Tax Alert - Relief Is Coming - for Some Canadian Importers

October 25, 2018

NTL_23Oct18_Website_Tax-Alert_Steel-Aluminum-Tariffs_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

On October 11, 2018, the U.S. Surtax Remission Order (the Remission Order) granted relief in response to an overwhelming number of requests from Canadian importers facing difficulties in sourcing steel and aluminum products from domestic producers. This is good news for importers who have seen their duty costs increase since July 1, 2018 and have felt the impact on their bottom line.

Of importance, the Remission Order provides relief for imported steel and aluminum products deemed of “on-going short supply” or of “temporary short supply” in Canada and lists these items in two separate schedules.

Schedule 1

Schedule 1 of the Remission Order provides a listing of imported products that have been granted an indefinite period of relief. Canadian importers of these goods can apply for refunds of surtaxes paid on imports of these specific products from July 1, 2018 and take some comfort, that for the time being, these products will not attract an additional surtax of either 10% or 25%. Goods listed on Schedule 1 include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Aluminum cans of 201 ml, 222 ml, 248 ml, 250 ml, 355 ml, 473 ml, 568 ml, 710 ml or 946 ml
  • Electro galvanized steel
  • Angles, shapes and sections of iron or non-alloy steel

Schedule 2

Imported products listed in Schedule 2 were granted a limited relief period, on the assumption that Canadian manufacturers will soon be able to meet the demand for their products. Importers of products on Schedule 2 can apply for refunds of the surtax paid on these specific products from July 1, 2018, but must be aware that the surtax remission will expire on December 31, 2018. Goods listed on Schedule 2 include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Tubes, pipes and hollow profiles, seamless, of iron (other than cast iron) or steel
  • Flat-rolled products of iron or non-alloy steel, of a width of 600 mm or more, cold-rolled (cold-reduced), not clad, plated or coated; Of a thickness of 0.5 mm or more but not exceeding 1 mm
  • Flat-rolled products of other alloy steel, of a width of 600 mm or more

It is important to note that this Remission Order does not remove all countermeasure surtaxes originally implemented by the Canadian Government on U.S. originating steel and aluminum since July 1, 2018. There are still several products subject to an additional 10% or 25% surtax. Click here for the entire list of goods included in Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 of the Remission Order.

Recovering Surtaxes

Canadian importers can recover surtaxes paid since July 1, 2018 or reduce the impact of ongoing surtaxes on their bottom line by taking the following steps:

  1. Review all steel and aluminum imported into Canada from the U.S. since July 1, 2018 to see if the imported products can benefit from the Remission Order.
  2. Review tariff classifications of all steel and aluminum products to ensure they are not attracting surtaxes incorrectly.
  3. Review the country of origin declared on import documents to ensure they correctly reflect the country of manufacture of the goods. Remember, only steel and aluminum from the U.S. attract the counter-measure surtaxes imposed since July 1, 2018.
  4. Recover surtaxes paid on imports of steel and aluminum imposed since July 1, 2018, which have been identified on Schedule 1 or 2.
  5. Recover surtaxes paid on imports of steel and aluminum imported since July 1, 2018 by exploring other Canada Border Service Agency refund programs.

Undoubtedly, the challenging Canadian customs and trade landscape continues to change at a record pace. BDO Customs & International Trade can provide concise answers to questions about the surtaxes and the impact of the Remission Order.

Brian Morcombe                                                  Charmaine Goddeeris      
Partner, Indirect Tax                                            Senior Manager, Customs & International Trade

Watch this webinar on demand to explore how you can manage the impact of Canadian tariffs on products you bring into Canada.

Alerte fiscale – Un répit... pour certains importateurs canadiens

25 octobre 2018

NTL_23Oct18_Website_Tax-Alert_Steel-Aluminum-Tariffs_LandingPage_679x220-(1).jpg

Devant un nombre imposant de demandes de la part des importateurs canadiens confrontés à des difficultés d’approvisionnement en produits d’acier et d’aluminium auprès des producteurs nationaux, le gouvernement a adopté, le 11 octobre 2018, le Décret de remise concernant les surtaxes imposées aux États-Unis (le « Décret de remise »). Il s’agit d’une excellente nouvelle pour les importateurs qui ont vu leurs frais douaniers augmenter depuis le 1er juillet 2018 et dont le résultat net en a souffert.

Parmi les éléments importants du Décret de remise, mentionnons la remise pour les produits d’acier et d’aluminium importés en raison d’une « pénurie continue » ou d’une « pénurie temporaire » au Canada, répartis en deux annexes.

Annexe 1

L’annexe 1 du Décret de remise regroupe les marchandises importées pour lesquelles une remise sera accordée pour une durée indéterminée. Les importateurs canadiens des marchandises à figurant à l’annexe 1 peuvent demander le remboursement de la surtaxe sur les importations effectuées depuis le 1er juillet 2018. Au moins, les importateurs pourront se réjouir que ces marchandises ne seront pas sujettes à une surtaxe de 10 % ou 25 % pour le moment. Les marchandises de l’annexe 1 comprennent notamment :

  • les bidons d’aluminium de 201 ml, 222 ml, 248 ml, 250 ml, 355 ml, 473 ml, 568 ml, 710 ml ou 946 ml;
  • l’acier électrozingué;
  • les angles, formes et sections en fer ou en acier non alliés.

Annexe 2

Les produits importés figurant à l’annexe 2 donneront droit à une période d’allégement, mais uniquement pendant une durée limitée, car on suppose que les fabricants canadiens seront bientôt en mesure de répondre à la demande. Les importateurs de produits inscrits à l’annexe 2 peuvent demander un remboursement de la surtaxe payée à l’égard des marchandises ciblées importées depuis le 1er juillet 2018. Toutefois, ils doivent savoir que ce mécanisme prendra fin le 31 décembre 2018. Les marchandises de l’annexe 2 comprennent notamment :

  • les tubes, tuyaux et profilés creux, sans soudure, en fer (autre que de la fonte) ou en acier;
  • les produits laminés plats, en fer ou en aciers non alliés, d’une largeur de 600 mm ou plus, laminés à froid, non plaqués ni revêtus, d’une épaisseur entre 0,5 mm et 1 mm;
  • les produits laminés plats en autres aciers alliés, d’une largeur de 600 mm ou plus.

Il convient de noter que le Décret de remise n’apporte pas un allégement pour l’ensemble des surtaxes imposées par le gouvernement du Canada sur les produits d’acier et d’aluminium en provenance des États-Unis depuis le 1er juillet 2018. Plusieurs autres produits demeurent assujettis à une surtaxe de 10 % ou 25 %. Cliquez ici pour connaître la liste complète des marchandises aux annexes 1 et 2 du Décret de remise.

Remboursement des surtaxes

Pour obtenir le remboursement des surtaxes payées depuis le 1er juillet 2018 ou pour réduire l’incidence des surtaxes sur leur résultat net, les importateurs canadiens peuvent prendre les mesures suivantes :

  1. Passer en revue tous les produits d’acier et d’aluminium importés des États-Unis vers le Canada depuis le 1er juillet 2018 afin de déterminer s’ils sont visés par le Décret de remise;
  2. Vérifier la classification dans les numéros tarifaires de tous les produits d’acier et d’aluminium pour confirmer qu’ils ne paient pas des surtaxes par erreur;
  3. Vérifier le pays d’origine indiqué sur les documents d’importation pour s’assurer qu’il correspond bien à celui de fabrication des marchandises. Seuls les produits d’acier et d’aluminium en provenance des États-Unis sont assujettis à des surtaxes depuis le 1er juillet 2018;
  4. Demander le remboursement des surtaxes payées sur les produits d’acier et d’aluminium importés depuis le 1er juillet 2018 lorsque les produits figurent à l’annexe 1 ou 2;
  5. Prendre connaissance des autres programmes de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada qui donneraient droit au remboursement des surtaxes payées sur les produits d’acier et d’aluminium importés depuis le 1er juillet 2018.

À n’en pas douter, le domaine des douanes et du commerce au Canada continue d’évoluer à un rythme effréné. L’équipe de Services-conseils en matière de douanes et commerce international de BDO peut vous fournir des réponses concises à vos questions sur les surtaxes et l’incidence du Décret de remise.

Brian Morcombe                                                  Charmaine Goddeeris      
Associé, Services en taxes indirectes                 Directrice principale, Services-conseils en matière de douanes et de commerce international

Visionnez ce webinaire pour savoir comment gérer l’incidence des droits tarifaires canadiens sur les produits que vous importez au Canada.