Tax Alert - Proposals on Converting Income to Capital Gains Abandoned

October 2017

Dave Walsh, Partner, Tax Service Line Leader |

Tax_19Oct17_Website_Consultation-Paper_Intergenerational-Transfers_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

On October 19 the government released further changes to their controversial July 18 proposals on private company tax planning, the third such release during Small Business Week. This announcement focused on the issue of converting income to capital gains and the tax advantages associated with this planning. The government appears to be backing down on this proposal.

Conversion of Income into Capital Gains

The government announced it will not be moving forward with measures relating to the conversion of income into capital gains. The government discovered during the consultation process that the measures proposed in July would have resulted in unintended consequences, particularly in respect of taxation upon death and intergenerational transfers of businesses. Specifically, the July proposals would have substantially increased the cost of passing on family businesses to the next generation, putting owners of such businesses in the difficult position of finding it to be more tax efficient to sell to a buyer outside the family.

The July proposals and their related consequences were discussed in our Tax Alert, A detailed review: The government’s private company consultation paper. The proposals relating to the conversion of income into capital gains (surplus stripping) were to be effective as of the July 18, 2017 announcement date. This caused considerable uncertainty for taxpayers with respect to post-mortem planning for deaths prior to that date as well as to other transactions that were already in progress. The October 19 announcement appears to have put those concerns to rest.

Another concern with the July proposals was a new anti-stripping rule that was very broadly worded and was causing considerable uncertainty in the tax community due to its vagueness. This proposal had been included in the surplus stripping proposals and therefore will not be proceeding at this time.

The government also announced that it will work with family businesses to make it more efficient to hand down their businesses to the next generation.

Summary

We are committed to keeping you updated on issues around the private corporation tax changes. Once the final legislation related to these changes is announced, we will host a webinar to outline the impact of the changes and provide planning opportunities.

View all of BDO's related content in our Private Corporation Tax Changes Round-up resource.

BDO Can Help

Please contact one of our trusted Tax advisors at BDO Canada to gain more information on the July proposals and the October revisions and to help you with your private company tax planning.

Dave Walsh
Partner, Tax Service Line Leader

Rachel Gervais
Partner, GTA Group Tax Service Line Leader

Peter Routly
Partner, Central Group Tax Service Line Leader

Daryl Maduke
Partner, West Group Tax Service Line Leader

Shelley Smith
Partner, East Group Tax Service Line Leader

Learn more about BDO's Canadian Tax Services today.


The information in this publication is current as of October 19, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale - Renonciation aux propositions concernant la conversion du revenu en gains en capital

octobre 2017

Dave Walsh, Associé et chef de gamme de services, fiscalité |

Tax_19Oct17_Website_Consultation-Paper_Intergenerational-Transfers_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le 19 octobre, le gouvernement a annoncé des changements supplémentaires à ses propositions controversées du 18 juillet concernant la planification fiscale des sociétés privées. Il s’agit de la troisième annonce de la sorte à avoir lieu pendant la Semaine de la PME. L’annonce ciblait la question de la conversion du revenu en gains en capital et les avantages fiscaux qui découlent de cette planification. Le gouvernement semble faire marche arrière sur cette proposition.

Conversion du revenu en gains en capital

Le gouvernement a annoncé qu’il n’adopterait pas les mesures relatives à la conversion du revenu en gains en capital. Pendant la période de consultation, le gouvernement a constaté que les mesures proposées en juillet auraient eu des conséquences inattendues, notamment sur l’imposition au décès et sur les transferts intergénérationnels d’entreprises. Concrètement, les propositions du mois de juillet auraient augmenté considérablement le coût du transfert d’une entreprise familiale à la prochaine génération, ce qui aurait placé les propriétaires dans la situation délicate où il aurait été plus avantageux, sur le plan fiscal, de vendre l’entreprise à un acheteur en dehors du cercle familial.

Les propositions de juillet et leurs incidences ont été discutées dans l’Alerte fiscale intitulée Analyse détaillée - Document de consultation du gouvernement sur les sociétés privées. Les propositions relatives à la conversion de revenu en gains en capital (dépouillement de surplus) devaient prendre effet à la date de l’annonce, soit le 18 juillet 2017. Ces propositions ont entraîné une forte incertitude chez les contribuables à l’égard des planifications post mortem dans les situations où le décès était survenu avant cette date et à l’égard d’autres opérations déjà en cours. L’annonce du 19 octobre semble avoir mis un terme à ces inquiétudes.

Une autre préoccupation causée par les propositions de juillet était la nouvelle règle anti-dépouillement qui suscitait l’inquiétude en raison de sa formulation vague et très générale, qui engendrait une grande incertitude au sein de la communauté fiscale. Cette proposition figurait dans les propositions de dépouillement de surplus et, par conséquent, ne sera pas adoptée pour l’heure.

Le gouvernement a également annoncé qu’il travaillera de concert avec les entreprises familiales pour faciliter les transferts intergénérationnels d’entreprises.

Conclusion

Nous nous engageons à vous tenir à jour sur les questions touchant les changements à l’imposition des sociétés privées. Une fois que la législation finale relative à ces changements sera annoncée, nous organiserons un webinaire afin de faire un compte rendu de l’incidence des changements apportés et de créer des occasions de planification.

Pour accéder à du contenu connexe publié par BDO, consultez notre ressource Private Corporation Tax Changes Round-up (en anglais).

BDO peut vous aider

Pour en savoir plus sur les propositions du mois de juillet et les changements annoncés en octobre et obtenir de l’aide concernant la planification fiscale de votre société privée, veuillez communiquer avec l’un de nos conseillers BDO de confiance chez BDO Canada.

Dave Walsh
Associé, chef des services en fiscalité

Rachel Gervais
Associée, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de la RGT

Peter Routly
Associé, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe du centre

Daryl Maduke
Associé, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de l’ouest

Shelley Smith
Associée, chef des services en fiscalité du groupe de l’est

Apprenez en plus sur les services en fiscalité canadienne de BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 16 octobre 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.