Tax Alert - Ontario Cuts Small Business Tax Rate

November 2017

GTA_National_15Nov17_Online_Ontario-Economic-Update_679x220.jpg

On November 14, 2017, Ontario Finance Minister Charles Sousa delivered his fall Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review (the Update) offering tax breaks targeted at small businesses. In a move that looks towards a spring election, proposed tax measures include a cut to the small business Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate, a change to the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit (ATTC), and an enhancement to the property tax and assessment system.

Reduction to the Small Business Corporate Income Tax Rate

The government is proposing to cut the small business CIT rate from 4.5% to 3.5% effective January 1, 2018. The tax rate reduction will be prorated for taxation years straddling January 1st. The federal government has also proposed to cut its small business CIT rate from the current 10.5% to 10%, effective January 1, 2018, and then to 9%, effective January 1, 2019. This means that with the proposed federal changes, the combined federal–Ontario CIT rate for small business will be reduced from the current 15% to 12.5% as of January 1, 2019.

Changes to Taxes on Ineligible Dividends

Consistent with the corporate tax rate changes, Ontario’s ineligible dividend tax credit rate will also be decreased. The federal dividend tax credit rate on ineligible dividends will also decrease as a result of the federal tax cuts to the small business CIT rate. Consequently, the top personal combined Ontario and federal tax rate on ineligible dividends will increase from 45.30% in 2017 to 46.84% in 2018 and to 47.78% in 2019. Ineligible dividends are dividends that are paid out of after-tax profits taxed at small business rates.

While a decrease in the small business tax rate benefits owners of small businesses, the change to the ineligible tax rate adversely affects taxpayers who earn investment income in a corporation and pay the net earnings to their shareholders by way of dividend.

Elimination of the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit

The government is proposing to replace the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit (ATTC) with a new Graduated Apprenticeship Grant for Employers (GAGE). The GAGE is designed to encourage employers to ensure apprentices complete their training programs by providing employer grants based on specific levels of completion of their apprenticeship. GAGE will be available to all 125 trades that are currently eligible for the existing ATTC, plus an additional five Red Seal service sector trades. Employers with eligible apprentices who have registered their apprenticeship program with the Ontario College of Trades after November 14, 2017 would be eligible for the new GAGE support.

The ATTC is a refundable tax credit that is available to businesses that hire and train eligible apprentices in designated construction, industrial, motive power and certain service trades. The government proposes to eliminate the ATTC for employers with apprentices who register in an apprenticeship program after November 14, 2017. However, employers with apprentices already registered in an eligible apprenticeship program on or before November 14, 2017 will continue to be eligible to receive the ATTC for up to 36 months.

Changes to Land Transfer Tax on Unregistered Dispositions

The Update proposes to allow greater flexibility for payment of land transfer tax on unregistered dispositions of a beneficial interest in land. The current requirement is to pay tax within 30 days of the date of an unregistered disposition of land. The proposed changes could mean that qualifying taxpayers could be allowed to file returns quarterly without incurring liability for interest. Further details on will be provided at a later date, with other issues raised with the land transfer tax system that are currently under review.

Summary

We are committed to keeping you updated on current tax changes. Please contact your local BDO office or one of our trusted BDO advisors at BDO Canada to gain more information on these tax changes.

Learn more about BDO's Canadian Tax Services today.


The information in this publication is current as of November 14, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale - L’Ontario réduit le taux d’imposition des petites entreprises

novembre 2017

GTA_National_15Nov17_Online_Ontario-Economic-Update_679x220.jpg

Le 14 novembre 2017, le ministre des Finances de l’Ontario, Charles Sousa, a présenté les Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2017 (la mise à jour) offrant des allégements fiscaux aux petites entreprises. Parmi les changements proposés par le gouvernement qui semblent être en vue des élections au printemps, les mesures fiscales proposées réduisent le taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises, modifient le traitement des dividendes non déterminés, apportent un changement au crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage (CIFA) et améliorent le régime ontarien d’évaluation et d’imposition foncières.

Réduction du taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises

Le gouvernement propose de réduire l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises en faisant passer le taux de 4,5 % à 3,5 % le 1er janvier 2018. La réduction du taux d’imposition sera ajustée proportionnellement pour les années d’imposition chevauchant le 1er janvier. Le gouvernement fédéral a également proposé de réduire le taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés applicable aux petites entreprises afin qu’il passe du taux actuel de 10,5 % à 10 % le 1er janvier 2018, puis à 9 % le 1er janvier 2019. En raison des changements proposés par le gouvernement fédéral, le taux de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés combiné fédéral-ontarien pour les petites entreprises sera donc réduit de 15 % à 12,5 % le 1er janvier 2019.

Modifications apportées aux dividendes non déterminés

Parallèlement aux changements apportés au taux d’imposition des sociétés, le taux du crédit d’impôt pour dividendes non déterminés de l’Ontario sera également réduit. Le taux du crédit d’impôt fédéral pour dividendes non déterminés sera également abaissé en raison des réductions du taux d’impôt des petites entreprises du gouvernement fédéral. Par conséquent, le plus haut taux d’imposition combiné du gouvernement fédéral et de l’Ontario sur le revenu des particuliers à l’égard des dividendes non déterminés passera de 45,30 % en 2017 à 46,84 % en 2018 et enfin à 47,78 % en 2019. Les dividendes non déterminés sont des dividendes versés à partir de bénéfices après impôt qui sont imposés aux taux applicables aux petites entreprises.

Bien qu’une réduction du taux d’imposition des petites entreprises soit avantageuse pour les propriétaires de petites entreprises, le changement à l’égard du taux pour les dividendes non déterminés a une incidence négative sur les contribuables qui gagnent un revenu de placements dans une société qui verse ses bénéfices nets sous forme de dividendes à ses actionnaires.

Élimination du crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage

Le gouvernement propose de remplacer le crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage par une nouvelle Subvention progressive aux employeurs pour l’apprentissage (SPEA). La SPEA vise à inciter les employeurs à s’assurer que les apprentis terminent leurs programmes de formation en fournissant aux employeurs des subventions en fonction du niveau d’achèvement de leur programme d’apprentissage. La SPEA sera offerte pour les 125 métiers actuellement admissibles au crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage (CIFA), en plus de cinq autres métiers Sceau rouge du secteur des services. Les employeurs ayant à leur emploi des apprentis admissibles et qui ont inscrit leur programme d’apprentissage auprès de l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario après le 14 novembre 2017 seraient admissibles à la nouvelle SPEA.

Le CIFA est un crédit d’impôt remboursable offert aux entreprises qui engagent et forment des apprentis admissibles dans des métiers désignés des secteurs suivants : construction, industrie, force motrice et services. Le gouvernement propose d’éliminer le CIFA dans le cas des employeurs dont les apprentis sont inscrits à un programme d’apprentissage après le 14 novembre 2017. Les employeurs ayant des apprentis déjà inscrits à un programme d’apprentissage admissible le 14 novembre 2017 ou avant cette date continueront toutefois d’avoir droit au CIFA pour une période pouvant atteindre 36 mois.

Changements aux droits de cession immobilière dans le cas des aliénations non enregistrées

La mise à jour propose d’offrir une plus grande souplesse quant au paiement des droits de cessions immobilières dans le cas des aliénations non enregistrées d’un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un terrain. À l’heure actuelle, les droits de cession immobilière doivent être réglés dans les 30 jours suivant la date d’une aliénation non enregistrée d’un terrain. En vertu des changements proposés, les contribuables admissibles pourraient être autorisés à produire des déclarations trimestrielles sans devoir payer d’intérêts. De plus amples détails seront donnés à une date ultérieure, et d’autres questions soulevées relativement au système des droits de cession immobilière sont actuellement à l’étude.

Conclusion

Nous nous engageons à vous tenir informés des modifications fiscales courantes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ces modifications, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau local de BDO ou l’un de nos conseillers BDO de confiance chez BDO Canada.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 14 novembre 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.