Tax Alert - Ontario Introduces 15% Residential Property Transfer Tax on Foreign Buyers

April 2017

Toronto_Landing_Banner_679x220.jpg

On April 20, 2017, the Ontario government introduced the controversial “Ontario’s Fair Housing Plan” (the Plan) which they contend is a “comprehensive package of measures to help more people find affordable homes.” The Plan introduces measures that will have a significant impact to the Ontario residential real estate market and includes 16 measures that are intended to be actions to address the demand for housing, protect renters, increase housing supply, protect homebuyers and increase information sharing. 

The Non-Resident Speculation Tax

The government introduced a 15% non-resident speculation tax (NRST) that applies to the purchase or acquisition of an interest in residential property located in Greater Toronto Area (GTA) and the Greater Golden Horseshoe (GGH)1 by foreign entities and taxable trustees2

The NRST applies in addition to the general land transfer tax in Ontario and will be effective as of April 21, 2017. Unregistered dispositions of a beneficial interest in residential property by a foreign entity or taxable trustee will also be subject to the NRST. Any binding agreements of purchase and sale signed on or before April 20, 2017 are not subject to the NRST. 

The NRST applies to the transfer of land which contains at least one and not more than six single family residences. However, the NRST does not apply to other properties such as multi-residential rental apartment buildings with more than six units, agricultural land, commercial land or industrial land. For mixed use property, the tax will apply to the value of the residential portion of the property. An exemption or rebate of the NRST may be available in certain limited situations. For example, where an individual buys a home in Ontario while on a work visa, they can apply for a rebate once they have worked full-time in Ontario for a continuous period of one year since the date of purchase. It is important to note that all transfers registered on or after April 21, 2017 must contain a statement expressly acknowledging that consideration has been given to the application of the NRST.  

The tax will apply to co-ownership arrangements on the full value of the property transferred even if only one of the transferees is a foreign entity or taxable trustee. Also, each transferee is jointly and severally liable for any NRST payable, including those that are not foreign entities or taxable trustees.

The Ontario NRST is similar to the British Columbia 15% property transfer tax introduced in 2016 to apply to residential real estate transactions in the Greater Vancouver Area.

Actions Designed to Protect Renters

The government has also introduced rent control measures that will apply to all private rental units in Ontario, including those built after 1991.  Also included in the Plan is legislation that will strengthen the Residential Tenancies Act to further protect tenants and will include the development of a standard lease with explanatory information. These changes will apply to all of Ontario. 

Actions Designed to Increase Housing Supply

Several measures were introduced in the Plan that are geared towards increasing the housing supply in Ontario, including:

  • Establishing a program to leverage the value of surplus provincial land assets across the province to develop a mix of market housing and a new, permanent, sustainable and affordable housing supply.
  • Introducing legislation that would allow municipalities to introduce a vacant homes property tax to encourage property owners to sell unoccupied units or rent them out.
  • Ensuring that property tax for new multi-residential apartment buildings is charged at a similar rate as other residential properties.
  • Introducing a targeted $125-million, five-year program to further encourage the construction of new rental apartment buildings by rebating a portion of development charges.
  • Providing municipalities with the flexibility to use property tax tools to help unlock development opportunities, such as a higher property tax rate on vacant land that has been approved for housing development. 

Other Actions to Protect Homebuyers and Increase Information Sharing

Also included in the Plan is a commitment to tackle practices that may be contributing to tax avoidance and excessive speculation in the housing market such as “paper flipping.”  Details were not announced on specific actions under consideration.  In addition, the government promises to work with the real estate profession and consumers and review the rules real estate agents are required to follow to ensure that consumers are fairly represented in residential real estate transactions. This will include educating consumers on their rights, particularly on the issue of one real estate professional representing more than one party in a residential real estate transaction.

It was also noted that the Ontario government plans on partnering with the federal government and the Canada Revenue Agency to explore more comprehensive reporting requirements so that correct federal and provincial taxes, including income and sales taxes, are paid on purchases and sales of residential real estate in Ontario.  Although not specifically addressed, this could include a closer review of whether homeowners are flipping homes, which could result in gains being taxed as income rather than capital gains (and in particular, capital gains eligible for the principal residence exemption).

Finally, the government promises to work with municipalities and develop new provisions that will include requiring that municipalities consider the appropriate range of unit sizes in higher density residential buildings to accommodate a diverse range of household sizes and incomes.

Summary

The Ontario government has released a broad set of initiatives that will have a significant impact on the Ontario residential real estate market.   These changes could have a significant impact on residential real estate investors, purchasers, owners and developers.  If you have any questions about the Plan and how it may impact you, contact one of our BDO experts or your local BDO advisor.

Dave Walsh        
Tax Service Line Leader    
 
Stan Zinman
International Tax Services Leader    
Real Estate Industry Tax Leader    
   
Rachel Gervais
GTA Tax Service Line Leader    
Salmaan Alvi
National Real Estate & Construction Leader    

  







1The GGH includes the following regions of Ontario: Brant, Dufferin, Durham, Haldimand, Halton, Hamilton, Kawartha Lakes, Niagara, Northumberland, Peel, Peterborough, Simcoe, Waterloo, Wellington and York geographical areas.

2Foreign entities are defined as:

•    A foreign national - an individuals who is not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada
•    A foreign corporation - corporation that is:

  • not incorporated in Canada;
  • is incorporated in Canada but is controlled by a foreign national or other foreign corporation (unless the corporation has shares that are listed on a Canadian stock exchange); or 
  • is controlled directly or indirectly by a foreign entity related to section 256 of the Income Tax Act (Canada)

Taxable trustees are defined as: 

•    A foreign entity holding title in trust for beneficiaries, or
•    A Canadian citizen, Canadian permanent resident, or a corporation holding title in trust for foreign entity beneficiaries.


The information in this publication is current as of April 21, 2017. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale – Nouveaux droits de mutation immobilière résidentielle de 15 % pour les acheteurs étrangers en Ontario

avril 2017

Toronto_Landing_Banner_679x220.jpg

Le 20 avril 2017, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a lancé le controversé « plan de l’Ontario pour le logement équitable » (le plan) qu’il considère comme étant « un train de mesures pour aider plus de personnes à trouver un logement abordable ». Le plan prévoit des mesures qui auront une incidence importante sur le marché immobilier résidentiel de l’Ontario et comprend 16 mesures visant à répondre à la demande de logements, à assurer la protection des locataires, l’accroissement de l’offre de logements ainsi que la protection des acheteurs et le partage accru des renseignements.

L’impôt sur la spéculation pour les non-résidents

Le gouvernement a instauré un nouvel impôt sur la spéculation pour les non-résidents (ISNR) de 15 % applicable à l’achat ou à l’acquisition d’un immeuble résidentiel situé dans la région du grand Toronto (RGT) et dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe (REGH)1, ou d’un intérêt dans un tel bien, par des particuliers qui ne sont pas citoyens ou résidents permanents du Canada ou par des sociétés étrangères et des « fiduciaires imposables ». 

En règle générale, un fiduciaire imposable est une entité étrangère détenant un titre ou est une personne ou une entité canadienne qui détient un titre pour le compte d’un non-résident2.

L’ISNR s’applique en sus des droits de cession immobilière imposés en Ontario et son entrée en vigueur est prévue pour le 21 avril 2017. Les conventions d’achat-vente exécutoires conclues le 20 avril 2017 ou avant cette date ne sont pas assujetties à l’ISNR. L’ISNR ne s’applique pas lorsque l’acquéreur est une entité étrangère ou un fiduciaire imposable dans le cas d’aliénations enregistrées d’un intérêt à titre de bénéficiaire dans un bien résidentiel.

L’ISNR s’applique à la cession de biens-fonds comportant au moins une résidence unifamiliale, mais pas plus de six. Cependant, l’ISNR ne s’applique pas à d’autres types de biens, comme les immeubles multirésidentiels à usage locatif comportant plus de six logements, les terres agricoles, les terrains commerciaux et les terrains industriels. Pour les biens à usage mixte, l’impôt s’appliquera à la valeur de la portion résidentielle du bien. Une exemption ou une remise de l’ISNR peut être offerte dans certaines situations. Par exemple, lorsqu’un particulier achète une maison en Ontario pendant qu’il a un visa de travail, il peut demander une remise après avoir travaillé à temps plein en Ontario pendant une période continue d’un an à compter de la date d’achat. Il est important de prendre note que toutes les cessions immobilières enregistrées le 21 avril 2017 ou après cette date doivent contenir une déclaration reconnaissant expressément que l’application de l’ISNR a été prise en considération.

L’impôt s’appliquera aux ententes de copropriété sur la valeur totale du bien transféré même si un seul des cessionnaires est une entité étrangère ou un fiduciaire imposable. Par ailleurs, chaque cessionnaire est conjointement et solidairement responsable de tout ISNR exigible, y compris ceux qui ne sont pas des entités étrangères ou des fiduciaires imposables.

L’ISNR de l’Ontario est semblable aux droits de mutation immobilière de 15 % de la Colombie-Britannique instaurés par le gouvernement provincial en 2016 qui s’appliquent aux transactions immobilières résidentielles dans la région du Grand Vancouver.

Mesures de protection des locataires

Le gouvernement a également mis en place des mesures de contrôle des loyers qui s’appliqueront à tous les logements locatifs privés en Ontario, y compris ceux construits après 1991. Le plan prévoit également que le gouvernement déposera des modifications législatives qui renforceront la Loi sur la location à usage d’habitation afin de mieux protéger les locataires et élaborera notamment un bail normalisé accompagné d’informations explicatives. 

Ces changements s’appliqueront à l’ensemble de l’Ontario. 

Mesures visant l’accroissement de l’offre de logements

Le plan présente plusieurs mesures pour accroître l’offre de logements en Ontario, y compris :

  • L’établissement d’un programme afin de tirer profit de la valeur des biens fonciers provinciaux partout en Ontario afin de créer un marché immobilier mixte et une offre de nouveaux logements permanents, durables et abordables.
  • Le dépôt de mesures législatives qui permettraient aux municipalités d’instaurer un impôt sur les immeubles résidentiels vacants pour encourager les propriétaires à vendre ou à louer les logements inoccupés.
  • L’assurance que l’impôt foncier prélevé sur les nouveaux immeubles multirésidentiels à usage locatif est comparable à celui étant perçu sur les autres types de biens résidentiels.
  • Le lancement d’un programme doté d’une enveloppe de 125 millions de dollars qui seraient affectés sur une période de cinq ans pour encourager la construction d’immeubles à logements locatifs en offrant la remise d’une partie des frais d’aménagement.
  • La souplesse donnée aux municipalités d’utiliser les outils fiscaux pour favoriser la construction de projets immobiliers, par exemple la possibilité de prélever un impôt plus élevé sur les terrains vacants ayant été désignés pour la construction de nouveaux projets immobiliers. 

Autres mesures visant la protection des acheteurs et le partage accru des renseignements

Le plan prévoit également s’attaquer aux pratiques qui peuvent contribuer à l’évitement fiscal et à la spéculation excessive sur le marché immobilier, comme le « flip immobilier sur papier ». Les détails n’ont pas été annoncés sur les mesures précises envisagées. De plus, le gouvernement s’engage à travailler avec les professionnels de l’immobilier et les consommateurs pour passer en revue les règles que les agents immobiliers doivent suivre pour s’assurer que les consommateurs sont représentés équitablement dans les transactions immobilières. Cela comprendra la sensibilisation des consommateurs sur leurs droits, notamment dans les cas où un agent immobilier représente plus d’une partie dans une transaction immobilière. 

Le gouvernement ontarien prévoit collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral et l’Agence du revenu du Canada en vue d’envisager la possibilité d’établir des exigences pour la production de déclarations plus détaillées afin de s’assurer que les contribuables paient les bons montants d’impôts sur le revenu et de taxes de vente au palier fédéral et provincial pour les achats et les ventes de biens immobiliers en Ontario. Bien que ce ne soit pas mentionné spécifiquement, il pourrait s’agir d’examiner de façon plus approfondie si les propriétaires effectuent des « flips immobiliers », qui pourraient faire en sorte que les gains soient imposés comme un revenu plutôt que comme des gains en capital (en particulier, comme des gains en capital admissibles à l’exemption pour résidence principale). 

Finalement, le gouvernement promet de collaborer avec les municipalités et d’élaborer de nouvelles dispositions qui exigeront notamment que les municipalités envisagent un éventail approprié de grandeur d’appartements dans les immeubles à forte densité pour accommoder différentes tailles de ménages et différents niveaux de revenu. 

Conclusion

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a publié un vaste ensemble d’initiatives qui aura une forte incidence sur le marché immobilier résidentiel ontarien. Ces changements pourraient avoir des conséquences importantes sur les investisseurs, les acheteurs, les propriétaires et les promoteurs immobiliers résidentiels. Si vous avez des questions à propos du plan et de l’incidence qu’il peut avoir sur vous, communiquez avec l’un de nos experts BDO ou avec votre conseiller BDO local

Dave Walsh  
Chef des services en fiscalité   
 
Stan Zinman
Chef des services en fiscalité internationale    
Chef des services en fiscalité du secteur immobilier  
   
Rachel Gervais
Chef des services en fiscalité de la RGT    
Salmaan Alvi
Chef national des services au secteur de l’immobilier et de la construction    

  






 


1 REGH englobe les zones géographiques de l’Ontario suivantes : Brant, Dufferin, Durham, Haldimand, Halton, Hamilton, Kawartha Lakes, Niagara, Northumberland, Peel, Peterborough, Simcoe, Waterloo, Wellington et York.
2 Les entités étrangères sont définies comme étant :
•    Un étranger – une personne autre qu’un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent du Canada.
•    Une société étrangère – une société correspondant à l’une ou l’autre des définitions suivantes :

  • une société en personne morale non constituée au Canada;
  • une société constituée en personne morale au Canada, mais qui est contrôlée par un étranger ou une autre société étrangère (à moins que les actions de la société soient inscrites à une bourse canadienne); 
  • une société contrôlée, directement ou indirectement, par une entité étrangère aux fins de l’article 256 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (Canada).

Un fiduciaire imposable correspond à l’une ou l’autre des définitions suivantes : 
•    une entité étrangère détenant un titre en fiducie pour le compte de bénéficiaires;
•    un citoyen canadien, un résident permanent du Canada ou une société qui détient un titre en fiducie pour des bénéficiaires qui sont des entités étrangères.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 21 avril 2017. 

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.