Tax Alert – Application Dates Approaching on New QST Registration Rules for Non-Residents

October 10, 2018

NTL_16Apr18_Tax-Alert_QST_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

In April of this year, we issued a Tax Alert explaining the new QST registration rules for non-resident businesses that sell into Québec, which was based on proposals announced in the Québec budget tabled on March 27, 2018. Since then, updated legislation has been introduced that is now law. While Revenu Québec continues to make businesses aware of the new rules, we are providing you with a summary of the changes and the steps a non-resident business needs to take to be ready for the two implementation dates scheduled in 2019.

As background, the world of e-commerce has changed the buying habits of Québecers. Many are now able to purchase goods and services from non-resident businesses just as easily as they can from Québec-based businesses. Under the current QST legislation, businesses based in Québec must be registered for QST. This is different from non-residents of Québec, who are only required to register for QST when they have a permanent establishment or are carrying on business in Quebec. Many would argue that the separate and distinct rules for non-residents of Québec result in a competitive disadvantage for Québec-based suppliers and a potential revenue loss for the Québec government.

As a consequence, the Government of Québec has introduced a new QST regime that is effective on January 1, 2019 for suppliers who are non-residents of Canada and on September 1, 2019 for suppliers who are resident in Canada but not resident in Québec. The QST will generally apply to e-commerce transactions where the customers are resident in Québec and not registered for QST.

Are you subject to this new QST regime?

The new legislation will apply to three newly defined suppliers: Foreign Specified Suppliers (“FSS”), Canadian Specified Suppliers (“CSS”) and the operator of a Specified Digital Platform (“SDP”).

An FSS is a supplier who:

  1. does not carry on a business in Canada;
  2. does not have a permanent establishment in Canada;
  3. is not registered for GST/HST purposes; and
  4. is not registered for QST purposes under the regular QST system.
A CSS is a supplier who:
  1. does not carry on a business in Québec but does in other provinces;
  2. does not have a permanent establishment in Québec;
  3. is a GST/HST registrant; and
  4. is not registered for QST purposes under the regular QST system.

Please note that a non-resident supplier who is a GST/HST registrant is a CSS and not an FSS, since as a registrant it is considered to be carrying on business in Canada.

An SDP is a digital platform where an operator:

  1. enables another person who is an FSS or a CSS to make a taxable supply in Québec of an intangible product or service through the use of a digital platform; and
  2. controls the essential elements of the transaction between the non-resident supplier and the Québec customer such as billing, the terms and conditions of the transaction and the terms of delivery.

What type of transactions will be subject to QST under the new regime?

The timing to be set up for these new rules depends on the qualification of a non-resident business: FSS, CSS or SDP. In addition, an FSS, CSS or SDP will only be required to register under this new regime in cases where they are making supplies in Québec to a specified Québec consumer (“SQC”).

Supplier Specified Supplies Implementation Date
Foreign Specified Supplier
  • Intangibles ( i.e.: software; digitized products)
  • Services
January 1, 2019
Canadian Specified Supplier
  • Intangibles ( i.e.: software; digitized products)
  • Services
September 1, 2019
Canadian Specified Supplier
  • Goods
  • Intangibles ( i.e.: software; digitized products)
  • Services
September 1, 2019


What is a Specified Québec Consumer (“SQC”)

An SQC is a person who is NOT registered for QST and who resides in Québec. As such, a supplier will have to put procedures in place to determine if their customers in Québec are subject to the QST.
The legislation provides that the FSS, CSS or SDP will have to obtain in the ordinary course of their operations two of the following types of information:

  • the customers’ billing address;
  • the customers’ home or business address;
  • the IP address of the device used by the customer at the time the agreement relating to the supply is entered into or similar data obtained at that time through another geolocation method;
  • the customers’ payment-related bank information or the billing address used by the bank;
  • the information from a SIM card used by the customer;
  • the place at which a landline telephone service is supplied to the customer; or
  • any other relevant information.

Revenu Québec may allow an alternative method to determine the usual place of residence when, in the ordinary course of the supplier’s operations, the supplier cannot obtain two corroborating pieces of information. In this case, it is recommended that these procedures be well documented.

How will it work?

An FSS and operators of an SDP will have to start collecting the QST starting on January 1, 2019, and a CSS will have to start collecting it on September 1, 2019.
An FSS or a CSP who deals directly with Québec consumers will have to collect the QST whereas those who deal through an SDP will not. In this case, the responsibility to collect and remit the QST is with the operator of the SDP.

The reporting period for this new QST regime goes by calendar quarter and the filing deadline is the end of the month following the end of the calendar quarter. For example, in 2019, the first reporting period is January to March 2019, and as such, the QST return must be filed, and QST must be remitted by April 30, 2019. The QST return is filed online on the Revenu Québec web site and the payment can be made in Canadian dollars, US dollars or Euros.

Unlike the general QST system, registrants under this regime will not be entitled to recover any QST that they may pay on business purchases in Québec as the new system is strictly a QST collection system on sales made to consumers in Québec.

Do you need to register for this new specified QST system?

An FSS, a CSP or an operator of an SDP will be required to become a registrant under the new QST regime from the first day of a particular calendar month where they exceed the income threshold of $30,000. The threshold is based on sales made to individual consumers in Québec in the preceding 12-month period. Accordingly, where an FSS, a CSS or an SDP makes sales of these specified supplies to individual consumers in Québec that exceed $30,000, it will be required to become registered for the new QST regime. The QST registration process is available online through the Revenu Québec web site.

Time to start planning is now

If you believe you may be subject to this new QST registration regime, the time to start planning for it is now. Your accounting systems will need to be adjusted to be able to charge and collect the QST. As well, you will need to add procedures to the information that you gather to include the identification information about your Québec customer.

Contact a member of our Montreal office Indirect Tax Services to help you navigate through these changes:

Shelley Smith                           
Partner, Indirect Tax Practice Leader

Cathy Bergeron                                    
Director, Indirect Tax  

Sylvain Thibeault
Senior Manager, Indirect Tax

Learn more about our National Indirect Tax Team.


The information in this publication is current as of October 10, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale - la date d’entrée en vigueur des nouvelles règles d’inscription aux fins de la tvq pour les non-résidents

10 octobre 2018

En avril de cette année, nous avons publié une Alerte fiscale expliquant les nouvelles règles d’inscription aux fins de la TVQ pour les entreprises non-résidentes qui réalisent des ventes sur le marché québécois. Celles-ci reposaient sur le budget du Québec déposé le 27 mars 2018. Depuis, une mise à jour a été apportée à la législation, qui a maintenant force de loi. Alors que Revenu Québec continue d’informer les entreprises au sujet des nouvelles règles, nous voulons présenter un résumé des changements et retracer les mesures que les entreprises non-résidentes doivent adopter pour être prêtes au moment des deux dates d’entrée en vigueur en 2019.

En toile de fond, le monde du commerce électronique a changé les habitudes de magasinage des Québécois et des Québécoises. Un grand nombre d’entre eux peuvent acheter des biens et des services auprès d’entreprises non-résidentes tout aussi facilement que d’entreprises établies au Québec. En vertu de la Loi sur la taxe de vente du Québec actuelle, les entreprises établies au Québec doivent être inscrites aux fins de la TVQ. Cette exigence est différente pour les non-résidents du Québec qui doivent s’inscrire aux fins de la TVQ seulement lorsqu’ils ont un établissement stable ou qu’ils exercent des activités au Québec. Beaucoup soutenaient que les règles distinctes et séparées pour les non-résidents du Québec se traduiraient par un désavantage concurrentiel pour les fournisseurs établis au Québec et une perte de revenus potentielle pour le gouvernement du Québec.

Par conséquent, le gouvernement du Québec a établi un nouveau régime de TVQ qui entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019 pour les fournisseurs qui ne sont pas résidents du Canada et le 1er septembre 2019 pour les fournisseurs qui sont résidents du Canada sans l’être du Québec. En général, la TVQ s’appliquera à toutes les transactions de commerce électronique dans le cas où les clients résident au Québec, mais ne sont pas inscrits à la TVQ.

Êtes-vous visés par le nouveau régime de TVQ?

La nouvelle législation s’appliquera à trois nouvelles catégories de fournisseurs : les fournisseurs désignés étrangers, les fournisseurs désignés canadiens et l’exploitant d’une plateforme numérique désignée.
Un fournisseur désigné étranger s’entend d’un fournisseur qui :

  1. n’exploite pas d’entreprise au Canada;
  2. n’a pas d’établissement stable au Canada;
  3. n’est pas inscrit aux fins de la TPS/TVH;
  4. n’est pas inscrit aux fins de la TVQ en vertu du régime régulier de la TVQ.
Un fournisseur désigné canadien s’entend d’un fournisseur qui :
  1. n’exploite pas d’entreprise au Québec, mais en exploite dans d’autres provinces;
  2. n’a pas d’établissement stable au Québec;
  3. est inscrit aux fins de la TPS/TVH;
  4. n’est pas inscrit aux fins de la TVQ en vertu du régime régulier de la TVQ.
Veuillez prendre note qu’un fournisseur non-résident qui est inscrit aux fins de la TPS/TVH est un fournisseur désigné canadien, et non un fournisseur désigné étranger : en raison de son inscription, il est réputé exercer des activités au Canada.
Une plateforme numérique désignée s’entend d’un exploitant qui :
  1. permet à une autre personne qui est un fournisseur désigné étranger ou fournisseur désigné canadien d’effectuer au Québec la fourniture taxable d’un produit ou d’un service incorporel par l’entremise de la plateforme numérique;
  2. contrôle les éléments essentiels de la transaction entre le fournisseur non-résident et le client québécois, notamment la facturation, les conditions de la transaction et les modalités de livraison.

Quels types de transactions sont assujettis à la TVQ en vertu du nouveau régime?

La date de mise en œuvre de i ces nouvelles règles dépend du type d’entreprise non-résidente : fournisseur désigné étranger, fournisseur désigné canadien ou plateforme numérique désignée. De plus, ces trois types de fournisseurs doivent seulement s’inscrire en vertu de ce nouveau régime dans le cas où ils effectuent des fournitures au Québec pour un consommateur québécois désigné.

Fournisseur Fourniture déterminée Date de la mise en œuvre
Fournisseur désigné étranger
  • Biens meubles incorporels (c.-à-d. un logiciel; des produits numériques)
  • Services
1er janvier 2019
Plateforme numérique désignée
  • Biens meubles incorporels (c.-à-d. un logiciel; des produits numériques)
  • Services
1er janvier 2019
Fournisseur désigné canadien
  • Biens meubles corporels; Biens meubles incorporels (c.-à-d. un logiciel; des produits numériques)
  • Services
1er septembre 2019

Qu’est-ce qu’un consommateur québécois désigné?

Un consommateur québécois désigné est une personne qui n’est PAS inscrite à la TVQ et qui réside au Québec. À ce titre, un fournisseur devra mettre en place des procédures pour déterminer si ses clients québécois sont inscrits à la TVQ.

La législation prévoit que le fournisseur désigné étranger, le fournisseur désigné canadien et la plateforme numérique désignée devront obtenir, dans le cours normal de leurs activités, deux types d’information parmi les suivants :

  • l’adresse de facturation du client;
  • l’adresse personnelle ou l’adresse d’affaires du client;
  • l’adresse IP de l’appareil utilisé par le client au moment de la conclusion de la convention portant sur la fourniture ou une donnée semblable obtenue à ce moment par une autre méthode de géolocalisation;
  • les renseignements bancaires du client utilisés pour le paiement ou l’adresse de facturation utilisée par la banque;
  • les renseignements tirés de la carte SIM utilisée par le client;
  • l’emplacement auquel le service de ligne téléphonique fixe est offert au client;
  • toute autre information pertinente.

Revenu Québec pourrait autoriser l’utilisation d’une autre méthode pour déterminer le lieu de résidence habituel lorsque, dans le cours normal des activités du fournisseur, ce dernier ne peut pas obtenir deux éléments d’information de corroboration. Dans ce cas, nous vous recommandons de bien documenter ces procédures.

Comment cela s’articulera-t-il?

Le fournisseur désigné étranger et l’exploitant de plateforme numérique désignée devront commencer à percevoir la TVQ à compter du 1er janvier 2019 et le fournisseur désigné canadien devra commencer à la percevoir le 1er septembre 2019 à l’égard de certaines fournitures à des consommateurs québécois désignés.

Le fournisseur désigné étranger ou le fournisseur désigné canadien qui traite directement avec les consommateurs québécois aura à percevoir la TVQ tandis que le fournisseur qui traite avec eux à partir d’une plateforme numérique désignée pour vendre des biens meubles incorporels ou des services n’aura pas à le faire. En l’occurrence, la responsabilité de percevoir et remettre la TVQ incombe à l’exploitant de la plateforme numérique désignée.

La période de déclaration pour le nouveau régime de TVQ suit le trimestre civil et la date limite de production de déclaration est établie à la fin du mois suivant la fin du trimestre civil. À titre d’exemple, si la période de déclaration est de janvier à mars 2019, la déclaration de TVQ doit être produite et la TVQ doit être remise au plus tard le 30 avril 2019. La déclaration est produite en ligne, sur le site Web de Revenu Québec, et le paiement peut être fait en dollars canadiens, en dollars américains ou en euros.

Contrairement au régime général de TVQ, les inscrits en vertu de ce régime n’auront pas droit de recouvrer tout montant de TVQ qu’ils pourraient payer sur des achats encourus dans leurs activités commerciales au Québec, car le nouveau régime est strictement pour percevoir la TVQ sur les ventes faites aux consommateurs québécois.

Avez-vous besoin de vous inscrire à ce nouveau système de TVQ?

Le fournisseur désigné étranger, le fournisseur désigné canadien ou l’exploitant d’une plateforme numérique désignée seront tenus de s’inscrire en vertu du nouveau régime de TVQ à compter du premier jour d’un mois civil donné s’ils dépassent le seuil de revenu de 30 000 $ pour les 12 mois précédents. Ce seuil est fondé sur les ventes effectuées à des consommateurs au Québec qui sont des particuliers au cours des 12 derniers mois. Par conséquent, lorsque ces trois fournisseurs réalisent des ventes de fourniture déterminée dépassant 30 000 $ à des consommateurs au Québec, ils doivent s’inscrire au nouveau régime de TVQ. La procédure d’inscription au régime de TVQ peut être consultée sur le site Web de Revenu Québec.

Il est maintenant temps de commencer à planifier

Si vous croyez que vous pourriez être assujettis au nouveau régime de la TVQ, vous devez de ce pas commencer à vous préparer. Vos systèmes comptables devront être ajustés de telle sorte qu’ils puissent facturer et percevoir la TVQ. De plus, vous devrez ajouter de nouvelles procédures pour colliger les renseignements d’identification de vos clients québécois.

Communiquez avec un membre de notre équipe des Services en taxes indirectes à Montréal pour qu’il vous aide à vous adapter à ces changements :

Shelley Smith
Associée et chef des Services en taxes indirectes

Cathy Bergeron
Associée déléguée, Taxes indirectes

Sylvain Thibeault
Directeur principal, Taxes indirectes

Apprenez-en plus sur nos services en taxes indirectes.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 10 octobre 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.