Capital Gains Versus Dividends – What is the Issue?

June 2017

NTL_Firm_26Jun17_Website_Capital-Gains-Versus-Dividends_679x220.jpg

Bill Morneau, the Minister of Finance, vowed to take action to create tax fairness for the middle class when he tabled the 2017 Federal Budget in March of this year. As a result, he targeted private corporations as a key way that certain taxpayers can achieve tax savings, which are not available to employees or owners of an unincorporated business. The government intends to table a report setting out tax-saving strategies employed by the owners of private corporations and the corresponding policy responses to make appropriate changes to the current law. One of three key areas to be addressed in this report is the manner in which shareholders of private corporations extract funds from their corporations.

“Traditionally, a shareholder would receive after-tax profits in the form of a dividend and would only realize a capital gain when the shares were disposed of”, says Dan Kostenchuk, a Tax partner in the BDO Canada Winnipeg office. An individual taxpayer in Canada who pays tax at the highest personal tax rate in 2017 would pay tax on a capital gain at rates varying from about 22% to 27%, depending on the province of residence.

There are two types of dividends that a Canadian private company can pay: eligible and non-eligible. The tax rate on eligible dividends varies across the country from about 25% to about 43%. The tax rate on non-eligible dividends varies from about 36% to about 47%, depending on province of residence. If a taxpayer had a choice of paying tax on a capital gain or paying tax on non-eligible dividend, they would choose the capital gain in order to minimize personal tax.

An owner-manager can also withdraw funds from their company by paying themselves a salary for the work performed. The salary is deducted from corporate income for tax purposes but is taxable to the owner-manager as employment income. The individual would then pay personal tax on the salary, at the highest rates that vary from about 44% to 54% across Canada.

A shareholder may be able to extract funds from the company and pay a capital gains tax rate on the funds received in certain circumstances while keeping the shares of the company. “In some cases, the Canada Revenue Agency has challenged these arrangements”, says Kostenchuk, but the Canadian Tax Courts have generally found that such planning is allowed under the Canadian tax rules. This planning does not result in a taxpayer avoiding paying tax, but the tax is paid at capital gains tax rates rather than dividend tax rates. In the past several years, Canada has seen the tax rate on corporate profits decline, while personal tax rates have increased. It is this tax rate differential that has created a situation where capital gains income is taxed at a much more preferable rate than dividends.

As announced by Minister Morneau at a recent Board of Trade speech in Toronto, we expect the government to release a consultation paper in the coming days or weeks proposing changes to the way private corporations are taxed as a way of dealing with these three tax savings strategies. Following the release of this paper, we will be hosting a webinar with Dave Walsh, Tax Service Line Leader for Canada along with a number of our Partners in order to review and discuss the impact on private corporation owners. Our BDO Canada Tax advisors will remain dedicated to providing you with updates and information as it is released.

Update - July 18, 2017

Finance Minister Bill Morneau released the much anticipated consultation paper on July 18 proposing changes to how private corporations are used to gain tax advantages. The Canadian Department of Finance promised a consultation paper, however, Canadian taxpayers received proposals with effective dates and draft legislation on income splitting and conversion of capital gains. The federal government is asking for further consultation around holding passive investments inside a private corporation.  See our detailed review and watch our on demand webinar to learn more about the proposed reforms and how they might impact you.

For more information or assistance, please feel free to contact us.


The information in this publication is current as of June 26, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Gains en capital ou dividendes - telle est la question...

juin 2017

NTL_Firm_26Jun17_Website_Capital-Gains-Versus-Dividends_679x220.jpg

En mars dernier, Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances, s’est engagé à obtenir l’équité fiscale pour la classe moyenne lorsqu’il a déposé le Budget fédéral de 2017. Pour ce faire, il a visé les sociétés privées comme meilleur moyen de permettre à certains contribuables de réaliser des économies d’impôt, ce qui n’est pas à la portée des employés ou des propriétaires d’entreprises non constituées en société. Le gouvernement prévoit déposer un rapport dressant des stratégies d’économie d’impôt auxquelles les propriétaires d’entreprises privées font appel accompagné des réponses de politiques fiscales correspondantes afin de procéder aux modifications appropriées de la loi actuelle. L’un des trois éléments traités dans ce rapport est la manière dont les actionnaires de sociétés privées utilisent celles-ci pour en retirer des fonds.

« Habituellement, un actionnaire percevait des bénéfices après impôt sous forme de dividendes et réalisait uniquement un gain en capital lorsque les actions étaient vendues », explique Dan Kostenchuck, associé en fiscalité du bureau de Winnipeg de BDO Canada. Au Canada, un particulier qui est imposé au taux d’impôts des particuliers le plus élevé en 2017 paiera de l’impôt sur le gain en capital à des taux oscillants entre 22 % et 27 %, et ce, selon sa province de résidence.

Il existe deux types de dividendes qu’une société privée canadienne peut payer : déterminé ou non déterminé. Le taux d’imposition sur les dividendes déterminés oscille entre environ 25 % et environ 43 % à travers le pays. Le taux d’imposition sur les dividendes non déterminés varie entre environ 36 % et environ 47 %, selon la province de résidence. Si un contribuable avait le choix de payer l’impôt sur un gain en capital ou sur un dividende non déterminé, il choisirait le gain en capital afin de réduire au minimum son impôt personnel.

Un propriétaire-exploitant pourrait également retirer des fonds de sa société en se versant un salaire pour le travail effectué. Le salaire est déduit du revenu de la société aux fins de l’impôt, mais il est imposable dans les mains du propriétaire-exploitant à titre de revenu d’emploi. Le particulier paie alors l’impôt des particuliers sur le salaire aux taux les plus élevés qui vont de 44 % à 54 % à travers le Canada.

Un actionnaire peut être en mesure de retirer des fonds de l’entreprise et de payer un impôt pour gain en capital sur les fonds reçus dans certaines circonstances tout en conservant les actions de la société. « Dans certains cas, l’Agence du revenu du Canada a contesté ces arrangements », affirme Kostenchuk, mais les Cours canadiennes de l’impôt ont généralement tranché qu’une telle planification est permise par les lois de l’impôt du revenu du Canada. Cette forme de planification n’est pas de l’évitement fiscal par le contribuable, par contre, l’impôt est payé aux taux du gain en capital plutôt qu’aux taux d’imposition sur les dividendes. Au cours des dernières années, le Canada a subi une baisse du taux d’imposition sur le revenu des sociétés, tandis que les taux d’imposition des particuliers ont augmentés. C’est cette différence de taux d’imposition qui a engendré une situation où le revenu provenant des gains en capital bénéficie d’un taux beaucoup plus avantageux que celui pour les dividendes.

À la suite de l’annonce du ministre Morneau dans un récent discours à la chambre de commerce de Toronto, nous prévoyons que le gouvernement publiera un document de consultation dans les prochains jours ou les prochaines semaines proposant des changements à l’imposition des sociétés privées pour éliminer ces trois stratégies d’économie d’impôt. Après la publication du document, nous tiendrons un webinaire avec Dave Walsh, chef des services en fiscalité pour le Canada et plusieurs associés pour en examiner l’incidence sur les propriétaires de sociétés privées et en discuter. Les conseillers BDO continueront de s’employer à vous fournir des mises à jour et de l’information à mesure qu’elle sera publiée.


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 26 juin 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP., une société canadienne à responsabilité limitée/société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, est membre de BDO International Limited, société de droit anglais, et fait partie du réseau international de sociétés membres indépendantes BDO. BDO est la marque utilisée pour désigner le réseau BDO et chacune de ses sociétés membres.