frais médicaux ne sont généralement payés qu'au moment de l'achat de l'équipement ou de la prestation des services médicaux. Toutefois, quelques-uns peuvent être payés à l'avance, notamment les lunettes et les verres de contact. Si vous acquittez des frais importants par versements, comme dans le cas d'appareils d'orthodontie, vous pouvez augmenter votre crédit pour frais médicaux en acquittant le solde plus tôt.

Si cette option ne s'applique pas à votre situation, d'autres stratégies s'offrent à vous. Par exemple, la déduction peut être demandée pour les frais médicaux admissibles payés au cours de n'importe quelle période de 12 mois se terminant au cours de l'année civile. Allons-y d'un exemple pour illustrer ce propos :

  • Vos frais médicaux pour l'année civile 2019 ne dépasseront pas le seuil fixé;
  • Vous avez besoin de soins dentaires majeurs;
  • Ces derniers s'échelonneront d'octobre 2019 à mars 2020;
  • Ils coûteront 5 000 $. Vous réglerez la moitié des frais en 2019 et l'autre moitié en 2020;
  • Vos autres frais médicaux admissibles devraient s'élever à 1 000 $ autant en 2019 qu'en 2020.

Ainsi, vous ne demanderiez pas de déduction pour les frais médicaux en 2019. Dans votre déclaration de revenus de 2020, vous indiqueriez le 30 septembre 2020 en tant que date de fin de la période de 12 mois pour vos frais médicaux. Vous pourrez alors inclure tous les frais dentaires encourus au-dessus du seuil annuel et les 1 000 $ en frais médicaux acquittés pendant la période de 12 mois se terminant le 30 septembre 2020. Veuillez également noter que les frais médicaux admissibles au crédit d'impôt varient avec le temps et vous devriez consulter le site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada pour prendre connaissance de la liste des frais médicaux les plus courants qui sont admissibles au crédit.

3. Cotiser au REER

Afin de bénéficier d'une déduction pour 2019, vous devez cotiser à votre régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) au plus tard le 29 février 2020 (toutefois, puisqu'il s'agit d'un samedi, nous prévoyons que la date limite sera établie au 2 mars). Si vous souhaitez connaître vos droits de cotisation pour 2019, consultez votre avis de cotisation pour 2018 ou vérifiez en ligne en visitant la section « Mon dossier » sur le site Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) ou en utilisant l'application mobile « MonARC ».

Votre plafond de cotisation pour 2019 est fixé à 18 % du revenu gagné en 2018 (jusqu'à concurrence de 26 500 $), moins votre facteur d'équivalence pour 2018, s'il y a lieu, plus les droits de cotisation à un REER que vous avez cumulés les années précédentes.

De plus, si vous atteignez l'âge de 71 ans d'ici le 31 décembre 2019, vous devrez liquider votre REER avant la fin de l'année. À ce moment, vous pourrez payer de l'impôt sur la juste valeur marchande des actifs du régime, utiliser ceux-ci pour acheter une rente ou transférer votre REER dans un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR). Aucun impôt n'est à payer au moment de l'achat d'une rente ou de la conversion d'un REER en FERR. Veuillez prendre note que même si vous liquidez votre REER, il est possible que vous puissiez encore cotiser au REER de votre conjoint pourvu que les cotisations soient faites au plus tard la fin de l'année au cours de laquelle le conjoint atteint l'âge de 71 ans.

4. Vendre les placements non admissibles détenus dans votre REER

Des règles particulières s'appliquent aux types d'actifs qui peuvent composer votre REER. Si vous détenez un REER autogéré, vous pourriez avoir acheté des actifs qui ne respectent pas ces règles, aussi appelés des placements non admissibles. Parmi les placements admissibles, mentionnons les espèces, les certificats de placement garanti (CPG), les obligations, les fonds communs de placement et les valeurs mobilières cotées à une bourse de valeurs désignée.

Si des placements non admissibles sont achetés ou si des placements déjà détenus deviennent non admissibles, le détenteur du REER devra payer un impôt équivalant à 50 % de la valeur de ces placements. À la vente des placements non admissibles, l'impôt sera remboursé, si certaines conditions sont respectées. Si l'achat et la vente surviennent pendant la même année, le remboursement devrait annuler l'impôt payé. Si vous réalisez que vous détenez des placements non admissibles dans votre REER, il est préférable de les vendre avant le 31 décembre 2019.

5. Faire le remboursement dans le cadre du RAP

Si vous avez eu recours au Régime d'accession à la propriété (RAP) avant 2018, vous pourriez devoir effectuer un remboursement pendant l'année d'imposition 2019.

En règle générale, vous disposez de 15 ans pour rembourser le montant retiré dans votre REER. Chaque année, l'ARC produit un état de compte qui mentionne le montant à rembourser de votre RAP. Le montant propre à 2019 figure sur ce document, que vous devriez avoir reçu avec votre avis de cotisation pour 2018.

Si le remboursement minimal n'est pas effectué pour une année donnée, vous devrez ajouter la différence par rapport à ce montant à votre revenu. Pour éviter cette situation, assurez-vous d'effectuer les cotisations requises à votre REER d'ici le 29 février 2020. Ces cotisations servent à rembourser le montant retiré en vertu du RAP. Le remboursement du montant retiré en vertu du RAP n'a aucune incidence sur le maximum déductible au titre des REER. Ainsi, vous pouvez cotiser à votre REER et désigner ce montant à titre de remboursement en vertu du RAP, même si votre plafond de cotisations à un REER est de zéro.

Si vous êtes admissible au RAP, gardez en tête que le gouvernement a augmenté la limite de retrait de 25 000 $ à 35 000 $ pour les retraits effectués après le 19 mars 2019.

6. Payer l'intérêt sur les prêts à faible taux

Si vous effectuez un prêt à même vos revenus après impôts afin de fractionner votre revenu avec des membres de votre famille en faveur de votre époux, votre conjoint de fait, un enfant mineur ou une fiducie familiale, au taux prescrit par l'ARC, vous devriez payer l'intérêt sur un tel prêt avant le 30 janvier 2020. Autrement, le prêt deviendra assujetti aux règles d'attribution, et vous devrez payer de l'impôt sur le revenu gagné par le membre de la famille ayant bénéficié du prêt.

De plus, si vous avez obtenu un prêt à faible taux auprès de votre employeur pendant l'année, veillez à payer la charge d'intérêt avant le 30 janvier 2020 afin d'éviter que le montant devienne un avantage imposable lié à l'emploi. Cet avantage sera également calculé en fonction du taux prescrit par l'ARC pour la période pendant laquelle le prêt était en vigueur, réduit de tout intérêt payé. Le taux d'intérêt prescrit fixé à 2 % par l'ARC est le même depuis le 1er avril 2018.

Si vous avez obtenu un prêt à titre d'actionnaire plutôt que d'employé, des règles différentes s'appliquent. Depuis le 1er janvier 2018, les règles relatives à l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné ont été élargies et pourraient avoir une incidence sur les prêts effectués par une société privée en faveur de certains membres de la famille. Si un membre de votre famille ou vous avez emprunté des fonds à votre société, communiquez avec votre conseiller BDO pour déterminer si ce prêt peut avoir des impacts fiscaux sur votre revenu.

7. Rembourser les coûts associés aux voitures de fonction

Si votre employeur vous fournit une voiture de fonction, un avantage imposable figurera sur votre feuillet T4.

Cet avantage se compose de deux éléments :

  • des frais pour droit d'usage qui sont liés à la mise à votre disposition du véhicule. Ils correspondent à un pourcentage du coût d'origine ou des versements mensuels pour la location du véhicule;
  • des frais de fonctionnement, si votre employeur paie l'essence, l'entretien ou d'autres dépenses liées au fonctionnement du véhicule. Une partie des frais de fonctionnement acquittés par l'employeur constitue un avantage imposable si vous avez conduit le véhicule à des fins personnelles. En 2019, cet avantage est calculé à raison de 0,28 $ par kilomètre parcouru à des fins personnelles.

Les montants que vous payez à votre employeur sont déduits des frais pour droit d'usage et des frais de fonctionnement. Pour que cette déduction soit valide à l'égard des frais pour droit d'usage, vous devez effectuer votre paiement d'ici le 31 décembre 2019. Dans le cas des frais de fonctionnement, vous avez jusqu'au 14 février 2020 pour rembourser votre employeur afin de réduire votre avantage imposable.

8. Vérifier vos paiements d'acomptes provisionnels

Si vous devez effectuer des paiements d'acomptes provisionnels, le moment est bien choisi pour vérifier si vous êtes à jour dans vos paiements pour 2019. Si vous avez payé les montants indiqués sur les avis que vous avez reçus de l'ARC pour 2019 et que vous prévoyez effectuer le dernier paiement requis d'ici le 15 décembre 2019, vous êtes à jour.

Si vous avez payé moins que les montants indiqués sur les avis de l'ARC en pensant que votre revenu pour 2019 serait inférieur à celui de 2018, il est temps de vérifier si vous avez payé des acomptes suffisants.

Si vous n'avez pas effectué vos paiements d'acomptes provisionnels, l'ARC vous facturera des intérêts au taux actuel de 6 %. Si vous réalisez que les paiements que vous avez effectués sont insuffisants par rapport à votre revenu estimé pour 2019, vous pouvez effectuer un paiement plus élevé que celui qui est requis à votre compte pour compenser une partie ou la totalité des frais d'intérêt qui s'appliqueront autrement. Consultez votre conseiller BDO afin de déterminer s'il s'agit d'une stratégie qui vous convient. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les paiements d'acomptes provisionnels dans notre bulletin Il peut vous coûter cher de ne pas payer vos acomptes provisionnels.

Il est à noter que les personnes dont la principale source de revenu est un travail indépendant dans les secteurs de l'agriculture ou de la pêche n'ont qu'un seul paiement d'acomptes provisionnels à effectuer avant le 31 décembre.

Réduire le fardeau fiscal pour 2019 : il est encore temps d'agir

Une planification fiscale ne devrait pas avoir lieu uniquement au moment de produire votre déclaration de revenus. En consacrant du temps à l'analyse de votre situation fiscale personnelle pendant l'année, et particulièrement à l'approche de la nouvelle année, vous pourriez découvrir des méthodes simples pour réduire votre facture d'impôt annuelle.

Contactez votre bureau de BDO local dès aujourd'hui pour connaître les stratégies qui pourraient vous être profitables.


L'information présentée dans cette publication est à jour en date du 28 août 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n'est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d'ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l'obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d'une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.