Employers Required to File New Form as Part of 10% Temporary Wage Subsidy Program

August 12, 2020

This past spring, the federal government introduced two wage subsidy programs as part of their COVID-19 Economic Response Plan. The first of these programs was the Temporary Wage Subsidy (TWS) program, introduced on March 18, 2020, which was available to eligible small businesses, charities, and not-for-profit organizations with qualifying payroll. This program was followed on April 1, 2020 with the much larger and more comprehensive Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS) Program, which was available to eligible employers with sufficient declines in qualifying revenues.

On July 31, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) released a new reporting form and related guidance to employers who qualified for the TWS. New mandatory reporting form, PD27, “10% Temporary Wage Subsidy Self-identification Form for Employers” was released at this time. All taxpayers who were eligible to claim both this subsidy and the CEWS are required to file this form with the CRA, even if they did not make a claim under the TWS program. As benefits under the TWS program were claimed by a reduction in payroll withholding remittances, this form will be used by the CRA to reconcile the employer payroll program (RP) accounts. The CRA indicated that filing this form will ensure that the employer will not receive a discrepancy notice at the end of the year.

TWS program

The TWS is a program that assists eligible employers by allowing them to reduce payroll withholding tax that must be remitted to the CRA on eligible remuneration paid during the period from March 18, 2020 to June 19, 2020 (the eligible period). The TWS provides a subsidy of up to 10% of eligible remuneration paid during the eligible period, up to a maximum subsidy of $1,375 per employee and $25,000 per employer.

Eligible Employers

By definition, eligible employers must:

  • have employed one or more eligible employees in the period between March 18, 2020 and June 19, 2020;
  • have had a registered payroll account (RP account) with the CRA on March 18, 2020; and
  • Be one of the following types of entities
    • an individual (other than a trust)
    • a not-for profit
    • a registered charity
    • a partnership, all of the members of which are an individual, eligible Canadian controlled private corporation (CCPC), registered charity or another eligible partnership
    • a CCPC with a business limit (relevant for claiming the small business deduction) of more than nil for the last taxation year that ended before March 18, 2020, or if the CCPC does not have a taxation year that ended before March 18, 2020, this condition is applied as if its taxation year ended immediately before March 18, 2020.

Rate of subsidy

The employer has the discretion to select a subsidy rate—from 0% up to the maximum of 10%—for each payroll period that falls within the eligible period.

Form PD27

All eligible employers who claimed the TWS are required to complete the new Form PD27. If the employer had more than one payroll program account, a separate form is required for each RP account and the forms must be submitted together. Note that the combination of such employer accounts must not be more than the maximum subsidy per employee as well as per employer. Although there is no stated due date, it is advisable to file Form PD27 well before the end of the calendar year to allow the CRA to process the form and update the appropriate payroll program accounts before T4s are filed for 2020.

In addition to basic employer information, Form PD27 requires the total number of eligible employees paid during the eligible period to be disclosed, along with gross remuneration, income tax deductions, CPP contributions, and EI premiums. The TWS claimed—in dollars and as a percentage of gross remuneration paid—is also to be reported for each pay period that falls within the eligible period. The form also allows employers to request that the CRA pay any remaining subsidy to the employer, where applicable, such as in situations where the subsidy calculated is more than the income taxes deducted.

The completed Form PD27 needs to be attested to and signed by the employer or authorized officer and submitted online through the CRA’s My Business Account or mailed/faxed to the CRA National Verification and Collection Centre within the employer’s jurisdiction as listed on the form.

Employers who are eligible for both the TWS and CEWS

Many employers who qualified for both the TWS and CEWS chose to apply only for the CEWS for administrative ease, either from the start of the TWS program or later on in the eligible periods. As mentioned above, these employers are still required to file Form PD27 even if they did not claim the TWS by reducing their payroll withholdings. The TWS dollar amount and percentage must be reported for each pay period on Form PD27, even if they are nil. In their information webpage, Reporting the TWS to the CRA, the CRA states that if the employer is an eligible employer and fails to file the form, they will be credited for the entire TWS and their CEWS claim may be reduced and recovered, if necessary. Note that the TWS claim per period should correspond to the TWS amount that was reported for each CEWS claim.

In an example provided by the CRA, an eligible employer claimed the TWS and reduced their payroll withholding taxes in April but decided not to apply for the TWS in May and subsequent periods, opting to only apply for CEWS from that point forward. In this case, the employer would need to provide the information requested on Form PD27 and indicate a TWS claim of $0 and 0% for the periods where they did not claim the TWS.

Similarly, in a second example provided by the CRA, an eligible employer did not claim the TWS from the start and only applied for the CEWS. In this example, the employer would still need to complete Form PD27 and indicate a TWS claim of $0 and 0%.

The only situation where Form PD27 is not required of an eligible employer is when they did not participate in either the TWS or the CEWS program.

If you have any questions on the new Form PD27 requirements or the TEWS and CEWS programs, please contact your BDO advisor.


The information in this publication is current as of August 11, 2020.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Nouveau formulaire pour la subvention salariale temporaire de 10 % à produire par les employeurs

12 août 2020

Le printemps dernier, le gouvernement fédéral a lancé deux programmes de subventions salariales dans le cadre du Plan d’intervention économique du Canada pour répondre à la COVID-19. Il a tout d’abord lancé la subvention salariale temporaire le 18 mars 2020, qui était offerte aux petites entreprises, organismes de bienfaisance et organisations sans but lucratif admissibles dont les employés étaient admissibles. Le 1er avril 2020, le gouvernement a également proposé la Subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada (SSUC), un programme plus élargi et plus complet offert aux employeurs admissibles ayant enregistré une baisse de revenus admissibles suffisante.

Le 31 juillet, l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) a publié un nouveau formulaire de déclaration obligatoire, le PD27 Formulaire d’auto-identification de la subvention salariale temporaire de 10 % pour les employeurs, et des directives connexes à l’intention des employeurs admissibles à la subvention salariale temporaire. Tous les contribuables qui étaient à la fois admissibles à cette subvention et à la SSUC doivent produire ce formulaire auprès de l’ARC, même s’ils n’ont pas demandé la subvention salariale temporaire. Étant donné que les prestations en vertu de la subvention salariale temporaire ont été demandées sous forme de réduction des versements de retenues à la source, l’ARC utilisera ce formulaire pour effectuer le rapprochement de la subvention aux comptes de programme de retenues sur la paie de l’employeur. L’ARC a indiqué qu’en remplissant ce formulaire, l’employeur s’assurera de ne pas recevoir d’avis d’écart.

Subvention salariale temporaire

La subvention salariale temporaire offre un soutien aux employeurs admissibles en leur permettant de réduire les retenues à la source à remettre à l’ARC sur la rémunération admissible versée au cours de la période allant du 18 mars 2020 au 19 juin 2020 (la période d’admissibilité). La subvention peut atteindre 10 % de la rémunération versée pendant la période d’admissibilité, jusqu’à concurrence d’une subvention maximale de 1 375 $ par employé et de 25 000 $ par employeur.

Employeurs admissibles

Par définition, les employeurs admissibles doivent :

  • compter parmi leur personnel un ou plusieurs employés admissibles entre le 18 mars 2020 et le 19 juin 2020;
  • détenir un compte de programme de retenues sur la paie enregistré auprès de l’ARC au 18 mars 2020;
  • être l’un des types d’entité ci-dessous :
    • un particulier (sauf une fiducie);
    • un organisme sans but lucratif;
    • un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré;
    • une société de personnes dont tous les membres sont des particuliers admissibles, des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) admissibles, des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés ou d’autres sociétés de personnes admissibles;
    • une SPCC dont le plafond des affaires (utilisé pour demander la déduction des petites entreprises) était supérieur à zéro au cours de la dernière année d’imposition terminée avant le 18 mars 2020, ou si la SPCC n’a pas d’année d’imposition terminée avant le 18 mars 2020, cette condition doit s’appliquer comme si son année d’imposition s’était terminée immédiatement avant le 18 mars 2020.

Taux de la subvention

L’employeur peut choisir le taux de la subvention (entre 0 % et 10 %) pour chaque période de paie au cours de la période d’admissibilité.

Formulaire PD27

Tous les employeurs admissibles qui demandent la subvention salariale temporaire doivent remplir le nouveau formulaire PD27. Si l’employeur détient plus d’un compte de programme de retenues sur la paie, il doit remplir un formulaire distinct pour chaque compte et soumettre tous les formulaires ensemble. Il convient de prendre note que la combinaison de tous les comptes de l’employeur ne doit pas dépasser la subvention maximale par employé ou par employeur. Bien qu’aucune date d’échéance ne soit précisée sur le formulaire, il est conseillé de produire le formulaire PD27 bien avant la fin de l’année civile afin de permettre à l’ARC de traiter le formulaire et de mettre à jour les comptes de programme de retenues sur la paie appropriés avant la production des feuillets T4 pour 2020.

En plus des renseignements de base sur l’employeur, le formulaire PD27 exige de présenter le nombre total d’employés admissibles payés au cours de la période d’admissibilité, la rémunération brute, les retenues d’impôt sur le revenu ainsi que les cotisations au RPC et à l’assurance-emploi. La subvention salariale temporaire demandée (en dollars et en pourcentage de la rémunération payée) doit également être déclarée pour chaque période de paie au cours de la période d’admissibilité. Le formulaire permet également à l’employeur de demander à l’ARC de lui verser le restant de la subvention, le cas échéant, notamment si le montant de subvention auquel il a droit dépasse l’impôt retenu.

L’employeur ou son agent autorisé doit attester et signer le formulaire PD27 rempli et le soumettre en ligne au moyen du service Mon dossier d’entreprise de l’ARC ou l’envoyer par la poste ou par télécopieur au Centre national de vérification et de recouvrement (CNVR) de l’ARC, comme indiqué sur le formulaire.

Employeurs admissibles à la subvention salariale temporaire ainsi qu’à la SSUC

De nombreux employeurs admissibles à la subvention salariale temporaire ainsi qu’à la SSUC choisissent de demander uniquement la SSUC pour faciliter le traitement administratif dès le début de leur participation au programme de la subvention salariale temporaire ou au cours de périodes d’admissibilité ultérieures. Comme il a été mentionné, ces employeurs doivent encore produire le formulaire PD27 même s’ils n’ont pas demandé la subvention salariale temporaire sous forme de réduction des versements de retenues à la source. Le montant en dollars et le pourcentage de la subvention salariale temporaire doivent être déclarés dans le formulaire PD27 pour chaque période de paie, même s’ils sont nuls. Sur sa page Web d’information intitulée Informez l’ARC de votre subvention, l’ARC indique que si l’employeur est un employeur admissible et qu’il omet de produire le formulaire, la totalité de sa subvention salariale temporaire sera créditée et la demande de SSUC qu’il a présentée pourrait être réduite et récupérée, le cas échéant. La demande de subvention salariale temporaire par période doit correspondre au montant de la subvention déclarée pour chaque demande de SSUC.

L’ARC fournit l’exemple d’un employeur admissible qui a présenté une demande de subvention salariale temporaire et a réduit ses retenues à la source en avril, mais a décidé de ne pas demander la subvention salariale temporaire à partir de mai afin de demander uniquement la SSUC à partir de ce moment. Dans un tel cas, l’employeur doit fournir l’information demandée dans le formulaire PD27 et mentionner une demande de subvention salariale temporaire de 0 $ et 0 % pour les périodes pour lesquelles il n’a pas demandé cette subvention.

Dans un autre exemple similaire, un employeur admissible n’a pas demandé la subvention salariale temporaire dès le début et a seulement présenté une demande de SSUC. Dans cet exemple, l’employeur devrait tout de même produire le formulaire PD27 et indiquer une demande de subvention salariale temporaire de 0 $ et 0 %.

Un employeur admissible n’est pas tenu de remplir le formulaire PD27 seulement s’il n’a pas participé aux programmes de la subvention salariale temporaire ou de la SSUC.

Pour toute question sur les exigences relatives au nouveau formulaire PD27 ou sur les programmes de la subvention salariale temporaire ou de la SSUC, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller BDO.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 11 août 2020.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.