Government extends and expands the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy program

July 22, 2020

Finance Minister Bill Morneau announced details with respect to both an extension and expansion of the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) program on July 17, 2020. The CEWS program was scheduled to end on August 29 and provided a 75% wage subsidy on eligible remuneration for qualifying businesses.

The announcement on July 17 indicated the following extension and expansion of the program:

  • Extends the CEWS to December 19. Details on how it will be implemented were provided to November 21.
  • Expands the program to more employers as of July 5. As of this date, any employer with a revenue decline will be eligible for the CEWS, the amount of which will be calculated based on the decline in qualifying revenue. This eliminates the restriction that employers with less than a 30% decline in qualifying revenue do not qualify for the CEWS. This also means that for many employers the maximum wage subsidy that they will receive for periods 7-9 (September – November), will be less than what they were receiving in the first six qualifying periods.
  • Enhances the wage subsidy for employers with more than a 50% decline in qualifying revenue with a subsidy of up to 85% of eligible remuneration.
  • Addresses other concerns raised by stakeholders during a recently concluded consultation process with the government.

Expansion of the base CEWS to more employers

The proposed changes will make the calculation of the wage subsidy more complex and more sensitive to the changes in revenue between the current and prior reference periods. The percentage drop in revenue between reference periods will directly determine the wage subsidy rate as the wage subsidy rate is no longer fixed. For a business with less than a 50% drop in revenue, the wage subsidy rate will directly vary with the drop in revenue percentage. Please see Table 1 in the Appendix for an example of the rate that will apply where revenue drops 40% in each qualifying period.

Wage subsidy rate top-up for businesses with a revenue decline 50% or more

The wage subsidy rate has been divided into two pieces for businesses with a 50% or greater revenue decline. These businesses will have a flat base rate (60% in periods 5 and 6, 50% in period 7, 40% in period 8 and 20% in period 9). They will also have a top-up rate of up to 25%, depending on a rate decline using a three-month average period.

The top-up CEWS rate for selected average revenue drop levels is illustrated in Table 2 in the Appendix.

The overall CEWS rate would be equal to the top-up CEWS rate plus the base CEWS rate. Please refer to Table 3 in the Appendix.

Reference periods for the drop-in-revenues test

Starting with Period 5 (July) qualifying entities can chose the prior reference period to be the corresponding prior year calendar month (the general method) or the average of January and February of 2020 (the alternative method). If a CEWS claim was made in periods 1-4, the entity already had to make a choice of using one of these methods consistently. However, the choice made in period 5 is a new choice, and is independent of the choice of reference periods made for the claims in Periods 1-4. The choice made in period 5 must be used in all subsequent claim periods.

Beginning with the qualifying period that began on July 5, the reference period to determine the drop in revenue can be a comparison of the current month to the same month in 2019, or businesses can use the immediately previous month compared to the corresponding month in 2019. Using the alternate approach, the comparison of revenue will be the current month or the immediately preceding month to the average of qualifying revenues in January and February 2020.

This is illustrated in Table 4 in the Appendix.

Other concerns addressed in the announcement

The government released draft legislation to amend the CEWS legislation for the announcement. There are additional proposed changes to the legislation based on the recently concluded consultation the government had with businesses and other stakeholders. As stated on the Government of Canada website, these include:

  • providing an appeal process to the Tax Court of Canada;
  • providing continuity rules for the calculation of an employer’s drop in revenues where the employer purchased all or substantially all the assets used in carrying on business by the seller;
  • allowing prescribed organizations that are registered charities or non-profit organizations to choose whether to include government-source revenue for the purpose of computing their reductions in qualifying revenue; and
  • allowing entities that use the cash method of accounting to elect to use accrual based accounting to compute their revenues for the purpose of the CEWS.

According to the Government of Canada, the documents also note that “[t]he government is also proposing to move forward with previously released legislative changes, including relieving changes for calculating pre-crisis baseline remuneration, for corporations that have amalgamated and for eligible entities that use payroll service providers [PayMasters]. The government is also proposing to move forward with the amendment that would align the treatment of trusts and corporations for the purposes of the CEWS.”

The application deadline for any CEWS claims has been extended to January 31, 2021 from the previous deadline of September 30, 2020.

How BDO can help

Our BDO Tax professionals understand the uncertainty and challenges your business is facing during the COVID-19 crisis. We can help you assess how the new extensions and enhancements of the government relief programs will impact your organization and determine next steps. Read our alert COVID-19 – Wage Subsidy Programs for further information on wage subsidy programs as it applies prior to July 4.

If you have any questions as to how the CEWS program applies to your organization, please contact your BDO advisor.

Dave Walsh, Partner, Tax Service Line Leader

Craig Mulcahy, Partner, SR&ED and Government Incentives

Appendix

Table 1: Illustration of rate structure of CEWS where revenue drop less than 50%
  Period 5*
July 5 – August 1
Period 6*
August 2 – August 29
Period 7
August 30 – September 26
Period 8
September 27 – October 24
Period 9
October 25 – November 21
Revenue drop 40% 40% 40% 40% 40%
Factor determined by proposed legislation 1.2 1.2 1 0.8 0.4
Wage subsidy rate to apply to weekly maximum wages of $1,129 48% 48% 40% 32% 16%
Safe Harbour rate if revenue drop of at least 30% 75% 75% N/A N/A N/A
Maximum weekly benefit per employee $542 $542 $452 $361 $181
Maximum weekly benefit per employee under safe harbour rules or $847 or $847 N/A N/A N/A
* In Periods 5 and 6, employers who would have been better off in the CEWS design in Periods 1 to 4 would be eligible for a 75% wage subsidy if they have a revenue decline of 30% or more.

Source: Government of Canada

Table 2: Top-up CEWS rates for selected levels of average revenue drop over the preceding three months
Three-month average revenue drop Top-up CEWS rate Top-up calculation = 1.25 x (Three-month revenue drop - 50%)
70% and over 25% 1.25 x (70%-50%) = 25%
65% 18.75% 1.25 x (65%-50%) = 18.75%
60% 12.5% 1.25 x (60%-50%) = 12.5%
55% 6.25% 1.25 x (55%-50%) = 6.25%
50% and under 0.0% 1.25 x (50%-50%) = 0.0%

Source: Government of Canada

Table 3: Rate structure of the combined base CEWS and the top-up CEWS for the most affected employers (i.e. those that experienced an average revenue drop of 70% or more in the preceding three months)
Timing Period 5*:
July 5 – August 1
Period 6*:
August 2 – August 29
Period 7:
August 30 – September 26
Period 8:
September 27 – October 24
Period 9:
October 25 – November 21
Maximum weekly benefit per employee Up to $960 Up to $960 Up to $847 Up to $734 Up to $508
Revenue drop in the current one-month reference period          
50% or more 85%
(60% base CEWS + 25% top-up)
85%
(60% base CEWS + 25% top-up)
75%
(50% base CEWS + 25% top-up)
65%
(40% base CEWS + 25% top-up)
45%
(20% base CEWS + 25% top-up)
0% to 49% 1.2 x revenue drop + 25% (e.g., 1.2 x 20% revenue drop + 25% = 49% CEWS rate) 1.2 x revenue drop + 25% (e.g., 1.2 x 20% revenue drop + 25% = 49% CEWS rate) 1 x revenue drop + 25% (e.g., 1 x 20% revenue drop + 25% = 45% CEWS rate) 0.8 x revenue drop + 25% (e.g., 0.8 x 20% revenue drop + 25% = 41% CEWS rate) 0.4 x revenue drop + 25% (e.g., 0.4 x 20% revenue drop + 25% = 33% CEWS rate)
* In Periods 5 and 6, employers who would have been better off in the CEWS design in Periods 1 to 4 would be eligible for a 75% wage subsidy if they have a revenue decline of 30% or more.

Source: Government of Canada

Table 4: Reference periods for the base CEWS
  Claim period General approach Alternative approach
Period 5 July 5 to August 1, 2020 July 2020 over July 2019 or June 2020 over June 2019 July 2020 or June 2020 over average of January and February 2020
Period 6 August 2 to August 29, 2020 August 2020 over August 2019 or July 2020 over July 2019 August 2020 or July 2020 over average of January and February 2020
Period 7 August 30 to September 26, 2020 September 2020 over September 2019 or August 2020 over August 2019 September 2020 or August 2020 over average of January and February 2020
Period 8 September 27 to October 24, 2020 October 2020 over October 2019 or September 2020 over September 2019 October 2020 or September 2020 over average of January and February 2020
Period 9 October 25 to November 21, 2020 November 2020 over November 2019 or October 2020 over October 2019 November 2020 or October 2020 over average of January and February 2020

Source: Government of Canada


The information in this publication is current as of July 22, 2020.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Le gouvernement bonifie et prolonge la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada

22 juillet 2020

Le 17 juillet 2020, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a présenté les détails entourant la bonification et la prolongation du programme de Subvention salariale d'urgence du Canada (SSUC). Ce programme, qui devait prendre fin le 29 août, donnait aux employeurs admissibles une subvention de 75 % pour payer les salaires admissibles.

L'annonce du 17 juillet concernait les modalités de bonification et de prolongation suivantes :

  • La SSUC se prolonge jusqu'au 19 décembre. Toutes les conditions de la mise en place de cette prolongation seront communiquées le 21 novembre;
  • Le programme a été bonifié pour que plus d'employeurs soient admissibles en date du 5 juillet. À compter de cette date, tout employeur qui a enregistré une perte de revenus sera admissible à la SSUC et le calcul du montant de la subvention sera fait à partir de la réduction du revenu admissible. Cela élimine la contrainte visant les employeurs présentant une perte de revenu admissible de moins de 30 %, qui n'étaient pas admissibles à la SSUC. Cela signifie également que la subvention maximale reçue par plusieurs employeurs sera moins élevée pour les périodes d'admissibilité 7 à 9 (de septembre à novembre) que le montant reçu pendant les six premières périodes d'admissibilité;
  • La subvention salariale pour les employeurs présentant une perte de revenu admissible de plus de 50 % sera bonifiée et ces derniers recevront jusqu'à 85 % de la rémunération admissible en subvention;
  • La bonification répond aussi à des inquiétudes soulevées par des parties prenantes lors d'une série de consultations récentes tenues par le gouvernement.

Étendre la SSUC de base à plus d'employeurs

Les changements proposés compliquent le calcul de la subvention et le rendent davantage sujet aux fluctuations de revenus entre la période actuelle et les périodes de référence. Le pourcentage de baisse de revenus entre les périodes de référence déterminera directement le taux de la subvention salariale, car ce dernier n'est plus fixe. Une entreprise dont les revenus ont diminué de moins de 50 % verra son taux de subvention varier directement en fonction du pourcentage de baisse de revenu. Veuillez consulter le tableau 1 de l'annexe pour voir un exemple mettant de l'avant le taux de subvention en fonction d'une perte de revenus de 40 % pour chaque période d'admissibilité.

Taux de subvention complémentaire pour les entreprises dont les revenus ont diminué de 50 % ou plus

Le taux de subvention salariale a été divisé en deux éléments pour les entreprises dont les revenus ont diminué de 50 % ou plus. Ces entreprises profiteront d'un taux de base (60 % pour les périodes 5 et 6, 50 % pour la période 7, 40 % pour la période 8 et 20 % pour la période 9). Elles profiteront aussi d'un taux complémentaire pouvant aller jusqu'à 25 %, en fonction du taux de diminution sur une période moyenne de trois mois.

Le taux complémentaire de la SSUC pour les taux moyens de diminution de revenus sélectionnés est présenté au tableau 2 de l'annexe.

Le taux total de la SSUC sera égal au taux complémentaire additionné au taux de base de la SSUC. Veuillez consulter le tableau 3 de l'annexe.

Périodes de référence pour les tests de perte de revenus

À partir de la période 5 (juillet), les entités admissibles peuvent décider que la période de référence précédente correspondra au mois de l'année civile précédente (la méthode générale) ou qu'elle correspondra à la moyenne des mois de janvier et de février 2020 (la seconde méthode). Si une entité a déjà demandé la SSUC pour les périodes 1 à 4, celle-ci a déjà choisi l'une des deux méthodes et elle s'y conforme. Cependant, le choix effectué pour la période 5 en est un nouveau et il est indépendant du choix effectué pour les périodes de référence 1 à 4. Le choix effectué à la période 5 devra être utilisé pour toutes les périodes de réclamation subséquentes.

Pour la période de référence qui a commencé le 5 juillet, la période de référence qui permet de déterminer la perte de revenus peut être une comparaison entre le mois actuel et le même mois de l'année 2019, ou encore les entreprises peuvent utiliser le mois précédent et le comparer au même mois de l'année 2019. En utilisant la seconde méthode, la comparaison des revenus se fera entre le mois actuel ou le mois précédent et la moyenne des revenus admissibles de janvier et de février 2020.

Cet exemple est illustré au tableau 4 de l'annexe.

Autres préoccupations couvertes lors de l'annonce

Le gouvernement a fait des propositions législatives pour modifier la loi relative à la SSUC lors de l'annonce. Des changements supplémentaires ont été proposés à la suite d'une série de consultations menée par le gouvernement auprès d'entrepreneurs et d'autres intervenants. Comme on peut le lire sur le site Web du gouvernement du Canada, ces éléments comprennent :

  • prévoir un processus d'appel à la Cour canadienne de l'impôt;
  • prévoir des règles de continuité pour le calcul de la perte de revenus d'un employeur dans certaines circonstances où l'employeur a acheté tous les actifs ou une grande portion des actifs utilisés dans l'exploitation d'une entreprise par le vendeur;
  • permettre aux organismes visés par règlement qui sont des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés ou des organismes sans but lucratif de choisir d'inclure ou non les revenus provenant de sources gouvernementales dans le calcul de leurs réductions de revenus admissibles;
  • permettre aux entités qui utilisent la méthode de comptabilité de caisse de choisir d'utiliser la comptabilité d'exercice pour calculer leurs revenus aux fins de la SSUC.

Selon le gouvernement du Canada, les documents indiquent que « le gouvernement propose également d'aller de l'avant avec les changements législatifs communiqués antérieurement, y compris l'allègement des changements pour le calcul de la rémunération “de référence” avant la crise, pour les sociétés qui ont fusionné et pour les entités admissibles qui utilisent des fournisseurs de services de paye [PayMasters]. Le gouvernement propose également d'aller de l'avant avec la modification qui permettrait d'harmoniser le traitement des fiducies et des sociétés aux fins de la SSUC. »

La date limite d'inscription pour les réclamations en vertu de la SSUC a été repoussée au 31 janvier 2021, la date limite précédente étant le 30 septembre 2020.

BDO peut vous aider

Nos spécialistes en fiscalité comprennent toute l'incertitude et les défis auxquels votre entreprise fait face pendant cette crise de la COVID-19. Nous pouvons vous aider à évaluer les répercussions de la bonification et de la prolongation des programmes d'allègement gouvernementaux sur votre entreprise et à déterminer les prochaines étapes. Lisez notre alerte COVID-19 – Programme de subvention salariale pour en savoir plus sur les modalités du programme en vigueur avant le 4 juillet.

Pour toute question à propos du programme de la SSUC et de l'admissibilité de votre entreprise, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller BDO.

Dave Walsh, associé et chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité

Craig Mulcahy, associé des Services en RS&DE et incitatifs gouvernementaux

Annexe

Tableau 1 : Structure des taux de la SSUC en fonction d'une diminution de revenus de moins de 50 %
  Période 5* Du 5 juillet au 1er août Période 6* Du 2 au 29 août Période 7 Du 30 août au 26 septembre Période 8 Du 27 septembre au 24 octobre Période 9 Du 25 octobre au 21 novembre
  Du 5 juillet au 1er août Du 2 au 29 août Du 30 août au 26 septembre Du 27 septembre au 24 octobre Du 25 octobre au 21 novembre
Diminution de revenus 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 % 40 %
Facteur déterminé par les propositions législatives 1,2 1,2 1 0,8 0,4
Taux de subvention salariale à appliquer aux salaires hebdomadaires maximal de 1 129 $ 48 % 4 % 40 % 32 % 16 %
Taux d'exonération si les revenus diminuent d'au moins 30 % 75 % 75 % S. O. S. O. S. O.
Prestation hebdomadaire maximale par employé 542 $ 542 $ 452 $ 361 $ 181 $
Prestation hebdomadaire maximale par employé selon les règles d'exonération ou 847 $ ou 847 $ S. O. S. O. S. O.
*Dans les périodes 5 et 6, les employeurs qui auraient été mieux servis par le design du SSUC en vigueur dans les périodes 1 à 4 pourraient se qualifier pour une subvention salariale de 75 % s'ils connaissent une diminution de revenus de 30 % ou plus.

Source : Gouvernement du Canada

Tableau 2 : Taux de SSUC complémentaire pour certains niveaux de perte moyenne des revenus au cours des trois mois précédents
Perte moyenne des revenus sur trois mois Taux de SSUC complémentaire Calcul de la subvention complémentaire = 1,25 × (perte de revenus sur 3 mois - 50 %)
70 % et plus 25 % 1,25 x (70 % - 50 %) = 25 %
65 % 18,75 % 1,25 x (65 % - 50 %) = 18,75 %
60 % 12,5 % 1,25 x (60 % - 50 %) = 12,5 %
55 % 6,25 % 1,25 x (55 % - 50 %) = 6,25 %
50 % et moins 0,0 % 1,25 x (50 % - 50 %) = 0,0 %

Source : Gouvernement du Canada

Tableau 3 : Structure des taux combinés de la SSUC de base et de la SSUC complémentaire pour les employeurs les plus touchés (c.-à-d. ceux qui ont connu une perte moyenne de revenus de 70 % ou plus au cours des trois mois précédents)
Périodes Période 5* : du 5 juillet au 5 août Période 6* : du 2 au 29 août Période 7 du 30 août au 26 septembre Période 8 du 27 septembre au 24 octobre Période 9 du 25 octobre au 21 novembre
Prestation hebdomadaire maximale par employé Jusqu'à 960 $ Jusqu'à 960 $ Jusqu'à 847 $ Jusqu'à 734 $ Jusqu'à 508 $
Perte de revenus au cours de la période de référence actuelle d'un mois          
50 % ou plus 85 % (60 % SSUC de base + SSUC complémentaire de 25 %) 85 % (60 % SSUC de base + SSUC complémentaire de 25 %) 75 % (50 % SSUC de base + SSUC complémentaire de 25 %) 65 % (40 % SSUC de base + SSUC complémentaire de 25 %) 45 % (20 % SSUC de base + SSUC complémentaire de 25 %)
0 %49 % 1,2 × perte de revenus + 25 % (p. ex., 1,2 × perte de revenus de 20 % + 25 % = taux de SSUC de 49 %) 1,2 × perte de revenus + 25 % (p. ex., 1,2 × perte de revenus de 20 % + 25 % = taux de SSUC de 49 %) 1 × perte de revenus + 25 % (p. ex., 1 × perte de revenus de 20 % + 25 % = taux de SSUC de 45 %) 0,8 × perte de revenus + 25 % (p. ex., 0,8 × perte de revenus de 20 % + 25 % = taux de SSUC de 41 %) 0,4 × perte de revenus + 25 % (p. ex., 0,4 × perte de revenus de 20 % + 25 % = taux de SSUC de 33 %)
*Dans les périodes 5 et 6, les employeurs qui auraient été mieux servis par le design du SSUC en vigueur dans les périodes 1 à 4 pourraient se qualifier pour une subvention salariale de 75 % s'ils connaissent une diminution de revenus de 30 % ou plus.

Source : Gouvernement du Canada

Tableau 4 : Périodes de référence pour la SSUC de base
  Période de remboursement Approche générale Autres approches
Période 5 Du 5 juillet au 1er août 2020 Juillet 2020 sur juillet 2019 ou juin 2020 sur juin 2019 Juillet ou juin 2020 sur une moyenne de janvier et février 2020
Période 6 Du 2 au 29 août 2020 Août 2020 sur août 2019 ou juillet 2020 sur juillet 2019 Août ou juillet 2020 sur une moyenne de janvier et février 2020
Période 7 Du 30 août au 26 septembre 2020 Septembre 2020 sur septembre 2019 ou août 2020 sur août 2019 Septembre ou août 2020 sur une moyenne de janvier et février 2020
Période 8 Du 27 septembre au 24 octobre 2020 Octobre 2020 sur octobre 2019 ou septembre 2020 sur septembre 2019 Octobre ou septembre 2020 sur une moyenne de janvier et février 2020
Période 9 Du 25 octobre au 21 novembre 2020 Novembre 2020 sur novembre 2019 ou octobre 2020 sur octobre 2019 Novembre ou octobre 2020 sur une moyenne de janvier et février 2020

Source : Gouvernement du Canada


L'information présentée est à jour en date du 22 juillet 2020.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n'est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d'ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r. l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l'obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d'une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.