What Canada’s new luxury tax means for auto dealers

August 10, 2022

Canada's new federal luxury tax will take effect on September 1, 2022. It's crucial for auto dealers to have a clear understanding of what types of vehicles are subject to luxury tax, how it is calculated and reported, and what needs to be done now to prepare for its introduction.

How does luxury tax apply to auto sales?

Auto dealers will be required to pay luxury tax on sales of subject vehicles where the sale price, including improvements, exceeds $100,000. A subject vehicle is a motor vehicle with four or more wheels designed primarily to carry individuals with a seating capacity of not more than 10 individuals and a weight not exceeding 3,856 kilograms.

Luxury tax differs from sales tax and will be a component of the base on which sales tax is calculated. Dealers should ensure they are aware of the impact of luxury tax costs in respect of such sales, and that they are not out of pocket for the tax by building their luxury tax cost into the sale price of subject vehicles.

When does luxury tax take effect?

Luxury tax will apply to sales of subject vehicles on or after September 1, 2022. It can also apply to sales of subject vehicles where written agreements were entered into with customers between January 1, 2022 and August 31, 2022 if the vehicle is delivered to the purchaser on or after September 1, 2022.

Luxury tax will generally not be payable by a registered dealer in respect of the sale of a subject vehicle where ownership and possession are transferred to the purchaser before September 1, 2022.

How will luxury tax be calculated and reported?

Luxury tax will be calculated by an auto dealer at the lesser of 20% of the value of the consideration in excess of the $100,000 threshold and 10% of the full value of the vehicle.

The first return, which will cover the four-month period from implementation to December 31, 2022, will be due on January 31, 2023. After that point, all returns and remittances will be due one month after the end of each calendar quarter.

What should auto dealers do to prepare?

It's important to understand which vehicles are subject to luxury tax and which ones are not. Luxury tax does not apply in the following circumstances:

  • Vehicles sold for less than $100,000.
  • Vehicles manufactured prior to 2019.
  • Previously licensed vehicles.
  • Sales of vehicles not designed primarily to carry individuals (e.g. cargo vans).
  • Vehicles with fewer than four wheels.
  • Passenger vehicles designed to carry more than 10 individuals.
  • Ambulances, police cars, fire trucks, hearses, and certain recreational vehicles.

To get ready for the impact of luxury tax, auto dealers should consider the following steps:

  • Prepare to register to collect luxury tax if your dealership plans to sell subject vehicles. Dealers will be required to provide a purchase exemption certificate to their suppliers confirming they are registered to pay luxury tax.
  • Consider the cost of luxury tax on any subject vehicles that the dealership licenses, such as service vehicles or courtesy cars. Luxury tax will be payable at that time.
  • Consider structuring lease arrangements to minimize the effect of the tax on the dealership's cash flow. Registered dealers that also lease vehicles to customers will be required to pay luxury tax on the leased vehicle when possession is transferred to the customer, rather than over the term of the lease.
  • Configure sales and accounting systems to properly account for luxury tax as a cost to the dealer and payable to the Canada Revenue Agency. Dealers should also be able to identify the sale of upgrades or improvements to be installed on vehicles in connection with the sale that may trigger luxury tax.
  • Review all sales where an agreement was entered into between January 1 and August 31, 2022, but the vehicle will be delivered on or after September 1, 2022. If luxury tax was not factored in when the price was agreed upon, dealers may wish to review the terms and conditions of the sale to consider whether price adjustments can be made to reflect the additional cost.  

Our podcast provides additional insight about the impact the new luxury tax will have on the costs and cash flow for auto dealerships and offers tips to help your business plan ahead. If you need more details regarding the application of luxury tax to your auto dealership, please contact your BDO indirect tax advisor.

Check out Brian Morcombe's recent appearance on “The Jas Johal Show” for a discussion on the implications of this new tax.

Apple | Player FM | Spotify

Bruce Goudy, Director, Indirect Tax

Brian Morcombe, Partner, Indirect Tax National Service Line Leader


The information in this publication is current as of August 2, 2022.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Incidence de la nouvelle taxe de luxe du Canada sur les concessionnaires d’automobiles

10 août 2022

La nouvelle taxe de luxe du Canada entrera en vigueur le 1er septembre 2022. Il est important pour les concessionnaires d'automobiles de bien comprendre les types de véhicules qui seront assujettis à cette taxe, la façon de la calculer et de la déclarer ainsi que les mesures à prendre dès maintenant pour se préparer à son entrée en vigueur.

Application de la taxe de luxe aux ventes d'automobiles

Les concessionnaires d'automobiles devront payer la taxe de luxe sur les ventes de véhicules assujettis dont le prix de vente, y compris les améliorations qui y sont apportées, est supérieur à 100 000 $. Un véhicule assujetti est un véhicule à moteur à quatre roues ou plus conçu principalement pour le transport de personnes qui comptent au maximum dix places assises et dont le poids est inférieur à 3 856 kilogrammes.

La taxe de luxe diffère de la taxe de vente; elle constitue un élément sur lequel reposera le calcul de la taxe de vente. Les concessionnaires devraient tenir compte de l'incidence de la taxe de luxe applicable aux véhicules assujettis et intégrer la taxe dans le prix de vente de ces véhicules pour éviter d'avoir à assumer les coûts qu'elle engendre.

Entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle taxe

La taxe de luxe s'appliquera aux ventes de véhicules assujettis à compter du 1er septembre 2022. Elle pourrait également s'appliquer à la vente de véhicules assujettis pour lesquels des accord écrits ont été conclus avec des clients entre le 1er janvier 2022 et le 31 août 2022 si les véhicules sont livrés aux acheteurs à compter du 1er septembre 2022.

Les concessionnaires inscrits ne seront pas tenus de payer la taxe lors de la vente de véhicules assujettis si la propriété et la possession sont transférées aux acheteurs avant le 1er septembre 2022.

Calcul et déclaration de la taxe de luxe

Le montant de la taxe de luxe sera calculé par les concessionnaires d'automobiles et correspondra au moins élevé de 20 % de l'excédent du seuil de 100 000 $ ou 10 % de la valeur intégrale du véhicule.

La première déclaration, qui couvre une période de quatre mois, soit de la date d'entrée en vigueur de la taxe au 31 décembre 2022, doit être produite le 31 janvier 2023. Par la suite, les déclarations et les versements devront être faits au plus tard un mois suivant la fin de la période de déclaration trimestrielle.

Mesures à prendre par les concessionnaires d'automobiles pour se préparer

Il est important de connaître les véhicules qui sont assujettis à la taxe de luxe et ceux qui ne le sont pas. La taxe de luxe ne s'applique pas dans les cas suivants :

  • Véhicules dont le prix de vente est inférieur à 100 000 $;
  • Véhicules fabriqués avant 2019;
  • Véhicules déjà immatriculés;
  • Véhicules qui ne sont pas conçus principalement pour le transport de personnes (par exemple, les fourgonnettes utilitaires);
  • Véhicules ayant moins de quatre roues;
  • Véhicules de tourisme conçus pour transporter plus de dix personnes;
  • Ambulances, voitures de police, camions de pompiers, corbillards et certains véhicules récréatifs.

Pour se préparer à l'entrée en vigueur de la taxe de luxe, les concessionnaires d'automobiles doivent envisager de prendre les mesures suivantes :

  • Préparer une demande d'inscription pour percevoir la taxe de luxe s'ils prévoient vendre des véhicules assujettis. Les concessionnaires devront présenter à leurs fournisseurs un certificat d'exemption lors de l'achat attestant qu'ils sont inscrits et qu'ils procéderont au prélèvement de la taxe de luxe;
  • Tenir compte du coût de l'incidence de la taxe de luxe imposée sur les véhicules assujettis immatriculés par eux, comme les véhicules de service ou les véhicules de prêt. Dans ce cas, la taxe de luxe doit être perçue.
  • Envisager de structurer les contrats de location de façon à minimiser l'incidence de la taxe sur leurs flux de trésorerie. Les concessionnaires inscrits qui font également la location de véhicules devront payer la taxe de luxe sur les véhicules loués lors de la prise de possession par les clients, plutôt que sur la durée du contrat de location;
  • Configurer les systèmes de vente et de comptabilité pour comptabiliser adéquatement la taxe de luxe comme un coût pour eux et une somme payable à l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Les concessionnaires doivent également être en mesure d'identifier les mises à niveau ou les améliorations apportées aux véhicules vendus auxquelles s'applique la taxe de luxe;
  • Passer en revue toutes les ventes pour lesquelles un accord a été conclu entre le 1er janvier et le 31 août 2022 et dont la livraison du véhicule est prévue à compter du 1er septembre 2022. Si la taxe de luxe n'a pas été prise en compte dans le prix du bien lors de sa vente, les concessionnaires devraient revoir les conditions de l'accord afin de déterminer si des ajustements de prix doivent être effectués pour inclure le coût supplémentaire.

Si vous désirez obtenir plus de détails concernant l'application de la taxe de luxe aux ventes d'automobiles de votre concessionnaire, veuillez communiquer avec un conseiller des Services en matière de taxes indirectes de BDO.

Shelley Smith, Associée, Services en matière de taxes indirectes

Mélanie Camiré, Directrice principale, Services en matière de taxes indirectes


L'information présentée est à jour en date du 2 août 2022.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n'est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d'ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentées sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l'obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d'une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.