Tax Alert - Federal Government fiscal update as of July 8, 2020

July 08, 2020

Finance Minister Bill Morneau provided an economic and fiscal snapshot on July 8th to Parliament. This snapshot is the first official economic update provided by the federal government since December 16, 2019. The 2020 Federal Budget was scheduled to be tabled on March 30, 2020, however it was postponed indefinitely due to COVID-19. This snapshot forecasts a deficit for the 2020-21 fiscal year of $343 billion, an unprecedented increase in the federal deficit.  To put that in historical perspectives, the previous largest deficit in Canadian history was $55B in 2009 in response to the financial crisis.

When examining the deficit as relative to the size of the economy, it will represent approximately 15% of the current year GDP, the largest in Canadian history.

The $343 billion deficit is the result of the massive fiscal stimulus introduced by the Federal Government to support both Canadian individuals and businesses during the COVID-19 crisis, and the expected decline in tax revenues due to the current shut-down of large segments of the Canadian economy and the resulting economic recession. Personal tax revenues are expected to decline by approximately $31 billion and corporate tax revenues are expected to decline by approximately $11 billion.

Estimated costs of COVID-19 measures that are contributing to the federal deficit were projected as follows:

  • Canadian Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) – $73.1 billion
  • Canadian Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) – $82.3 billion

The snapshot estimates total federal government debt to reach $1.06 Trillion by the end of March 2021.

Canada had a debt-to-GDP ratio of approximately 30% prior to the pandemic which was the lowest of the G-7 countries.  The COVID-19 economic and health crisis will put incredible pressure on the nation’s finances for years to come, with the debt to GDP ratio now estimated to be 49.1% by the end of March 2021. The highest the debt-to-GDP ratio has ever been post-WWII is 66.6% in the 1995-96 fiscal year.

The finances of provincial and municipal governments will also be significantly challenged. It is critical that the government put a fiscal plan in place for the upcoming years to reign in government spending and provide the right environment for the economy to recover. This will be a huge challenge for the government as they plan for a full federal budget this fall.

It is also expected that the government may have to increase tax rates or broaden the base of taxation in order to help reduce the federal deficit. It is critical that the government consult with the business community to ensure that any required tax increases do not impede the economic recovery, which is key to all Canadians’ future.  The economic snapshot provided today did not contain any tax changes.

BDO can help

These are uncertain times. Our BDO Canada Tax professionals are here to help your business respond to COVID-19 and manage through these unprecedented times. For more information about government programs introduced during the COVID-19 crisis, such as the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) or Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS), please visit our website. Reach out if you have any questions.

Dave Walsh, Partner National Tax Service Line Leader

Craig Mulcahy, Partner, SR&ED and Government Incentives Leader

Bruce Sprague, Partner, Western Canada Tax Leader

Greg London, Partner, Eastern Canada Tax Leader

Peter Routly, Partner, Southern Ontario Tax Leader

Rachel Gervais, Partner, GTA Tax Service Leader


The information in this publication is current as of July 8, 2020.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Alerte en fiscalité - énoncé économique du gouvernement fédéral du 8 juillet 2020

08 juillet 2020

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a présenté le portrait de l’économie et des finances publiques au parlement le 8 juillet dernier. Il s’agit du premier énoncé économique présenté par le gouvernement fédéral depuis le 16 décembre 2019. Le budget fédéral 2020 devait être déposé le 30 mars dernier, mais le dépôt a été repoussé à une date indéterminée en raison de la COVID-19. Pour l’exercice 2020-2021, on prévoit un déficit de 343 milliards $, une augmentation sans précédent dans le budget fédéral. Historiquement, le plus grand déficit du Canada a atteint 55 milliards $ en 2009, alors que sévissait la crise économique.

Ce déficit, en fonction de la taille de notre économie, représentera environ 15 % du produit intérieur brut de l’année en cours, soit le plus important de l’histoire canadienne.

Le déficit de 343 milliards $ est le résultat d’investissements massifs dans des mesures de relance budgétaire mises en place par le gouvernement fédéral pour soutenir les entreprises et les citoyens pendant la crise de la COVID-19, de la réduction des revenus tirés de l’impôt en raison de la fermeture de plusieurs secteurs importants de l’économie canadienne et de la récession qui en découle. Les revenus tirés de l’impôt des particuliers diminueront d’environ 31 milliards $, alors que ceux tirés des sociétés baisseront approximativement de 11 milliards $.

L’évaluation du coût des mesures liées à la COVID-19 qui contribuent au déficit du gouvernement a été projetée ainsi :

  • Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) — 73,1 milliards $
  • Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada (SSUC) — 82,3 milliards $

Toujours selon les informations transmises dans cet énoncé, la dette fédérale devrait atteindre 1,06 billion $ d’ici la fin du mois de mars 2021.

Le ratio de la dette au PIB du Canada était d’environ 30 % avant la pandémie, un des plus faibles parmi les pays du G7. Les crises économiques et en santé publique provoquées par la COVID-19 exerceront une pression énorme sur les finances publiques pendant plusieurs années. Le ratio de la dette au PIB devrait maintenant atteindre 49,1 % d’ici la fin du mois de mars 2021. Le ratio le plus élevé enregistré depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale était de 66,6 % pendant l’exercice 1995-96.

Les finances des gouvernements provinciaux et des administrations municipales seront également mises à rude épreuve. Il est primordial que le gouvernement mette en place un plan financier qui régira les dépenses gouvernementales des années à venir et fournira un milieu propice à une reprise économique. C’est un défi colossal qui attend le gouvernement fédéral alors qu’il prépare un budget en bonne et due forme pour l’automne.

On prévoit également que le gouvernement se voit contraint d’augmenter les taux d’imposition ou d’élargir l’assiette fiscale de façon à participer à la réduction du déficit fédéral. Le gouvernement doit absolument consulter le milieu des affaires pour s’assurer que toute augmentation d’impôt n’empêche pas la reprise économique, essentielle à l’avenir de tous les Canadiens. Le portrait dressé hier ne contenait aucune modification fiscale.

BDO peut vous aider

Nous connaissons une période d’incertitude. Votre entreprise peut compter sur l’aide de nos professionnels en fiscalité pour faire face à la COVID-19 et assurer une saine gestion pendant cette période sans précédent. Pour en savoir plus sur les programmes gouvernementaux mis en place pendant la crise de la COVID-19, notamment la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) et la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada (SSUC), consultez notre site Web. Pour toute question, communiquez avec nous.

Dave Walsh, associé et chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité

Craig Mulcahy, associé et chef des Services en RS&DE et incitatifs gouvernementaux

Bruce Sprague, associé et chef des services en fiscalité de l’Ouest

Greg London, associé et chef des services en fiscalité de l’Est

Peter Routly, associé et chef des services en fiscalité du sud de l’Ontario

Rachel Gervais associée et chef des services en fiscalité de la RGT


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 8 juillet 2020.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.