Tax Alert – Tax Measures Contained in Ontario’s Fall Economic Update

November 20, 2018

NTL_13Nov18_Website_Provincial-Fiscal-Update_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

On November 15, the Ontario government issued their Fall Economic Statement, including draft legislation with tax changes. This statement included a well-publicized personal income tax change providing a new tax credit to low-income taxpayers, the Low-income Individual and Families Tax (LIFT) credit starting in 2019. The government documents also provided comments on tax issues that affect owner-managed businesses. The most significant of these is a statement that Ontario will not parallel the new federal tax changes that would reduce the small business deduction for companies that earn more than $50,000 in passive income annually. This could result in a maximum annual deferral of $40,000 of Ontario corporate income tax for those companies affected. More details on this measure and other comments from the Fall Economic Statement are below.

Personal Tax Measures

Personal Income Tax — Rate Structure

The Ontario government will not proceed with the changes to the personal income tax rates, brackets and surtax proposed in the 2018 Ontario budget on March 28, 2018 by the previous government. The structure of five personal income tax brackets plus two surtax rates calculated separately will be maintained. Therefore, there is no change in personal income tax rates from 2017.

Non-Eligible Dividend Tax Credit

The previous Ontario government reduced the Ontario small business tax rate from 4.5% to 3.5%, effective January 1, 2018.

In this Economic Update, the current Ontario government introduced legislation to bring the dividend tax credit on non-eligible dividends to 3.2863% of taxable dividends for 2018 and subsequent years. This results in a decrease of 1% in the dividend tax credit on non-eligible dividends from the rate in 2017, consistent with the reduction in the corporate tax rate on small business income. Consequently, the combined top marginal tax rate in Ontario on non-eligible dividends is 46.65% in 2018 and will be 47.40% in 2019. Without this change, the combined top marginal tax rate on non-eligible dividends was set to increase from 45.30% in 2017 to 46.84% in 2018 and 47.78% in 2019.

Low-income Individuals and Families Tax Credit

The Ontario government is introducing a new non-refundable LIFT credit. For eligible low-income Ontario taxpayers who have employment income, the LIFT credit would be available up to a maximum of $850 per individual. 

Tax on Split Income – Disability Tax Credit

The Ontario government announced that it will parallel the federal change allowing payers of the tax on split income to apply the disability tax credit against that tax.

Business Tax Measures

The Small Business Limit

The Ontario government will not parallel the federal measure to phase out the $500,000 small business limit for Canadian-controlled private corporations that earn between $50,000 and $150,000 of passive investment income in a taxation year as the previous government proposed in the 2018 Ontario budget. As such, all eligible Ontario small businesses will be eligible to receive the Ontario small business deduction, regardless of the amount of passive income earned in the company.

The Ontario Research and Development Tax Credit and Ontario Innovation Tax Credit

The Ontario government will not proceed with implementing changes to enhance the Ontario Research and Development Tax Credit (ORDTC) and Ontario Innovation Tax Credit (OITC) as proposed by the previous government in the 2018 Ontario budget. As such, the ORDTC will remain as a 3.5% non-refundable tax credit on eligible research and development expenditures, and the OITC will be maintained as an 8% refundable credit for small to medium-sized companies on eligible research and development expenditures.

Other Measures

Employer Health Tax

The Ontario government will not move forward with the measures pertaining to Employer Health Tax (EHT) proposed in the 2018 Ontario budget. These measures would have created restrictions in eligibility for a lower EHT rate or in claiming the exemption from EHT for some employers. However, consistent with existing legislation, the EHT exemption will increase from $450,000 to $490,000 as of January 1, 2019.

Electricity Distribution Sector

The Ontario government is extending the tax relief on the sale of electricity assets by municipalities to the private sector to December 31, 2022. This relief was due to expire on December 31, 2018. For transfers of electricity assets occurring between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2022, the transfer tax rate will be reduced from 33% to 22%, and the rate will be nil for transfers by municipal electricity utilities with fewer than 30,000 customers. In addition, any capital gains arising under the “payments in lieu of taxes” “PILs” deemed disposition rules will be exempt from PILs.

If you have questions regarding how these proposed changes will affect you or your business, please contact your BDO advisor.

For more information, contact: 

Dave Walsh 
Partner, Tax Service Line Leader

Rachel Gervais
Partner, GTA Group Tax Service Line Leader & Transaction Tax Practice Leader

Peter Routly
Partner, Central Group Tax Service Line Leader

Jennifer Dunn
Partner, East Group Tax Service Line Leader


The information in this publication is current as of November 15, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale – Mesures fiscales contenues dans la mise à jour économique de l’automne de l’Ontario

20 novembre 2018

NTL_13Nov18_Website_Provincial-Fiscal-Update_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le 15 novembre, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a publié son Énoncé économique de l’automne comprenant des propositions législatives liées aux changements fiscaux. Cet Énoncé comprenait un changement aux taux d’imposition sur le revenu des particuliers qui a fait beaucoup parler et qui offre un nouveau crédit d’impôt aux contribuables à faible revenu, le crédit d’impôt pour les personnes et les familles à faible revenu (CIPFR), à compter de 2019. Les documents du gouvernement présentaient également des commentaires sur des questions fiscales qui touchent les entreprises à propriétaire-exploitant. Le commentaire le plus important est que l’Ontario ne fera pas pendant à la nouvelle modification fédérale qui réduirait la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises pour les sociétés qui gagnent un revenu passif annuel supérieur à 50 000 $. Les sociétés touchées pourraient bénéficier d’un report annuel maximal de 40 000 $ de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés de l’Ontario. De plus amples renseignements sur cette mesure et d’autres commentaires de l’Énoncé économique de l’automne sont présentés ci-dessous.

Mesures fiscales visant les particuliers

Impôt sur le revenu des particuliers – Structure de taux

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario n’adoptera pas les changements aux taux d’imposition des particuliers, aux tranches d’imposition et à la surtaxe proposés dans le budget de l’Ontario le 28 mars 2018 par le gouvernement précédent. La structure des cinq tranches d’imposition des particuliers et des deux taux de surtaxe calculés séparément sera maintenue. Par conséquent, il n’y a aucun changement aux taux d’imposition des particuliers par rapport à 2017.

Crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario précédent a réduit le taux d’imposition sur le revenu de l’Ontario applicable aux petites entreprises, qui est passé de 4,5 % à 3,5 %, le 1er janvier 2018.

Dans cette mise à jour économique, le gouvernement de l’Ontario actuel a présenté une mesure législative pour porter le crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés à 3,2863 % des dividendes imposables pour 2018 et les années suivantes. Le crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés a donc baissé de 1 % par rapport à 2017, ce qui correspond à la réduction du taux d’imposition des sociétés sur le revenu des petites entreprises. Par conséquent, le taux marginal d’imposition combiné le plus élevé en Ontario sur les dividendes non déterminés est de 46,65 % en 2018 et sera de 47,40 % en 2019. En l’absence de ce changement, le taux marginal d’imposition combiné le plus élevé sur le revenu des particuliers à l’égard des dividendes non déterminés devait passer de 45,30 % en 2017 à 46,84 % en 2018 et enfin à 47,78 % en 2019.

Crédit d’impôt pour les personnes et les familles à faible revenu

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario adopte un nouveau crédit d’impôt non remboursable, le CIPFR. Les contribuables à faible revenu admissibles de l’Ontario qui touchent des revenus d’emploi auront droit au CIPFR pour un maximum de 850 $ par personne.

Impôt sur le revenu fractionné – Crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a annoncé qu’il fera pendant au changement fédéral qui permet aux contribuables qui paient l’impôt sur le revenu fractionné de déduire du montant de cet impôt le crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées.

Mesures fiscales visant les entreprises

Plafond des affaires des petites entreprises

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario n’éliminera pas progressivement, comme le gouvernement fédéral, la limite de 500 000 $ imposée aux sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien qui tirent entre 50 000 $ et 150 000 $ de revenus de placement passif au cours d’une année d’imposition comme cela avait été proposé dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2018 par le gouvernement précédent. Ainsi, les petites entreprises admissibles de l’Ontario auront droit à la déduction ontarienne accordée aux petites entreprises, quel que soit le montant du revenu passif gagné au sein de la société.

Crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour la recherche et le développement et crédit d’impôt à l’innovation de l’Ontario

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario ne procédera pas à la mise en œuvre des changements visant à améliorer le crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour la recherche et le développement ainsi que le crédit d’impôt à l’innovation de l’Ontario, comme l’avait proposé le gouvernement précédent dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2018. Par conséquent, le crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour la recherche et le développement demeurera un crédit d’impôt non remboursable de 3,5 % sur les dépenses admissibles en recherche et développement, et le crédit d’impôt à l’innovation de l’Ontario sera maintenu en tant que crédit d’impôt remboursable de 8 % pour les petites et moyennes entreprises sur les dépenses en recherche et développement admissibles.

Autres mesures

Impôt-santé des employeurs

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario n’adoptera pas les mesures relatives à l’impôt-santé des employeurs proposées dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2018. Ces mesures auraient limité l’admissibilité à un taux inférieur de l’impôt-santé des employeurs ou la possibilité de demander l’exemption de l’impôt-santé des employeurs pour certains employeurs. Toutefois, en cohérence avec la législation actuelle, l’exemption de l’impôt-santé des employeurs passera de 450 000 $ à 490 000 $ le 1er janvier 2019.

Secteur de la distribution de l’électricité

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a prolongé l’allégement fiscal de vente au secteur privé de biens relatifs à l’électricité par les municipalités au 31 décembre 2022. L’allégement fiscal devait prendre fin le
31 décembre 2018. Pour les transferts de biens relatifs à l’électricité ayant lieu entre le 1er janvier 2019 et le 31 décembre 2022, le taux de l’impôt sur les transferts sera réduit pour passer de 33 % à 22 % et le taux sera nul pour les transferts par les services d’électricité municipaux ayant moins de 30 000 clients. Par ailleurs, tous les gains en capital découlant des règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des « paiements tenant lieu d’impôt » seront exonérés de ces paiements.

Si vous avez des questions à propos des changements proposés qui auront une incidence sur votre entreprise, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller de BDO.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec : 

Dave Walsh
Associé et chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité

Rachel Gervais
Associée, chef des Services en fiscalité pour le groupe de la RGT et des services transactionnels

Peter Routly
Associé, chef des Services en fiscalité du groupe du centre

Jennifer Dunn
Associée, chef des Services en fiscalité du groupe de l’est


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 15 novembre 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.