Buying a business: four tax considerations for purchasers

September 05, 2019

NTL_Tax_19Aug19_Tax-Factor_Buying-a-business_Website-Image-Assets_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Many buyers of a business understand that doing their research to ensure they pay a fair price for the business needs to be a priority. Tax considerations for the purchase of a business should form an integral part of this process.

Whether you are looking to purchase your first business or pursue another acquisition, here are a few critical areas that can affect your immediate tax outcomes and long-term business strategy.

Structuring the purchase

As discussed in our previous article “Tax considerations for the purchase or sale of a business," there are two primary ways to structure the purchase of a business: a share purchase or an asset purchase. Each option has different tax implications for the buyer and the seller. The right choice is highly dependent on the particular business being purchased, your reasons for purchasing, and your individual situation.

Many purchasers prefer buying assets directly as this allows you to select which assets you want and which liabilities are acceptable to assume. This minimizes your risk while reducing the overall complexity of the transaction. In addition, when assets are purchased directly, the tax cost of the asset will be the amount paid for the asset, assuming the buyer and seller are dealing at arm’s length with each other.

Buying shares may be a good path forward if the company has a strong reputation and brand, and you want to ensure you are purchasing the entire business. When purchasing shares, the tax cost of the assets within the corporation is not increased automatically from the carrying tax cost of the assets to fair market value. However, with proper restructuring after a purchase, it may be possible to achieve this result for non-depreciable property with an accrued gain at the time of purchase.

A share purchase would also be necessary if you are looking to buy a company for its tax attributes, such as non-capital losses and investment tax credit carry-forwards. Various tax rules could reduce these tax attributes, as well as the tax cost of depreciable assets and capital losses if the purchase of the company results in an acquisition of control.

In general terms, a vendor will prefer to sell shares and a purchaser will prefer to buy assets. This is particularly the case if the vendor can claim the capital gains exemption on a share sale. Given the overall increased risks of buying shares as compared to assets, a point of negotiation may be a reduction of the purchase price if you buy shares and therefore allow the vendor to achieve tax savings by claiming the capital gains exemption on a share sale.

Depending on the target business and the situation, you may also want to consider a hybrid sale, which combines elements of both purchase types to balance risk, opportunity, and tax burden for you and the seller. In particular, the vendor can benefit from the capital gains exemption and the purchaser can still increase the tax cost of some of the assets purchased.

Due diligence and valuation

Before making a final purchase decision when buying shares, it is advisable to conduct a due diligence process to avoid any unwanted surprises. Even with reputable companies, unexpected tax or legal liabilities might affect your purchasing decision—or provide a strong basis to push for a lower purchase price.

The depth and extent of the due diligence required will be dependent on the business, and whether you are choosing to purchase company assets, shares, or a combination of both. Generally, the due diligence process for an asset sale will be relatively simple, as buying assets means you will not be taking on the disclosed and undisclosed liabilities of the purchased corporation.

With a share purchase, a more comprehensive due diligence process is required. From a tax perspective, this process should begin with a general examination of past tax and information returns for all non-statute barred years. Depending on the company, you should also look at areas of higher exposure such as business activities outside Canada and cross-border transfer pricing.

By conducting a thorough tax due diligence process, you should be able to identify potential undisclosed tax liabilities prior to purchase and be able to effectively evaluate the quality of tax attributes being acquired. For a more detailed discussion of the benefits of performing a comprehensive tax due diligence examination prior to purchasing a new business, read our article, “The importance of tax due diligence when buying a business.

Along with undertaking a tax due diligence process, it is also important to get an objective view on the value of the business through a formal valuation process. The Chartered Business Valuators who make up BDO’s Valuations Advisory Services team can assist you with undertaking a formal valuation.

Where there is difficulty in agreeing on the value of the assets (such as goodwill) to be purchased, or the value of the shares of a company, as a buyer, you may request that the purchase price be varied based on future events. This may be dealt with as contingent future purchase proceeds – for example, based on future earnings, or with an indemnity, in the case of a share purchase, on undisclosed tax liabilities.

These types of purchase price adjustments add complexity to a purchase transaction, and are an area where the BDO Transaction Tax team can be of assistance.

Purchase and Sale Agreement

The Purchase and Sale Agreement (PSA) is a complex document that often requires significant negotiation. There are, however, a few areas and potential tax issues that a buyer should keep in mind. Purchase price allocation is a very important consideration for both the purchaser and the vendor when buying business assets. As a buyer, you should look to allocate higher values to assets that can be deducted relatively quickly for tax purposes, such as inventory and depreciable property. At the same time, the seller will be motivated to minimize income on the sale of inventory and recapture of capital cost allowance previously deducted on depreciable property.

The Canadian courts have generally indicated that the agreed-upon purchase price allocation between arm’s-length parties will govern the allocation of the purchase price for tax purposes. Evidence of real bargaining between arm’s-length parties is also proof that the allocation is reasonable and should be accepted by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). If instead the sale is between non-arm’s-length parties or between arm’s-length parties where one of the parties is indifferent to the allocation within the PSA (for example, a non-tax-paying entity such as a municipality or charity), you will need to take extra care to establish a reasonable allocation that will stand up to scrutiny. Note that the CRA has the power to re-allocate proceeds if they are of the view that the initial purchase price allocation is not reasonable.

For the purchase of shares, the common practice is for the PSA to include tax-specific representations, warranties, and indemnities. These are designed to ensure that all tax liabilities that exist or may arise pertaining to the period before the sale closes will remain solely with the seller. It is also in your best interest to specify which party (buyer or seller) will be responsible for filing all pre-closing tax and information returns. If the vendor takes on this task, make sure to request that they make these items available for your review in a timely manner. This will allow you to ensure that appropriate returns are filed and are consistent with your plans.

Share purchase cost and tax planning

If you are purchasing shares, you should assess the most effective method to structure the acquisition of those shares, as different methods can have different tax results.

One area to consider is structuring how the purchase is financed to maximize the use of tax deductions on interest paid. For many corporate purchases, a common method is to borrow money to buy the target corporation. In this situation, the interest will be deductible. However, in some situations, you may want the acquisition debt and the assets of the target corporation to be in the same corporation so that interest can be deducted directly from the business income of the acquired company. To achieve this, common practice is to set up a new corporation to purchase the target corporation with borrowed funds. Then the new company and the target corporation can be merged on a tax-deferred basis. As part of this merger, it may also be possible to increase the tax cost of non-depreciable property of the target company from the tax cost of the assets at the time of acquisition to their fair market value at the time of the acquisition.

If you are buying shares as an individual and from an arm’s-length party, you can transfer these shares to a new corporation and take back debt as consideration. As above, if the new corporation is then combined with the target corporation, it may be possible to increase the tax cost of the target company’s non-depreciable assets in a similar manner. Essentially, this allows you to convert tax cost to debt and withdraw future earnings as tax-free debt repayments. You should note that this planning will likely not work where you buy shares from a non-arm’s-length party. Further planning may be required for these purchases.

Careful attention to tax issues can have a significant impact on outcomes when purchasing a business. For support in assessing, valuing, and planning for the purchase of a business, please speak with your BDO advisor.


The information in this publication is current as of August 1, 2019.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Acheter une entreprise : quatre considérations fiscales pour les acheteurs

05 septembre 2019

NTL_Tax_19Aug19_Tax-Factor_Buying-a-business_Website-Image-Assets_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Bon nombre d’acheteurs savent qu’il est primordial de faire des recherches pour s’assurer de payer le juste prix pour l’entreprise qu’ils ciblent. Les conséquences fiscales de l’achat d’une entreprise doivent faire partie intégrante du processus.

Que vous en soyez à votre premier achat d’entreprise ou que vous y soyez habitué, voici quelques éléments cruciaux qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur les conséquences fiscales immédiates et sur votre stratégie d’entreprise à long terme.

Structuration de l’achat

Comme nous l’expliquions dans notre article intitulé Considérations fiscales relativement à l’achat et la vente d’une entreprise, la transaction peut porter soit sur les actions, soit sur les actifs de l’entreprise. Il s’agit des deux structures d’achat les plus fréquentes. Chaque méthode comporte des conséquences fiscales différentes pour l’acheteur et pour le vendeur. Le meilleur choix est fortement dicté par l’entreprise visée, les motifs qui sous-tendent l’achat et votre situation particulière.

Plusieurs acheteurs préfèrent acheter des actifs directement, car cela leur permet de sélectionner les actifs qui leur conviennent et les passifs qu’ils jugent acceptable de prendre en charge. Ainsi, les risques se trouvent réduits au minimum et la transaction est moins complexe. Autre avantage de cette méthode : le coût aux fins de l’impôt correspondra au montant payé pour les actifs, à condition que l’acheteur et le vendeur n’aient pas de lien de dépendance.

L’achat d’actions peut se révéler judicieux si l’entreprise a une solide réputation et une marque bien établie, et si votre objectif consiste à acquérir la totalité de l’entreprise en question. Selon cette méthode, le coût aux fins de l’impôt des actifs de la société n’est pas automatiquement majoré à la juste valeur marchande de ces actifs. Cependant, une restructuration dans les règles après l’acquisition permettrait une telle majoration à l’égard des biens non amortissables pour lesquels il existe un gain accumulé au moment de l’achat.

L’achat d’actions est également à privilégier si vous cherchez à acheter une entreprise pour ses attributs fiscaux, tels que des pertes autres que des pertes en capital et des reports de crédits d’impôt à l’investissement. Par contre, certaines règles fiscales pourraient venir réduire ces attributs fiscaux, ainsi que le coût aux fins de l’impôt des biens amortissables et des pertes en capital si l’achat de l’entreprise se traduit par une acquisition de contrôle.

En règle générale, un vendeur préfèrera la vente des actions alors qu’un acheteur privilégiera l’achat des actifs. Cela est d’autant plus vrai si le vendeur peut demander l’exonération des gains en capital à la vente des actions. Puisque l’achat d’actions présente des risques plus grands que l’achat d’actifs, la réduction du prix d’achat des actions peut constituer un point de négociation si le vendeur tient à réclamer l’exonération des gains en capital sur la vente d’actions.

Selon l’entreprise visée et la situation, vous pouvez également envisager une vente hybride, qui combine des éléments des deux méthodes d’achat afin d’équilibrer le risque, l’occasion et le fardeau fiscal, pour vous et pour le vendeur. Plus précisément, le vendeur peut tirer parti de l’exonération des gains en capital, et l’acheteur peut quant à lui accroître le coût aux fins de l’impôt de certains des actifs achetés.

Vérification diligente et évaluation

Avant de prendre une décision finale quant à l’achat, lorsque vous achetez des actions, vous devriez procéder à une vérification diligente pour éviter de mauvaises surprises. Même si l’entreprise bénéficie d’une solide réputation, des obligations fiscales ou juridiques imprévues pourraient influer sur votre décision d’achat ou fournir un solide argument pour faire réduire le prix d’achat.

La portée et l’étendue de la vérification diligente requise dépendront de l’entreprise visée et de la méthode choisie (achat des actifs, des actions ou une combinaison des deux). En règle générale, le processus de vérification diligente pour une transaction visant les actifs est relativement simple, car l’achat d’actifs signifie généralement que vous ne prendrez pas en charge les passifs déclarés et non déclarés de la société.

Dans le cas de l’achat d’actions, une vérification diligente plus exhaustive s’impose. D’un point de vue fiscal, cet exercice devrait s’amorcer par un examen général des déclarations de revenus et de renseignements pour les années qui ne sont pas frappées de prescription. Selon l’entreprise, vous devriez également vous intéresser aux aspects qui apportent une exposition accrue, notamment les activités hors du Canada et les prix de transfert transfrontalier.

Une minutieuse vérification diligente fiscale devrait vous permettre de relever les passifs d’impôts non déclarés avant que vous ne procédiez à l’achat et d’évaluer adéquatement la qualité des attributs fiscaux visés par l’achat. Pour en savoir plus sur les avantages d’une vérification diligente fiscale exhaustive avant l’achat d’une entreprise, lisez notre article intitulé L’importance de la vérification diligente fiscale à l’achat d’une entreprise.

Parallèlement à la vérification diligente fiscale, il est important d’obtenir une évaluation formelle et objective de la valeur de l’entreprise. Les experts en évaluation d’entreprises (EEE) de l’équipe des services-conseils en évaluation de BDO peuvent vous aider à cet égard.

En cas de divergences sur la valeur des actifs (notamment quant à l’écart d’acquisition) ou des actions de l’entreprise visée, en tant qu’acheteur, vous pouvez demander à ce que le prix d’achat soit fonction d’événements futurs. Cette avenue peut prendre la forme d’un prix d'achat conditionnel, notamment sur la base des bénéfices futurs, ou d’une indemnité au titre des passifs d’impôts non déclarés, dans le cas d’un achat d’actions.

Ces types d’ajustements au prix d’achat complexifient la transaction; l’équipe en fiscalité transactionnelle de BDO peut vous venir en aide à ce sujet.

Convention d’achat et de vente

La convention d’achat et de vente est une entente complexe qui nécessite souvent d’importantes négociations. Il y a cependant quelques enjeux fiscaux et autres aspects qu’un acheteur doit avoir à l’esprit. Lorsqu’il y a achat d’actifs, la répartition du coût d’acquisition revêt une grande importance pour l’acheteur et le vendeur. En tant qu’acheteur, vous devriez chercher à attribuer des valeurs plus élevées aux actifs qui peuvent être déduits assez rapidement à des fins fiscales, comme les stocks et les biens amortissables. Le vendeur voudra quant à lui atténuer l’impôt à payer à la vente des stocks et récupérer la déduction pour amortissement dont il s’est déjà prévalu sur les biens amortissables.

Les tribunaux canadiens ont indiqué qu’en règle générale, la répartition du coût d’acquisition convenue entre des parties sans lien de dépendance régira la répartition sur le plan fiscal. Une attestation de réelles négociations entre des parties sans lien de dépendance constitue d’ailleurs une preuve que la répartition est raisonnable et devrait être acceptée par l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Si, par contre, les parties prenantes ont un lien de dépendance ou sont sans lien de dépendance, mais qu’une d’elles est indifférente à la répartition indiquée dans la convention (p. ex., une entité exonérée de l’impôt, notamment une municipalité ou un organisme de bienfaisance), des précautions supplémentaires sont requises pour établir une répartition raisonnable qui résistera à tout examen rigoureux. Sachez que l’ARC dispose de l’autorité pour modifier la répartition du produit si elle juge la répartition initiale déraisonnable.

En ce qui concerne l’achat d’actions, la pratique courante consiste à inclure des déclarations, des garanties et des indemnités sur le plan fiscal dans la convention d’achat et de vente. De telles dispositions visent à affirmer l’entière responsabilité du vendeur à l’égard des passifs d’impôts connus ou susceptibles de surgir pendant la période avant la conclusion de la vente. De plus, il est dans votre intérêt de préciser quelle partie (acheteur ou vendeur) devra produire les déclarations de revenus et de renseignements avant la conclusion de la transaction. Si cette tâche revient au vendeur, prenez soin d’exiger qu’il vous remette les documents en temps opportun pour que vous puissiez réaliser votre examen. Ainsi, vous vous assurez que les déclarations sont produites et qu’elles répondent à vos objectifs.

Coût d’achat des actions et planification fiscale

Si vous achetez des actions, vous devez également déterminer la structure d’acquisition la plus efficace, car les conséquences fiscales diffèrent selon la méthode employée.

À cet égard, vous devez notamment penser à financer l’achat de façon à optimiser les déductions fiscales pour les intérêts payés. Pour la plupart des achats de société, une méthode courante consiste à emprunter de l’argent pour acheter la société visée. Selon cette formule, les intérêts seront déductibles. Cependant, dans certaines situations, vous pourriez vouloir réunir l’endettement aux fins de l’achat et les actifs achetés sous la même entité afin de déduire les intérêts à même les revenus d’entreprise de la société acquise. Pour ce faire, il convient habituellement de créer une nouvelle entité pour acquérir la société visée avec des fonds empruntés. Ensuite, la nouvelle entité et la société visée peuvent fusionner, avec report de l’impôt. Lors de cette fusion, il pourrait également être possible de majorer le coût aux fins de l’impôt des biens non amortissables de la société visée en date de l’acquisition pour le faire passer à la juste valeur marchande au moment de l’achat.

Si vous achetez à titre de particulier les actions d’une partie sans lien de dépendance, vous pouvez transférer ces actions à une nouvelle société et accepter un titre de créance en contrepartie. S’il y a ensuite fusion entre la nouvelle entité et la société visée, il pourrait être possible de majorer le coût aux fins de l’impôt des biens non amortissables de la société visée, de la même manière que celle décrite dans le paragraphe précédent. Vous pouvez ainsi convertir le coût aux fins de l’impôt en dette, puis utiliser les bénéfices futurs pour rembourser la dette, le tout en franchise d’impôt. Sachez que cette planification ne fonctionnera probablement pas si vous achetez des actions d’une partie avec laquelle vous avez un lien de dépendance. Un autre type de planification pourrait être nécessaire dans une telle situation.

Le fait de porter une attention particulière aux questions fiscales lors de l’achat d’une entreprise peut avoir une grande incidence sur les résultats de la transaction. Pour obtenir de l’aide relativement à l’évaluation, à la valorisation et à la planification de l’achat d’une entreprise, veuillez vous adresser à votre conseiller BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 1er août 2019.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.