Government Increases loans available under the Canada Emergency Business Account (CEBA)

November 20, 2020

The government has recently increased the amount of loans available under the Canada Emergency Business Account (CEBA). Designed to provide small businesses and certain charities and not-for-profit organizations access to interest-free loans to cover operating costs during the COVID-19 crisis, the amount of loans available has recently increased to $60,000 from $40,000. If the conditions of the CEBA program are met, up to $20,000 of the loans will be forgiven. However, if the loan is not repaid by December 31, 2022, it can be converted to a three-year term loan with a 5% interest rate.

Who is eligible?

The CEBA is available to small businesses and charities and not-for-profit organizations that are actively carrying on a business in Canada (including a related business in the case of a registered charity). These include small businesses that do not have a payroll, sole proprietors who are not incorporated and earn their income directly, and family-owned businesses who pay family members with dividends rather than salaries. To qualify, applicants will need to meet the following conditions:

  • Be in operation on or prior to March 1, 2020 with an active Business Number (BN) with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA);
  • Create a business bank account at their primary institution prior to applying for CEBA (under the original program in the spring, it was required to have a business bank account as of March 1, 2020 but this restriction has recently been relaxed; applicants can now open this bank account at the time they do their CEBA application);
  • Have not previously used the CEBA and will not apply under the program at any other financial institution. If an organization has already applied for a $40,000 loan, they will be able to apply for the additional $20,000 loan once it’s available;
  • Must intend to continue to operate its business or to resume operations.

There are two streams under which an organization can apply – the Payroll Stream and the Eligible Non-Deferrable Expense Stream.

Payroll Stream – Under this stream, applicants must have had total payroll between $20,000 and $1.5 million in 2019.

Eligible Non-Deferrable Expense Stream – Under this stream, available to organizations that did not have sufficient payroll in 2019, applicants must have a CRA BN and filed a 2018 or 2019 tax return, and have eligible non-deferrable expenses between $40,000 and $1.5 million, such as rent, property tax, utilities and insurance. Organizations that are in receipt of other government COVID-response programs, such as the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy and Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy, should bear in mind that adjustments may be needed in determining their eligible non-deferrable expenses for CEBA purposes.

How you can and cannot use the CEBA

The CEBA can be used to pay for eligible non-deferrable expenses. According to the CEBA website, these include the following:

  • Wages and other employment expenses to independent (arm’s length) third parties;
  •  Rent or lease payments for real estate;
  • Rent or lease payments for capital equipment;
  • Insurance related expenses;
  • Property taxes;
  • Telephone and utility expenses (such as gas, oil, electricity, water and internet);
  • Payments for regularly scheduled debt service;
  • Payments incurred under agreements with independent contractors;
  • Fees required in order to maintain licenses, authorizations or permissions necessary to conduct business;
  • Materials consumed to produce a product ordinarily offered for sale by the borrower.

The funds obtained from the CEBA cannot be used for prepayment or refinancing of existing indebtedness, payments of dividends, distributions and increases in management compensation.

How to apply

All applications for the CEBA are made through an organization’s financial institution website. If applying through the Payroll Stream, the application process is relatively straightforward. Once submitted, the application will be looked at by the government and if approved, funds will be provided to the applicant in their business account.

Organizations who apply through the Non-Deferrable Expenses Stream have an additional step. Once they have applied on their financial institution’s website, the financial institution will direct applicants to a CEBA website where they will be required to upload supporting document to support their 2020 non-deferrable expenses. Again, once approved, funds will be deposited in the organization’s bank account.

What are the tax consequences of any forgiveness of a CEBA loan?

Under the CEBA program, up to 25% of the original $40,000 loan and up to 50% of the additional $20,000 loan will be forgiven if repaid by December 31, 2022. Under tax rules, the portion of the loan that can be forgiven is taxable income at the time the loan is received. For example, for a business that has a year-end of December 31, 2020 and has applied for the maximum CEBA of $60,000, $20,000 of this loan must be included in their 2020 taxable income.

Alternatively, an election can be made to reduce the expenses in respect of which the loan is received instead of reporting the forgivable amount as income. This option can provide a deferral opportunity in certain circumstances. For example, where a business with an off-calendar year-end, such as September 30, receives the CEBA loan before its year-end for non-deferrable outlays to be made later in 2020, this election could allow a portion of the forgivable amount to be deferred to the taxpayer’s next taxation year.

If the loan is not repaid by the end of 2022 (and therefore the conditions for a portion of the loan to be forgiven are not met) a tax deduction is available at that time.

What is the deadline to apply?

All applications for the CEBA must be made by December 31, 2020. For applicants under the non-deferrable stream, the last day to upload documents to support the application is January 11, 2021.

How BDO can help

Our BDO Tax professionals understand the uncertainty and challenges your business is facing during the COVID-19 crisis. We can help you assess how the new extensions and enhancements of the government relief programs will affect your organization and determine next steps.

If you have any questions as to how the CEBA program applies to your organization, please contact your BDO advisor.

Dave Walsh, Partner, Tax Service Line Leader

Bruce Sprague, Partner, Western Canada Tax Leader

Greg London, Partner, Eastern Canada Tax Leader

Peter Routly, Partner, Southern Ontario Tax Leader

Rachel Gervais, Partner, GTA Tax Leader


The information in this publication is current as of November 12, 2020. 

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it. 

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Hausse du montant des prêts offerts au titre du Compte d’urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes (CUEC)

20 novembre 2020

Le gouvernement a récemment augmenté le montant des prêts offerts dans le cadre du Compte d'urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes (CUEC). Le montant des prêts offerts sans intérêt pour permettre aux petites entreprises et à certains organismes de bienfaisance et organismes sans but lucratif(OSBL) de couvrir leurs coûts d'exploitation pendant la crise de la COVID-19 est passé de 40 000 $ à 60 000 $. Si les conditions du programme du CUEC sont respectées, jusqu'à 20 000 $ du montant des prêts fera l'objet d'une remise. Toutefois, si le prêt n'est pas remboursé d'ici le 31 décembre 2022, il pourra être converti en prêt à terme de 3 ans à un taux d'intérêt de 5 %.

Qui est admissible?

Les petites entreprises, les organismes de bienfaisance et les OSBL qui exploitent activement une entreprise au Canada (y compris une entreprise liée dans le cas d'un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré) sont admissibles au CUEC. Il s'agit notamment des petites entreprises qui n'ont pas d'employés, des entreprises à propriétaire unique qui ne sont pas constituées en société et qui gagnent un revenu directement et des entreprises familiales qui versent des dividendes aux membres de leur famille plutôt qu'un salaire. Pour être admissibles, les demandeurs doivent satisfaire aux conditions suivantes :

  • Exercer des activités depuis le 1er mars 2020 et détenir un numéro d'entreprise (NE) actif de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC).
  • Ouvrir un compte bancaire commercial auprès de leur institution principale avant de présenter une demande au titre du CUEC (le programme initial du printemps exigeait d'avoir un compte bancaire commercial au 1er mars 2020, mais cette restriction a récemment été assouplie; les demandeurs peuvent maintenant ouvrir ce compte bancaire au moment où ils demandent le CUEC).
  • N'avoir jamais été bénéficiaire du programme du CUEC et ne pas demander de soutien à ce titre auprès d'une autre institution financière. Si une organisation a déjà demandé un prêt de 40 000 $, elle pourra demander un prêt supplémentaire de 20 000 $ lorsque ce montant supplémentaire sera offert.
  • Avoir l'intention de continuer à exploiter son entreprise ou de reprendre ses activités.

Une organisation peut présenter une demande en vertu de deux volets : le volet des salaires et le volet des dépenses non reportables admissibles.

Volet des salaires : en vertu de ce volet, les demandeurs doivent avoir versé une rémunération totale de 20 000 $ à 1,5 M$ en 2019.

Volet des dépenses non reportables admissibles : en vertu de ce volet, les organisations admissibles qui n'avaient pas une masse salariale suffisante en 2019 doivent avoir un numéro d'entreprise de l'ARC, avoir produit une déclaration de revenus en 2018 ou 2019 et avoir des dépenses non reportables admissibles totalisant entre 40 000 $ et 1,5 M$ CA comme le loyer, les impôts fonciers, les services publics ou l'assurance. Les organisations qui bénéficient d'autres programmes d'aide gouvernementale liés à la COVID-19, comme la Subvention salariale d'urgence du Canada et la Subvention d'urgence pour le loyer du Canada, doivent garder à l'esprit que des ajustements peuvent devoir être apportés pour déterminer l'admissibilité de leurs dépenses non reportables admissibles aux fins du CUEC.

Quels sont les usages possibles du CUEC?

Le CUEC peut être utilisé pour payer les dépenses non reportables admissibles. Selon le site Web du CUEC, les catégories de dépenses non reportables admissibles sont les suivantes :

  • Salaires et autres dépenses liées à l'emploi versés à des tiers indépendants (sans lien de dépendance)
  • Loyers ou paiements liés à la location d'immeubles
  • ou d'équipement
  • Coûts liés aux assurances
  • Impôts fonciers
  • Frais engagés pour des services de téléphonie et des services publics (p. ex., gaz, pétrole, électricité, eau et Internet)
  • Paiements aux termes du service de la dette régulier et prévu
  • Dépenses engagées au titre d'accords avec des entrepreneurs indépendants
  • Frais liés aux licences, autorisations et permissions nécessaires aux activités de l'emprunteur
  • Frais engagés pour du matériel utilisé en vue de la production d'un produit généralement en vente par l'emprunteur

Les fonds obtenus par l'entremise du programme de CUEC ne peuvent pas être utilisés pour le paiement anticipé ou le refinancement des dettes existantes, le versement des dividendes, les distributions et les augmentations de la rémunération de la direction.

Comment présenter une demande?

Toutes les demandes doivent être présentées sur le site Web de l'institution financière de l'organisation. Le processus de demande est relativement simple lorsqu'une organisation présente une demande par l'entremise du volet des salaires. Une fois la demande soumise, le gouvernement en prendra connaissance. Si la demande est approuvée, les fonds seront déposés dans le compte d'entreprise du demandeur.

Les organisations qui présentent une demande par l'entremise du volet des dépenses non reportables doivent suivre une étape supplémentaire. Une fois que l'organisation a présenté une demande sur le site Web de son institution financière, celle-ci la dirigera vers le site Web du CUEC, où elle devra téléverser des pièces justificatives pour étayer ses dépenses non reportables de 2020. Une fois la demande approuvée, les fonds seront déposés dans le compte bancaire de l'organisation.

Quelles sont les conséquences fiscales de la radiation d'un prêt octroyé en vertu du programme de CUEC?

Le programme de CUEC prévoit la radiation d'un maximum de 25 % du prêt initial de 40 000 $ et d'un maximum de 50 % du prêt supplémentaire de 20 000 $ si le prêt est remboursé d'ici le 31 décembre 2022. Selon les règles fiscales, la portion du prêt qui peut être radiée constitue un revenu imposable au moment où le prêt est reçu. Par exemple, une entreprise dont l'exercice se termine le 31 décembre 2020 qui a présenté une demande pour obtenir le montant maximal octroyé par le programme de CUEC de 60 000 $ doit inclure un montant de 20 000 $ de ce prêt dans son revenu imposable de 2020.

Elle pourrait plutôt choisir de réduire ses dépenses engagées pour obtenir le prêt au lieu de comptabiliser en revenu le montant pouvant être radié. Cette option lui permettrait d'effectuer un report dans certains cas. Par exemple, si l'exercice d'une entreprise ne se termine pas en même temps que l'année civile, par exemple le 30 septembre, et que celle-ci reçoit un prêt au titre du CUEC avant la fin de son exercice pour des dépenses non reportables à effectuer plus tard en 2020, ce choix permet de reporter une partie du montant pouvant être radié à l'année d'imposition suivante du contribuable.

Si le prêt n'est pas remboursé d'ici la fin de 2022 (et que les conditions pour qu'une portion du prêt soit radiée ne sont donc pas remplies), l'organisation bénéficiera d'une déduction d'impôt.

Quelle est la date limite pour présenter une demande?

Toutes les demandes au titre du CUEC doivent être présentées au plus tard le 31 décembre 2020. Les organisations qui présentent une demande en vertu du volet des dépenses non reportables doivent téléverser les documents pour étayer leur demande au plus tard le 11 janvier 2021.

Comment BDO peut-il vous aider?

Nos spécialistes en fiscalité comprennent toute l'incertitude et tous les défis auxquels votre entreprise fait face pendant la crise de la COVID-19. Nous pouvons vous aider à évaluer les répercussions de la bonification et de la prolongation des programmes d'allégement gouvernementaux sur votre entreprise et à déterminer les prochaines étapes.

Pour toute question à propos du CUEC et de l'admissibilité de votre entreprise, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller BDO.

Dave Walsh, associé et chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité
Bruce Sprague, associé et chef des Services en fiscalité de l'Ouest
Greg London, associé et chef des Services en fiscalité de l'Est
Peter Routly, associé et chef des Services en fiscalité du sud de l'Ontario
Rachel Gervais, associée et chef des Services en fiscalité de la RGT
Shelley Smith, associée, taxes à la consommation


L'nformation présentée est à jour en date du 20 novembre 2020.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.