Tax Alert – Federal Government Announces changes To Recovery Benefits

August 04, 2021

The federal government continues to announce extensions to recovery benefits (the Canada Recovery Benefit, the Canada Recovery Sickness Benefit, and the Canada Recovery Caregiving Benefit) in recognition of the ongoing need for income support during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Following an initial extension of the recovery benefits in February 2021, the 2021 federal budget subsequently proposed measures to further extend two of the three recovery benefits. These changes received royal assent on June 29, 2021. On July 30, 2021, the federal government announced that it will be extending the amount of time that the recovery benefits are available, as well as increase the maximum number of weeks that the Canada Recovery Benefit can be claimed.

Updates to the EI benefits program

On March 17, 2021, legislation was enacted to increase the number of weeks of EI regular benefits available to workers to a maximum of 50 weeks for claims established between Sept. 27, 2020 and Sept. 25, 2021.

That legislation also reduced the 2020 earnings threshold applicable to self-employed workers opting into the EI program to access special benefits to $5,000 from $7,555. This change applies for claims established from Jan. 3, 2021 and until Sept. 25, 2021.

Previously, the government announced the following changes to EI benefits, which became effective on Sept. 27, 2020:

  • EI premium rate freeze: The government announced that it is freezing the EI premium rate for employees at the 2020 level of $1.58 per $100 of insurable earnings for two years. The rate for employers, which is 1.4 times the employee rate, will also remain frozen at $2.21 per $100 of insurable earnings over the same period.
  • Minimum benefit rate: As of Sept. 27, 2020, all new EI claimants will receive a minimum benefit of $500 per week (or $300 for extended parental benefits). Initially (on Aug. 20, 2020), these amounts were set at $400 per week ($240 for extended parental benefits), but the government later increased the minimum benefit rate to align it with the weekly benefit rate for the new Canada Recovery Benefit (see below).
  • Hours credits to enhance access to EI benefits: The government is allowing a one-time insurable hours credit of 300 insurable hours for regular and work sharing benefits (job loss) and 480 insurable hours for special benefits (sickness, maternity/parental, compassionate care or family caregiver) to assist those prevented from accumulating the number of insurable hours normally required because of the COVID-19 pandemic. Hours credits will be made retroactive to March 15, 2020 for claimants who wanted to transition early from the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) to EI maternity, parental, compassionate care, family caregiver, or work-sharing benefits, but were not able to satisfy the hours requirement. The qualifying period will also be extended for these claimants. This credit will be available for new EI claims for the period of one year.
  • Minimum EI unemployment rate: In order to lower the hours required to qualify for EI regular benefits, the government is implementing a minimum unemployment rate of 13.1% for all EI economic regions. Fixing a minimum rate at 13.1% will set a uniform eligibility requirement for EI regular benefits at 420 hours of insurable employment (before the hours credit is applied), provide a minimum entitlement of 26 weeks of regular benefits, and set 14 as the number of best weeks of earnings used in the calculation of the weekly benefit rate. This measure will be in effect for one year, starting on Aug. 9, 2020.
  • EI fishing benefits: The government is implementing certain temporary measures to benefit self-employed fish harvesters who rely on EI fishing benefits in the off-season.

On July 30, 2021, the federal government announced that the minimum weekly EI benefit rate will be set at $300 per week for EI claims established between September 26, 2021 and November 20, 2021. This is to match the rate paid under the Canada Recovery Benefit for new claims made after July 17, 2021 (see below).

Recovery benefits

To ensure that Canadians who do not qualify for EI benefits continue to receive income support as the COVID-19 pandemic persists, the government introduced three recovery benefits. Details of each of these benefits— including the most recent extensions—are below:

1. Canada Recovery Benefit (CRB): The CRB provides a taxable benefit amount of $500 per week for up to 54 weeks to those workers who are ineligible for EI, including those who are self-employed or who work in the gig economy. Initially available for a maximum of 26 weeks, the CRB was extended to 38 weeks in March. As part of its 2021 budget, the federal government announced a further extension of the CRB by an additional 12 weeks, for a total of 50 weeks of support. The first four weeks of this 12-week extension will be paid at $500 per week and the last eight weeks will be paid at a reduced rate of $300 per week. On July 30, 2021, the government announced that it will increase the maximum number of weeks to 54 weeks, up from 50 weeks. These additional four weeks will be paid at $300 per week. All new CRB claimants that apply after July 17, 2021 will receive $300 per week up to Oct. 23, 2021.

The CRB is available to those that are resident and present in Canada, who:

  • are at least 15 years old and have a valid Social Insurance Number (SIN);
  • have stopped working due to the COVID-19 pandemic and are available and looking for work, or who are working and have had a 50% reduction in their average weekly income as a result of COVID-19;
  • did not apply for or receive the CRSB, CRCB, short-term disability benefits, worker’s compensation benefits, EI benefits, or Quebec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP) benefits;
  • are not eligible for EI;
  • had earned income from employment or self-employment income (after deducting expenses) and/or maternity or parental benefits (from EI or similar QPIP) of at least $5,000 in 2019; 2020, or in the 12 months before the date of application; and
  • have not quit their job or reduced their hours voluntarily.

Recipients of the CRB will be required to reapply every two weeks and attest that they continue to meet the requirements. Claimants will also need to look for and accept work when it is reasonable to do so in order to remain eligible. Claimants are permitted to earn income from employment and/or self-employment while receiving the CRB; however, they will be required to repay 50 cents of the benefit for each dollar of their annual net income above $38,000 in the calendar year, to a maximum of the amount of benefit they received.

2. Canada Recovery Sickness Benefit (CRSB): The CRSB provides a taxable benefit of $500 per week for up to four weeks to eligible workers who are unable to work because they contracted COVID-19, have an underlying condition or other illness that would make them more vulnerable to COVID-19, or are required to self-isolate for reasons related to COVID-19.

This benefit is available to workers who:

  • reside and are present in Canada;
  • are at least 15 years old and have a valid SIN;
  • are employed or self-employed at the time of application;
  • did not apply for or receive the CRB, CRCB, short-term disability benefits, worker’s compensation benefits, EI benefits, or QPIP benefits; and
  • earned at least $5,000 of income from employment, self-employment (after deducting expenses), and/or maternity or parental benefits (from EI or similar QPIP) in 2019, 2020 or in the 12 months before the date of application.

Workers cannot claim the CRSB if they received other paid sick leave from their employer for the same benefit period. In addition to meeting the eligibility criteria for this benefit, workers will need to have missed a minimum of 50% of their scheduled work in the week for which they claim the benefit. A medical certificate will not be required to qualify.

3. Canada Recovery Caregiving Benefit (CRCB): The CRCB provides a taxable benefit of $500 per week, for up to 42 weeks per household, to eligible Canadians unable to work because they need to provide care to children or support to other dependents who have to stay home because of COVID-19. Like the CRB, the CRCB was initially available for a maximum of 26 weeks. This benefit was subsequently extended to 38 weeks and then again to 42 weeks. The benefit of $500 per week remains unchanged.

To be eligible for the CRCB, individuals must:

  • reside and be present in Canada;
  • be at least 15 years old on the first day of the period for which they apply for the benefit;
  • have a valid SIN;
  • have earned at least $5,000 of employment income, net self-employment income, and/or maternity and parental benefits (from EI or QPIP) in 2019, 2020, or in the 12 months before the date of application;
  • have been unable to work for at least 50% of their normal scheduled work within a given week because they are caring for their child (under the age of 12 on the first day of the period for which the benefit is claimed), or a family member who requires supervised care, because of one of the following reasons:
    • their school, daycare, or care facility is closed or unavailable due to COVID-19;
    • they contracted COVID-19 (or are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19), are required to isolate, or have been advised by a medical professional that they are at high risk if they contract COVID-19; or
    • their regular caregiver is not available due to reasons related to COVID-19;
  • not be in receipt of paid leave from an employer in respect of the same week; and
  • not have applied for or received the CRB, CRSB, short-term disability benefits, worker’s compensation benefits, EI benefits, or QPIP benefits in respect of the same period.

Two members residing in the same household cannot be in receipt of the benefit for the same period. Workers would apply after the period in which they are seeking income support and would attest that they meet the requirements.

The CRB, CRSB, and CRCB became effective for the period beginning on Sept. 27, 2020. Initially legislated to end on Sept. 25, 2021, the federal government announced on July 30, 2021 that it will be extending the availability of the CRB, CRSB, and CRCB until October 23, 2021.

The CRA is administering the recovery benefits and Canadians can apply through the CRA’s My Account. Applications for the CRSB and CRCB opened on Oct. 5, 2020 and applications for the CRB opened on Oct. 12, 2020. Note that, unlike the CERB, the CRA will withhold 10% tax at source from all recovery benefit payments. Each period must be applied for separately. Applications must be made within 60 days after the end of the period to which the benefit relates and are subject to verification by the CRA. Verification may result in an increase in processing time by up to four weeks.

The eligibility criteria for the recovery benefits were amended, effective on Jan. 3, 2021, in order to prevent international travelers who are required to quarantine upon arrival to Canada from qualifying for any of the CRB, CRSB or CRCB during their quarantine period. Individuals who have completed their mandatory quarantine may be eligible to claim these benefits for subsequent periods, assuming all other eligibility criteria are met.

Individuals who knowingly make a false or misleading representation while applying for a recovery benefit, or who knowingly apply for and receive a benefit that they know they are not eligible for, may be subject to penalties. Specific repayment procedures are in place for those individuals who applied for and received a benefit by mistake.

To avoid having to pay tax on benefit payments received in 2020 that they are not eligible for, the CRA encouraged individuals to repay such amounts before Dec. 31, 2020.

The 2021 federal budget announced measures to temporarily allow individuals the option to deduct a repayment of COVID-19 benefits—including repayments of the CERB, CRB, CRCB and CRSB—against their income for the year in which the benefit was received, rather than the year in which it was repaid. This option is available for benefit amounts repaid before 2023, and any individual who makes a repayment, but who has already filed their income tax return for the year in which the benefit was received, is able to request an adjustment to the return for that year.

More information about these benefits can be found on the government’s COVID-19 Benefits and Services hub.

The CERB

The CERB, which initially provided a taxable benefit of $500 per week to eligible applicants, was extended in the early summer of 2020 by an additional eight weeks—from a maximum of 16 weeks to 24 weeks—and then again on Aug. 20, 2020, for a total maximum eligibility period of 28 weeks. The CERB program has ended.

For more details regarding the CERB, please read our Tax Alert, The Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) in Response to COVID-19.

Transitioning from CERB to EI benefits

Canadians who received CERB benefits through Service Canada, who are eligible for EI, and continue to need income support were automatically transitioned (as of Oct. 3, 2020) to the EI program once the CERB program ended. Those who received the CERB from the CRA and who believe that they are entitled to EI benefits after exhausting their CERB benefits were able to apply for EI benefits through Service Canada starting Sept. 26, 2020.

Summary

These changes may impact you if you transitioned from the CERB to other forms of income support after Sept. 26, 2020 or if you require income support as a consequence of COVID-19. Contact your BDO advisor if you have any questions about applying for EI benefits or for the Canada recovery benefits.


The information in this publication is current as of August 4, 2021.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Alerte fiscale – le gouvernement fédéral annonce des changements aux prestations de la relance économique

04 août 2021

Le gouvernement fédéral annonce d’autres prolongations aux prestations, soit la Prestation canadienne de la relance économique (PCRE), la Prestation canadienne de maladie pour la relance économique (PCMRE) et la Prestation canadienne de la relance économique pour proches aidants (PCREPA), reconnaissant la nécessité d’apporter du soutien à ceux qui en ont besoin dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Après avoir prolongé les prestations de la relance économique en février 2021, le gouvernement fédéral a ensuite proposé des mesures dans son budget de 2021 visant à prolonger deux des trois prestations. Les changements proposés ont reçu la sanction royale le 29 juin 2021. Le 30 juillet 2021, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé qu’il prolongerait les prestations de la relance économique et augmenterait le nombre maximal de semaines pendant lesquelles la PCRE peut être demandée.

Changements apportés au programme de prestations de l’assurance-emploi

Le 17 mars 2021, une loi a été adoptée pour augmenter le nombre de semaines de prestations régulières d’assurance-emploi offertes aux travailleurs jusqu’à un maximum de 50 semaines pour les demandes établies entre le 27 septembre 2020 et le 25 septembre 2021.

La loi a également ramené de 7 555 $ à 5 000 $ le seuil de revenu de 2020 applicable aux travailleurs autonomes qui participent au régime d’assurance-emploi pour avoir droit à des prestations spéciales. Ce changement s’applique aux demandes présentées entre le 3 janvier 2021 et le 25 septembre 2021.

Auparavant, le gouvernement avait annoncé les changements suivants aux prestations d’assurance-emploi, qui sont entrés en vigueur le 27 septembre 2020 :

  • Gel du taux de cotisation à l’assurance-emploi : Le gouvernement a annoncé le gel du taux de cotisation à l’assurance-emploi à celui fixé en 2020, soit 1,58 $ par tranche de 100 $ de revenu assurable, et ce, pendant 2 ans. Les employeurs, qui paient 1,4 fois le taux de l’employé, cotiseront encore 2,21 $ par tranche de 100 $ de revenu assurable au cours de la même période.
  • Taux de prestation minimum : Depuis le 27 septembre 2020, les nouveaux demandeurs d’assurance-emploi touchent une prestation minimum de 500 $ par semaine (ou 300 $ pour les prestations parentales prolongées). Au départ (le 20 août 2020), ce montant avait été établi à 400 $ par semaine (240 $ pour les prestations parentales prolongées), mais le gouvernement a ultérieurement augmenté le taux de prestation minimum afin qu’il corresponde au taux hebdomadaire de la nouvelle PCRE (voir ci-dessous).
  • Crédit d’heures pour améliorer l’accès aux prestations d’assurance-emploi : Le gouvernement octroie un crédit unique de 300 heures assurables pour les prestations normales et les prestations de travail partagé (perte d’emploi), ainsi que de 480 heures assurables pour les prestations spéciales (de maladie, de maternité, parentales, de compassion, pour proches aidants) pour venir en aide aux travailleurs qui n’ont pas pu cumuler le nombre d’heures assurables habituellement requis en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. Ce crédit d’heures sera également rétroactif au 15 mars 2020 pour les demandeurs qui voulaient passer plus rapidement de la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) aux prestations de maternité, parentales, de compassion, pour proches aidants ou de travail partagé de l’assurance-emploi, mais n’étaient pas parvenus à satisfaire aux exigences relatives au nombre d’heures. La période d’admissibilité sera également prolongée pour ces demandeurs. Le crédit d’heures sera offert aux nouveaux demandeurs d’assurance-emploi pendant un an.
  • Taux de chômage minimum de l’assurance-emploi : Afin de réduire le nombre d’heures requises pour être admissible aux prestations régulières de l’assurance-emploi, le gouvernement a établi le taux de chômage minimum à 13,1 % pour toutes les régions économiques de l’assurance-emploi. Cette mesure établira un critère d’admissibilité uniforme pour les prestations régulières de l’assurance-emploi à 420 heures d’emploi assurables (avant l’application du crédit d’heures), donnera droit à au moins 26 semaines de prestations régulières et fixera le nombre des meilleures semaines de rémunération utilisées dans le calcul de la prestation hebdomadaire à 14 semaines. Cette mesure est en vigueur pendant un an à compter du 9 août.
  • Prestations d’assurance-emploi pour pêcheurs : Le gouvernement met également en place des mesures temporaires pour appuyer les pêcheurs indépendants qui comptent sur les prestations d’assurance-emploi pour pêcheurs en basse saison.

Le 30 juillet 2021, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé que le taux minimal de prestations hebdomadaires d’assurance-emploi sera établi à 300 $ par semaine pour les prestations établies entre le 26 septembre 2021 et le 20 novembre 2021. Ce taux correspond au taux actuel de la PCRE pour les nouvelles demandes présentées après le 17 juillet 2021 (voir ci-dessous).

Prestations de la relance économique

Pour que les Canadiens qui ne sont pas admissibles aux prestations d’assurance-emploi continuent de recevoir un soutien au revenu dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19, le gouvernement a mis en place trois prestations canadiennes de la relance économique. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les renseignements sur ces prestations, y compris les prolongations les plus récentes :

1. Prestation canadienne de la relance économique (PCRE) : La PCRE s’élève à 500 $ par semaine pendant un maximum de 54 semaines et est destinée aux travailleurs qui ne sont pas admissibles à l’assurance-emploi, principalement les travailleurs indépendants et contractuels. Cette prestation, qui était initialement offerte pour une période maximale de 26 semaines, a été prolongée à 38 semaines en mars. Dans son budget de 2021, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé une prolongation de la PCRE de 12 semaines, pour un total de 50 semaines de soutien. Le versement des prestations pour les quatre premières des douze nouvelles semaines sera de 500 $ par semaine et pour les huit suivantes, il sera fixé à un taux réduit de 300 $ par semaine. Le 30 juillet 2021, le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il augmentera le nombre maximal de semaines, qui passera de 50 à 54 semaines. Au cours de ces quatre semaines supplémentaires, le bénéficiaire recevra 300 $ par semaine. Les nouveaux demandeurs de la PCRE qui présentent une demande après le 17 juillet 2021 recevront une prestation de 300 $ par semaine jusqu’au 23 octobre 2021.

La PCRE est destinée aux résidents canadiens qui se trouvent actuellement au Canada et qui :

  • sont âgés d’au moins 15 ans et détiennent un numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS) valide;
  • ont cessé de travailler pour des raisons liées à la pandémie de COVID-19 et qui sont disponibles pour travailler et à la recherche d’un emploi, ou qui travaillent, mais ont vu leurs revenus d’emploi hebdomadaires moyens diminuer de moitié en raison de la COVID-19;
  • n’ont pas fait de demande ou n’ont pas reçu de PCMRE, de PCREPA, de prestations d’invalidité de courte durée, d’indemnités d’accidents du travail, de prestations d’assurance-emploi ou de prestations du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP);
  • ne sont pas admissibles à l’assurance-emploi;
  • ont gagné un revenu d’emploi ou un revenu de travail indépendant (après déduction des dépenses), ou reçu des prestations de maternité ou des prestations parentales (provenant de l’assurance-emploi ou des prestations similaires du RQAP) d’au moins 5 000 $ en 2019, en 2020 ou au cours des 12 mois précédant la date de mise en place;
  • n’ont ni quitté leur emploi ni réduit leurs heures volontairement.

Les prestataires de la PCRE devront déposer une demande après chaque période de deux semaines et attester qu’ils satisfont toujours aux critères. Les demandeurs devront également être à la recherche d’un emploi et en accepter un lorsqu’il est raisonnable de le faire. Il leur sera possible de gagner un revenu d’emploi ou de travail indépendant pendant qu’ils touchent la prestation, à condition qu’ils remboursent 0,50 $ pour chaque dollar de leur revenu net annuel dépassant 38 000 $ pendant l’année civile, jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximum de la prestation qu’ils auront reçu.

2. Prestation canadienne de maladie pour la relance économique (PCMRE) : La PCMRE fournit une prestation imposable de 500 $ par semaine jusqu’à concurrence de quatre semaines aux travailleurs admissibles qui ne peuvent pas travailler parce qu’ils ont contracté la COVID-19 ou qu’ils présentent une condition médicale ou une maladie qui les rend plus vulnérables à la COVID-19, ou qui doivent être en isolement préventif pour des raisons liées à la COVID-19.

Cette prestation sera offerte aux travailleurs qui :

  • habitent au Canada et qui s’y trouvent actuellement;
  • ont 15 ans et plus et détiennent un numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS) valide;
  • sont salariés ou indépendants au moment de soumettre la demande;
  • n’ont pas fait de demande ou n’ont pas reçu de PCRE, de PCREPA, de prestations d’invalidité de courte durée, d’indemnités d’accidents du travail, de prestations d’assurance-emploi ou de prestations du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale (RQAP);
  • ont gagné au moins 5 000 $ en revenu d’emploi ou de travail indépendant (après déduction des dépenses), ou ont reçu des prestations de maternité ou des prestations parentales (prestations provenant de l’assurance-emploi ou prestations similaires du RQAP) en 2019, 2020 ou au cours des 12 mois précédant la date de la demande.

Les travailleurs ne peuvent pas demander la PCMRE s’ils ont obtenu des congés de maladie payés par leur employeur pour la même période de prestation. En plus de répondre aux critères d’admissibilité pour cette prestation, les travailleurs devront avoir été absents pendant au moins 50 % de leur horaire de travail prévu au cours de la semaine pour laquelle ils demandent la prestation. Les travailleurs n’auront pas à fournir de certificat médical pour recevoir la prestation.

3. Prestation canadienne de la relance économique pour proches aidants (PCREPA) : La nouvelle PCREPA s’élève à 500 $ par semaine, par ménage, jusqu’à concurrence de 42 semaines et est destinée aux Canadiens admissibles qui ne sont pas en mesure de travailler parce qu’ils doivent prendre soin de leurs enfants ou aider d’autres personnes à charge devant rester à la maison en raison de la COVID-19. Comme la PCRE, la PCREPA était initialement offerte pour un maximum de 26 semaines. Cette prestation a été prolongée une première fois à 38 semaines, puis à nouveau à 42 semaines. La prestation de 500 $ par semaine demeure inchangée.

Pour être admissible à la PCREPA, un particulier doit :

  • habiter au Canada et s’y trouver actuellement;
  • avoir au moins 15 ans le premier jour de la période pour laquelle il demande la prestation;
  • détenir un numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS) valide;
  • avoir gagné au moins 5 000 $ en revenu d’emploi ou revenu net de travail indépendant, ou avoir reçu des prestations de maternité ou des prestations parentales (prestations provenant de l’assurance-emploi ou du RQAP) en 2019, 2020 ou au cours des 12 mois précédant la date de la demande;
  • être dans l’incapacité de travailler au moins 50 % de sa semaine de travail prévue pour s’occuper de son enfant (âgé de moins de 12 ans la première journée de la période faisant l’objet de la demande de prestation) ou d’un membre de sa famille qui a besoin de soins supervisés pour l’une des raisons suivantes :
  • son école, sa garderie, son programme de jour ou son établissement de soins est fermé ou inaccessible en raison de la COVID-19;
  • il est atteint de la COVID-19 ou en présente les symptômes, il doit s’isoler ou il risque d’avoir de graves complications de santé s’il contracte la COVID-19, selon les recommandations d’un professionnel de la santé;
  • ses services de soins habituels ne sont pas disponibles en raison de la COVID-19;
  • ne pas avoir obtenu de congé payé par un employeur pendant la même semaine;
  • ne pas avoir fait de demande ou ne pas avoir reçu de PCRE, de PCMRE, de prestations d’invalidité de courte durée, d’indemnités d’accidents du travail, de prestations d’assurance-emploi ou de prestations du Régime québécois d’assurance parentale pour la même période.

Deux membres d’une famille résidant au même domicile ne peuvent pas recevoir la prestation pour la même période. Les travailleurs pourraient la demander après la période pour laquelle ils réclament un soutien au revenu et devront attester qu’ils satisfont aux critères.

La PCRE, la PCMRE et la PCREPA sont entrées en vigueur pour la période commençant le 27 septembre 2020. Ces prestations devaient initialement prendre fin le 25 septembre 2021, mais le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé le 30 juillet 2021 qu’elles seraient offertes jusqu’au 23 octobre 2021.

L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) administre les prestations de la relance économique et les Canadiens peuvent présenter leur demande par l’intermédiaire du service Mon dossier de l’ARC. Les demandes au titre de la PCMRE et de la PCREPA sont acceptées depuis le 5 octobre 2020 et les demandes au titre de la PCRE sont acceptées depuis le 12 octobre 2020. Veuillez prendre note que, contrairement à ce qui prévalait pour la PCU, l’ARC retiendra un impôt de 10 % à la source sur tous les versements des prestations pour la relance économique. Il faut soumettre une demande distincte pour chaque période. Les demandes doivent être soumises dans les 60 jours suivant la fin de la période à laquelle la prestation est liée et peuvent faire l’objet de vérifications de la part de l’ARC. Ces vérifications peuvent entraîner un délai supplémentaire pouvant atteindre quatre semaines.

Depuis le 3 janvier 2021, les critères d’admissibilité aux prestations de la relance économique ont été modifiés afin d’empêcher les voyageurs internationaux qui doivent être mis en quarantaine à leur arrivée au Canada d’être admissibles à la PCRE, à la PCMRE ou à la PCREPA pendant leur période de quarantaine. Les particuliers qui ont terminé leur mise en quarantaine obligatoire peuvent être admissibles à ces prestations pour les périodes subséquentes, en supposant que tous les autres critères d’admissibilité sont respectés.

Les particuliers qui font sciemment une fausse déclaration ou une déclaration trompeuse en soumettant leur demande de prestations de la relance économique, ou qui demandent et reçoivent des prestations auxquelles ils ne sont pas admissibles, s’exposent à des pénalités. Des procédures de remboursement sont en place pour les particuliers qui demandent et reçoivent des prestations de la relance par erreur.

Pour éviter d’avoir à payer de l’impôt sur des prestations reçues en 2020 auxquelles ils n’avaient pas droit, l’ARC a encouragé les particuliers à rembourser ces montants avant le 31 décembre 2020.

Dans son budget de 2021, le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé des mesures afin de permettre temporairement aux particuliers de demander une déduction au titre du remboursement d’un montant de prestation pour la COVID-19, notamment de PCU, de PCRE, de PCMRE et de PCREPA, dans le calcul de leur revenu pour l’année de réception du montant de prestation plutôt que l’année du remboursement. Cette option est offerte pour les montants de prestations remboursés avant 2023. Un particulier qui effectue un remboursement, mais qui a déjà produit sa déclaration de revenus pour l’année dans laquelle la prestation a été reçue, peut demander un ajustement à la déclaration pour cette année-là.

D’autres renseignements à propos de ces prestations sont fournis sur le portail Prestations et services pour la COVID-19 du gouvernement.

PCU

La PCU, qui fournissait au départ un avantage imposable de 500 $ par semaine aux demandeurs admissibles, a été prolongée au début de l’été 2020, faisant passer la période maximale de 16 semaines à 24 semaines. Une autre prolongation a été annoncée le 20 août 2020, portant la période d’admissibilité maximale à 28 semaines. Le programme de PCU a pris fin.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la PCU, veuillez consulter notre Alerte fiscale, Prestation canadienne d’urgence en réponse à la COVID-19.

Passer de la PCU aux prestations d’assurance-emploi

Les Canadiens qui ont reçu la PCU par l’entremise de Service Canada, qui sont admissibles à l’assurance-emploi et qui ont toujours besoin d’un soutien au revenu ont été automatiquement transférés (en date du 3 octobre 2020) au régime d’assurance-emploi une fois le programme de PCU terminé. Les prestataires qui ont reçu la PCU par l’entremise de l’ARC et qui croient avoir droit à l’assurance-emploi après la fin des versements de la PCU pouvaient soumettre une demande auprès de Service Canada après le 26 septembre 2020.

Conclusion

Ces changements pourraient avoir une incidence sur vous si vous passez de la PCU à une autre forme d’aide au revenu après le 26 septembre 2020 ou si vous avez besoin de l’aide au revenu en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. Si vous avez des questions sur les demandes de prestations d’assurance-emploi ou sur l’une des prestations de la relance économique, veuillez vous adresser à votre conseiller BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 4 août 2021.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.