Tax Alert: 2017 Fall Economic Statement

October 25, 2017

NTL_Firm_25Oct17_Website_Tax_Fall-Economic-Statement_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

On October 24, 2017, the government released its Fall Economic Statement. Growth in the Canadian economy and the related increase in tax revenues has decreased the projected federal deficit for the current fiscal year by approximately $8.6 billion, from an initial deficit of $28.5 billion projected for the 2017-18 fiscal period to a projected deficit of $19.9 billion in this Economic Statement. The projected deficits for 2018-19 and 2019-20 are also expected to decline from those that were anticipated in the 2017 federal budget. The government is proposing to reduce certain taxes and increase certain tax benefits because of these stronger economic results. However, increased taxes for the wealthy, in particular the proposed income sprinkling changes, will partially offset the tax reductions and increased tax benefits.

In the Fall Economic Statement, the government announced an increase to the Canada Child Benefit (CCB), an increase in the Working Income Tax Benefit (WITB), and changes to the dividend gross-up and dividend tax credit rates on ineligible dividends for 2018 and 2019. The changes to the ineligible dividend tax rate are consequential to the reduction in the small business tax rate announced on October 16. These small business tax changes and confirmation that the government plans to proceed with income sprinkling proposals are discussed in our October 16 Tax Alert, The Government responds with significant changes from Private Company Consultation. Draft legislation was also introduced on October 24 to effect the CCB, small business tax rate and dividend tax credit changes.

Changes to Taxes on Ineligible Dividends

The top personal federal tax rate on ineligible dividends will increase from 26.30% in 2017 to 26.64% in 2018 and 27.57% in 2019. These changes are as result of the announced decrease in the federal small business tax rate from 10.5% in 2017 to 10% starting January 1, 2018 and 9% starting January 1, 2019.

Canada Child Benefit

The CCB was introduced in 2016 to replace the Universal Child Care Benefit, the Canada Child Tax Benefit, and the National Child Benefit Supplement. This tax-free benefit provides an amount to families with household income under $200,000 and children under age 18. The amount of the benefit is tied to family income so that benefits are reduced as income rises. The CCB was to be indexed to inflation starting July 2020. In the Fall Economic Statement, it was announced that this indexing would instead start July 2018. In addition to indexing the amount of the benefit, the adjusted family income thresholds above which the CCB is reduced will also be increased.

Working Income Tax Benefit

The WITB is a refundable tax credit that provides a supplement to the earnings of low-income workers. The government announced in the Fall Economic Statement that it would further enhance the WITB by increasing the maximum benefit levels and expanding the income range of those who are eligible for this benefit. Details of this proposal will not be provided until the 2018 federal budget is presented.

Summary

We are committed to keeping you updated on current tax changes. Please contact one of our trusted Tax advisors at BDO Canada to gain more information on these tax changes.

Dave Walsh
Partner, Tax Service Line Leader

Rachel Gervais
Partner, GTA Group Tax Service Line Leader

Peter Routly
Partner, Central Group Tax Service Line Leader

Daryl Maduke
Partner, West Group Tax Service Line Leader

Shelley Smith
Partner, East Group Tax Service Line Leader

Learn more about BDO's Canadian Tax Services today.


The information in this publication is current as of October 25, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale : Énoncé économique de l’automne 2017

25 octobre 2017

NTL_Firm_25Oct17_Website_Tax_Fall-Economic-Statement_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le 24 octobre 2017, le gouvernement a publié son énoncé économique de l’automne 2017. La croissance de l’économie canadienne et l’augmentation des revenus tirés de l’impôt ont réduit le déficit fédéral prévu pour l’exercice courant d’environ 8,6 milliards de dollars, qui passe de 28,5 milliards de dollars pour l’exercice 2017-2018 à 19,9 milliards de dollars dans le présent énoncé économique. Les déficits prévus pour les exercices 2018-2019 et 2019-2020 devraient eux aussi être moindres que ceux prévus au départ dans le budget fédéral de 2017. À la lumière de ces solides résultats économiques, le gouvernement propose de réduire certaines charges fiscales et d’accroître certains avantages fiscaux. Toutefois, l’augmentation des impôts pour les mieux nantis, notamment en raison des modifications proposées au fractionnement de revenu, annule en partie les réductions d’impôts et l’augmentation des avantages fiscaux.

Dans l’énoncé économique de l’automne, le gouvernement a annoncé une augmentation de l’Allocation canadienne pour enfants (ACE), une augmentation de la Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail (PFRT) et des modifications à la majoration de dividende et aux taux de crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés pour 2018 et 2019. Les modifications apportées au taux de crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés sont corrélatives à la réduction du taux d’imposition des petites entreprises annoncé le 16 octobre. Dans notre Alerte fiscale du 16 octobre, Document de consultation sur les sociétés privées : le gouvernement apporte d’importants changements, nous traitons des modifications au taux d’imposition des petites entreprises et du fait que le gouvernement prévoit aller de l’avant dans leur proposition à l’égard du fractionnement de revenu. Des propositions législatives ont également été présentées le 24 octobre pour apporter les modifications liées à l’ACE, au taux d’imposition des petites entreprises et au crédit d’impôt pour dividende.

Modifications apportées aux dividendes non déterminés

Le plus haut taux d’imposition fédéral sur le revenu des particuliers à l’égard des dividendes non déterminés passera de 26,30 % en 2017 à 26,64 % en 2018 et enfin à 27,57 % en 2019. Ces modifications découlent de la diminution annoncée des taux d’imposition pour les petites entreprises, qui étaient de 10,5 % en 2017 et qui passeront à 10 % à compter du 1er janvier 2018 et à 9 % à compter du 1er janvier 2019.

Allocation canadienne pour enfants

L’ACE a été adoptée en 2016 dans le but de remplacer la Prestation universelle pour la garde d’enfants, la Prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants et le supplément de la Prestation nationale pour enfants. Cette allocation libre d’impôt accorde un montant aux familles touchant un revenu de moins de 200 000 $ et ayant des enfants de moins de 18 ans. Le montant de l’ACE est établi en fonction du revenu familial, de sorte qu’elle est réduite à mesure que le revenu augmente. L’ACE devait être indexée à l’inflation à compter de juillet 2020. Dans l’énoncé économique de l’automne, le gouvernement a précisé que l’indexation se fera plutôt à compter de juillet 2018. Outre l’indexation du montant d’allocation, le seuil de revenu familial ajusté, à partir duquel l’ACE est réduite, sera aussi augmenté.

Prestation fiscale pour le revenu de travail

La PFRT est un crédit d’impôt remboursable qui complète les revenus des travailleurs à faible revenu. Le gouvernement a annoncé dans l’énoncé économique de l’automne qu’il bonifiera la PFRT en augmentant les prestations maximales et en élargissant la fourchette de revenu pour ceux qui y sont admissibles. Des précisions sur la proposition seront apportées dans le budget fédéral de 2018.

Conclusion

Nous nous engageons à vous tenir informés des modifications fiscales courantes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces modifications, veuillez communiquer avec l’un de nos conseillers BDO de confiance chez BDO Canada.

Dave Walsh
Associé, Chef de gamme de services en fiscalité

Rachel Gervais
Associée, Chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de la RGR

Peter Routly
Associé, Chef des services en fiscalité du groupe du centre

Daryl Maduke
Associé, Chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de l’ouest

Shelley Smith
Associée, Chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de l’est

Apprenez en plus aujourd’hui sur les services en fiscalité canadienne de BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du mercredi 25 octobre 2017

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.