BDO Provides Submission on Government’s Private Corporation Consultation Paper

October 2017

GTA_Firm_05Oct17_Online_Tax-Finance-Submission_679x220.jpg

BDO is participating in the ongoing discussions on the impact that the proposals outlined in the “Tax Planning Using Private Corporations” consultation paper released by the Department of Finance on July 18, 2017 will have on Canadian private businesses and the individuals and families owning these businesses. We outlined our concerns with the proposals in a submission to the Department of Finance, as part of the 75-day consultation period that closed on October 2, 2017.

The government consultation paper includes proposed changes in many areas, including:

  • Income sprinkling between family members from a family business, which will increase the overall tax cost to families of income received from the business;
  • Availability of the Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption for family members, which will increase the tax cost when family businesses are sold and also when transferred to the next generation;
  • The taxation of passive income of private companies, aimed at eliminating the tax deferral advantages of earning business income in a corporation and investing those after-tax corporate profits in passive investments owned by the corporation; and
  • Anti-avoidance rules designed to ensure that corporate surplus is only taxed at tax rates that apply to dividends when removed from the company, rather than tax rates that apply to capital gains.

BDO believes that significant Canadian tax policy changes should only be introduced after a comprehensive review of the Canadian tax system with the goal of supporting the growth of the Canadian private sector and being fair to all Canadians. We recognize that the government has certain valid concerns that inspired the introduction of these proposals and our view is that these proposals be withdrawn so that a comprehensive review can begin. BDO has held discussions with many government officials through this process and have made ourselves available to work with the government, the Canadian business and professional tax communities, and all other relevant stakeholders to reform Canadian tax law to better support the Canadian economy. We have an overall goal of achieving tax simplification and tax fairness for all Canadians and Canadian businesses.

Our full submission to the government on the consultation paper is available for your review.

READ OUR FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SUBMISSION DOCUMENT

Learn more about these changes in our report: A detailed review: The government’s private company consultation paper.

View all of BDO's related content in our Private Corporation Tax Changes Round-up resource.

For further information, please contact one of our trusted BDO Tax advisors or one of our BDO Canada Tax Leaders:

Dave Walsh
Partner, Tax Service Line Leader

Rachel Gervais
Partner, GTA Group Tax Service Line Leader

Peter Routly
Partner, Central Group Tax Service Line Leader

Daryl Maduke
Partner, West Group Tax Service Line Leader

Shelley Smith
Partner, East Group Tax Service Line Leader

Learn more about BDO's Canadian Tax Services today.


The information in this publication is current as of September 29, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

BDO a soumis des observations à propos du document de consultation sur les sociétés privées du gouvernement

11 octobre 2017

GTA_Firm_05Oct17_Online_Tax-Finance-Submission_679x220.jpg

BDO participe aux discussions en cours sur l’incidence des propositions mentionnées dans le document « Planification fiscale au moyen de sociétés privées » publié par le ministère des Finances le 18 juillet 2017 sur les sociétés privées canadiennes ainsi que sur les particuliers et les familles qui possèdent des entreprises. Nous avons souligné nos préoccupations à l’égard des propositions en soumettant des observations (en anglais seulement) au ministère des Finances dans le cadre de la période de consultation de 75 jours qui s’est terminée le 2 octobre 2017.

Le document de consultation du gouvernement a proposé des changements dans de nombreux secteurs, notamment ceux ci-dessous :

  • Le fractionnement de revenu provenant d’une entreprise familiale entre les membres de la famille, ce qui augmentera le fardeau fiscal global des familles relativement au revenu reçu de l’entreprise;
  • La disponibilité de l’exonération cumulative des gains en capital pour les membres de la famille, ce qui augmentera le fardeau fiscal lors de la vente des entreprises familiales et de leur transfert à la prochaine génération;
  • L’imposition du revenu passif des sociétés privées, visant à éliminer l’avantage relatif au report de l’impôt découlant d’un revenu gagné dans une société et de l’investissement de ces bénéfices d’entreprise après impôts dans des placements passifs détenus par la société;
  • Les règles anti-évitement conçues pour s’assurer que les surplus de la société sont imposés seulement aux taux d’imposition qui s’appliquent aux dividendes lorsqu’ils sont retirés de la société, plutôt qu’aux taux d’imposition qui s’appliquent aux gains en capital.

BDO croit que des changements importants à la politique fiscale canadienne devraient seulement être introduits après un examen approfondi du régime fiscal canadien afin de soutenir la croissance du secteur privé canadien et d’être équitable envers tous les Canadiens. Nous reconnaissons que le gouvernement a des préoccupations valides qui ont inspiré la présentation de ces propositions et nous estimons que ces propositions devraient être retirées afin qu’un examen approfondi puisse être effectué. BDO a tenu des discussions avec de nombreux fonctionnaires tout au long de ce processus et est prêt à travailler avec le gouvernement, les entreprises canadiennes et les communautés de professionnels en fiscalité, ainsi que toute autre partie intéressée pour réformer la législation fiscale canadienne afin de mieux soutenir l’économie canadienne. Notre objectif global est de parvenir à la simplification et à l’équité en fiscalité pour tous les Canadiens et les entreprises du Canada.

Vous pouvez consulter nos observations soumises au gouvernement à l’égard du document de consultation (en anglais seulement).

CONSULTEZ NOTRE DOCUMENT D’OBSERVATIONS SOUMIS AU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL

Apprenez-en plus sur ces changements dans notre rapport : Analyse détaillée – document de consultation du gouvernement sur les sociétés privées.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec un de nos conseillers BDO de confiance ou avec un des chefs en fiscalité de BDO Canada :

Dave Walsh
Associé, chef des services en fiscalité

Rachel Gervais
Associée, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de la RGT

Peter Routly
Associé, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe du centre

Daryl Maduke
Associé, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de l’ouest

Shelley Smith
Associée, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de l’est

Apprenez en plus sur les services en fiscalité canadienne de BDO.


L’information contenue dans cette publication est à jour en date du 29 septembre 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L., ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.