Tax Alert - What is your FATCA status?

October 16, 2014

This Alert is directed to Canadian businesses that are not in the financial services industry, as well as individuals.

In the coming months, all Canadian businesses and many individuals can expect to be contacted in some way or another about their status under the U.S. Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act, FATCA. Canadian financial institutions will be required to review your status because of the Intergovernmental Agreement, IGA, entered into between Canada and the U.S. You may also receive requests about your FATCA status from non-Canadian financial institutions and other businesses.

FATCA and the IGA in brief

In its efforts to combat tax evasion, the U.S. government enacted FATCA to help the U.S. Treasury identify U.S. residents and citizens who invest outside the U.S. With the information gathered under FATCA, the U.S. government will be in a much better position to enforce compliance with U.S. tax obligations. The legislation is far-reaching and would require foreign financial institutions, including those in Canada, to disclose their U.S. account holders’ identities and account information to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). We wrote about FATCA in the 2013-02 issue of the Tax Factor in the article titled “U.S. reporting requirements may affect Canadian financial institutions”.

Subsequently, and as noted in our February 2014 Tax Alert — Canada Announces Intergovernmental Agreement with the United States over FATCA, Canada entered into an IGA with the IRS in 2014. This agreement provides a way to administer the key elements of the FATCA rules within Canada. Under the IGA, Canadian financial institutions are required to report relevant information with respect to accounts held by U.S. persons to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), rather than to the IRS. The CRA will exchange the information with the IRS through the existing provisions and safeguards of the Canada-U.S. Tax Treaty.

FATCA status

Under the IGA, Canadian financial institutions are subject to extensive due diligence obligations for identifying and reporting on accounts held by and connected to U.S. citizens. In addition, payments to certain non-participating financial institutions must be identified and reported.

Canadian financial institutions will be asking their account holders and customers to complete various information requests. This information will assist the Canadian financial institution with their required compliance under the IGA. In addition, U.S. financial institutions or other organizations may ask you to complete U.S. Department of the Treasury Form W8BEN-E, Certificate of Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting (Entities) in respect of your business. The W8 forms have been changed with the implementation of FATCA. The W8BEN-E requires a business or other organization to self-identify into one of approximately 30 categories of organization under FATCA. Note that these forms are returned to the person who requested them, not to the IRS. Many non-financial Canadian entities will be “non-financial foreign entities” or NFFEs. These categories are explained in further detail below.

Canadian non-financial entities

Active

Canadian businesses that are not in the financial services industry will generally fall into one of two categories of non-financial foreign entities — Active or Passive. Once identified as an Active NFFE, such businesses will generally not be significantly impacted by FATCA; their compliance will generally be limited to providing the business's status under FATCA when requested, and certifying that they meet the definition of an Active NFFE.

In general, a Canadian business will be an Active NFFE if less than 50% of its gross income is passive income, and less than 50% of the assets held during the preceding reporting period are assets that produce, or are held for the production of, passive income. Although the distinction between active and passive income is an important one for FATCA compliance, “passive income” is not a defined term in the IGA and the competent authorities have not agreed to a common meaning. However, the CRA   states that passive income includes income from the mere holding of property, such as interest, dividends, rents, and royalties. In general, any active Canadian business that is not a financial institution and has limited passive assets or passive income will be an Active NFFE. Special rules apply where a company is in the start-up phase and therefore has a relatively large amount of passive assets that will be used in an active business.

Where the company is not a financial institution, an Active NFFE will also include a company whose stock is regularly traded on an established stock exchange, or a related company. Governments, including provincial and municipal governments, are not part of a separate classification, but are considered Active NFFEs. Your BDO advisor can assist in the determination of the FATCA classification of your organization.

Passive

The definition of a Passive NFFE is defined in the negative — any non-financial institution that is not an Active NFFE will be a Passive NFFE. A privately held Canadian investment holding company is likely to be a Passive NFFE.

Additional disclosure is required where a Canadian business meets the test to be a Passive NFFE. To start with, under the IGA, Passive NFFEs are required to certify to requesting financial institutions that they do not have any controlling persons that are U.S. persons. Where this is not the case, Passive NFFEs will need to provide certain information. Specifically, the information required if there are controlling U.S. persons is the U.S. person’s full name, permanent residential address, and their U.S. tax identification number. Reporting Canadian financial institutions will need to report accounts held by Passive NFFEs that have controlling U.S. persons to the CRA as part of their annual filing under the IGA.

Controlling persons are defined as the people who exercise control over an entity. In the case of a trust, such term means the settlor, the trustees, the protector (if any), the beneficiaries (or class of beneficiaries), and any other person exercising ultimate effective control over the trust. Whether an individual is a controlling person is generally determined by reference to a 25% level of ownership, consistent with the "know your customer" and anti-money laundering policies used in the financial industry. However, whether any particular person exercises control over a particular entity is ultimately to be determined based on the particular situation in a manner consistent with how beneficial owners are identified for the purposes of Canada's Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act

Controlling persons vs. substantial U.S. owners

Under the IGA, Canadian financial institutions can create their own form to use to gather account information and required certifications. Alternately, they could ask their business account holders to complete IRS Form W-8BEN-E. However, it should be noted that this form may create some confusion regarding the information to be disclosed about U.S. shareholders. As discussed above, under the IGA, there is a threshold of 25% control where de facto control is not in the hands of U.S. persons. However, the IRS form is not specifically designed for compliance under the Canadian IGA; rather it is designed for compliance from all countries. Instead of “controlling person”, Form W-8BEN-E asks for the details regarding “substantial U.S. owners”. The “substantial U.S. owners” test requires only a 10% threshold of ownership. Your BDO advisor can help you to understand the information that you are required to provide to a requesting financial institution under FATCA or the IGA.

Individuals

Individuals may also be asked about their FATCA status by Canadian financial institutions, foreign financial institutions and U.S. payors. Canadian financial institutions may ask you to complete a questionnaire or form to assist them in their reporting obligations. Non-U.S. individuals may be asked to complete Form W8BEN, Certificate of Foreign Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting (Individuals). If you are a U.S. person, you may instead be asked to complete IRS Form W-9, Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification. These forms are sent to the person who requested them. They are not sent to the IRS unless specifically requested by the IRS. Your BDO advisor can assist you in the completion of these forms.

As noted earlier, the purpose of FATCA is to enable the U.S. Treasury to identify U.S. residents and citizens who invest offshore. This will then assist the IRS in determining if U.S. citizens living outside the U.S. are up-to-date on their personal income tax filings, and if U.S. citizens in general have been declaring income earned outside of the U.S. If you are a U.S. person and are not up-to-date on your tax filings, or your tax filings are not complete with respect to investments outside of the U.S., please contact your BDO advisor.

Key dates and other information

Although FATCA was enacted in 2010, the IGA was enacted in June of 2014 when the enabling Canadian legislation was passed. The effective date for the start of reporting under FATCA and the IGA was July 1, 2014. The first reporting date by Canadian financial institutions under this agreement is May 1, 2015. Reporting required under the IGA will be phased in over 2014, 2015 and 2016 such that limited disclosure will be required in the first two years.

The CRA recently issued IGA guidance directed at non-financial institutions and individuals. You can refer to “Information for entities with accounts with Canadian financial institutions” and “Information for individuals with accounts with Canadian financial institutions” on the CRA’s website for more details on the administrative aspects of the IGA.

Summary

The FATCA and the IGA rules are complex. The guidance provided by the IRS regarding FATCA and by the CRA regarding the IGA has been issued in stages, and may not yet be complete. If your organization is not a financial institution, you should now have a better idea of the role of Canadian financial institutions regarding reporting accounts, and a better understanding behind the questions they will be asking you. If you are contacted regarding your or your organization’s FATCA status, your BDO advisor would be pleased to discuss how FATCA may impact you or your business.


The information in this publication is current as of October 3, 2014.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

BDO Canada LLP, a Canadian limited liability partnership, is a member of BDO International Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, and forms part of the international BDO network of independent member firms. BDO is the brand name for the BDO network and for each of the BDO Member Firms.

Alerte fiscale - Quel est votre statut en vertu de la FATCA?

16 octobre 2014

La présente alerte est destinée aux entreprises canadiennes qui n'œuvrent pas dans le secteur des services financiers ainsi qu'aux particuliers.

Au cours des prochains mois, toutes les entreprises canadiennes et de nombreux particuliers doivent s'attendre à recevoir une communication sous une forme ou une autre au sujet de leur statut en vertu de la Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act des États-Unis, la « FATCA ». Les institutions financières canadiennes devront examiner votre statut en raison de l'accord intergouvernemental entre le Canada et les États-Unis. En vertu de la FATCA, vous pourriez également recevoir des demandes de renseignements formulées par des institutions financières non canadiennes et d'autres entreprises au sujet de votre statut.

La FATCA et l'accord intergouvernemental en bref

Dans le cadre de ses efforts pour lutter contre l'évasion fiscale, le gouvernement américain a promulgué la FATCA afin d'aider le Trésor américain à identifier les résidents et citoyens américains qui investissent à l'extérieur des États-Unis. Grâce aux renseignements recueillis en vertu de la FATCA, le gouvernement américain sera en bien meilleure posture pour faire respecter les obligations fiscales américaines. La loi est d'une portée considérable, car elle exigerait des institutions financières étrangères, y compris les institutions canadiennes, de divulguer l'identité des titulaires de comptes américains et de communiquer des renseignements sur ceux-ci à l'Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Nous avons publié un article couvrant la FATCA intitulé « Les exigences de déclaration américaines pourraient avoir une incidence sur les institutions financières canadiennes », dans le numéro de 2013-02 du Facteur fiscal.

Comme il en a été fait mention dans notre Alerte fiscale de février 2014 : Le Canada annonce un accord intergouvernemental avec les États-Unis concernant la FATCA, le Canada a ultérieurement conclu un accord intergouvernemental avec l'IRS en 2014. Cet accord fournit une façon d'administrer les éléments clés des règles de la FATCA à l'intérieur du Canada. En vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental, les institutions financières canadiennes doivent divulguer les renseignements pertinents sur les comptes détenus par des personnes américaines à l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), plutôt qu'à l'IRS. L'ARC procédera à l'échange des renseignements avec l'IRS en vertu des dispositions et des mesures de protection existantes de la convention fiscale entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Statut en vertu de la FATCA

Selon l'accord intergouvernemental, les institutions financières canadiennes sont assujetties à des obligations exhaustives en matière de contrôle diligent en ce qui a trait à l'identification et la divulgation des comptes détenus et reliés à des citoyens américains. De plus, les versements effectués à certaines institutions financières non participantes doivent être identifiés et déclarés.

Les institutions financières canadiennes demanderont à leurs titulaires de compte et à leurs clients de répondre à diverses demandes de renseignements. Ces renseignements aideront les institutions financières canadiennes à respecter leurs obligations en vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental. De plus, certaines institutions financières américaines ou d'autres organisations peuvent vous demander de remplir le formulaire W8BEN-E, Certificate of Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting (Entities) du Trésor américain pour votre entreprise. Les formulaires W8 ont été modifiés suite à l'entrée en vigueur de la FATCA. Le formulaire W8BEN-E exige d'une entreprise ou d'une autre organisation de se classer parmi l'une des trente catégories d'organisations répertoriées par la FATCA. Prenez note que ces formulaires sont renvoyés à la personne qui en a fait la demande et non à l'IRS. Plusieurs entités canadiennes non financières seront des « entités étrangères non financières » ou EENF. Ces catégories sont décrites plus en détail ci-dessous.

Entités canadiennes non financières

Active

Les entreprises canadiennes qui n'œuvrent pas dans le secteur des services financiers seront généralement classées dans l'une des deux catégories d'entités étrangères non financières : active ou passive. Lorsqu'on détermine qu'elles constituent une EENF active, ces entreprises ne seront pas touchées de manière significative par la FATCA; leurs obligations en matière de conformité se limiteront généralement à fournir sur demande un statut de l'entreprise en vertu de la FATCA et à attester qu'elles rencontrent la définition d'une EENF active.

En règle générale, une entreprise canadienne sera une EENF active si moins de 50 % de ses revenus bruts constituent des revenus passifs et que moins de 50 % de ses actifs détenus au cours de la période visée précédente produisent, ou sont détenus dans le but de produire, du revenu passif. Bien que la distinction entre un revenu actif et un revenu passif soit importante pour respecter la FATCA, le terme « revenu passif » n'est pas défini dans l'accord intergouvernemental et les autorités compétentes ne se sont pas entendues sur une définition commune. Cependant, l'ARC déclare que les revenus passifs comprennent un revenu découlant de la simple possession d'un bien, comme des intérêts, des dividendes, des loyers et des redevances. En général, n'importe quelle entreprise canadienne active, qui n'est pas une institution financière et qui possède des actifs excédentaires limites et/ou qui génère des revenus passifs limités, constituera une EENF active. Des règles spéciales s'appliquent à une entreprise en phase de démarrage qui utilise un montant relativement important de ses actifs excédentaires dans une entreprise active.

Lorsque l'entreprise n'est pas une institution financière, une EENF active comprendra également une entreprise dont les actions sont transigées de façon régulière en bourse, ou une entreprise liée à celle-ci. Les gouvernements, y compris les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux, ne font pas partie d'une catégorie distincte, mais ils sont considérés être des EENF actives. Votre conseiller de BDO peut vous aider à déterminer le classement de votre entreprise en vertu de la FATCA.

Passive

Une EENF passive est définie par la négative : toute institution non financière qui n'est pas une EENF active sera une EENF passive. Une société de portefeuille de placement privée canadienne sera probablement une EENF passive.

Des informations additionnelles sont requises lorsqu'une entreprise canadienne répond aux critères d'une EENF passive. Pour commencer, en vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental, les EENF passives sont tenues d'attester, auprès des institutions financières qui le demandent, qu'aucune personne américaine n'est une personne détenant le contrôle de l'entreprise. Lorsque ce n'est pas le cas, les EENF passives devront fournir certains renseignements. Plus précisément, si une des personnes détenant le contrôle est une personne américaine, les informations à fournir sont le nom complet de la personne américaine, l'adresse de sa résidence permanente et son numéro d'identification pour les fins fiscales américaines. Les institutions financières déclarantes canadiennes devront divulguer à l'ARC les comptes détenus par des EENF passives si une des personnes détenant le contrôle est une personne américaine dans le cadre de leur déclaration annuelle en vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental.

Les personnes détenant le contrôle sont définies comme les personnes qui exercent un contrôle sur une entité. Dans le cas d'une fiducie, ce terme désigne le constituant de la fiducie, les fiduciaires, le protecteur (le cas échéant), les bénéficiaires (ou catégorie de bénéficiaires) et toute autre personne exerçant un contrôle effectif sur la fiducie. On établit généralement qu'un particulier est une personne détenant le contrôle en fonction d'un seuil de 25 % de détention, conforme aux pratiques de « connaissance de la clientèle » et aux politiques contre le blanchiment d'argent utilisées dans le secteur financier. Cependant, le fait qu'un particulier exerce un contrôle sur une entité en particulier doit finalement être déterminé selon la situation particulière et conformément à la manière par laquelle les bénéficiaires effectifs sont identifiés aux fins de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes du Canada.

Personnes détenant le contrôle et propriétaires américains importants

En vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental, les institutions financières canadiennes peuvent concevoir leur propre formulaire pour recueillir des renseignements ainsi que les attestations nécessaires. Également, elles peuvent demander à leurs titulaires de comptes d'affaires de remplir le formulaire W-8BEN-E de l'IRS. Toutefois, il faut noter que ce formulaire peut engendrer une certaine confusion sur les renseignements qui sont divulgués au sujet des actionnaires américains. Comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, en vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental, il existe un seuil de contrôle de 25 % où, le contrôle de fait n'est pas entre les mains de personnes américaines. Cependant, le formulaire de l'IRS n'est pas spécialement conçu pour la conformité en vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental avec le Canada. Il est plutôt conçu pour la conformité de la part de tous les pays. Le formulaire demande des renseignements sur les « propriétaires américains importants » plutôt que sur les « personnes détenant le contrôle ». Le critère de « propriétaire américain important » exige uniquement un seuil de 10 % de détention. Votre conseiller de BDO peut vous aider à déterminer quelles sont les informations à fournir à une institution financière en vertu de la FATCA ou de l'accord intergouvernemental.

Particuliers

En vertu de la FATCA, les particuliers peuvent également être questionnés sur leur statut par des institutions financières canadiennes, des institutions financières étrangères et des payeurs américains. Les institutions financières canadiennes peuvent vous demander de remplir un questionnaire ou un formulaire pour les aider à respecter leurs obligations en matière de déclaration. Les particuliers non américains peuvent se faire demander de remplir le formulaire W8BEN, Certificate of Foreign Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting (Individuals). Si vous êtes une personne américaine, vous pourriez plutôt vous faire demander de remplir le formulaire W-9, Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification de l'IRS. Ces formulaires sont envoyés aux personnes qui les ont demandés. Ils ne sont pas envoyés à l'IRS à moins que l'IRS ne l'ai spécifiquement demandé. Votre conseiller de BDO peut vous aider à remplir ces formulaires.

Comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, le but de la FATCA est de permettre au Trésor américain d'identifier les résidents et les citoyens américains qui investissent à l'étranger. Cela aidera par la suite l'IRS à déterminer si les déclarations de revenus des particuliers américains qui vivent à l'extérieur des États-Unis sont à jour et si les citoyens américains en général ont déclaré leurs revenus gagnés à l'extérieur des États-Unis. Si vous êtes une personne américaine et que vos déclarations d'impôt sur le revenu ne sont pas à jour ou que vous n'avez pas déclaré vos investissements réalisés à l'extérieur des États-Unis, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller de BDO.

Dates importantes et autres renseignements

Bien que la FATCA ait été adoptée en 2010, l'accord intergouvernemental a été conclu en juin 2014, lorsque la loi canadienne habilitante a été adoptée. La date d'entrée en vigueur pour la déclaration produite en vertu de la FATCA et de l'accord intergouvernemental était le 1er juillet 2014. En vertu de cet accord, la première date de déclaration pour les institutions financières canadiennes est le 1er mai 2015. La déclaration requise en vertu de l'accord intergouvernemental sera intégrée graduellement au cours des exercices 2014, 2015 et 2016, de telle façon qu'une déclaration limitée sera exigée au cours des deux premières années.

L'ARC a récemment émis des directives concernant l'accord intergouvernemental pour les institutions non financières et les particuliers. Vous pouvez consulter les pages « Renseignements pour les entités détentrices de comptes dans des institutions financières canadiennes » et « Renseignements pour les particuliers détenteurs de comptes dans des institutions financières canadiennes » sur le site Web de l'ARC pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet des aspects administratifs de l'accord intergouvernemental. Résumé Les règles de la FATCA et de l'accord intergouvernemental sont complexes. Les directives fournies par l'IRS concernant la FATCA et par l'ARC concernant l'accord intergouvernemental ont été émises par étapes et d'autres pourraient encore s'ajouter. Si votre organisation n'est pas une institution financière, vous devriez désormais avoir une meilleure idée du rôle des institutions financières canadiennes à l'égard de la déclaration de comptes et une meilleure compréhension des raisons des questions qu'elles vous poseront. Si on vous contacte au sujet de votre statut ou de celui de votre organisation en vertu de la FATCA, votre conseiller de BDO se fera un plaisir de discuter de l'incidence de la FATCA sur vous ou votre entreprise.


Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.