New interest deductibility proposals will significantly impact financing of Canadian businesses

July 19, 2021

TAX_29Jun21_Cross-Border-Interest_LandingPage_679x220-(1).jpg
The 2021 Canadian Federal Budget proposed a number of measures that will have a significant impact on interest deductibility in a cross-border context. The proposed changes bring Canada’s interest deductibility rules in line with many other developed countries such as the United States.  


Current Rules 

Under existing Canadian tax rules, the payment of interest is generally deductible as long as the purpose of the borrowed money is to earn income from a business or property.   

In the cross-border context, the Canadian thin capitalization rules already limit the deduction of interest on loans advanced by non-resident shareholders of Canadian companies together with certain non-arm’s length persons. Under the current thin capitalization regime, the maximum amount of cross-border debt is limited to 1.5 times equity. If the thin capitalization rules are applicable, interest deducted in excess of the 1.5:1 debt-to-equity proportion is permanently disallowed. The disallowed portion is deemed to be a dividend and subject to withholding tax, even if no interest is paid to the non-resident person. 
 

2021 Budget proposals  

The 2021 Budget proposals introduce a new earnings-stripping rule, which will apply in conjunction with the existing interest deductibility tax rules. The proposed earnings-stripping rules are intended to operate as follows: 
  • Limit the amount of “net interest expense” that a corporation (and various other entities) may deduct to no more than a fixed percentage of “tax EBITDA.”  The “tax EBITDA,” in general, would be a corporation’s taxable income before taking into account net interest expense and interest income, income tax, and deductions for depreciation—each of these items as determined for tax purposes.  
  • “Net interest expense” should generally be interest expense as well as other financing-related expenses, less interest and financing-related income.  
  • The changes will be phased in with a fixed percentage of 40% for taxation years beginning on or after January 1, 2023, but before January 1, 2024 (transition year) and 30% for taxation years beginning on or after January 1, 2024.  
  • The proposals would allow net interest expense for a particular year that is denied to be carried forward for up to twenty years or back for up to three years.  
  • The proposals will not apply to Canadian-controlled private corporations that have, together with associated corporations, taxable capital employed in Canada of less than $15 million.  The rules also do not apply to groups of corporations or trusts whose aggregate net interest expense among Canadian members does not exceed $250,000. Large private Canadian controlled private companies may be impacted by the rules.  
  • The proposals include a “group ratio” rule that may permit a taxpayer (or a Canadian member of a group) to deduct interest in excess of the fixed percentage of tax EBITDA where the taxpayer can demonstrate that the consolidated group’s ratio of net third party interest expense to book EBITDA of its consolidated group is higher than the fixed ratio.  
  • The proposals contemplate the ability to transfer any excess deductibility capacity between members of a Canadian group (with some limitations for certain financial institutions, such as banks and insurance companies). For example, if a Canadian member of a qualifying group has a ratio of net interest to tax EBITDA below the fixed ratio, there may be an ability to transfer unused borrowing capacity to other Canadian members of the group whose ability to deduct interest is otherwise restricted under these rules. This could be an important relieving measure for larger Canadian groups.  
  • Provided the taxpayer is not offside the thin capitalization rules, there currently does not appear to be a provision that treats denied interest under the earnings-stripping rule as a dividend for withholding tax purposes.   


BDO Observations 

  • The proposals will be complex and will likely significantly affect how multinationals structure and finance their Canadian operations or potential acquisitions. Specifically we would like to highlight the following: 
  • The proposals will impose significant compliance burdens on taxpayers including the requirement to prepare “tax EBITDA” calculations, determine if there is qualification as a group, and to prepare group-wide leverage ratios in order to determine excess capacity, or transfers within the group. These additional items will create interesting challenges for taxpayers as they will need to be compliant under both the new rules and the existing thin capitalization rules. 
  • The proposals do not contain any concessions where the taxpayer only has third party debt.  This will impact private equity and other investors as they traditionally use high leverage to finance their Canadian investments with significant third party or related party debt. 
  • There are currently no exemptions for certain capital intense businesses (i.e., real estate, infrastructure, utilities, etc.) that are usually highly leveraged unless the requirements under the “group ratio” are met.   
  • It is unclear if the proposals will encourage private equity and other non-Canadian investors to finance their purchases of Canadian target companies with traditional equity and maintain any external financing held outside of Canada. This would create a bias for equity based financial transactions. It is unclear if these rules will impact valuations for software and other companies in early stages of growth.   
  • It is unclear if the proposals could encourage more acquisitions of Canadian businesses by purely domestic taxpayers.  It is expected that standalone Canadian corporations and Canadian corporations, which are members of a group none of whose members is a non-resident would not be impacted by the proposals, in most cases.  


BDO can help 

These changes were expected as the OECD included these types of rules in its Base Erosion and Profit Sharing Reports. The changes will significantly alter how Canadian businesses are financed. Draft legislative proposals are expected to be released for comment in the summer of 2021.  

Reach out to your BDO advisor to learn more about how we can help you manage the impact of these proposals on your business. 

Harry Chana, Partner, International Tax Practice Leader and Transaction Tax Leader 

Hetal Kotecha, Partner, International Tax and GTA Transaction Tax Leader 
 
The information in this publication is current as of July 7, 2021. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.
This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Incidence importante des nouvelles propositions à l’égard de la déductibilité des intérêts sur le financement...

19 juillet 2021

TAX_29Jun21_Cross-Border-Interest_LandingPage_679x220-(1).jpg

Dans le budget fédéral canadien de 2021, le gouvernement a proposé un certain nombre de mesures qui auront une incidence importante sur la déductibilité des intérêts en contexte transfrontalier. Les changements proposés harmonisent les règles du Canada à l’égard de la déductibilité des intérêts à celles de nombreux autres pays développés, notamment les États-Unis.

Règles actuelles

En vertu des règles fiscales canadiennes actuelles, les intérêts payés sont généralement déductibles dans la mesure où les fonds empruntés sont utilisés pour obtenir un revenu d’entreprise ou de bien.

En contexte transfrontalier, les règles de capitalisation restreinte au Canada limitent déjà la déductibilité des intérêts sur les prêts accordés par des actionnaires non-résidents d’une société canadienne ainsi que par certaines personnes ayant un lien de dépendance. Selon les règles de capitalisation restreinte actuelles, le montant maximal d’une dette due à des non-résidents ne doit pas dépasser un ratio emprunt/capitaux propres de 1,5 pour 1. Si ces règles s’appliquent, l’intérêt déduit au-delà de ce ratio est refusé de manière définitive. La portion refusée est réputée être un dividende et peut faire l’objet d’une retenue d’impôt même si aucun intérêt n’est versé à la personne non résidente.

Propositions du budget 2021

Les propositions du budget de 2021 présentent une nouvelle règle de dépouillement des bénéfices qui s’appliquera conjointement avec les règles fiscales actuelles relatives à la déductibilité des intérêts. La règle de dépouillement des bénéfices proposée devrait s’appliquer comme suit :

  • Elle limitera le montant des « dépenses nettes en intérêts » qu’une société (et d’autres entités) peut déduire à un pourcentage fixe maximal du « BAIIDA fiscal ». En règle générale, le « BAIIDA fiscal » correspond au revenu imposable d’une société avant de tenir compte des dépenses nettes en intérêts, des revenus d’intérêts, des impôts sur le revenu et des dotations aux amortissements, où chacun de ces éléments est tel que déterminé à des fins fiscales.
  • Les « dépenses nettes en intérêts » comprennent généralement les dépenses en intérêts ainsi que d’autres dépenses liées au financement, moins les revenus en intérêts ou liés au financement.
  • Les changements seront adoptés progressivement, avec un pourcentage fixe de 40 % pour les années d’imposition qui commencent le 1er janvier 2023 ou après cette date, mais avant le 1er janvier 2024 (l’année de transition), et de 30 % pour les années d’imposition qui commencent le 1er janvier 2024 ou après cette date.
  • Selon les changements proposés, les dépenses nettes en intérêts refusées pour une année donnée pourraient être reportées prospectivement jusqu’à vingt ans, ou rétrospectivement jusqu’à trois ans.
  • Les propositions ne s’appliqueront pas aux sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien qui, avec toute société associée, ont un capital imposable utilisé au Canada inférieur à 15 millions de dollars. Ces règles ne s’appliqueront pas non plus aux groupes de sociétés ou de fiducies dont le total des dépenses nettes en intérêts parmi leurs membres canadiens ne dépasse pas 250 000 $. Ces règles pourraient avoir une incidence sur les grandes sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien.
  • Les propositions comprennent une règle de « ratio du groupe » qui permettrait à un contribuable (ou à un membre canadien d’un groupe) de déduire les intérêts excédant le pourcentage fixe du BAIIDA fiscal lorsqu’il est en mesure de démontrer que le pourcentage des intérêts nets payés à des tiers au BAIIDA comptable du groupe consolidé dont il fait partie implique qu’une limite de déduction supérieure serait appropriée.
  • Les propositions prévoient la possibilité de transférer la capacité excédentaire de déduction entre membres d’un groupe canadien (sous réserve de certaines limites dans le cas de certaines institutions financières comme les banques et les compagnies d’assurance). Par exemple, si un membre canadien d’un groupe admissible a un ratio d’intérêts nets au BAIIDA fiscal inférieur au ratio fixe, il pourrait être en mesure de transférer la capacité inutilisée à d’autres membres canadiens du groupe dont les déductions de dépenses nettes en intérêts seraient autrement restreintes par la règle. Il pourrait s’agir d’une importante mesure d’allègement pour les groupes canadiens importants.
  • Si le contribuable ne dépasse pas les règles de capitalisation restreintes, il ne semble exister actuellement aucune provision en vertu de la règle de dépouillement des bénéfices traitant les intérêts refusés comme des dividendes aux fins des retenues d’impôt.

Observations de BDO

Les propositions seront complexes et auront probablement une incidence importante sur la structure et le financement des opérations canadiennes et des acquisitions potentielles pour les sociétés multinationales. En particulier, nous aimerions souligner ce qui suit :

  • Les propositions imposeront un lourd fardeau d’observation aux contribuables, notamment l’exigence de préparer des calculs relatifs au « BAIIDA fiscal », de déterminer l’admissibilité à titre de groupe et de préparer des ratios de levier à l’échelle du groupe pour déterminer la capacité excédentaire et les transferts possibles au sein du groupe. Ces tâches supplémentaires poseront des défis considérables pour les contribuables, qui devront observer à la fois les nouvelles règles et les règles actuelles relatives à la capitalisation restreinte.
  • Les propositions ne prévoient aucune concession lorsque le contribuable a uniquement une dette envers un tiers. Ces changements auront une incidence sur les investisseurs en capital investissement et les autres investisseurs, car ceux-ci utilisent habituellement un effet de levier financier, sous la forme de dettes importantes auprès de tiers ou de parties liées, pour financer leurs investissements canadiens.
  • Aucune exemption n’est actuellement prévue pour les entreprises nécessitant un important investissement de capitaux (c.-à-d. dans le secteur de l’immobilier, de l’infrastructure, des services publics, etc.) dont le levier financier est généralement élevé si elles ne satisfont pas aux critères de « ratio de groupe ».
  • Il est difficile de déterminer si les propositions encourageront les investisseurs en capital investissement et les autres investisseurs non canadiens à financer leurs acquisitions de sociétés cibles canadiennes au moyen de capitaux propres canadiens traditionnels et s’ils continueront d’avoir recours au financement externe en provenance de l’étranger. Cette situation pourrait créer un avantage pour les opérations en capitaux propres. On ne sait pas si ces règles auront une incidence sur les évaluations des sociétés de logiciels et les autres sociétés en démarrage.
  • Il reste à déterminer si les propositions favoriseront les acquisitions d’entreprises canadiennes uniquement par des contribuables canadiens. Les propositions ne devraient pas avoir d’incidence sur la plupart des sociétés canadiennes autonomes et des sociétés canadiennes appartenant à un groupe dont aucun membre n’est un non-résident.

BDO peut vous aider

Ces changements étaient attendus, puisque l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) avait inclus des règles similaires dans les rapports relatifs à l’érosion de la base d’imposition et au transfert de bénéfices (BEPS). Ces changements auront une incidence majeure sur le financement des entreprises canadiennes. L’avant-projet de loi devrait être publié aux fins de commentaires à l’été 2021.

Communiquez avec votre conseiller de BDO pour savoir comment nous pouvons vous aider à gérer l’incidence de ces propositions sur votre entreprise.

Harry Chana, associé et chef des Services en fiscalité internationale et des Services transactionnels en fiscalité

Hetal Kotecha, associé des Services en fiscalité internationale et chef des Services transactionnels en fiscalité de la RGT


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 7 juillet 2021.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.